Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MLB 13 The Show promises an MLB experiences like never before. Improvements have been made to Diamond Dynasty, Franchise and Road To The Show modes and all-new game modes expand gameplay options.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    A ton of love, care, and attention, not only to the fundamentals, but to what the fans have been clamoring for have been answered in spades. The end result is in not only the best version this series has seen, and not only the most authentic and realistic baseball game created to date, but easily one of the best sports games this reviewer has ever played.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    95
    A triumph, MLB 13: The Show blasts the competition so far out of the park that the grazing cows out on the countryside get a souvenir. Every second of the game is exciting and enticing on different levels.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    90
    It may not be a huge leap over last year’s game but its satisfaction is almost endless.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    88
    PlayStation gamers who are also baseball fans are a lucky lot. MLB 13: The Show is another winner in a series that’s easily the best baseball sim since EA’s since-shuttered MVP Baseball line.
  5. 86
    An excellent visual package and a versatile control scheme help to set it apart from its competition and secure it a spot on store shelves for years to come.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    While the game remains challenging, the frustration factor of hitting has been dialed way back, which will draw in new players who want to get good wood on the ball like a real big leaguer.
  7. May 7, 2013
    60
    It’s the best baseball simulation available, but the biggest new feature is the mode for beginners, not very interesting to PS3 baseball aficionados. And the rest will probably ignore this game. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.79]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I've been playing this franchise for since back on the original Playstation, and I can honestly say I am blown away by this year's game. I honestly was not expecting much this season, but the improvements the devs made for this year really improve the overall gameplay. Hitting is no longer so difficult that every game is a pitcher's duel; now hitting is easy enough on the Veteren setting as to be fun, but still realistic. I'm sure after a few games I'll bump up the difficulty a bit and see how that goes. As for the presentation improvements, new camera angles, commentating, and cut scenes make the game look even more like a real TV broadcast. The new Postseason mode is really cool as well. The entire presentation changes to create a playoff atmosphere, and is nice for those who don't want to play through a whole season to experience the playoffs. As a diehard of the series I probably notice more changes than the casual player, but I can honestly say that this is the best baseball game I've played and am more than happy with dropping the $60 for it. A must buy for baseball fans! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    By far the best sports sim available. This game quite literally defines what a MLB game should be; other sports sims take notice. They've revamped batting completely. You can even allow the game to teach you to be a better batter and you can increase the difficulty as you start to see yourself improving to different levels (it also has it's own levels within that difficulty it can scale to fit your ability). When you hit the ball the physics are a million times better. It's no longer like bouncing a ping-pong ball on a table. When it hits, it'll skid, turn, stop short. There is no longer a consistent amount of ground-rule doubles when you knock a ball into the outfield (it doesn't just automatically bounce out). It's loads more realistic in the physics.

    Postseason mode is amazing. From the music, to the crowd interaction, to the interaction from the other players (the "1st person-mode" is really cool you don't see the game in 1st person, but the noise in the game comes from around your player: either from your teammates to even a snarky fan giving you grief or even one cheering you on). It's amazing. I don't really need to comment on how perfect pitching is in this game.

    What this boils down to: MLB 13 The Show should be your one and ONLY choice for a baseball game. 2K cannot compete. Sorry Xbox (only) owners, you do get a decent game but nothing like this.
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Having allowed MLB 11 the Show hold me over until this year, I've found that this year's installment is a must buy for all baseball fans who haven't had the pleasure of playing last year's game. It's the best baseball game money can buy and Road to the Show alone is worth the purchase. I'll gladly shell over $60 to not have to listen to EK ramble on during my RttS play-through. Collapse
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Simply amazing. Again, YoY this game gets it right. With some subtle upgrades in the Franchise mode, this game is great. If you're a baseball nut, or even just a hobbyist do yourself a favor and pick up The Show 13. The online leagues are fun, and the new matchmaking system for online ranked play add to the depth of the game. -1 point for some overall connection issues during online play, but the gameplay and presentation provide enough enjoyment to overlook and keep playing. Bravo. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Here's the thing. Baseball is baseball. The PS3 is the PS3 (read "old) so we are not oging to get massive innovation. Baseball hasn;t suddenly changed teh rules and the PS3 hasn't suddenly tripled in power and capacity. Let's face it harly anyone uses "move" and when they do it barely works. So what of MLB13?
    Well we are told it's the last "Show" for the PS3 as from '14 onwards the main focus will be on the PS4. In itself it is THE best baseball game (alongside OOTP as a management baseball game) on the market. But what it is not is a huge change over 2012.
    If you bought a game from this franchise every 2...better still 3 years. Then this game will be a breath of fresh air. The graphics are tighter, pulse pitching is good, more stances, more pitching...great.
    If you have MLB12 then 13 is not an essential purchase. If you have '11 then it's viable but not required. If the last MLB game you bought was '10 or earlier then this is pretty essential. But with '14 on the PS4 looming there will be an essential purchase for us all next year and I can't wait!
    Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    I love this game. I play as the Red Sox usually facing arch rival Yankees. The graphics are top notch and the new features are great. I am in the middle of the playoffs tring to win my first world series. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    I'm writing this to warn people who like RTTS that there are now dizzying spins of the camera when you are on the field/coming to bat. So much so, it is making some ppl sick. The devs know this and just don't care.

    Last time I'm ever getting ripped off by sony on this POS!
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews