User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3654 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewL
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2008, console-wide. The ability to play the game however you want is still astounding. The game welcomes a good challenge with an amazing array of levels to explore and countless ways to kill, trick or sneak around Old Snake's enemies. Although cutscenes can drag, the complaints never came out of me, I'd play the game in many sittings and experience a welcomingBest game of 2008, console-wide. The ability to play the game however you want is still astounding. The game welcomes a good challenge with an amazing array of levels to explore and countless ways to kill, trick or sneak around Old Snake's enemies. Although cutscenes can drag, the complaints never came out of me, I'd play the game in many sittings and experience a welcoming cutscene each time. I can't begin to describe how high I jumped out of my seat during Raiden's intro fight with the Gekko. For those who don't want to sit through the lengthy scenes, I can assume two reasons. 1) You are not a Metal Gear Fan (you couldn't possibly be..)
    2) Haven't learned that the cutscenes akin to Powerpoint Presentations show zero importance to the story. (and are easily the lengthiest..)

    The game would recieve a nine for Big Mama's disturbing cleavage but Kojima allows you to skip scene so he's earned his point back.

    The perfect game - a MUST have.
    Expand
  2. JohnHarris
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This game is a masterpiece in every way. Its graphics are amazing, the gameplay is addictive, and the story is really fitting for a metal gear game. The story is so emotional that I nearly cried when the game ended. This game will be remembered years from now as a true modern classic, and will be known as the greatest game in the one of the greatest series of games of all time.
  3. MichaelKahn
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    I'm rather disappointed at the gaming community for bashing this game for it's cutscenes. This game is a masterpiece and truly shows the peak of today's gaming. It shows the tragic end to a true legend. He was not a hero, he was just one man, a soldier who followed his orders. Solid Snake. Everything about this game was incredible. The writing was superb and was wellI'm rather disappointed at the gaming community for bashing this game for it's cutscenes. This game is a masterpiece and truly shows the peak of today's gaming. It shows the tragic end to a true legend. He was not a hero, he was just one man, a soldier who followed his orders. Solid Snake. Everything about this game was incredible. The writing was superb and was well portrayed my the characters movements in each cutscene. Then comes the gameplay. Some of you may be wondering if they focused too much on story and not gameplay. Nope, they managed to have absolutely flawless controls and a wide arsenal of weapons. There are 69 and many other additions! The presentation is well done. The game looks polished and runs at an excellent framerate that I didn't see drop once (it goes about 50-60 FPS). What is amazing though is how seamless the transfer from cutscene to gameplay can be sometimes. Every cutscene is done with the game engine. You may not be playing, but it is still gameplay. To prove it, you can interact in some cutscenes and zoom in at anypoint you want. Come to think of it, there are only two FULLY rendered cutscenes within the game. The story in this game is above any in any game series. It truly puts the whole entire story into a masterpiece conclusion. During the credits I was speechless and sat through the whole credit sequence. *NOTE TO ANYONE WHO BEATS THE GAME* There is. like in all MGS games, an audio playing at the end THAT IS SUBSTANTIALLY important! Back to what I was saying. As a console collector, this game will always be in my top 3 gaming collection tied with GTA IV for the #2 spot. Please buy this game, it is worth every penny and the multiplayer is definitely worth a shot. Expand
  4. ColinS.
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    I have never touched a PS3 before. I spent all my time playing Wii. I was never really a sucker for these big ass, violent gamwes everyone was playing. Then i played MGS4. I never played a MGS game before, but this one was simply amazing. The numerous cutscenes were actually very enjoyable, and dont listen to what anyone says; the cutscenes make the game more immersive. The graphics wereI have never touched a PS3 before. I spent all my time playing Wii. I was never really a sucker for these big ass, violent gamwes everyone was playing. Then i played MGS4. I never played a MGS game before, but this one was simply amazing. The numerous cutscenes were actually very enjoyable, and dont listen to what anyone says; the cutscenes make the game more immersive. The graphics were jaw-droppingly amazing. Easily the best of all
    time.
    This game dosent deserve 10, it deserves 11!
    Expand
  5. AlanAsco
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    This is one of the few games that excel in every aspect where a game should. Graphics,story,game play, easter eggs, online etc. Metal Gear Solid 4 is the best game ever made even without its online i've beaten this game 21 times no B.S. and i MGO is my favorite online games followed by halo and gears of war. Metal Gear Solid 4 is an emotional game and is just amazing in every way IThis is one of the few games that excel in every aspect where a game should. Graphics,story,game play, easter eggs, online etc. Metal Gear Solid 4 is the best game ever made even without its online i've beaten this game 21 times no B.S. and i MGO is my favorite online games followed by halo and gears of war. Metal Gear Solid 4 is an emotional game and is just amazing in every way I almost cried at the games conclusion and also throughout. 11/10 Expand
  6. May 3, 2011
    10
    its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Fantastic graphics, a great story (which is heavily tied in with the other Metal Gear Solid games) and excellent stealth gameplay round out the last of the MGS games. The biggest issue is that the game simply doesn't let you play it enough; it'll probably take a little over 20 hours to beat, but expect more than half of that to be taken up by cutscenes.
  8. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    well i just started to review games because ive noticed a change w/ metacritic and decided it was time to view my voice, which is a non-biased and opinion of the overall exp with the game im rating. well to those who have yet to play this game.. now is a good time,lol.. 5-10 bucks to add one of my favorites to your library because i believe this game should be in everyones either havewell i just started to review games because ive noticed a change w/ metacritic and decided it was time to view my voice, which is a non-biased and opinion of the overall exp with the game im rating. well to those who have yet to play this game.. now is a good time,lol.. 5-10 bucks to add one of my favorites to your library because i believe this game should be in everyones either have played or own category. MGS4 well there is a lot of ground to cover with this game and there isnt enough space to describe the details and wonderful examples of developing perfection along w/ pretty cut scenes and visuals. this is one of those games which i cant help but smile when i think about it. there are many ways to tackle this game, many items to find and plenty of choices to make in regards to how you engage into the next act. stealth is my weapon of choice but can be very challenging which i always welcome in a game, a good but not frustrating challenge. it is a well thought out and designed game. snake has many gadgets and devices which allow him to be able to complete his missions in a tech savvy manner, also has an ipod to help him ease his mind along the way. he does smoke like a chimney but cigarettes help ease his nerves. snake faces the harsh reality of what is transpiring and his hunt for truth is emotional but he is a mans man and faces what ever it may be head on. people often take away from mgs4 because of some lengthy cut scenes , but i loved every moment of them and trust me when i say that the cut scenes do not take anything away from the gameplay or campaign, it adds a compelling story to it and i welcomed the story with open arms and was delighted with every part of this game, as far as glitches or bugs, well i will say this. NOTHING takes away the pure, wonderfully crafted game which i am a proud owner of. i bought this game years ago and to this day i do not see many games that can compare with the overall exp. yes games have new tech hence better capabilities as far as graphics etc, but in my honest opinion this game could be released next week and still would rank as a pure bred contender w/ "next gen gaming" thinking of this game is tempting me to put the disc in, thats how much i enjoyed it after playing through it 2 times already.

    its a bargain bin game by value, but it is a gem by design and always will be.
    p.s. if you have the game you can download the official guide/mgs4 encyclopedia for free. that in itself was very impressive and large in content/detail.. great game
    Expand
  9. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of The Patriots is the most fascinating game ever. The stealth gameplay is perfect, and the story is outstandingly written. The cutscenes are lengthy and perfect, and technically is amazing. Characters are perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. Not only the amazing, lengthy single player is here, even the addictive and fun multiplayer. If you have a PS3, youMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of The Patriots is the most fascinating game ever. The stealth gameplay is perfect, and the story is outstandingly written. The cutscenes are lengthy and perfect, and technically is amazing. Characters are perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. Not only the amazing, lengthy single player is here, even the addictive and fun multiplayer. If you have a PS3, you should buy this game, because It's just perfect. 100 out of 100 Expand
  10. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Metal Gear Solid 4, in short is a very unique experience which for the most part is enjoyable. The main story took me around 20 hours to complete and delivered a satisfying ending. Handling missions the way the game intends you to is a rewarding feeling which requires a level of skill. The game doesn't hold your hand, which is great but would be even better if it's game play was perfect.Metal Gear Solid 4, in short is a very unique experience which for the most part is enjoyable. The main story took me around 20 hours to complete and delivered a satisfying ending. Handling missions the way the game intends you to is a rewarding feeling which requires a level of skill. The game doesn't hold your hand, which is great but would be even better if it's game play was perfect. Even when mastering the game's controls it would simply be a lie to say that it feels completely fluid. Although it's stealth and shooting mechanics are a major improvement on previous main titles there are times when the game feels sloppy and unresponsive. Visually the game is stunning but other than the 'Old Snake' start menu theme the soundtrack never really stuck out for me. Metal Gear Solid 4 has quite the complicated story line, and it's told through hours of cut scenes. This isn't entirely a bad thing though, as the story they tell is quite interesting. You grow to appreciate the games characters and you understand their relationships with each other as well as their importance to the MGS universe. Unfortunately it's hard to ignore the fact that they are lengthy and at times a chore to sit through. Although some of the action cut scenes were top notch, a handful of story driven ones felt like they could have been reasonably shorter. Boss battles were undeniably the highlight as they were both fun and engaging in a way that makes them very memorable. Although it's hard for me to agree with the countless amount of people who have given this game a 10/10, it does a lot right and is worthy of a 8. Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = A Cinematic dream. A Work of art. This IS Metal Gear Solid 4!!
  12. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    I was not brought up on Metal Gear Solid games. Therefore, I did not enter this game with any kind of nostalgia as many other gamers did. I found the controls to be incredibly clunky and frustrating and really did not enjoy the experience at all.
  13. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    I couldn't stand this game for several reasons: Really cringeworthy writing (way to go Hideo Kajima).
    Pretentious and boring long cutscenes.
    Fart jokes and generally bad humor. Poor gameplay design and variation. Killer robots saying "mmoooooo!" Stealth elements are not surprisingly just as weak as they have been since MGS1. Want a good stealth-action-adventure with a mature tone,
    I couldn't stand this game for several reasons: Really cringeworthy writing (way to go Hideo Kajima).
    Pretentious and boring long cutscenes.
    Fart jokes and generally bad humor.
    Poor gameplay design and variation.
    Killer robots saying "mmoooooo!"
    Stealth elements are not surprisingly just as weak as they have been since MGS1.

    Want a good stealth-action-adventure with a mature tone, I would recommend any of the Splinter Cell games over this any time of day. There's also Dishonored and any of the Hitman games.
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    I never playey any Metal Gear before and i was disappointed in this Game. The Action Sequences and the Graphics are great, but most of the Time you are watching endless cutescenes. The Epilog lasts over 1,5h!!! Thats not the right way, to tell a story.
  15. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    I have played through this game twice and cannot find an enjoyable moment in the whole thing. The cut-scenes drag-out its length, without them i'm not sure there is even a game here. As someone whose followed metal gear solid since the start and has enjoyed them all a great deal until this point, i am very disappointed. 4 for effort?
  16. JeffB
    Nov 6, 2009
    5
    I was expecting a lot going into this game. It looked beautiful, the ratings were excellent and the game looked promising as a whole. And by the time the first cut scene was over and the controls were given to me I had decided that it was my favorite game of all time. From that point on however, it was all down hill. As the game progresses it loses more and more of its mature tone towards I was expecting a lot going into this game. It looked beautiful, the ratings were excellent and the game looked promising as a whole. And by the time the first cut scene was over and the controls were given to me I had decided that it was my favorite game of all time. From that point on however, it was all down hill. As the game progresses it loses more and more of its mature tone towards a theme that is absolutely idiotic. The characters are terrible, they look ridiculous and the conversations reminded me more of Pokemon than a video game. The are attempts at humor and pathetic and the game will interrupt you for basically no reason in some parts so it can play another idiotic cut scene that will likely take up another half hour of time you should be sneaking around. I have never seen a video game such as this in which almost every character is either unbelievably gay or just plain stupid. Snake is the only good character in this game and at some points I thought this only because the other characters were so unbelievably terrible. Despite these things however I played out the rest of the game hoping it would pass. Unfortunately however these things only got worse as the game played on. By the end you will have seen four crazy bitches scream for 20 minutes straight (which is honestly nothing more than irritating), You will have seen a monkey smoking, a full grown man crap his pants and then watch in disbelief as the game try's to make you laugh with fart jokes, a gay vampire dance like a ballerina as you repeatedly blow his brains out, an incredibly pale ninja guy fight with a sword in his mouth, the absolute worst attempt at romance I've ever seen a video game attempt during a shootout, and to top it off there will be a wedding at the end the is so unbelievably gay that I literally turned my system off because of. I hate to say it but in order to experience this game's good qualities you will have to survive being hit over the head with so many unbelievably stupid elements that the game will fall short as a whole. Expand
  17. Dec 17, 2012
    3
    Calling this a "game" is false advertising. It's a movie, and a bad one at that. The storytelling is nonsensical. Load times are bad. Every now and then they interrupt the movie with some occasional gameplay. The ratings for this one are proof that if you throw enough shiny and PR budget at something, you can convince the critics to like it.
  18. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    By far the best video game I've ever played, I have played this so many times and it just keeps getting better, and the people giving it bad reviews have no taste in games
  19. JAce
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It really is as good as it promised to be - maybe even better.
  20. ChrisO.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. The best Metal Gear game ever. Yes there are a bunch of cut scenes but get over it.
  21. AbdulM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is awesome. End of Story.
  22. BillieC.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    If you're an idiot, the game's probably not going to make much sense to you. MGS4's plot encompasses three other titles. It's very complex and deep, though the Gears of War masses will think it's convoluted because of the required intellectual capacity. With that said, the gameplay is pretty much open to everyone, no matter where they stand in the IQ department. If you're an idiot, the game's probably not going to make much sense to you. MGS4's plot encompasses three other titles. It's very complex and deep, though the Gears of War masses will think it's convoluted because of the required intellectual capacity. With that said, the gameplay is pretty much open to everyone, no matter where they stand in the IQ department. The difficulty curve might be steep for newbs, but a half hour to an hour of practice will yield positive results. I would trust the critics, mainly IGN and Gamespot; most other media are really just trying to get their names out there. It'd be nice if metacritic would stick to professional sites/mags, but they don't. Guess we just have to deal with it. Expand
  23. ColbyK.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    At last we have found a game that can only be described as Art. After decades of trying to be recognized as such. The game lifts you up and brings you down. t has been said that games can only become art when they can make their gamers cry. I cried during MGS4 (towards the end of Act 4), and I'm not afraid to admit it. A masterpiece.
  24. WilliamY
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    I love those people who troll and such, most likely with out even watching the trailer for the game let alone buying it. Most of them may be mad because they bought a 360 rather than the amazing PS3. All that aside, MGS4 was a brilliant game, the occasional bits of humor mixed with a scoring system that wasn't entirely pointless (Drebin Points) brought this series to a miraculous I love those people who troll and such, most likely with out even watching the trailer for the game let alone buying it. Most of them may be mad because they bought a 360 rather than the amazing PS3. All that aside, MGS4 was a brilliant game, the occasional bits of humor mixed with a scoring system that wasn't entirely pointless (Drebin Points) brought this series to a miraculous end. I did find a little distress in the long cut scenes, however they tell the story, though some of the times I just wanted to play. I have played the previous MGS games, so I watched the cut scene diligently, and even if you have no history with MGS, there are some funny things in the cutscenes... Amazing game, tons of things to do, I've played through it once already and I'm still discovering things to do the second time around. Expand
  25. AmigaGuruT.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Certainly one of the best games ever made, to everyone who havent played it yet, GET IT NOW! , if you don't have a PS3 then buy a PS3 for this game and then run on PSN and get SuperStarDust HD aswell, then you have the two best games in years.
  26. PedroV.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Where should I begin? Oh, yes. THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!! It's the perfect game for the PS3 (like all its predecessors). You can do all things you would expect from a stealth action game. I've heard that many people didn't like the game because of the many cutscenes but, you must accept it when you don't like films (well, I enjoy the lengthy cutscenes) and they are very Where should I begin? Oh, yes. THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!! It's the perfect game for the PS3 (like all its predecessors). You can do all things you would expect from a stealth action game. I've heard that many people didn't like the game because of the many cutscenes but, you must accept it when you don't like films (well, I enjoy the lengthy cutscenes) and they are very important to provide you with many informations about the story ( all MGS games are half-films and half-games. Good: + innovative control-system + great voice acting + great sound effects + it's the game with the most realistic graphics + great boss fights + human-like AI + not too easy but not too hard Bad: - single-player experience ends - MGOnline is kind of blah. Expand
  27. stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    You have to play through this game several times.The game play if fun no matter which way you chose to play. I recommend playing it once run and gun and once stealth to get the full flavor. The best storyline of any game ever made. Inchworm FTW.
  28. JamesConvery
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    If there is one game the PS3 has been sorely missing since it's release, it
  29. DasV
    Dec 6, 2009
    5
    MGS4 is very disappointing and the most overrated game I
  30. juanm
    Feb 9, 2010
    6
    This game is what made me buy the PS3 instead of the XBOX 360, but after playing it all I can say is I'm glad for other PS3 exclusives. It's not a bad game, gameplay wise, but it's the story that's made previous metal gear games stand out, and this one just doesn't deliver. It's all fan service, and no substance. It feels more like Commando than James Bond.This game is what made me buy the PS3 instead of the XBOX 360, but after playing it all I can say is I'm glad for other PS3 exclusives. It's not a bad game, gameplay wise, but it's the story that's made previous metal gear games stand out, and this one just doesn't deliver. It's all fan service, and no substance. It feels more like Commando than James Bond. Characters routinely survive things that are definitely quite lethal, with no explanation other than Kojima wasn't ready for them to die. The core story, which would be quite good otherwise, is swallowed up by these shallow attempts to elicit emotion from the player. On top of that, there are hardly any new characters. The beauty and beast corps, while technically 4 characters, might as well be 1 character for all the similarities in their backstories and personalities. Only you have to listen to their stories 4 times. But my biggest gripe is a technical one. You have to install the game between each chapter. And doing so uninstalls the last chapter. So if you want to go back and replay a boss or segment of the game, you have to reinstall that chapter. Then, when you want to return to where you were before, you have to reinstall again. This gets very old very fast, and greatly diminishes the game's replay value. Not that there was that much to begin with. Expand
  31. aspentitan
    Jan 21, 2010
    5
    I was guilty of buying this game because it was so highly rated so thought it necessary to post a negative review of this game here because I just couldn
  32. YerielH
    Mar 15, 2010
    6
    I have alot to say about this game and this little space does not do me any good. Unfortunately MGS4 was a failure. I am a huge MGS fan and is probably the only games I ever play anymore, but this was wrong. A real fan would wake up and notice that Konjima is feeding us recycled plots and storylines. I suspect he did not write MGS4 at all or he did not write the series to from beginning I have alot to say about this game and this little space does not do me any good. Unfortunately MGS4 was a failure. I am a huge MGS fan and is probably the only games I ever play anymore, but this was wrong. A real fan would wake up and notice that Konjima is feeding us recycled plots and storylines. I suspect he did not write MGS4 at all or he did not write the series to from beginning to end before starting with MG but wrote as he went along and did not write MGS4 well at all. The game is graphically stunning and the controls are tight and it is by no means a un-enjoyably game, but Metal Gear Solid is a game based on gameplay intertwined with story. Hideo gave fans what they wanted a overdramatic, poorly written, self-aware story. I wanted to see Hideo write and produce a game that he wanted to make not a game he submissively gave to those who just wanted to see a ending. This does not deserve a perfect score by no means.!!! Expand
  33. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is a descent game, but one with some huge faults. The good stuff first: Great graphics, fun stealthy gameplay, epic boss fights... Basically, all the same stuff that made the old MGS games good. However, this is truly the game where you watch more then you play. Ten minutes of gameplay = thirty minutes of cut-scene or more. The older games had a good balance of play toMetal Gear Solid 4 is a descent game, but one with some huge faults. The good stuff first: Great graphics, fun stealthy gameplay, epic boss fights... Basically, all the same stuff that made the old MGS games good. However, this is truly the game where you watch more then you play. Ten minutes of gameplay = thirty minutes of cut-scene or more. The older games had a good balance of play to watch ratio. Metal Gear Solid 4 unbalances it to ridiculous proportions. That's not the only problem, either. The story and dialogue that you're forced to endlessly watch is ham-fisted, convoluted and confusing. It gets so wrapped up in it's own intricacies and technical details, that the bigger picture becomes diluted and difficult to understand. In the end, I found MGS4 to be a fun game with infuriating story components that came close to unraveling the whole package. I really think that Hideo Kojima needs to reel himself in and go back to basics for the next Solid Snake outing. Expand
  34. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    great game-play. some of the best i have ever endured, but dear god is the story the most god-awful, border-line retarded, droll ridden, piece of **** i have ever experienced. i played this game through probably 8 times and did not watch one single cut scene. do you know why? because every cutscene is 20 minutes to 3 hours in length that back tracks on the most essential parts of the metalgreat game-play. some of the best i have ever endured, but dear god is the story the most god-awful, border-line retarded, droll ridden, piece of **** i have ever experienced. i played this game through probably 8 times and did not watch one single cut scene. do you know why? because every cutscene is 20 minutes to 3 hours in length that back tracks on the most essential parts of the metal gear story. not to mention you ride on the back of a motor cycle with your 90 year old mom shooting electronic bats (that is objectively retarded, do not evin begin to try to argue with me) and kojima feels compelled to go back to shadow moses because he obviously cant thin of any thing better to write and needs the nostalgia of a true classic to make up for his lack of effort with MGS 2-4. by the way, "lets make snake 70 years old because of the nanomachines so we can hurry up and finish the story because we cant think of **** else to write." once again, gameplay: worth buying (A+), story: an abomination of epic proportions (ruthlessly homosexual, F-) Expand
  35. Oct 15, 2012
    7
    Los primeros actos son soberbios, plagados de escenarios increibles y objetivos variados.
    El problema llega a partir de Europa ya el juego se convierte en un video interactivo en el que, para explicarte la enrevesadisima trama del juego, se suceden y suceden secuencias de video, algunas de ellas tan innecesarias como vergonzosas o pateticas (la boda, por ejemplo).
    Los gráficos son
    Los primeros actos son soberbios, plagados de escenarios increibles y objetivos variados.
    El problema llega a partir de Europa ya el juego se convierte en un video interactivo en el que, para explicarte la enrevesadisima trama del juego, se suceden y suceden secuencias de video, algunas de ellas tan innecesarias como vergonzosas o pateticas (la boda, por ejemplo).
    Los gráficos son de lo mejorcito aun hoy en día y el sonido no se queda atrás así como los controles, completamente renovados y con muchas posibilidades.
    Al final del juego te da la impresión de que te has pasado casi tanto tiempo viendo videos como jugando aunque si eres fan de la saga lo sabrás perdonar ya que se cierran muchos interrogantes de la trama que nos enganchó ya desde PSone. A Kojima se le ha ido totalmente la mano pero aun así los seguidores de la saga lo disfrutaran y mucho.
    GRAFICOS: 10 SONIDO: 8 DIVERSION: 7,5 DURACION: 7
    Expand
  36. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overrated. That's one word to describe the experience I had with this game. It's not bad, mind you but it has some "identity crisis". Having the game split in chapters with different locations is a bad idea because instead of having places that feel like places, we have areas that look like levels of a game, with conveniently placed walls.
    Take the jungle of mg3, the whole world feels connected, you feel like you are "exploring" the area and not just "move from point A to point B".
    I mentioned "identity crisis" because this game seems to not be able to decide whether it's trying to tell a new tale or it's trying to mimic key moments from previous games. I felt like I was watching a bad scripted series finale of a tv show in which all the actors available appear for no reason other that:"it's the ending I want to be there". Trying to connect all the people involved could have been great but it feels forced, some plot points happen just because they need to make supporting characters do something.
    Then we have cutscenes, dear lord, really, I would have edited out at least 15 minutes from each cutscene, or at least I would have made playable somehow.
    The worst offenders are the boss fights with B&B, the game expects us to feel sympathetic towards the enemy but... after a boss fight where my first thought is "save, I want to save!" I must suffer a stock "tragic backstory" via Codec. This is not how you make a character likable or multi dimensional, this is how you make a character even more boring.
    Another thing that I just didn't get is Psycho Mantis, why does he show up? What's his purpose? I thought he became good in mgs1 why he is saying generic monologues? In the end I didn't get half of what' was going on,events for me happened just because they needed to include other characters or because they wanted to make cool action scenes.
    Even the ending could have been heartwarming instead I got an extremely boring and confusing summary of the plot in which the world "zero" was repeated so many times that i stopped caring after a few minutes.
    In the end, I don't hate this game, but I can enjoy it if I don't mind some weird design/plot choices. It's just not the masterpiece everybody is praising about.
    Expand
  37. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    "Legends die hard and deserve a heroic story that lives on when they are gone. Metal Gear Solid 4 is such an ending for the legendary warrior Solid Snake. Not only does it sum up the full franchise of Metal Gear, its depth and its complexity, coupled with its technical prowess, make it one of the best games of the year and, indeed, one of the best games ever made. Get some well earned"Legends die hard and deserve a heroic story that lives on when they are gone. Metal Gear Solid 4 is such an ending for the legendary warrior Solid Snake. Not only does it sum up the full franchise of Metal Gear, its depth and its complexity, coupled with its technical prowess, make it one of the best games of the year and, indeed, one of the best games ever made. Get some well earned rest, Snake. You've earned it. We salute you." Expand
  38. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    Im sorry. i tried to liked this game. but i cant
    its horrible.
    i missed the stealth gameplay
    Metal gear solid is "TACTICAL ESPIONAGE ACTION"
    NOT A "FUTURE WARFARE ACTION"
    the bosses aren deep
    the dialogs are so stupid
    and the plot is very absurd.
    kojima what did you smoke? you spent.
    this games is overrated just for being a ps3 exclusive
    and the last game of the story
  39. Aug 26, 2015
    2
    First, the biggest problem with this game: this is hardly a video game. This is a movie. It was thought as a movie, but somehow someone somewhere said "nah, let's make it a video game". To make up for this media trouble they inserted, I kid you not, more than nine hours of cutscenes. NINE HOURS. It took me 20 hours to finish the game, not being a veteran of the series, and NINE of thoseFirst, the biggest problem with this game: this is hardly a video game. This is a movie. It was thought as a movie, but somehow someone somewhere said "nah, let's make it a video game". To make up for this media trouble they inserted, I kid you not, more than nine hours of cutscenes. NINE HOURS. It took me 20 hours to finish the game, not being a veteran of the series, and NINE of those were from cutscenes. This is simply unacceptable. This by itself throws my score to under 5. Doesn't matter if you do every other part wonderfully, if you have NINE HOURS of cutscene you have failed as a video game developer, you are a failed movie director who somehow got someone to give you money to make a video game. This is by far the major and most stupid problem with the game.

    Second part, more than half of the rest of the game (that includes actual gameplay) is extremely scripted. Point-and-click scripted. Like, things appear in your screen, aim and shoot at them. And QTEs, of **** course. I didn't almost fell asleep in these parts, but I sure wasn't entertained either.

    And finally, the writing. I jump into this game head-first after all the glorious reviews I've read about it never having played another Metal Gear, so I thought this was just random crap put together. After finishing the game (only because I had bought it) I decided to look into the story. So it seems that it's not random crap put together, it's fanservice crap put together. So there's these guys, who are clones, and this guy got the arm of the other guy and so got "possessed" by the other guy, and there are these really old guys, and almost everyone dies, BUT WAIT THIS GUY ISN'T ACTUALLY DEAD, nvm he died now, the **** end. And loosely tied with straight out fanservice, they could have Kojima appear in-game and shout "THIS IS WHAT YOU WANT, RIGHT? LOOK, I GOT IT IN THE GAME!" from time to time. There are a lot of things that happen purely for fanservice reasons. Overall bad story, **** horrible dialogs, 2D characters, jokes on the level of kid's anime and a presentation that takes OVER NINE HOURS OF CUTSCENES to present all this ****

    If you are a die-hard fan of the series and you MUST know what happens next, well, play it. Why the **** not. Just don't expect much. If you aren't, stay away from this piece of crap.
    Expand
  40. Oct 13, 2010
    4
    This is one of the most boring games i have ever played, just because the game is made by an asian does not mean it is clever, what was so clever?, the 1 000 000 hour cutscenes, is there any gameplay? Oh yes that brief moment between the cutscenes, the random weird typical japanese names such as Snake, Vamp, Otacon and Liquid, what the hell !!!!!!!!, the **** menu and weapon selection,This is one of the most boring games i have ever played, just because the game is made by an asian does not mean it is clever, what was so clever?, the 1 000 000 hour cutscenes, is there any gameplay? Oh yes that brief moment between the cutscenes, the random weird typical japanese names such as Snake, Vamp, Otacon and Liquid, what the hell !!!!!!!!, the **** menu and weapon selection, the fact that the only thing Snake can do is crawl and hump the ground and smoke all the time!!!. And the disease that exhilarates ageing, lets just say that invisible fairies kill all life on the planet. The graphics for 2008 was good but when played in 2010 it doesnt look so pretty compared to Uncharted 2 or GOW 3. Expand
  41. Feb 7, 2012
    3
    Got this because I loved MGS Snake Eater. Played mgs4 once, then twice, then some more. Thought it was great. Played it recently, it was ok. The cutscenes were horrifically long to the point where I was nodding off. The graphics were good. The thing that I hated the most was the europe mission, following the Resistance member. That was so boring I had to quit and come back later and listenGot this because I loved MGS Snake Eater. Played mgs4 once, then twice, then some more. Thought it was great. Played it recently, it was ok. The cutscenes were horrifically long to the point where I was nodding off. The graphics were good. The thing that I hated the most was the europe mission, following the Resistance member. That was so boring I had to quit and come back later and listen to music to kill the boredom. Expand
  42. Sep 3, 2012
    1
    This game is really, really bad. The story is ridiculous, convoluted and even when you try and take the time to understand it, is quite bad and immature. You play the game for 15 minutes then are bombarded by hour-long cutscenes. Video games are meant to be played, not watched.

    The characters are hilariously bad, in true Japanese fashion. Are Japanese people all autistic and unable to
    This game is really, really bad. The story is ridiculous, convoluted and even when you try and take the time to understand it, is quite bad and immature. You play the game for 15 minutes then are bombarded by hour-long cutscenes. Video games are meant to be played, not watched.

    The characters are hilariously bad, in true Japanese fashion. Are Japanese people all autistic and unable to portray real characters? It seems that way sometimes.

    Anyway, the graphics are good, I guess. Good character models. But the gameplay is almost non existent and quite bad. The game advertises itself as a stealth game but will always throw unavoidable confration and action scenes at you. And don't get me started on the dreadful boss fights. This is a really bad video game.
    Expand
  43. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    I'm dumbfounded at how positive this game was received. This was not a good game. The storyline was complete and utter nonsense, and I dare anyone to trace back through the metal gear solid series and define a coherent plot throughout. I had loved this series initially, and really thought MGS3 was a great game, but this one just put the nail in the coffin for me. Some of the cutscenesI'm dumbfounded at how positive this game was received. This was not a good game. The storyline was complete and utter nonsense, and I dare anyone to trace back through the metal gear solid series and define a coherent plot throughout. I had loved this series initially, and really thought MGS3 was a great game, but this one just put the nail in the coffin for me. Some of the cutscenes were so long and nonsensical that I literally was praying for them to end so I could get back to playing the game. The gameplay was good, but there just wasn't enough of it. Expand
  44. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    Do not buy MGS4. MGS3 is such a better game. Metal Gear Solid 4 does not encourage being stealthy in any way, shape, or form. This game is so boring when trying to be stealthy. In order to be stealthy, you literally go 1 centimeter a MINUTE. Snake is painfully slow in this game. All this game did was make me want to play Metal Gear Solid 3; where I don't go 1 centimeter a minute.
  45. MeestYk
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Simply the best PS3 ever produced. When you think of a game given credit for graphics you tend to think it's a crappy gameplay in it, BUT it's actually the opposite. Solid Metal Gear 4: Guns of the patriots is simply well made for us, gamers. It has a great story sequel, a great game interface, deep characters realizations, and the action is just intense. You'll feel Simply the best PS3 ever produced. When you think of a game given credit for graphics you tend to think it's a crappy gameplay in it, BUT it's actually the opposite. Solid Metal Gear 4: Guns of the patriots is simply well made for us, gamers. It has a great story sequel, a great game interface, deep characters realizations, and the action is just intense. You'll feel completely drowned in it once you spend just a few minutes playing it. Highly recommended. A must have for all gamers who love games with a full story, freedom to do what you want with the weapons and gear customizations and its universe. Plus there's plenty of cinematics to pull you even deeper into this game. As a result, Hideo Kojima and his team pulled off a masterpiece with this latest installment. I highly praise this game as the GOTY for the PS3 system without a doubt. If there were an 11/10 this is it. Expand
  46. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game truly was magnificent... I agree with most that it will stand the test of time as one of the greats of all time. There were a few "cheesy" moments in the story if you ask me that didn't add much but as far as the scope and magnitude of this effort it is right up there with Grand Theft Auto IV. This brings stealth, action, weapons, upgrades, and a fantastic story with epic bossThis game truly was magnificent... I agree with most that it will stand the test of time as one of the greats of all time. There were a few "cheesy" moments in the story if you ask me that didn't add much but as far as the scope and magnitude of this effort it is right up there with Grand Theft Auto IV. This brings stealth, action, weapons, upgrades, and a fantastic story with epic boss fights. A truly memorable experience every gamer should check out. I'd give this a 94 out of 100. Expand
  47. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    I decided to pick this up again after the August trophy patch. It is a beautiful game in my opinion. The controls have been modernized so it took some adjusting to (I had been playing the MGS HD collection). The movies and cut scenes are excessive though well done. My girlfriend will sit and watch and attempt to follow the story, as ridiculous as it is. Overall this is a fantasticI decided to pick this up again after the August trophy patch. It is a beautiful game in my opinion. The controls have been modernized so it took some adjusting to (I had been playing the MGS HD collection). The movies and cut scenes are excessive though well done. My girlfriend will sit and watch and attempt to follow the story, as ridiculous as it is. Overall this is a fantastic metal gear experience and I'm glad I had an excuse to play it again. Expand
  48. Apr 16, 2013
    3
    I do see alot of positive comments on this game but mines not going to be that ways. I have like some of the previous MGS games but kinda grew out of it with the.... toooooo much talking and how unrealistic it is. The talking while in plain sight Im suprised none of them did not get headshotted by a sniper. When the villians do get the upper hand that dont go in for the kill but get theirsI do see alot of positive comments on this game but mines not going to be that ways. I have like some of the previous MGS games but kinda grew out of it with the.... toooooo much talking and how unrealistic it is. The talking while in plain sight Im suprised none of them did not get headshotted by a sniper. When the villians do get the upper hand that dont go in for the kill but get theirs in the end. Stopped playing after Raiden(YOU TOOK THAT FROM MORTAL KOMBAT!!!) STOPPED this HUGE ship from crushing Snake..... almost like a roach stopping a door from closing.... The hell is up with that black guy!!! He knows toooo much info on these chicks that try to kill snake kinda like he was there. I did not play the online though so if it is good then I missed out but the game...... eh I just gave it to a friend free. Sorry done with it Expand
  49. Jul 15, 2014
    0
    sometimes Boring, sometimes It makes me cringe. It's worst game in all of the MGS series(bestest is MGS3). DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME IT IS JUST SH*T......
  50. ScottF
    Mar 30, 2010
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. I loved MGS1 & 2 as they featured lots of tight stealth action. However, I found MGS4 left me cold. Instead of sneaking correctly through the more open ended levels, I found it easier to just run through in the open in a dash to the next checkpoint. I found the cutscenes stupidly long, and excruciatingly boring. Whats the fun in playing for 5 minutes, I really wanted to like this game. I loved MGS1 & 2 as they featured lots of tight stealth action. However, I found MGS4 left me cold. Instead of sneaking correctly through the more open ended levels, I found it easier to just run through in the open in a dash to the next checkpoint. I found the cutscenes stupidly long, and excruciatingly boring. Whats the fun in playing for 5 minutes, and then watching a mind numbing 20 minute cut scene? Another 5 mins of playtime, and another 20 mins of putting the pad down and twiddling your thumbs? It'a an absolute mess of pacing. The game is technically very sound, and if you are a big MGS fan you might be able to put up with it and enjoy it. But for non series fans, and people who actually want to PLAY a video game, and not just stare at cut scenes, steer clear. Expand
  51. PetD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    Sorry, after MGS1,2 and 3 - where is 4? I mean, not these long and boring cutscenes. 20 minutes of cutscenes, 5 minutes of shooting (wheres stealth action?). I f i want to see a film, i go in cinema. this game is absolutely over hyped !
  52. SanusiF.
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    I did not wait three years to watch a stupid movie. I waited to play an actual game. Probably the most solopsistic effort I have ever come across. Wow. Talk about a crappy game.
  53. Oct 6, 2010
    4
    Usually I tend to write more in my reviews of games I haven't enjoyed than of those that I have, as I feel there is more of an obligation to explain and justify a negative opinion. But for MGS4, I simply can't be bothered. I couldn't take the time or effort to finish the game, so I'm hardly like to afford much attention to reviewing a game I hated. Let me some up my experience of MGS4:Usually I tend to write more in my reviews of games I haven't enjoyed than of those that I have, as I feel there is more of an obligation to explain and justify a negative opinion. But for MGS4, I simply can't be bothered. I couldn't take the time or effort to finish the game, so I'm hardly like to afford much attention to reviewing a game I hated. Let me some up my experience of MGS4:
    Long, confusing cutscene; Level 1 - got down on my belly and crawled through to end; Long, tedious cutscene; Level 2 - got down on my belly and crawled through to end; Long, weird cutscene; Level 3 - got down on my belly and....turned of PS3 and stuck the game on ebay.
    Part of the game's big selling point was its stealth mechanic. Spiderman 2 had a better stealth mechanic. I appreciate that the story only makes sense to those who are fans of the series, but in a way not having played any of the other games makes me more of an objective review of the game as it stands alone. And MGS4 stands silent, in the shadows, preparing to crawl along on its belly so that nobody else notices how poor it is.
    Expand
  54. May 16, 2013
    1
    It truly boggles my mind how many positive reviews there are for this epic piece of garbage. Playing through MSG4 is an exercise in frustration and a true revelation in just how much senseless melodramatic pieces of cutscenes a game maker can cram into a Blu-Ray and still have the thing called a game.

    The entire story is nonsensical. A monkey with a crayon and a 8.5x11 piece of paper
    It truly boggles my mind how many positive reviews there are for this epic piece of garbage. Playing through MSG4 is an exercise in frustration and a true revelation in just how much senseless melodramatic pieces of cutscenes a game maker can cram into a Blu-Ray and still have the thing called a game.

    The entire story is nonsensical. A monkey with a crayon and a 8.5x11 piece of paper can write a more coherent plot than the writer of this game. The dialog is horrible. Characters make all kinds of guttural sounds, hums, haws, and grunts continuously for no reason.

    The game play, what little there is sprinkled through the vast hours of retarded cinematic CGI, is boring as hell.
    Expand
  55. Spartan
    Jun 19, 2008
    5
    This is the part where like every single other person here I either show I'm a PS3 fanboy and rate it 10 or show I'm 360/Wii fanboy (both good consoles to) and rate it 0. Yet since I'm neither I'll split the difference and give it a 5.
  56. Jun 16, 2012
    0
    METAL GEAR AVERAGE

    metal gear solid 4 is the biggest letdown in this console generation its not a bad game, its a great game but its nowhere near a triple A game compared to this generations great games- uncharted, mass effect, halo reach- metal gear solid 4 is a disgrace to the metal gear name graphics- some of the textures and backgrounds are SUB SD sub SD on a so called
    METAL GEAR AVERAGE

    metal gear solid 4 is the biggest letdown in this console generation
    its not a bad game, its a great game

    but its nowhere near a triple A game

    compared to this generations great games- uncharted, mass effect, halo reach- metal gear solid 4 is a disgrace to the metal gear name

    graphics-
    some of the textures and backgrounds are SUB SD
    sub SD on a so called HD console- is a downright disgrace for a tinshop small company-
    but for one of the ps3s premier game developers this is unacceptable
    its not that kojima productions makes up for this with detail- the landscape has basic detail- average draw distance- average overall is the best way to describe the graphics
    MGS 3 was ps2 was a powerhouse- MGS4 could be done on the wii
    unchartered 3 or mass effect 3 look a generation ahead of MGS4

    sound- 10/10
    harry gregson williams has done anotrher amazing job- the intro screen is some of the best music in the entire franchise- the music is suitably epic

    controls- average- there is a HUGE shooter emphasis now- before (back when kojima made games for himself and didnt ass kiss the western audience) MGS was 90% stealth 10% shooting

    MGS3 was 70% stealth 30% shooter- a happy medium

    mgs4 is crap- there is no reason for the game to have any sneaking anymore- it could be called gears of solid- with extra long cutscenes

    it feels rushed- what was kojima doing for 4 years- the story is barebones- barely trying to put everything together there is no stand alone adventure- just old rehashes
    the graphics engine looks s**t next to uncharted 2

    the ANIMATION work is playstation 1 level- its so bad- no one at konami has a clue about mo cap animation work- if snake is crouching and you turn the stick- he turns ON WHEELS WITH NO ANIMATIONS

    DISGRACEFUL IN THIS GENERATION

    radio chatter in MGS 3 was taken to the next level- MGS 4 has none of that charm or brilliance- again= you find yourself asking- what was kojima doing
    youre talking to otaBORE for most of the game- there is the STUPIDEST ADDITION OF ROSE AND A PSYCHE GAUGE- which adds less than nothing
    the radio chatter is a disgrace

    this feels like a watered down MGS3 with shooter elements replacing the brilliance

    kojima hasnt made a truly great game since mgs3- and that was FAR from perfect

    this is a step down

    7/10 is very generous for this mess of a game

    the story is so bad i dont even want to score it
    Expand
  57. Voodooman
    May 8, 2009
    3
    I almost absolutely agree with Dave N. Obsessed fanboys are just blind to see the fact that this game is bad a game with outdated gameplay (that basicly is same as it was 10 years ago, with the exeption that THIS ISNT STEALTH ANYMORE, BUT STUPID SHOOT-EM-UP) that feels more like arcade mario than realistic tactical stealth game like splinter cell and thief, and it many gamedesign I almost absolutely agree with Dave N. Obsessed fanboys are just blind to see the fact that this game is bad a game with outdated gameplay (that basicly is same as it was 10 years ago, with the exeption that THIS ISNT STEALTH ANYMORE, BUT STUPID SHOOT-EM-UP) that feels more like arcade mario than realistic tactical stealth game like splinter cell and thief, and it many gamedesign mistakes. Also blind fanboys who gives a 10 for its MOVIE-likeness cant just see that this is average movie with a lot of plot holes, Bolywood-style (aka indian movie) overacted "drama" like meryl and sosaki "love" and like raiden who seems to be killed by massive Arsenal gear, but ten minutes later we can see him alive just without arms... and the last scene where due of commercial reasons snake decide to stay alive when he should die for good... And this whole stupid death of Naomi from something that aint look and aint work like death from cancer (its was better to kill her with foxdie). And the whole plot, consist from to much Re-used elements that Kojima uses again and again from MG 2: Solid Snake, so long before release of MGS 4 i predicted 80% of story exactly right, and those 20% i was wrong about are these plot-holes (when kojima just forget what he said in previuos parts and when he makes some irrational story decisions). Welll the fact that there are more cut scenes than gameplay isnt that bad, but again these scenes and whole plot not good and not well verified like it was in MGS 1 and MGS 2. And again gameplay is separate story that will not fit into this small comments window. But its borring, not stealth at all, stupid and too mach arcadish and classic, that feels like game from PSone released in 1998, but not like the our day modern and realistic games . Kojima just stuck in 80th-90th design era, and too much conservative to move beyond this prehistorics { ! } and this { ? } icons over head of AI that spawns infinite and act same stupid like a bad toilet jokes about sasaki`s health problems. I was waiting for this so many ears since MGS 2, but it the end i get nothing but frustration, so after i finished game 3 times in a first week of release i gifted my copy of MGS 4 to the guy who let me rent his PS3 (yeah i wasnt stupid enoght like others to buy the inferior console - the outsider of current generations, just for one soap bubble like MGS 4) (( Its worst ever Metal Gear for sure. Expand
  58. MarkD.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    I'm not sure what's wrong with GameDaily, games(TM), EuroGamer or Edge, but I don't see how you can give this game anything less than a 90, if that. While it does have it's slow moments (a certain cutscene takes forever - but to show everything that is happening in one second usually takes about 10 in any game or movie), it always speeds up just in time. The ony thing I'm not sure what's wrong with GameDaily, games(TM), EuroGamer or Edge, but I don't see how you can give this game anything less than a 90, if that. While it does have it's slow moments (a certain cutscene takes forever - but to show everything that is happening in one second usually takes about 10 in any game or movie), it always speeds up just in time. The ony thing I miss from any of the previous games is the animals; while there are a few, there are not as many as in MGS3, but this can be expected. There are other minor details that could've been clearer, but then the game would've taken another year, and the extra dwelling time for the developers and gamers would've only damaged the title further. Also, the Mission Briefing and Act screens are a little lame. I can't really say much about what makes the game good, because then I'll ruin it for any who have not played it. Expand
  59. TaiTan
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The best game ever created, period.
  60. AndreyK.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    Probably the biggest blow out of the MGS sage. This masterpiece is just like a bible, thats puts all the stories in one, major point. Don't even have the words to describe it. Although I've never played MGS3, I still was able to pick the story connected to the previous parts (MGS1 & MGS2) and reconstruct missing link (MGS3). I'm not such a fanboy nor die hard gamer, but for Probably the biggest blow out of the MGS sage. This masterpiece is just like a bible, thats puts all the stories in one, major point. Don't even have the words to describe it. Although I've never played MGS3, I still was able to pick the story connected to the previous parts (MGS1 & MGS2) and reconstruct missing link (MGS3). I'm not such a fanboy nor die hard gamer, but for me , since MGS1, Snake had a special meaning. Especially after the last cut scene of the game, I almost dropped a tear. Expand
  61. Justin
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Great game. Amazing storyline that gets confusing at times, but worth it. The cut-scenes are long but that makes the game so much better. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because of my inability to watch the epic Raiden vs. Vamp battle. The whole splitscreen that goes on is cool, but what use is it if all my attention is directed at not dying and killing a bunch of robots. Awesome game.
  62. EdgarVeríssimo
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is pure genious, from the graphics to the gameplay which come together to create a very intense experience... crippled only by the fact that you almost don't need the controller due too an enormous quantity of cutscenes from the very start to the awesome finale...
  63. AlbertCiccon.e
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game was not intended for people to just pick up and play without any prior knowledge to the game. Calling it boring is just pathetic and inexperienced... Its kind of like an inside joke, unless you know what Kojima is expressing, your'e left completely out of the loop. That is exactly what Kojima was trying to achieve in this Fantastic Finel installment of MGS.
  64. JohnA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    OMFG this game is the best game of ALLL TIMMEEEEE What an amazing piece of software....best game on planet earth HANDS DOWN! Wow...just wow.
  65. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    WOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. TheWOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. The last MG I had played was on the ps1 and that was some piece of work. Metal Gear online is defunct unfortunately but this is a purchase that doesn't need online , as a stand alone single player game it is pure class. Highly recommended. Expand
  66. Jul 4, 2012
    7
    A great homage to the whole series. The bosses were familiar while interesting, and the gameplay was refined to a tee. Unfortunately, the gameplay takes a back-seat to the story, which makes up the bulk of what should have been a much longer and better paced game. Simply making this game longer or perhaps releasing it later would have provided a much more sufficient game to movie ratio.
  67. Dec 18, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In terms of game play this game would be a 9 out of ten. mostly because it did not reward stealth as much as the other MGS games. it is the story and Raiden that bring this game down. at the end of mgs2 you felt helpless. the enemy was so much bigger than you could imagine. then in mgs4 it was just two old guys fighting each other. and explaining all the supernatural stuff with nano machines was just bad. plus they took innocent Raiden and tried to make him a bad ass. I loved innocent Raiden. Expand
  68. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    As much as I like Metal Gear Solid this game does not deserve the hype it's receiving. The controls feel more like a first person shooter than a MGS game, and don't even get me STARTED on the JohnnyxMerryl romance that should've stayed in fanfiction. This game ruins what made the first three games so mysterious by shedding light on what should've stayed in the dark. It is veryAs much as I like Metal Gear Solid this game does not deserve the hype it's receiving. The controls feel more like a first person shooter than a MGS game, and don't even get me STARTED on the JohnnyxMerryl romance that should've stayed in fanfiction. This game ruins what made the first three games so mysterious by shedding light on what should've stayed in the dark. It is very unconvincing to say the least. Drebin is very annoying and the B&B plot was executed very badly. If you're looking for the REAL Metal Gear Solid experience buy the HD Collection for PS3 and get MGS1 from PSN. I'd still recommend playing this game afterwards, but not as your first game as it may turn you off to the series. Expand
  69. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    i bought the ps3 just to play mgs4, im a big fan of the best saga since the first metal gear in ps1, i cant say anymore, just play the best game of the history, the ending is so good that you would not play a game anymore lol seriously i cried at the ending
  70. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Horrible game. Not much more to say about it really. All glitch and fiddly. Camera angles are horrible, combat is horrible. Storyline horrible and unclear. Hate it. Go play cod.
  71. JFoundation
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    I kinda knew what to expect from this, having read about all the cutscenes, and having played MGS on PS1 years back I knew that it'd be another ridiculously unfathomable Japanese plot about stupid fantasy characters with idiotic names. That said, I picked it up second hand because of the hundreds of 10/10 reviews. I honestly don't know how anyone could really think this is I kinda knew what to expect from this, having read about all the cutscenes, and having played MGS on PS1 years back I knew that it'd be another ridiculously unfathomable Japanese plot about stupid fantasy characters with idiotic names. That said, I picked it up second hand because of the hundreds of 10/10 reviews. I honestly don't know how anyone could really think this is worthy of any more than a 6 or 7/10 at best. For a start, gameplay makes up about 20% of the experience, but the gameplay is seriously dull. At no point do you really feel in danger, instead there are long periods of plodding about areas that feel like they've been designed on Super Nintendo in 1994, followed by a frustrating bit that you might have to do a few times because the objectives are just unclear and baffling. Let me be clear - this is not a game for grown adults. I have arrived at a part of the game that requires a bit of trial and error to overcome, and having tried a few different methods, I just can't be bothered to waste any more time on this game, I have more important things to do with my free time. The only things MGS4 has in it's favour are it's presentation and the cutscene graphics, which are pretty despite the truly preposterous "storyline" which tries to sabotage your will to live. PLEASE - If you're not a 15 year old fanboy, don't waste your time with this, truly the most overrated game I have played in 25 years of gaming. Expand
  72. Snakesucks
    Jun 22, 2008
    0
    This game is terrible, I buy games to play them not to watch long cut scenes of some nonsensical story. Cinematics can't save this game, the gameplay is awful too. Stealth is done better by several other games, and it is a bad excuse for a shooter as well. Stay away...
  73. Tom
    Jun 25, 2008
    0
    A user said there isn't a game on the 360 that can top this? One word mate : HALO best video game on earth
  74. PascualA.
    Jun 9, 2008
    4
    Bad game, little gameplay, boring CG movies, etc
  75. joeg.
    Sep 7, 2008
    2
    Way too many cut scenes, crappy story, lame combat, bad frame rate, horrible textures. Just a sup par game in every way.
  76. May 25, 2012
    4
    Tried this based on overwhelmingly favourable reviews and it just doesn't feel right. Not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination, but overly long cutscenes, poor controls and confusing backstory for a newb to the series make it a waste of time.

    Strong AI & stealth are the only saving graces for me.
  77. CraigF
    Nov 3, 2008
    5
    Great graphics and sound, but if I wanted to watch a movie I would have. The amount and length of cut scenes is insane and should be included on a separate disc to watch at your leisure. The game play is great and has been improved since the previous games, but you must know what happened in the older games to understand everything going on here. Overall I only gave if a 5 because I was Great graphics and sound, but if I wanted to watch a movie I would have. The amount and length of cut scenes is insane and should be included on a separate disc to watch at your leisure. The game play is great and has been improved since the previous games, but you must know what happened in the older games to understand everything going on here. Overall I only gave if a 5 because I was disappointed at the amount of time wasted playing it. Expand
  78. May 4, 2011
    6
    For it's time, I thought Metal Gear Solid for the Playstation was one of the more engrossing and involving games of it's time. I couldn't put down the controller, and enjoyed every cutscene, every codec, and all the gameplay throughout.
    Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3 came out, and the gameplay changed slightly, and while it they were pretty great games, the plot became more convoluted...and the
    For it's time, I thought Metal Gear Solid for the Playstation was one of the more engrossing and involving games of it's time. I couldn't put down the controller, and enjoyed every cutscene, every codec, and all the gameplay throughout.
    Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3 came out, and the gameplay changed slightly, and while it they were pretty great games, the plot became more convoluted...and the dialogue just got **** and ****.

    MSG4 was a disappointment to me...and a large fan of the series. The dialogue is pretty terrible. I cannot fathom why the writers kept having Snake keep on repeating what people were telling him in the form of the question. "It was the Patriots, Snake." "The Patriots!?" This happens MULTIPLE times throughout the game. The dialogue was honestly eye-rolling...it was corny, and disappointing.
    Anyway...the game is worth the $30.00 I paid for it used. Pick it up...enjoy it as much as you can, because to make it through the exaggerated dialogue and trite cutscenes took every ounce of needing closure to the series as I could muster.
    Expand
  79. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    Good music, graphicsand online play, decent story, bad gameplay. The gameplay consists of running from cutscene to cutscene, the game holding your hand the whole way through. This game was a huge disappointment compared to MGS3, but it is decent enough. I'm glad I bought the Greatest Hits version for $20.00, otherwise I would probably feel ripped off.
  80. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    I am not a fan of this series, but not for a lack of trying. I have heard great things about this game and for the most part I thought the story in this game was great... maybe too great. many times throughout the game, I kept thinking to myself, when is the next cutscene going to happen, and not care that much for the gameplay. That is never a good thing. I was so bored throughout theI am not a fan of this series, but not for a lack of trying. I have heard great things about this game and for the most part I thought the story in this game was great... maybe too great. many times throughout the game, I kept thinking to myself, when is the next cutscene going to happen, and not care that much for the gameplay. That is never a good thing. I was so bored throughout the constant sneaking and crawling that I almost wanted to get caught, I probably shouldn't be complaining about a lack of conflict in a stealth game, but when sneaking around is this boring, the game developers have done something wrong. Why were there so few enemies to sneak past in this game, there was a point in the game where I didn't come across any enemies for what seemed like a full half hour. I was just crawling in an empty jungle. Even as the game got better at Act 3, Act 4 came along and through me in a blizzard and gave me no direction to go in (and of course the only enemies I find are the giant, two-legged, mooing robots). Not to mention this series is to meta for me to have any sense of immersion. I was very aware that I was playing a video game and that is never a good thing. Video games are a lot like movies or books, they need to take you to places that you could only dream about. There was some good to the game, though. I liked the story, even though I didn't feel much for the characters (but I could tell there was a lot of history here), Act 3 was great, and the bosses were all sorts of creative. But I just feel like this game wasn't ment for me. Fans of this franchise will enjoy this game for many years, but I couldn't care less. I'll just go on youtube, watch the cutscenes, and call it a day. Expand
  81. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    Japanese games never impresses anyone. All this stupid anime cliche's are just too stupid to be taken seriously. Reading a porno mag regenerates your life? (Really Kojima? REALLY) And again back to the stupid hide in the box nonsense. Yeah the gameplay, graphics, and stroy are great, but let's face it. I respect MGS to be the godfather f the stealth genre, but seriously people wantsJapanese games never impresses anyone. All this stupid anime cliche's are just too stupid to be taken seriously. Reading a porno mag regenerates your life? (Really Kojima? REALLY) And again back to the stupid hide in the box nonsense. Yeah the gameplay, graphics, and stroy are great, but let's face it. I respect MGS to be the godfather f the stealth genre, but seriously people wants realistic stealth nowadays. Hiding in a box is just too childish. Expand
  82. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    I can see why people love MGS4, but for me, I can't. As much as I like video games with stories, MGS4 takes it to a whole new level. MGS2 is my favorite in the series, I never got my hands on 1, but 2 and 3 are great games and highly recommend them... but when I picked this up, this game put me to sleep. The cut scenes were so long, I actually took a nap... Then you have to install theI can see why people love MGS4, but for me, I can't. As much as I like video games with stories, MGS4 takes it to a whole new level. MGS2 is my favorite in the series, I never got my hands on 1, but 2 and 3 are great games and highly recommend them... but when I picked this up, this game put me to sleep. The cut scenes were so long, I actually took a nap... Then you have to install the different chapters onto your PS3 and you can only have one at a time, so either you load Chapter 1, then load 2, and if you wanna go to another save file, you gotta load Chapter 5... it's complete hell. But through all this garbage, MGS4 does have a decent multiplayer that'll keep you hooked for about 1 hour, and the gameplay is fun in Singleplayer and is a MGS in the end so you can't really go wrong there. But when the game makes the player wait 30 minutes to actually interact with the game and actually play it, I can't call it a game. Metal Gear Solid 4 is an interactive movie. You spend more time, trying to follow a story that makes little to no sense, than you do actually shooting bad guys. I could go on and on about how much I'm disappointed in the game because it drove me insane, and there are a lot of combat elements that are realistic and fun, but the actual "GAME", just sucks. Expand
  83. KeithB.
    Jun 23, 2008
    3
    Almost unplayable. You can't skip the endless cutscenes unless you want to be lost, and you want to kill yourself while waiting to play!
  84. HughB
    Aug 6, 2008
    3
    I hate drawn-out cinematic. I hate Japanese style heroes that can magically be stabbed and shot before getting up to jump ten foot over 2-legged giant pelvis gunners and kill them. It takes the player out of the immersion of Snake's mission and bores me to tears. I loved the first MGS but this one angered me with that ripped-off feeling. CoD4 is infinitely better.
  85. StevenS.
    Oct 19, 2008
    1
    I can't recommend this - Snake Eater was phenomenal - balanced gameplay, decent length, real progression and sensible cut-scene lengths. This is just a mish-mash of concepts that don't interrelate well, and for me is a huge let down. Think I'll hunt down a copy of Subsistence at least that had decent game-play.
  86. AdamAnonymous
    May 28, 2008
    6
    After going through the beta I found it to be a disappointment. The graphics are of a good standard but I wouldn't claim it as the best of the current gen, visually. I found the actual gameplay to be rather choppy and there was far too many cut scenes which can often be annoying. It reminds me some what of a movie experience, but unfortunately it didn't resemble the interactiveAfter going through the beta I found it to be a disappointment. The graphics are of a good standard but I wouldn't claim it as the best of the current gen, visually. I found the actual gameplay to be rather choppy and there was far too many cut scenes which can often be annoying. It reminds me some what of a movie experience, but unfortunately it didn't resemble the interactive masterpiece that I was hoping for. I am giving thbis game a six, it doesn't deserve lower because it isn't a bad game..it's just a bit average. Expand
  87. mtdogg1
    Jun 23, 2008
    0
    Wow this place is filled with fanboys - you guys can't seriously think this game is that good. When you're done slogging through long boring mission briefings you get a few levels to sneak or shoot around that are good. Then another awful cut scene - then maybe a rail-shooting chase scene. This game is not that good, i can't believe what I'm reading here. I think Wow this place is filled with fanboys - you guys can't seriously think this game is that good. When you're done slogging through long boring mission briefings you get a few levels to sneak or shoot around that are good. Then another awful cut scene - then maybe a rail-shooting chase scene. This game is not that good, i can't believe what I'm reading here. I think you've all been hyping this so much, you can't be objective. Like Halo 3, all the hype causes these good reviews. In a year no one will be thinking about this game. Expand
  88. CorrectionPen
    Dec 23, 2009
    2
    First of all, I have to say this is the most overrated game i have ever played. -More BORING cutscene than gameplay. -Not about being stealth anymore. just GO in and ambush. - Useless equipment - MK II, playboy magazine, a cardboard box. Most likely, you ll only use once/never in the entire game. - Pathetic joke. They try to make funny scene but is really annoying. But i have to give it First of all, I have to say this is the most overrated game i have ever played. -More BORING cutscene than gameplay. -Not about being stealth anymore. just GO in and ambush. - Useless equipment - MK II, playboy magazine, a cardboard box. Most likely, you ll only use once/never in the entire game. - Pathetic joke. They try to make funny scene but is really annoying. But i have to give it up for amazing graphics. They are very well done in many aspects. but overall the game is just disappointing. Expand
  89. TomG.
    Jul 6, 2008
    1
    I've pissed better games than this. I give it a one because David Hayter is a good voice actor.
  90. mtdogg
    Jun 16, 2008
    0
    extremely long cutscenes (i've fallen asleep twice), poor controls (i stand when I want to crouch, i go prone when i want to stand), graphically not up to par with todays games (looks like Gears of War/Ghost Recon 2), must be a fan of the weird japanese humor or you won't get it. you'll either love or hate this one.
  91. DougGard
    Apr 10, 2009
    4
    I agree with everyone who says the cut scenes are too long. They are.... and they are boring. Sure you can skip them, but they do give you info on what the plot of the game is. The gameplay isn't good enough to live on its own either. I'm not sure why this game is so highly rated.
  92. samh
    Jun 16, 2008
    0
    I don't like hour long cutscenes with bad voice acting and scripting. I want to play a video game. not sit on my couch and watch corny sci-fi movie. I'm trading this in tommorow. they really should put on the game box, "caution: numerous hour long cut scenes contained within" and if you expect to understand what the heck is going on then you have to watch them and cannot skip I don't like hour long cutscenes with bad voice acting and scripting. I want to play a video game. not sit on my couch and watch corny sci-fi movie. I'm trading this in tommorow. they really should put on the game box, "caution: numerous hour long cut scenes contained within" and if you expect to understand what the heck is going on then you have to watch them and cannot skip them. I bought into the hype and I wish I didn't. Expand
  93. PaulJ.
    Jun 12, 2008
    1
    Never liked snakes missions. Its fantasy Jap crap.
  94. RyanE.
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    A terrible game compared to the glorious original titles. It lacks the punch of 1 and the finesse of 3. Even the graphics, specifically the textures, don't seem high quality.
  95. LordSadic
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    There are a lot of fans who adore this game and consider it the best out of the series, but If you're the kind of person who buys a game to play it, enjoy it, and not to use as reference material for your compendium of Metal Gear trivia, then stay the fuck away from this shit.
  96. Non
    Jun 11, 2008
    3
    Movie, movie and movie.... I just cleard normal mode. Playtime were 16hours (include 9hours movie)
  97. Ape15
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    The most disapointing game I have ever played more dissappointing than halo 3 ,which was pretty bad I stayed with Sony For my love of this franchise but having seen the end result I may as well have bought a wii.... at least it has games that don't call themselves the best game of all time and then turn out to be.... Garbage.
  98. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    There are few games which I would consider a visual masterpiece, nearer to art than any other form of media. MGS 4 Guns of the Patriots, is one of the closest games (in my opinion) to actually succeeding that feat. The game is simply a gorgeously outstanding masterpiece. The cutscenes are top notch and the Music is ever so compelling, it's just awesome
  99. MSchmid
    Mar 17, 2010
    9
    A masterpiece. With the sole exception of there frequently being EXCESSIVELY cheesy and mindless cut scenes (which already ticked me off in older titles), and a fairly bad storyline, it is just great. Graphics, controls, sound, gameplay... all done to meet an extremely high standard. I also liked the fact that you are now not forced to sneak as much as in some of the other titles in the A masterpiece. With the sole exception of there frequently being EXCESSIVELY cheesy and mindless cut scenes (which already ticked me off in older titles), and a fairly bad storyline, it is just great. Graphics, controls, sound, gameplay... all done to meet an extremely high standard. I also liked the fact that you are now not forced to sneak as much as in some of the other titles in the series, though it still remains an option. Expand
  100. KevinR.
    Apr 30, 2010
    10
    I hated the game at first. I got caught by enemies costantly and I died a lot. Then I finally understood how to play. I could sneak past hordes of enemies without them even noticing which is very satisfying. Then when I got a lot of weapons and got caught the shootouts were a lot of fun. There's a lot of replayability with the new game plus mode. A satisfying purchase in every way.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.