User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DS
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This is actually a charming and fun game. Think of it as Tenchu meets Samurai Jack. All the fighting, story, and stealth of Tenchu without the blood or gore. The story is fun and the game play on PS3 is very intuitive. Graphic style and music really give the game atmosphere. Hands down the best PS3 game I've bought in months.
  2. SpencerS
    Jan 8, 2010
    8
    I enjoyed the demo and thought this might initally be a PSN Store '£15' game ... but it turned out it was a full price title at £40 - which I have to say, is just too much money. However, I picked it up for £13 in the Game Sale and really am enjoying it. I'm 37 and just enjoy the less hectic pace of it compared to other AAA titles - I need a break from MW2 I enjoyed the demo and thought this might initally be a PSN Store '£15' game ... but it turned out it was a full price title at £40 - which I have to say, is just too much money. However, I picked it up for £13 in the Game Sale and really am enjoying it. I'm 37 and just enjoy the less hectic pace of it compared to other AAA titles - I need a break from MW2 ! Kids will love it - it's not 'tough' or too challenging. It's bright, fun, colourful and simple to play, but not moronic. At a reduced price, this is a great game - but probably not worth the full asking price - pick it up for around £15 and you'll be rewarded with a cute old-skool game that will relax and entertain. Expand
  3. ScottS
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    A breath of fresh air when every other game is an over-the-top violence fest. Don't get me wrong, I love me some violence, but it's also nice to have a respite and Mini Ninjas totally delivers. One part Okami, one part Zelda and you've got Mini Ninjas. Play it, you won't regret it.
  4. EthanR
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I bought this for my 8 yr old's birthday and he is having a blast. It's pitch-perfect for younger kids. His 10 yo brother has been itching for a turn, too. Very good game, very kid-friendly and engaging.
  5. AndreasM
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Glad I didn't pay attention to the ratings, and bought this game. A breath of fresh air, beautiful game. If you are looking for a game that will not stress you out with bleak colours and gruesome killing, get this one. It's light-hearted mini ninja zen.
  6. RichardD
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    Excellent, fun, sit-back-and-play title. Looks and sounds great. Funny and cute. Played through it on Medium the first time, then made it about half way through a second time on Hard, finding the collectibles, unlocking trophies/achievements, and just experimenting, before my attention turned to a different game. The game could have used a bit more content. Something like multiplayer Excellent, fun, sit-back-and-play title. Looks and sounds great. Funny and cute. Played through it on Medium the first time, then made it about half way through a second time on Hard, finding the collectibles, unlocking trophies/achievements, and just experimenting, before my attention turned to a different game. The game could have used a bit more content. Something like multiplayer online or offline splitscreen co-op, and maybe a slightly longer story. Reminds me of I-Ninja on the PS2. Io Interactive has definitely laid the ground work for a good new game series. Expand
  7. BillH
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I'm rating this game absed on having played the Demo on the PSN and then having purchased the game the next day and having put in about 4 hours of gameplay tonight. I love it. If you're into action-adventure, RPG, platforming, and/or stealth I'd be very surprised if you don't like this game. If I were to use other games to describe this one, it'd be a beautiful, I'm rating this game absed on having played the Demo on the PSN and then having purchased the game the next day and having put in about 4 hours of gameplay tonight. I love it. If you're into action-adventure, RPG, platforming, and/or stealth I'd be very surprised if you don't like this game. If I were to use other games to describe this one, it'd be a beautiful, huge, awesome version of the better Ratchet and Clank titles of the previous generation. I don't know about it's length, but I know I'm not far into it just because there's so much to explore that I haven't been moving at an incredibly fast pace and that says a lot in and of itself, because the reason for that is that I'm so impressed I don't want to miss anything. There have been numerous times I've found myself just panning the camera to take in the majestic views afforded by the game and welld esigned levels coupled with a well realised and striking graphics scheme. I'm going to get back to it, I just wanted to post something that may or may not be of use because Iw asn't sure if I was going to hate myself for spending the money before I got it and there wasn't a lot of valuable review data out when I made the purchase. Expand
  8. MirceaD
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    good game ,i wish it was longer (finished on medium in about 8 hours).visually it looks good, fighting system is good, lots of spells and charaters but you wont use them all. some of them are just there for 2 minutes then you'll never use them but i think thats a good thing, maybe some other players have a differnt style than me. again, pretty short, but even if i was enjoying it so good game ,i wish it was longer (finished on medium in about 8 hours).visually it looks good, fighting system is good, lots of spells and charaters but you wont use them all. some of them are just there for 2 minutes then you'll never use them but i think thats a good thing, maybe some other players have a differnt style than me. again, pretty short, but even if i was enjoying it so much i must say near the end after i reached max level i was just rushing to see the end. lots of stuff to collect but most of it doesnt do much so it doesnt have a great replay value. so, i would say it a pretty good game, looks good, sounds good, funny as hell,even if you have to do the same thing every level i must say that the mass of unlockebles makes it enjoyable till the end. PLAY IT!! Expand
  9. HoderJ
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    Great game, lots of fun, easy to control, looks good, has some brilliant cut scenes and a cute story. It's not the longest game, but you can easily get 15 hours out of it, though this will requite you to play it on hard. The mixture of adventure, fighting, rpg in some great surroundings makes Mini Ninjas, this years big suprise.
  10. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    mini ninjas is a great action-plat-former with fun, action packed game-play, good music, ninja coolness and an awesome storyline. not perfect though...
  11. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    What Mini Ninjas did for me was create a memorable gaming experience that not a lot of games have. I loved the experience start to finish with all its twist and turns. Being able to gain magic powers at your own pace and slicing through evil samurai is extremely enjoyable, especially due to the great story that fuels your reason to, and something that deserves a sequel. But I could see howWhat Mini Ninjas did for me was create a memorable gaming experience that not a lot of games have. I loved the experience start to finish with all its twist and turns. Being able to gain magic powers at your own pace and slicing through evil samurai is extremely enjoyable, especially due to the great story that fuels your reason to, and something that deserves a sequel. But I could see how this game would not appeal to a mass market. Also, hasn't Dishonored stolen some of the stealth mechanics? Turn into animals anyone? Expand
  12. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    Ahh, nostalgia... I remember first playing this around the age of 8, an immature little kid who just loved games. Then I played this game, though only on one occasion, but the memories clung with me for years. Then about two years ago, around the age of 11, I was browsing the PS Store, looking for something to purchase. Upon seeing the game, I instantly downloaded it. So, after all theseAhh, nostalgia... I remember first playing this around the age of 8, an immature little kid who just loved games. Then I played this game, though only on one occasion, but the memories clung with me for years. Then about two years ago, around the age of 11, I was browsing the PS Store, looking for something to purchase. Upon seeing the game, I instantly downloaded it. So, after all these years, did it still hold up? Well........I FREAKING LOVE THIS GAME LIKE A SON!!! Even at 13, I still relive the experience regularly. Even with GTA 5 and AC4 in my library, I will always give it go if I'm in the mood. So, what makes this game so good? Two words. Story and gameplay. The story definitely fits for a ninja game based around Japanese culture and mythology. Long story short, an evil samurai warlord has been resurrected and playing as Hiro, Tora and others, you must restore peace to a troubled land. In addition, the gameplay is very open-ended. Do you go in stealthy, with swords, claws, hammers, bows, flutes or spears blazing, or do you possess a bear and RIP DEM TOOH SHREDS!!! As well as that, Kuji magic, though exclusive to Hiro, are a joy to use (with some exceptions...) and can turn the tide of battle. I know the game may be kiddie on the exterior, but what this game truly is is a criminally underappreciated Gem that deserves much more recognition. However, I do have one complaint: It's WAY too easy. I have never died ONCE in this game (maybe due to the overabundance of health potions and ingredients to craft said potions), even on hard. But in all honesty, it doesn't even scratch the game. At all. If you overlook the difficulty, this game is almost flawless and easily deserving of 10/10. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Un juego muy innovador, no hay ninguno de su categoría en Playstation 3, al menos de este nivel, es entretenido, engancha desde el principio, tiene una trama notable, lógicamente los gráficos y las cámaras cuando luchas dejan mucho que desear, flojea en mas aspectos..pero el caso es que es muy entretenido para niños y jugarlo en familia, lo recomiendo. Saludos y que lo paséis genial conUn juego muy innovador, no hay ninguno de su categoría en Playstation 3, al menos de este nivel, es entretenido, engancha desde el principio, tiene una trama notable, lógicamente los gráficos y las cámaras cuando luchas dejan mucho que desear, flojea en mas aspectos..pero el caso es que es muy entretenido para niños y jugarlo en familia, lo recomiendo. Saludos y que lo paséis genial con este juego ^^ Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. A massive let down from a once mighty developer. [Oct 2009, p.83]
  2. Despite the disappointment of there being no co-op play in Mini Ninjas' campaign, the game does enough to keep players entertained through well mixed gameplay, loveable characters, stylistically beautiful environments, and good humour. The Japanese story is finely applied and a wide audience will enjoy this title, meaning that it fulfils its remit and then some.
  3. Mini Ninjas is a likeable want to be, but it´s no more than that. It could be an awesome videogame, but IO Interactive didn’t know how to develop its good and innovative premise.