User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 76
  2. Negative: 5 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jesse
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    I've been playing this title on the PS2 for the last two years and this years version on the PS3 and all i can say is that is fantastic! it looks absolutely beautiful in every way and plays like a gem. THIS is the baseball title to own in 2008.
  2. TimD.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Having played 07 all of last year this game is nothing short of spectacular. The graphics are truly gorgeous and the game play is noticably tighter this year. After a couple of games I came away very satisfied with the experience. This game is a must have for any baseball fan and is clearly superior in every way to MLB 2k8 which is just garbage by comparison to the show ore even 2k7 for Having played 07 all of last year this game is nothing short of spectacular. The graphics are truly gorgeous and the game play is noticably tighter this year. After a couple of games I came away very satisfied with the experience. This game is a must have for any baseball fan and is clearly superior in every way to MLB 2k8 which is just garbage by comparison to the show ore even 2k7 for that matter. Expand
  3. JayJ.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Pure baseball bliss comes to the ps3.
  4. Khaos
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    Not since High Heat baseball has there been such a fantastic batter-pitcher interface. Fantastic game. The AI can be improved, but I've yet to find a baseball game that makes intelligent decisions in line ups and trades. The game play is worth the price. The graphics are superb. The feel is really good. The major downside is the repetitive announcing. But that's not enoughNot since High Heat baseball has there been such a fantastic batter-pitcher interface. Fantastic game. The AI can be improved, but I've yet to find a baseball game that makes intelligent decisions in line ups and trades. The game play is worth the price. The graphics are superb. The feel is really good. The major downside is the repetitive announcing. But that's not enough to mar an excellent baseball game. Expand
  5. EROD
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    By far the best baseball game this year. Great gameplay and very realistic. A must buy for baseball fans.
  6. Ben
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    This game freakin Rocks. If you're a baseball fan it doesn't get much better than this. Road to the show is amazing!
  7. ChrisD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Best baseball game on the PS3! I used to think "The Bigs" was the best, but it didn't have a season simulation like The Show 08 does. Graphics are excellent and the pitching mechanics are superb.
  8. JohnM
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    The demo is incredible and it is refreshing to see Sony make a great sports game after the latest NBA debacle. This is a MUST BUY for any baseball fan and PS3 owner.
  9. HarrisK.
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    Definitely the most graphically realistic sports game that I have ever seen.
  10. GeorgeW.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    always been a 2k fan until I played mlb08 great game.
  11. MarkR.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Amazing! I bought a PS3 just for this game. Great baseball experience and worth a 10 out of 10.
  12. JoanL.
    Mar 7, 2008
    9
    The Show definitely delivers a true baseball experience for hardcore fans. It is the best baseball simulation ever, great sound and graphics, atmosphere and details. Complete with several modes which are very complete, such as franchise, season, career, manager, rivalry, road to the show, etc. However, there is still room for improvement (for example some fielding glitches and lack of The Show definitely delivers a true baseball experience for hardcore fans. It is the best baseball simulation ever, great sound and graphics, atmosphere and details. Complete with several modes which are very complete, such as franchise, season, career, manager, rivalry, road to the show, etc. However, there is still room for improvement (for example some fielding glitches and lack of collision detection). Otherwise would have been a 10. Expand
  13. Justin
    Mar 7, 2008
    9
    1 word- AwesomeOOO.
  14. MattP.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Best baseball sim I've ever played. Period.
  15. BuddyR.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Hands down best baseball video game ever made.
  16. SamFarr
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Are there flaws? Yes, actually there are quite a few flaws. In fact, there are several things that drive me nuts.
    BUT, the flaw stand out more, because this is simply the best baseball simulation I have ever played. The graphics are stellar, the details are tremendous, and the play has kept me involved for far too many a late night.
    GREAT game.
  17. KirkB.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    This is a baseball game done right. Playing this gives you the feeling that you're really in a MLB stadium, taking actual hacks at real pitches, or trying to hit your spots with your breaking ball. This iteration is much like last years version for the PS2 (I didn't own a PS3 at the time), but the visuals and animations are top notch. The Road to the Show feature actually makes This is a baseball game done right. Playing this gives you the feeling that you're really in a MLB stadium, taking actual hacks at real pitches, or trying to hit your spots with your breaking ball. This iteration is much like last years version for the PS2 (I didn't own a PS3 at the time), but the visuals and animations are top notch. The Road to the Show feature actually makes this game seem like 2 games in 1, and you can move your career along at a good clip as it only takes minutes to play each game. The Franchise mode is really deep, however basically the same as last year's. The online part of this game could be improved, as I've encountered a lot of lag that really hurt the experience. Most times you're just guessing and swinging, not much strategy involved when playing a real opponent online. That is my only reason to not score this game a 10. As a single player experience, it is a 10+, as there are few flaws, and not many glitches (although a couple I've seen have been hilarious, eg: stealing second base with Julio Lugo against the Yankees, Posada's throw went past Cano and then CF Melky Cabrera missed it coming in to back-up the second baseman, then didn't bother to turn around and get the ball so Lugo stole 2nd, 3rd and home all in the same play, lol). All in all, if you're a baseball fan and have been looking to add a great ballgame to your collection, this is it. It may even be a system seller for hardcore ball fans, as from what I've read and heard MLB 2K8 isn't that great this year. Expand
  18. john
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    How did G4 give this a 60 and the 'other' ps3 baseball game an 80?! they ruined the shows chances of being in the top 5 of the ps3 games so far released. anyway, definitely the best sports title yet. best, most fun, baseball sim game I've ever played. (been playing baseball sims for about 20 years).
  19. TLin
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    This game is by far the best baseball game ever to grace a console tus far. Featuring more customizations, game modes, variety, stat tracking than you can shake a stick at! presentation and graphics are super slick and realistic! I can't ask for more from a baseball game. I play in a summer and fall baseball league and use this game as additional training. Easily should receive This game is by far the best baseball game ever to grace a console tus far. Featuring more customizations, game modes, variety, stat tracking than you can shake a stick at! presentation and graphics are super slick and realistic! I can't ask for more from a baseball game. I play in a summer and fall baseball league and use this game as additional training. Easily should receive between 8.5 to 9.0 and probably should be between 9.0 to 9.4! G4 Tv IS must have reviewed this game with blindfolds on to give it 60!!!! Next up... Photo realistic baseball simulator!!! Expand
  20. DaveP.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    The difference from last years the show and this one is amazing. Everything from the graphics, to the gameplay has been improved. It is easily the best sports game i have ever bought. When you get bored with the franchise mode switch over and play road to the show.
  21. Brent
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    This is hands down the best baseball game ever made. The gameplay, graphics, and presentation is incredible. This game should not disappoint.
  22. JasonP.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Very good and deep game. Best baseball game ever considering graphics, gameplay, depth, and overall fun. Commentary great too.
  23. HalO.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    Simply put: This is the best baseball since RBI Baseball... There it has been said.
  24. TommyG.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Great game.
  25. TommyG.
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    Great game.
  26. KyleH.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely the best baseball game of all time. It is so packed with features that Madden can't stand up to this. The animations are the best in any sports game out there and the graphics shine and make the PS3 look like a masterpiece. I recommend this to anyone who even remotely likes baseball.
  27. LuisE.Tejeda
    Apr 19, 2008
    10
    MLB 08 The Show it's the best baseball game I had ever seen before.
  28. EmirEsc
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This is the most complete MLB game I have ever experienced. This is as close as baseball comes to a video game.
  29. ChanseWareham
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    First off...I really don't like baseball. Secondly, I am a relative noob when it comes to simulation games. But when I got my first homerun and heard the crack of that bat...I was there. The Show retains a comfortable, arcade esque feel for those who want that, yet also has so many customizable options that any player can find thier perfect mix. Graphics are nice, although whenFirst off...I really don't like baseball. Secondly, I am a relative noob when it comes to simulation games. But when I got my first homerun and heard the crack of that bat...I was there. The Show retains a comfortable, arcade esque feel for those who want that, yet also has so many customizable options that any player can find thier perfect mix. Graphics are nice, although when running at 1080 or 720 happen to hit some weak framerates. However, in sports games the controls and gameplay mechanics are what sells, and MLB 08 sells it bigtime. Easily the best baseball game on the market right now as 2K8 was dissappointing and EA is rebuilding thier franchise. A good game that will keep any fan or newcomer swinging for the fences. Expand
  30. juangranados
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    i liked it it was my first ever baseball game i started being a bball fan in july 2007 and i started being a met fan on september 2007 and i bought this game and enjoyed it alot its better than the old final fantasy i especially love season mode and carrer i like fantasy drafts alot
  31. BillD.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Best baseball game I have ever played
  32. DaveM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. Few downers. Easily the best baseball game of all time.
  33. IanMitchell
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    I was in a cigar shop recently and noticed they were watching a baseball game in hi-def. It was my fiancee who noticed it was a video game. The picture was THAT good even in hi-def. I have never bought a sports game before, but I plan to now.
  34. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    Graphics: 9/10 as far as a sports game goes this is top notch. The players are accurate to their real life counter parts, even some of their prebatting rituals. The stadiums look amazing and the crowds are fairly well all things considered. It
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 87
    MLB '08 delivers on every gameplay front. The on-field play is excellently done, the stat tracking is immense, and Road to the Show is one of the best career modes around. Visually striking, this is the baseball game that baseball fans have been waiting for on the PS3.
  2. 90
    There are an overwhelming number of features in this game that should keep even the most die-hard fan happy until next spring.
  3. Since I am hopelessly addicted to Road to the Show, MLB 08 gets my nod for the game you’ll get the most out of – but you really have to be into the concept of creating a player and raising him from a minor league hopeful to a major league all-star.