Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MLB 14 The Show is a realistic baseball game that allows players to feel the MLB experience with moments such as when you're called up to the majors, a sacrifice fly to left field, or crushing a walk-off homer to win it all.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    90
    Keeps the Show legacy alive with excellent aesthetics and immersive baseball simulations. [Issue#245, p.68]
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    89
    Still the best sports simulation out there, until the PS4 version.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    85
    The Show 14 still exhibits the kind of structural improvement that makes all preceding versions obsolete — a critical expectation of an iterative sports series that so many titles, good ones even, fail to accomplish.
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    MLB 14: The Show continues to set the gold standard for console baseball, with an excellent single-player experience. Here's hoping that one day Sony will figure out how to get its online modes working.
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    MLB 14 might have its rough edges, but it lives up to the term "simulation" in the truest sense, offering players the means to realistically succeed any way they choose.
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    80
    Even with MLB 14: The Show not adding a ton it still remains one of the best sports games on the market today.
  7. Apr 20, 2014
    50
    While I do feel MLB is above average in most areas, I feel it is let down entirely by boring gameplay, which completely ruins the general mood and feel. Great modes, decent graphics, the licenses – although they are all there, playing MLB 14 feels like going through the motions over and over again.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    The best baseball game ever, excellents graphics, colors, great, great work for Sony San Diego, i'm waiting for PS4 version, thats be spectacular, RTTS its fresh, quik counts are great and the game feels more real than last years, excellent!! Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    wow this game is so amazing and hell fun to play.. i love new feature is quick count make game finish quickly.. nice graphic on ps3.. can't wait to play it on ps4 next month. i love new batting animations.. very nice menu interface.. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Way to go San Diego Studios! The added features of the quick count and player lock is what I have been looking for without knowing I was looking for it. I can bounce around and play entire seasons with my favorite players and teams in the league. Knowing that I can carry my progress to the next rendition of the game is HUGE; why haven't developers thought of this feature before? I will tell you why: because they are afraid to raise the bar high enough to encourage players to buy a new version of the game. While the game is very similar to last year's game, the two aforementioned features fully-substantiates my purchase. I would like a little more control over player lock and quick count though. i.e. Player Lock the pitcher and turn off quick count and Player Lock a fielder strictly for batting. To anyone who is on the fence about this game: get off the fence and jump on to the field. Collapse
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    You can send your saves to the Plus Cloud, then transfer to the PS4 in May. You can continue your characters into 2015 and beyond now and some retailers are offering a "turn in" program once the PS4 version becomes available. Now you get to play from day one and then get some love in May without spending $130! The game? I'm not sure I believe Sony about the "ticket stub" system making micro transactions cheaper than past games, but I do like the system itself and how easy it is to work with. The coaches demands on how to spend your training points seems to have gone away in RTTS mode. Only 24hrs into it all and the game seems to be fantastic once again. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    Not that great. I was just thrown out while I was standing in the dugout. Awesome. I watched the replay, my guy scored went to the dugout and then ran back out and the other team tagged him. If you're winning in the 9th the computer becomes god. Its a simulator please let it be that way all through the game. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2014
    4
    If you have last year's version, this is a waste of money. Quick Counts? Player Lock? Snooze. These are just tack ons. Certainly not worth 60 bucks. And look. It's now almost 3PM the day of release and there aren't even any critic reviews. This game is just a money grab. A desperate attempt to squeeze an extra year out of PS3 owners. I didn't really think San Diego Studios would sink to that. I thought they were above that. But nope, they obvioulsy aren't. Expand
  7. May 12, 2014
    0
    I've been playing The Show since 2006 (the first one) and this is BY FAR the second worst version of the game (2009 was the worst). I sold my 2013 version, bought 2014.... I've since sold 2014 and re-bought 2013. Don't waste your money on 2014.... I could write paragraphs upon paragraphs about what is wrong with this game.... but just look at the other reviews and you'll see this years game is not good. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews