User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3634 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielR.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Superb, beyond reproach.
  2. MarkD
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    Snake goes out with bang, yet as a big fan of the series i still feel slightly let down. The gameplay is perhaps the most non linier in the history of games; Play it stealthily or as an action shoot em up, take people out with a sniper rifle, use a distraction technique, utilize your items in all sorts of different ways. The graphics are stunning, perhaps the best the PS3 has seen yet and Snake goes out with bang, yet as a big fan of the series i still feel slightly let down. The gameplay is perhaps the most non linier in the history of games; Play it stealthily or as an action shoot em up, take people out with a sniper rifle, use a distraction technique, utilize your items in all sorts of different ways. The graphics are stunning, perhaps the best the PS3 has seen yet and the music wouldn't be out of place on a Hollywood blockbuster. When it's good it's close to genius and there are moments that will blow your mind. As a self confessed fanboy i really wanted to give it 10/10. However it's not perfect so i can't!!! One of the main problems is (you guessed it) the plot and cut scenes. I don't have a problem with long cut scenes or a deep plot in a game but if that's the way you want to go give us something less muddled Kojima; When those looooooooooong cut scenes are filled with pointless, droning monologues about genetics or preechy guff about war i do have a problem! Not to mention the plot holes and the fact that half of the plot doesn't make sense. The other problem is the steep learning curve. You're expected to be using Snakes subtler stealth techniques virtually from the start and the camera isn't perfect. I can see how a number of people (especially MGS virgins) could be put before they've really got into the game. So, MGS4 although brilliant in many ways is best described as a flawed masterpiece! Expand
  3. JCS
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Being a hardcore MGS fan since its origins, it didn't take a second's hesitation for me to purchase this fourth and final chapter as soon as I got my PS3. I knew it would get mixed reviews, especially from users, because MGS4 closes what is surely the video-game series with the most intricate story-line ever created. Kojima definitely didn't have an easy task on his Being a hardcore MGS fan since its origins, it didn't take a second's hesitation for me to purchase this fourth and final chapter as soon as I got my PS3. I knew it would get mixed reviews, especially from users, because MGS4 closes what is surely the video-game series with the most intricate story-line ever created. Kojima definitely didn't have an easy task on his hands... He needed to tie together everything that had occurred over the past 3 games (including the mess he left behind in MGS2's ending that left everyone puzzled), and miraculously make it all work. OBVIOUS consequence: 20-minute cutscenes here and there, and between them, classic MGS gameplay (i.e. perfect for the real MGS fans). The people that aren't happy with this formula, the length of the cutscenes, and the story-line (which is and always has been the core of all MGS games) are simply not enjoying the game for what it is. The transition from MGS1 to MGS2 was a let-down for many, as I'm sure this one will be too. For me personally, it worked fine. You either accept it or you don't, it's as simple as that. Everything else, from graphics to OST to gameplay is outstanding. So, maybe it's not the best MGS ever, but it does its job. Expand
  4. JasonH
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game but you do own a PlayStation 3, then go directly to a retailer and make the purchase. Expand
  5. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    There is no way around it. This game is amazing. You can literally feel the love that Kojima put into this game seeping out of every gorgeous cutscene and every amazing boss fight. If the gameplay of previous MGS bothered you then sorry to say that not much has changed. But if you love the MGS series and embrace all of its game mechanics as simply part of the experience than get ready for There is no way around it. This game is amazing. You can literally feel the love that Kojima put into this game seeping out of every gorgeous cutscene and every amazing boss fight. If the gameplay of previous MGS bothered you then sorry to say that not much has changed. But if you love the MGS series and embrace all of its game mechanics as simply part of the experience than get ready for not only one of the greatest games on the PS3, but one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  6. DavidS.
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This is the pinnacle of video game storytelling. A good plot full of twists and turns, well developed characters, great action sequences and more than one tear jerking moments make MGS4 my favorite game this generations. If you don't mind long cutscenes check it out, it'll keep you glued to your screen from beginning to end.
  7. JS
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    I am a hardcore gamer, I play all sorts. At this point I try and only play games I really want to play just so I have time for a life. I have always wanted games to become truly deep on every level, its like from 1990-2000 there has been more GAMEPLAY innovation (think about it) than from 2000-2009. This game shatters all my requests for a deeper game. It is the highest quality game I I am a hardcore gamer, I play all sorts. At this point I try and only play games I really want to play just so I have time for a life. I have always wanted games to become truly deep on every level, its like from 1990-2000 there has been more GAMEPLAY innovation (think about it) than from 2000-2009. This game shatters all my requests for a deeper game. It is the highest quality game I have ever played, it is an extremely rewarding experience, its only fault is its brevity and lack of choice, however these things could simply not be any other way given the nature of the game. It is as close to perfect as a subjective experience can be. For anyone that likes depth, MGS, great games, great stories and amazing experiences play this game. If you cant be bothered figuring out the nuanced control system (which is tricky but very rewarding and has less limits) and would rather just moving aiming and shooting, or anyone who doesnt want to see a great deal of the best cutscenes ever made in gaming history (COME ON!!! lots of the best ever made! WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT!!!!!! You can skip you know!) and also if you just dont like violence (the most forgivable reason for not wanting this game, and I would point out it is quite eloquently anti-war) you probably should not get this game. Bottom line is the reasons you would rather play some rubbish shooter than this are the same sort of reasons somebody would watch Freddie VS Jason rather than Shawshank or 12 angry men (watch them if you havent) anyway, to anyone who like video games and isnt an idiot this game will more likely than not instantly become your favourite game ever. Only memories of my first adventures in Morrowind compare, but thats just me. Expand
  8. anthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    10
    A truly epic masterpiece that wraps up the saga nicely. Kojima outdid himself this time with a very wide range of gameplay from the classic stealth, to the motorbike sequence, to the metal gear rex segment. MGS4 also includes one of the most memorable and climatic boss battles I have ever experienced from an action game. Although the story may be a little hard to digest fro newcomers to A truly epic masterpiece that wraps up the saga nicely. Kojima outdid himself this time with a very wide range of gameplay from the classic stealth, to the motorbike sequence, to the metal gear rex segment. MGS4 also includes one of the most memorable and climatic boss battles I have ever experienced from an action game. Although the story may be a little hard to digest fro newcomers to the series, it was well executed with well done cutscenes. Expand
  9. DeepF
    May 27, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to oppose you guys Dave N and Voodoo, this game may not as funny as the original one for a MGS FAN like us. But, as far as I know, there are really less gamers who can afford such difficult in MGS1. Kojima have accepted that he have given the most of freedom he can ever provided to the players. In this way, many people around me use the SUPER STUPID WAY finished their I'm not going to oppose you guys Dave N and Voodoo, this game may not as funny as the original one for a MGS FAN like us. But, as far as I know, there are really less gamers who can afford such difficult in MGS1. Kojima have accepted that he have given the most of freedom he can ever provided to the players. In this way, many people around me use the SUPER STUPID WAY finished their game and get a Pig Rank 8). Just as what we thought, they've never played the MGS. But for us, we can set a challenge for ourselves, this may looks stupid, but that incredible complexy rank system have told us what Kojima-san want this game looks like. In this way, everyone can enjoyed game right? About the cut scene, as a game developer myself, I can imagine how brave he is that can have tryed to change people's mind towards a game. Just like the film, as an entertainment product, it may not only bing funny but also soul-searching or something like that to us. Expand
  10. AhsenA.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    First note, it's pretty obvious that Dave N and JW has not played MGS4. Dave goes on to exaggerate grossly to an extent that totally disrepects the game and is very misleading. And you know where JW goes wrong when he says that the graphics are great and 5 minutes of gameplay is followed by 20 min of cutscenes. And if the game was so bad, why did you play it all the way through? Now First note, it's pretty obvious that Dave N and JW has not played MGS4. Dave goes on to exaggerate grossly to an extent that totally disrepects the game and is very misleading. And you know where JW goes wrong when he says that the graphics are great and 5 minutes of gameplay is followed by 20 min of cutscenes. And if the game was so bad, why did you play it all the way through? Now to explain why MGS4 is so awesome. A game which gets 10/10 from both IGN AND Gamespot, which has only been accomplished by 4 other games in history, cannot be described by mere words. If you have not played any MGS game, do so now. You will become addicted. MGS4 carries the beautiful emotion, the greatest choreographed cutscenes of any game, and gameplay and controls that always surprise me with their outstanding tightness. The graphics have been chosen by an overwhelming majority of media outlets as the best of 2008. It's story and music have been praised to the sky. Just count the number of 100s on this page itself and you will be amazed. The game has also placed itself as the best selling game of the PS3. This game is just that awesome. Expand
  11. JoseC
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    I'll write it in spanish, translate it if you want:

    Es un gran juego, la calidad de graficos es impresionante, hace mucho qe no vei un juego qe te absorviera tanto en la trama, si hay cosas qe lo hacen un muy tedioso juego, como las escenas, 40 minutos no esta bien, pero sigue siendo un gran juego para todo aqellos qe sepan criticar, cada uno tiene un punto de vista diferente, pero
    I'll write it in spanish, translate it if you want:

    Es un gran juego, la calidad de graficos es impresionante, hace mucho qe no vei un juego qe te absorviera tanto en la trama, si hay cosas qe lo hacen un muy tedioso juego, como las escenas, 40 minutos no esta bien, pero sigue siendo un gran juego para todo aqellos qe sepan criticar, cada uno tiene un punto de vista diferente, pero se tiene qe admitir qe esos idiotas qe le ponen 1 o 2 o 3 son unos idiotas completamente y qe no saben de juegos y creen qe el Ocarina es lo peor, eso es todo.
    Expand
  12. jamiec.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Anyone who has given this game below 8 is nit picking and for thoese giving ti scores of 1 and 2, just ignore them, this game is what a game should be like, an absorbing story with brilliant graphics and the ability to play the game how you choose, this game deserves more than a 94, its far better that gta5, this is the best game of the current generation, and one of the best games ever Anyone who has given this game below 8 is nit picking and for thoese giving ti scores of 1 and 2, just ignore them, this game is what a game should be like, an absorbing story with brilliant graphics and the ability to play the game how you choose, this game deserves more than a 94, its far better that gta5, this is the best game of the current generation, and one of the best games ever made, it is a work of art, and beautiful work of art! it deserves more than 10, for thoes who say there is hardly any game play, they are lying, there are so many small things you can find and do hidden in each level and will take weeks to uncover them all, the cut scenes and voice acting are mind blowingly well done and all using the ingame engine. Dont let anyone say this game is awful, thats blasphamy. Expand
  13. TomG
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made, anyone that thinks otherwise is nothing but a simple X360 fanboy, as i know for a fact that if this game came to the 360 they would buy it and praise it as i do.
    Everything is perfect, gameplay, story, graphics. It doesn't get any better than this.
  14. P.R.
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    I was never ever good at MGS, I've never beaten one before and played many. I loved it to death though. I wish I was better at that MGS because I wanted to play that game over and over again even though I only played it once. The camera angles are so much better than the previous games btw.
  15. AndrewLittle
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Loved it, thought the gameplay, graphics and gameplay were awesome, the story line was good as well except the fact that Snake was around 60 and yet able to run around shooting... i know it kinda explains it in the story but i dont think that was a good move by Hideo Kojima !
  16. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably enjoy watching them. Amazing game, the #1 game on PS3, and the #1 game of all time {along with the entire series of course}. Expand
  17. PatrickM.
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Greatest game ever
  18. MikeB.
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I think that this is one of the greatest games of all time. Some games suck, some are fun, some are a work of art, but this is truly a masterpiece. Even with the risk of overgeneralizing, I am going to say that anyone who says that this game is less than an 8 is full of crap - it's just not their type of game.
  19. JulianB
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    An incredibly engaging and memorable game. As a precaution to those who are unfamilar with the MGS franchise I would definately encourage you to play the previous MGS games first (because MGS4 sticks to the established formula of long cutscenes intertwined between gameplay) so you'll know what to expect. It's not for those with short attention spans (waah..long cut scenes..waah. An incredibly engaging and memorable game. As a precaution to those who are unfamilar with the MGS franchise I would definately encourage you to play the previous MGS games first (because MGS4 sticks to the established formula of long cutscenes intertwined between gameplay) so you'll know what to expect. It's not for those with short attention spans (waah..long cut scenes..waah. I want to play a game, not watch a movie..wahh). Personally I was perfectly entertained by the cut scenes. And as an MGS fan they were to be expected. The production value of the game is through the roof. Amazing graphics, great voice acting and great sound design (the weapons sounds are great). This game definately gives you the feeling of being a bad ass, battle hardened soldier. If you're a fan of the MGS series and don't have the attention span of a 5 year old then...Buy..this...game. Expand
  20. Nuno
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore all the xbots comments. Anyone who gives a rating bellow 7 hasn't played MGS4 and all he's seen are some trailers or are jealous of not having this on the 360/PC. If you are new to the series, then it might be a bit hard to catch up the plot, even tho you don't need to know it exactly. Case you're interested, you have wikipedia and Metal Gear Solid Database Ignore all the xbots comments. Anyone who gives a rating bellow 7 hasn't played MGS4 and all he's seen are some trailers or are jealous of not having this on the 360/PC. If you are new to the series, then it might be a bit hard to catch up the plot, even tho you don't need to know it exactly. Case you're interested, you have wikipedia and Metal Gear Solid Database avaiable, for free, in the psn. Anyway, the graphs are still one of the best of this generation, few can top it, and it's simply epic. "If i wanted to see a movie I'd go to the cinema" -> This is the most retarded sentence of all time. OF ALL TIME. Just go play MW you 12 years-old. Don't think, just buy this game if you don't have it. The Online will also give you many, many hours of gameplay as well. Expand
  21. BennyG
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    This is absolutely the greatest game in the mgs series period. It wraps up all the questions and just gives the best performance over anything out today. Not to mention i've logged like 600 hours on the online mode, which is just another plus to get me to keep coming back to the game.
  22. AkashK.
    Apr 25, 2010
    10
    For me this is the 2 best game i have ever played,1 is uncharted 2. This is the best metal gear solid, and a master piece. I love the cut scene, it feels like im watching a movie. I hate that a lot of xbox 360 fanboys commented on this giving it a 6, or 7, they did this cause they a jelious cause they dont have such a great game, that kicks all of 360 exclusives butts. halo can't For me this is the 2 best game i have ever played,1 is uncharted 2. This is the best metal gear solid, and a master piece. I love the cut scene, it feels like im watching a movie. I hate that a lot of xbox 360 fanboys commented on this giving it a 6, or 7, they did this cause they a jelious cause they dont have such a great game, that kicks all of 360 exclusives butts. halo can't beat this , gear of war cant beat this. anyay best game ever 1000000000 out to 10. Expand
  23. Josh
    May 17, 2010
    9
    So many people have said its a bad game, i would have to disagree. The main point of complaint was how there were 8 hours of cutscenes (which is actualy how many there are) when realy 6 hours grips you by the balls and keeps you interested while 2 do actualy bore you. Gameplay flows nicely and works well, and the array of weapons that you get to use is amazing. Also many people said that So many people have said its a bad game, i would have to disagree. The main point of complaint was how there were 8 hours of cutscenes (which is actualy how many there are) when realy 6 hours grips you by the balls and keeps you interested while 2 do actualy bore you. Gameplay flows nicely and works well, and the array of weapons that you get to use is amazing. Also many people said that they were going through it like nothing and how there was no more stealth unlike the other games, when that happens put it on a harder difficulty and then we will see how run and gun it is! Most people should buy this game and everyone should atleast play once. Also everyone who says that 8 hours of cutscenes is a waste, they were trying to draw you more into the game with it, if you dont like it skip it easy as 1,2,3. Expand
  24. MattiM.
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    CS:S Rocks.
  25. MarkWood
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    From The Stoneage of 3D gaming came MGS1, a rev olution in gaming. With the next generation came MGS2, pushing the boundaries of graphics and gameplay. The PS3 is near and it is innevitable that hideo kojima will produce another game that will bring the joy back to games again
  26. kyuudmc
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    HAY READERS!!! just ignore all those idiots who rated the game so badly! this game is definitely one of the verrrrry best video games the history has ever known! just take a look at the 100s above! if you ask 4 my opinion .. I'd say it's probably (THEE) best game! ..... you'll definitely like it. even if you're an ANTI-MGS guy you wont give it less than an (8) unlessHAY READERS!!! just ignore all those idiots who rated the game so badly! this game is definitely one of the verrrrry best video games the history has ever known! just take a look at the 100s above! if you ask 4 my opinion .. I'd say it's probably (THEE) best game! ..... you'll definitely like it. even if you're an ANTI-MGS guy you wont give it less than an (8) unless you're one stubborn idiot that is (respectively ^^) anyway whether you like what's written here or not . the game is a MUST-HAVE for every gamer .... NO, even for non-gamers XD Expand
  27. It'sme,Mario!
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    The game is excelent in every way. Graphic, sound, gameplay, history... The game makes you play for hours and hours with a very good amount of fun.
    See those comments under here? The people who gave it a 5 just dont know what they say. The game is briliant, and if you dont like the cutscenes, you can just skip it.
  28. HassanAlArafat
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best gameEasily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best game of all time, period. Expand
  29. Drogo
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This game moved me like no other game could. I kept my attention 100% threw the whole game and I could not of asked for anything better than this. A Instant classic. Don't believe the haters on this game I believe they are all XBOX fan boy :P j/p :D
  30. DarrnK.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    I have to say this is one of the finest games ever made. Kojima really outdid himself with this game, I mean all the customizations are noticable in the in-game cutscenes and even those are just using in-game graphics. This game also comes packed with an Online mode which only increases the value, this game is a must have.
  31. Samir
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots deserves to be called the greatest game of the PS3 and one of the best games of this year.
    Every aspect of MGS4 is perfect.
    Fantastic graphics, soundtrack, storyline and gameplay.
    Truly a masterpiece. Kudos to Hideo Kojima for the creation of this great game.
  32. AndrewL
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2008, console-wide. The ability to play the game however you want is still astounding. The game welcomes a good challenge with an amazing array of levels to explore and countless ways to kill, trick or sneak around Old Snake's enemies. Although cutscenes can drag, the complaints never came out of me, I'd play the game in many sittings and experience a welcomingBest game of 2008, console-wide. The ability to play the game however you want is still astounding. The game welcomes a good challenge with an amazing array of levels to explore and countless ways to kill, trick or sneak around Old Snake's enemies. Although cutscenes can drag, the complaints never came out of me, I'd play the game in many sittings and experience a welcoming cutscene each time. I can't begin to describe how high I jumped out of my seat during Raiden's intro fight with the Gekko. For those who don't want to sit through the lengthy scenes, I can assume two reasons. 1) You are not a Metal Gear Fan (you couldn't possibly be..)
    2) Haven't learned that the cutscenes akin to Powerpoint Presentations show zero importance to the story. (and are easily the lengthiest..)

    The game would recieve a nine for Big Mama's disturbing cleavage but Kojima allows you to skip scene so he's earned his point back.

    The perfect game - a MUST have.
    Expand
  33. JohnHarris
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This game is a masterpiece in every way. Its graphics are amazing, the gameplay is addictive, and the story is really fitting for a metal gear game. The story is so emotional that I nearly cried when the game ended. This game will be remembered years from now as a true modern classic, and will be known as the greatest game in the one of the greatest series of games of all time.
  34. MarkB.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This was the next installment in the genre-defining game, Metal Gear Solid, that began to showcase the possibilities of the Playstation 3. With amazing graphics, a gripping, cinematic storyline, and satisfying gameplay, Metal Gear Solid 4 has proven to be a must-have for PS3 owners.
  35. DanielDunn
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I have yet to play it but since 140 other people who have yet played it can score it I will to, The first 3 (not including the 2 original) were great games with great story's, so I cant wait for MGS4, I also game it a 10 to help balance out all the BS reviews from PS3 Haters and Xbots.
  36. SteveM.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersive, emotional and downright brilliant game the PS3 has seen.
  37. AnttiA.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who doesn't have previous experience of the MG/MGS games gets a grip of the plot. Not too much is placed for plot thought. Graphics just blow away GTA4 for example with all the small things it has. I'd recommend playing this on a HDTV with HDMI and all the necessary HDMI adjustments done from PS3 settings. Expand
  38. James
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This is simply the greatest game I have never played, and also the best MGS game IMO, fantastic gameplay with brand new elements such as the octacamo, breathtaking graphics, easily the best looking PS3 game, brilliant cinematic experiences, the cutscenes are nothing less then epic, and a the exellent addition of Metal Gear Online in the box, what more could you ask for? Remember though, This is simply the greatest game I have never played, and also the best MGS game IMO, fantastic gameplay with brand new elements such as the octacamo, breathtaking graphics, easily the best looking PS3 game, brilliant cinematic experiences, the cutscenes are nothing less then epic, and a the exellent addition of Metal Gear Online in the box, what more could you ask for? Remember though, this is mainly a game for the MGS fans, a present from Kojima if you will, so if you ain't an MGS fan, you probably wont enjoy it as much, but who knows? :D Expand
  39. BD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. The gameplay, the graphics, the story... everything oozes quality. My only gripe is the amount and length of cutscenes at the end. It could definitely used some better editing.
  40. JHolmes
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Best of the best. This game is a thing of beauty.
  41. RaulF.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    An absolute masterpiece! It's everything you would want in a game.
  42. MauriceK.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is by far the best game I have ever played in my life! This will be the Defining videogame of this generation!
  43. [anonymous]
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    All those losers who give MGS4 less than a ten or a nine have seriously something big up their arse! Possibly the best game ever made and don't forget that! This is the PERFECT game with beautiful graphics and spendid gameplay to complete the unforgettable story of Solid Snake. And to all you people who complain about long cutscenes,if you don't like them, you are playing the All those losers who give MGS4 less than a ten or a nine have seriously something big up their arse! Possibly the best game ever made and don't forget that! This is the PERFECT game with beautiful graphics and spendid gameplay to complete the unforgettable story of Solid Snake. And to all you people who complain about long cutscenes,if you don't like them, you are playing the wrong game! The cutscenes are what makes this game famous so never ever dis them! Expand
  44. FariedM.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable! Easily the best game I have ever played. Epic from start to finish.
  45. IOWNanXBOXtoo
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This just might be the best game ever! Besides for the terrible shadows the game looks to be the best visuals I have ever seen. I always like a deep story and this sure delivers that!
  46. AnthonyE.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing is probably the best word to describe the masterpiece that is Metal Gear Solid 4. I have never really played a Metal Gear / Solid game in my life, and still, this game never ceases to amaze me. Kojima is now my new hero.
  47. Dan
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It has been a long time since a game has had mixed story with play. Something that is needed in the industry if it wishes to grow. Too many games are released without story and are over in 5 hours. MGS 4 has renewed the life of story telling and brilliant visuals. Amazing graphics, stunning story and a beautiful ending to a legendary series!
  48. RandyM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This is the best mgs and one of the best stealth/action games EVER.
  49. PaulL.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    If there was ever a game that deserved 10/10 this is it. Normally all games have slight faults in presentation, graphics, gameplay, sound etc but i can't fault any part of the game. The story is fantastic. The sound just rumbles your windows, the gamplay is unique, responsive and sweet. And my god the graphics shines out especially on a HDTV. First game to truly feel next gen. If there was ever a game that deserved 10/10 this is it. Normally all games have slight faults in presentation, graphics, gameplay, sound etc but i can't fault any part of the game. The story is fantastic. The sound just rumbles your windows, the gamplay is unique, responsive and sweet. And my god the graphics shines out especially on a HDTV. First game to truly feel next gen. Coupled with 20 plus hours of playtime and multiplayer aspect it's highly replayable. I just cannot express my admiration for this game in enough terms. If you are a gamer then you must simply buy this game. Trust me you will savour every moment of it! Expand
  50. MichaelR.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This is the game that brings all the promise of the "next generation" of gaming to fruition . From presentation to gameplay this game delivers the goods!
  51. JamesB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Such a great game in every way, satisfies the fans and newcomers alike. Boss battles are amazing, the way the story and gameplay intertwine is immersive, gripping and uniquely metal gear. The combat is better than it's ever been and when you're done you can put ours into Metal Gear Online! Go buy now!
  52. CeyhanC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    One of the best game that I've played in my life. Video games are a part of art ( for me ), and this is the "chapelle sixtine" of video games . What I can say, it is like a movie made by Cameron, characters are perfect (looks, voices, moves ... ) and the history is the best that I saw in video games, Kojima's team made a great job!
  53. StevenN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, loved it from start to finish.
  54. StevenM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It's an amazing game. I've had friends come over the past few days to share the experience with me. We've played non stop, taking breaks to smoke during the installs... But besides that, the cinematics are gripping and the gameplay is quite invigorating.
  55. PhilY.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is virtually flawless, its so well polished and detailed its unbelievable. This game truly beckons next gen gaming.
  56. JacobP.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Amazing is the only word to describe this game!
  57. BradJ.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Awe inspiring. Yes, there are hours of cinematic where you are not mashing buttons for a while. deal with it. Get over that and you will have the most unique gaming experience. I would have to say it is the closest to an interactive movie as you can get. graphics 10 sound 10, etc etc etc. the only questionable thing is the use of cutscenes. guess what - if you don't like it you can Awe inspiring. Yes, there are hours of cinematic where you are not mashing buttons for a while. deal with it. Get over that and you will have the most unique gaming experience. I would have to say it is the closest to an interactive movie as you can get. graphics 10 sound 10, etc etc etc. the only questionable thing is the use of cutscenes. guess what - if you don't like it you can skip them however any mgs fan would never do that - well on the first time through anyhow... definitely did not disappoint in any aspect for me. just finished about 6 hrs ago after 36 hrs straight - now to play ONLINE!! Expand
  58. MattB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    9
    A superior game that finally shows off the PS3s capabilities.
  59. BTR.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Can't believe how much they've improved the series in every way. Hands down, this represents the best game I've ever played on any system ever, and I've been playing since I was 8 years old (I'm 31 now). From the graphics and sound to the voice acting and cinematography to the gameplay mechanics and multiple styles to play, MGS4 excels in every area and mixes a Can't believe how much they've improved the series in every way. Hands down, this represents the best game I've ever played on any system ever, and I've been playing since I was 8 years old (I'm 31 now). From the graphics and sound to the voice acting and cinematography to the gameplay mechanics and multiple styles to play, MGS4 excels in every area and mixes a lot of humor with gritty dialog and a compelling, twisted storyline. Amazing game and well worth buying a PS3 for. Expand
  60. AlanZ.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Simply put, Metal Gear Solid 4 is one of the greatest pieces of entertainment ever created.
  61. DerekG.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Quite simply the most engrossing and perfectly crafted game in history.
  62. Ben
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Very good. Quality is awesome. Never played the first metal gear solids, and wish i did, this is a really awesome game!
  63. BrianP.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Considering selling all my other games/systems and playing this the rest of my life. It's that good.
  64. KamilC.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best game I have played all year. Finished it last night and returning to the battle today. War has changed and after this, Gaming as a whole has changed.
  65. MrMyagi
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Game of the year! I sat through it from beginning to end with a huge grin on my face. Amazing graphics, second play you can try totally different tactics, superb surround sound and tricky at first but becomes great controls. Intriguing story, good mixture of FPS and stealth and little touches that make you smile. If only every game was like this. Sublime! Happy to play it all over again!
  66. ScottM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    An epic game in every department, the ultimate bridge in between cinema and gaming, bravo Mr. Kojima!!
  67. DamienL.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutely stunning. Hideo Kojima is a genius.
  68. BobJ.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    This is the best installment in the series, the game is worth every penny, the graphics and story are A+. More game developers should take what Konami and Kojima did and learn from it. More games need this level of development!
  69. JoseR.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Act 4 best part of the game for me. It made me remember when I was 15yrs old. I almost cried. I'm 26yrs old now and I'll have to say this is the best game I've ever played. No other game has made me feel this way. Thanks Kojima!!
  70. JJD
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Wow was this game amazing. Production values are insane, some of the best graphics this gen....and a story thats just wow. If your a fan, you already own the game...but for everyone else, this game will be an adventure for you too (just make sure you read up on some of the mgs lore).
  71. MichaelK.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    It's Metal Gear Solid.
  72. TonLoc
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Edge, eurogamer and gamedaily gave the score of "8" because it would benefit them in the end where their site would be visited daily for hate email. Its a purely business tactic enrage the fans to get more business. Other than that, MGS4 is an outstanding game, even though it has long cut scenes, it still an outstanding game... much better than GTA IV. The cut scenes are meant to tell the Edge, eurogamer and gamedaily gave the score of "8" because it would benefit them in the end where their site would be visited daily for hate email. Its a purely business tactic enrage the fans to get more business. Other than that, MGS4 is an outstanding game, even though it has long cut scenes, it still an outstanding game... much better than GTA IV. The cut scenes are meant to tell the story. But remember MGS fans, there will be a directors cut to this game within 5-6 months. Hopefully we will be able to hear the japanese sound track and have updated MGO maps in the Subsistence version of MGS4. Edge, Eurogamer and gamedaily should have their reviewers fired for such a bad review. Expand
  73. [Anonymous]
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Major question. How come there's 80 from GameCritics but they don't rate games? Weird stuff. I'm old and grumpy gamer who's hard to please but MGS4 got me on my knees.
  74. MiKE
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    I had a hard time getting into the game, but after an 1 hour. I liked it more and more! AMAZING graphics! and this is coming from a PC gamer! The gameplay is great as well, and you have to love the cut scenes! Its feels like being in a movie rather then playing a game! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!
  75. AaronP.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Game of forever! Best game I have ever played!
  76. PhilS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This is the release the PS3 has been waiting for. I have friends asking me whether or not to buy a PS3 and i show them this game and they are sold after like 10 minutes. I bought this game on the midnight release and played it straight for 20 hours with only a couple of bathroom breaks. Simply couldnt put the sticks down.
  77. Troy
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Simply one of the best games I've ever played. Very few games even come close to how good this game is. Everything is top notch, graphics, sound, story, everything.
  78. DeanC.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    MGS4 delivered 10 times over. I have followed the series since its nintendo days and i could not be more happy. The Story is Imersive, the gameplay is outstanding and the graphics are top notch. If you are a fan then it is a must buy, if not i think you will find the game very enjoyable and will find something very special in this game I sure did. Kojima you couldnt have done beter and MGS4 delivered 10 times over. I have followed the series since its nintendo days and i could not be more happy. The Story is Imersive, the gameplay is outstanding and the graphics are top notch. If you are a fan then it is a must buy, if not i think you will find the game very enjoyable and will find something very special in this game I sure did. Kojima you couldnt have done beter and thank you for the experience. The BEST game i have EVER played, hands down. Expand
  79. DavidH.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    There have been many games through out this latest generation of consoles worth looking at and occasionally playing. MGS4 is the first title to warrant the purchase of a console in this generation and will hopefully be a starting point in epic games to come out. Never predictable, well (& longly) explained, MGS4 has moments of Mission Impossible stealth story with loads of action to fill There have been many games through out this latest generation of consoles worth looking at and occasionally playing. MGS4 is the first title to warrant the purchase of a console in this generation and will hopefully be a starting point in epic games to come out. Never predictable, well (& longly) explained, MGS4 has moments of Mission Impossible stealth story with loads of action to fill the gaps. Although the cutscenes are heavy handed (over 8 hours), MGS4 is a great example of how video games have surpassed film and music as the highest entertainment. Thank you Hideo for raising the bar! Expand
  80. GordonR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  81. ABen
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    Pretty good game, cut-scenes are long winded but thats Metal Gear for you. A much needed improvement over MGS3, which was a boring game and soured me on Metal Gear altogether. But 3 years later, another generation passes, and this is how I am rewarded. Now I just hope Final Fantasy 13 can deliver like this title did and my Xbox 360 will be a permanent paperweight. Stop the hate and enjoy Pretty good game, cut-scenes are long winded but thats Metal Gear for you. A much needed improvement over MGS3, which was a boring game and soured me on Metal Gear altogether. But 3 years later, another generation passes, and this is how I am rewarded. Now I just hope Final Fantasy 13 can deliver like this title did and my Xbox 360 will be a permanent paperweight. Stop the hate and enjoy the game children. Expand
  82. TysonB
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just isn't possible. The Cell can handle way more than what PS3s graphics card can. Anyways, besides all of that, this game is insane, in a very good way. Graphically it's beautiful and stunning. Story wise it is truly something else, it lives up to expectations that many were wanting. Game play it's different and makes you keep wanting to play. Yes, it does have long cut-scenes but it does not off set it from the true colors. Replay is definitely a 10/10 on it's own, since skipping the cut-scenes opens up a lot of game play. Yes, the game could have been better in Kojima's eyes. All great minds end up not liking there work, it's a fact. It's just that way, can't fault the game because it is very perfect. Expand
  83. PaulS.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, the first mgs game I've played, decided to get it after i bought the ps3 seeing as everyone was raving and wasn't disappointed, now starting run number 2.
  84. TylerH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    This game is the best game i think i have ever played, that includes the legendary LOZ ocarina of time. I truly have no idea how GTA IV got a higher score than this masterpiece.
  85. TomE.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    This game did everything brilliantly. The gameplay was awesome, the graphics were beautiful, and the voice over work and music was some of the best I've seen in a game. I usually don't feel anything one way or another when I'm playing a game, but in MGS4 I actually cared, and was moved by the cutscenes and all of the emotion and action they contained. MGS4 ended the story This game did everything brilliantly. The gameplay was awesome, the graphics were beautiful, and the voice over work and music was some of the best I've seen in a game. I usually don't feel anything one way or another when I'm playing a game, but in MGS4 I actually cared, and was moved by the cutscenes and all of the emotion and action they contained. MGS4 ended the story with an epic finish, and I consider this to be one of the greatest games I have played of this or any of the past generations. Only one other game I've played has made me care about the characters, and that was Chrono Cross. Expand
  86. JesseL.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    By far the best and most in depth Metal Gear game in the series. The story line swept me away as everything from the previous games came together. I almost shed a tear at the end of the game. The only thing that upset me was that I wasn't able to play as Raiden.
  87. ChrisT.
    Jun 23, 2008
    8
    Beautiful cut scenes, although sometimes a bit long. For me there is NOT enough action in the gameplay. Sneaking around all the time gets old. Also I feel that the aiming system is a bit off at times. But still the game is fun, it's just so much more that could have been done with this. Overall I feel that this game is a bit overrated by the big boys, not sure why so many rated this Beautiful cut scenes, although sometimes a bit long. For me there is NOT enough action in the gameplay. Sneaking around all the time gets old. Also I feel that the aiming system is a bit off at times. But still the game is fun, it's just so much more that could have been done with this. Overall I feel that this game is a bit overrated by the big boys, not sure why so many rated this game a 10, it just simply isn't. Expand
  88. JonathanM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing the graphics blow out of the water every game on every platform that has gone before and they are third in quality behind the perfect sound and a story which Akiri Kurosawa would be proud of! If you have ever seen Seven Samurai or played any MGS game you will be brought to your knees by the sheer quality of this game!
  89. JoshD.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Incredible game. I was worried when I bought my PS3 mainly because of this game but it definitely paid off. Game of the DECADE.
  90. RayS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played. That is saying a lot cuz I play a lot of games.
  91. RayG.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Incredible story and gameplay, this game deserves all the praises that it has received from the press. In my opinion, the best game I've ever played... just WOW!!
  92. MarcA.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    This game looks so good, it feels like hi-definition on a standard-def tv. Also, be prepared for long, but awesome cutscenes and perfect gameplay with incredible battlefield awareness due to the new ''Solid eye'' Snake wears over his left eye.
  93. SeanR.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Epic. Gameplay is spot-on, cinematics are memorable, and everything comes to a close in a way I never thought possible.
  94. GeoffG.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most entertaining, engrossing, and gorgeous experience ever created in the field of video games. If you have a PS3 and don't pick up MGS4, you are violating a sin worse than all seven deadly at once.
  95. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Anyone who hates on this game is simply ignorant. It is a landmark achievement, just as all previous MGS games have been. Oh, and surprise surprise, I own a PS3 and a 360. Fanboys are ridiculous little kids who can't afford to wipe their own a$$...
  96. BrettH.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    If you haven't played the series up to date, I suggest doing so. This game is FANTASTIC. With the cutscenese being interactive all the way to the ending which will blow your mind. Metal Gear Solid 4 is THE first game that has taken my emotions and thrown them against the wall, the floor, the ceiling and out the door. This game is simply amazing, I would Guarantee this as game of the If you haven't played the series up to date, I suggest doing so. This game is FANTASTIC. With the cutscenese being interactive all the way to the ending which will blow your mind. Metal Gear Solid 4 is THE first game that has taken my emotions and thrown them against the wall, the floor, the ceiling and out the door. This game is simply amazing, I would Guarantee this as game of the year if it wasn't up to magazine reviewers claiming GTA4 as the best game of all time (even though that game has many flaws and repetitive story line to kill yourself over). A must have for ALL PS3 owners! Expand
  97. WJ.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This game is by far one of the best games I have ever played, and thats having played over 400 games. The story is neatly wrapped up closing off every plot and twist there has ever been in the series, all of it managing to link together rather well. The down side to that if your a lazy gamer is the cut scenes which are very long around 3 hours, however you can always skip these if you This game is by far one of the best games I have ever played, and thats having played over 400 games. The story is neatly wrapped up closing off every plot and twist there has ever been in the series, all of it managing to link together rather well. The down side to that if your a lazy gamer is the cut scenes which are very long around 3 hours, however you can always skip these if you don't feel like watching a master piece. The gameplay is excellent, the FPS mechanics have been greatly improved although not really needing to be as the game is a SNEAKING game. I have already played through the game 3 times adding up to a total of 20 hours of singleplayer gameplay and have played MGO for about 20 hours as well. This easily makes the game a very affordable piece of entertainment. I highly recommend this to anyone with a PS3 and anyone who is a fan of the old games. I even know people who had never played MGS before but love this game. Game of the Year contender easily. Expand
  98. BrianB.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    Don't mention the overrated repetition fest Halo 3 in the same sentence as THIS masterpiece fanboy morons! Just accept how incredible MGS4 and get on with your empty little lives!
  99. MikaelL
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Best game I have ever played. I was sceptic at first because i never found the MGS games interesting enough to play then. Nevertheless I bought this the day after it had been released and i was overwhelmed. The Game delivers in every aspect you can think of. Graphics: 10/10 the most beautiful game i have ever seen. The cutscenes are simply amazing and what suprised me the most is the Best game I have ever played. I was sceptic at first because i never found the MGS games interesting enough to play then. Nevertheless I bought this the day after it had been released and i was overwhelmed. The Game delivers in every aspect you can think of. Graphics: 10/10 the most beautiful game i have ever seen. The cutscenes are simply amazing and what suprised me the most is the flawless transition from cutscenes to gameplay. There is almost no difference. This game is one of the few games who truly shows the potential of the PS3's superior hardware compared to the other consoles. Gameplay: 10/10 AMAZING gameplay. I was skeptical at first if the game could entertain me, because i never really liked the stealth-mode games. I was surprised to find out that you can play this game as a true action game if thats what you want. But what surprised me the most was that after having beaten the game the first time I actually found myself wanting to play it though again but this time as the game was meant to be played (stealth mode). This gives the game a totally different look and it works brilliantly. Controls: 10/10 nothing to complain about here. The controls are solid and work good both in stealth and action gameplay. Story: 10/10 nuff said. Expand
  100. Rasta
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Truly awe inspiring, jaw dropping and nothing but greatness spews from this game... I was always a fan of MGS, ever since its PS1 debut, but after playing MGS3, I was a bit disappointed so when MGS4 was coming out on the PS3 leading up to the release, I wasn't as hyped as I was with GTA4... As soon as I got word, and had my go at it, I knew I was truly underestimating this game... Truly awe inspiring, jaw dropping and nothing but greatness spews from this game... I was always a fan of MGS, ever since its PS1 debut, but after playing MGS3, I was a bit disappointed so when MGS4 was coming out on the PS3 leading up to the release, I wasn't as hyped as I was with GTA4... As soon as I got word, and had my go at it, I knew I was truly underestimating this game... with MGS4, it really takes the whole series to another level, even if you weren't a fan this game. You will love it, I mean the action, the freedom to choose how you want to play, the mechanics... everything that this game does truly churns out an epic experience. It really makes you want to play it over and over, I don't really feel this way with most games, if any (except for maybe GTA, even though I might not play through all the missions, I still continually play the series) This current iteration is like playing MGS on the PS1, in the sense that you are playing for the first time something of a revolutionary game... only I'd say 1000X better.... Even over GTA4 (being a hardcore GTA fan) I would say MGS4 should be considered GOTY, if not GOTC or even GOAT (Greatest Of All Time)... Def would of never considered such a notion before its release, but after playing it I have fallen for this game... big time. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.