Metal Gear Solid HD Collection PlayStation 3

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 390 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection bundles Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker and updates them with HD visuals.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    100
    Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is an essential purchase, and more content worth experiencing than just about any other game released in the past year.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    92
    If you've never played these classics, you owe it to yourself to run out and pick up a copy this instant. If you've played them before, this is a budget-priced return to some of the most influential video games ever made. Either way, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is $50 you won't regret spending.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Metal Gear Solid is a potpourri of ideas that insists you take the good with the bad. Certainly indulgent, it's also melancholy, exhilarating, clever, and ludicrous. It's never entirely clear what, if anything, Kojima and company are taking seriously - and the end result, in this collection, is a fascinating chronicle of one of video games' strangest successes.
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2012
    90
    Graphics age and controls grow outdated, but genius never fades. [Jan 2012, p.85]
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection is more than a convincing argument to upgrade from your old PlayStation 2 copies. It's an essential title in the library of anyone interested in narrative-lead gaming.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    88
    Even if we would have preferred the first chapter instead of the more recent PSP title, this collection contains one of the most important legacies of the videogame industry to old gamers and new generations.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    It's hard not to fall for such an offer, of 3 great games for less than a full retail HD game. But at the same time, one can't help but notice some lazyness in the remastering process. Efforts have been reduced to a minimum, with no additionnal content whatsoever, and there are even some technical shortcomings (frame rate drops on MGS2 and 3). For the nostalgia, for the collection, for the fans, or those who never had the chance to play them, it's still a cult saga with memorable sequences.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Um presente da Konami para os fãs da quinta e sexta geração de consoles. O que realmente faltou foi o primeiro Metal GearUm presente da Konami para os fãs da quinta e sexta geração de consoles. O que realmente faltou foi o primeiro Metal Gear Solid, mas nada que comprometa a nostalgia. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this is a real piece of art a grat chance for new players play a fantastic collection , metal gear have a nice balance of gameplay, history ,this is a real piece of art a grat chance for new players play a fantastic collection , metal gear have a nice balance of gameplay, history , and graphics Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    The wait is over. I remember about 3 years ago that i wanted to play mgs 2 so so badly but i couldn't cause i didn't have a ps2 or an xbox,The wait is over. I remember about 3 years ago that i wanted to play mgs 2 so so badly but i couldn't cause i didn't have a ps2 or an xbox, just my ol good 360. 3 years after here i am with not only mgs 2 but with mgs3, whic is even better and mgspw (altough i would liked it to be mgs: twin snakes) a promising game i haven't start playing yet. If you have never played any mgs game this is the game you should buy without a DOUBT Expand
  4. ZeV
    Dec 7, 2011
    10
    This collection in glorious HD is a masterpiece on PS3 ! All fans of MetalGear series have to buy this remastered collection ! In myThis collection in glorious HD is a masterpiece on PS3 ! All fans of MetalGear series have to buy this remastered collection ! In my opinion,Metal Gear Solid Collection HD is the best HD compilation ever made ! It's a masterpiece and really awesome. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    SNAKE? SNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKE!?!?!!!!?SNAKE? SNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKE!?!?!!!!? continue???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Pros:

    HD remastering is very well done, and all three games look crisp and crystal clear. Bonus content includes most of MGS2's
    Pros:

    HD remastering is very well done, and all three games look crisp and crystal clear.

    Bonus content includes most of MGS2's Substance edition, the improved third person camera for MGS3, and both MSX Metal Gear games ("Metal Gear" and "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake")

    Cons:

    Games might feel a little dated to some unfamiliar with the PS2 originals.

    No Secret Theater.

    ???

    Worth owning for MGS3 alone.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    I desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are theI desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are the crappiest aiming controls I have experienced in any action game, not to mention current gen games. This spoils the whole game for me. Aside from the great cutscenes and characters, I can't understand how people can say that this game can in any way compete with current gen games. The visuals in the outside levels are cool, but the buildings and character animations look just plain bad. I can imagine how people who played the original get nostalgic and that it must have been a great game at the time, but for a newcomer it just cant hold up with todays competition. I think I will give it another try with the 3DS version, which will be a real remake with updated controls. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews