User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 23 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2014
    2
    Now when a game is adapted for a large amount of source material, like the Gundam franchise, you expect the game to utilizes much of said source material as possible. This allows for a great story for newcomers to the source material or nostalgia for those who have already seen it. Gundam: Crossfire on the other hand does none of that and tosses you into a story you know almost nothingNow when a game is adapted for a large amount of source material, like the Gundam franchise, you expect the game to utilizes much of said source material as possible. This allows for a great story for newcomers to the source material or nostalgia for those who have already seen it. Gundam: Crossfire on the other hand does none of that and tosses you into a story you know almost nothing about with the weakest mobile suits of the bunch. Let's see where this catastrophe went wrong.

    The story of Gundam Crossfire is supposed to take place in the first series, Mobile Suit Gundam. Now instead of getting you into the great parts like the Battle of A Boa Qu or Odessa, it sets you up in battles that well didn't have much significance to the overall plot. You destroy a Zakutank here and there, but the main story is out there with the actual Gundam! You play as a soldier who is fighting up to the Battle of Odessa operation in hopes of changing the course of the war. I would care more...if you actually gave us characters to understand! This game is more or less sending you out as an unnamed soldier with no relationships. It's more like a demo for a game rather than an actual game itself.

    Now don't get me started on the gameplay, this game passes off as a Gundam game purely from being in the universe. It should be called "Mobile Suit Battle Simulator" since the only Gundam you see will be further down the line. The damage aspect of the game is actually well thought out and actually pays homage to the source material. Your radar diminishes the more your head is damaged, if your arms get damaged your weapons start going, walking speed goes with the legs and the Mobile Suit gets destroyed once the torso gets too much damage. I love this part and would like to see it imputed in other Gundam games. The problem with this one is the combat, the mobility is off at times and the aiming itself can be a little too precise. The AIs literally sit there and take punishment. There is more damage done to at higher difficulties but the problem is that the AI doesn't get smarter. I don't want the game to take forever and the AI to just not care. You are allowed to recruit people, and sometimes even some from the actual story. Sadly this customization aspect was not given too much thought like most of the game and takes a backseat for most of the time. I'm done ranting about everything wrong with the gameplay.

    The sound is almost non-apparent and the graphics are actually the only thing I love about this game. It looks damn good, the Mobile Suits look good while moving and shooting. Other than that the terrain is nothing special and only some Mobile Suits have more detail put in. All in all the asthetics of the game are really the only thing to truly look at.

    When you look at the Mobile Suit GUNDAM universe, you don't look at a GM and say "I want to pilot that one!". You look at the GUNDAM and say "Dear god let me pilot that!". I'm disappointed that this was a launch title for the PS3. I guess it would make sense if they rushed it all to fit it in since you can actually see ideas forming here and there. It's just not enough to make a decent game. Would I replay this game? I'm just holding onto it until I have children then tell them never to play games like this pile of crap. It'll show them standards for gaming and for that I applaud Namco Bandai.

    Story: 1
    Gameplay: 1.1
    Sound: 1
    Graphics: 3.1
    Overall: 1.5
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    The one I played was the one that was named "Mobile Suit Gundam: Target in Sight" instead, but from what I know, its essentially the same game.

    Back when I first played it some time ago, I thought it was a great game. Looking back, it did have some flaws, however the game is extremely under-rated. I remember the experience of going through the campaign to be extremely pleasing. First
    The one I played was the one that was named "Mobile Suit Gundam: Target in Sight" instead, but from what I know, its essentially the same game.

    Back when I first played it some time ago, I thought it was a great game. Looking back, it did have some flaws, however the game is extremely under-rated. I remember the experience of going through the campaign to be extremely pleasing. First off, the soundtrack in this game is AMAZING. The epic music in the game is still stuck in my head after so many years, and it really improved the gaming experience. Visuals on the other hand, weren't exactly anything amazing, but it was never so bad that it took me out of the experience. Now on Gameplay, I remember having a bit of frustration here and there, but I remember getting used to the way the game played and still had a great time. The mobile suit customization system was pretty fun, and it was sufficient to make the mechs feel important and the experience more personal. And I remember having pilots stick with me throughout the game, and had them kind of grow on me. The damage and repair system was also very interesting, and it sometimes forces you into uncomfortable situations, which was something I loved. And yes, the actual combat was quite clunky, but that was what I loved. It just felt realistic and enjoyable. Although not on the level of something like Mechwarriors, it just felt right, and the shooting and all felt responsive. The only downer in combat is that the AI that accompany you aren't as useful as they could be, and every other supporting vehicle is essentially useless.

    Overall, it was a great experience for me, and "Crossfire" was a game that I never regretted purchasing and playing.
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    2
    i didnt like this game and not because of the graphics or the movement speed but because it is just so hard to hit anything in this game i wish there was at least an aming riticule or somthing that way i can tell where i am aiming at. the first mission does not even give you a tutorial it just says here u go go kill them and i bet given time i could figure out how to play this game withi didnt like this game and not because of the graphics or the movement speed but because it is just so hard to hit anything in this game i wish there was at least an aming riticule or somthing that way i can tell where i am aiming at. the first mission does not even give you a tutorial it just says here u go go kill them and i bet given time i could figure out how to play this game with some efficiancy but it took me a long time to just do the first mission but i am not a patient person when it comes to games like this i wish they would have done better that way i could enjoy it bacause this is defenatly an interesting story Collapse
  4. Nov 3, 2010
    4
    a pretty poor excuse for a gundam game . graphics look like it should be on the PS2 . not a big gundam selection . very short can beat it in less then 5 hours. missions arnt very intresting . story is dull . i was really hoping for some thing like gundam side story 0079 like on the dreamcast but bigger and better . even though i only paid $15 for this game 3 years ago still wasnt worth ita pretty poor excuse for a gundam game . graphics look like it should be on the PS2 . not a big gundam selection . very short can beat it in less then 5 hours. missions arnt very intresting . story is dull . i was really hoping for some thing like gundam side story 0079 like on the dreamcast but bigger and better . even though i only paid $15 for this game 3 years ago still wasnt worth it the cash . hopefully we get a better gundam game for the US soon. Expand
  5. JS
    Dec 3, 2009
    8
    Pretty good game. However, the rating is expected. What do you think the anime geeks who think Wing is the best gundam would think of a game like this? Exactly. If you like challenging gameplay, nice graphics, and actually like gundam not for the melodramatics, then you'll like this game.
  6. Spikerzero
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    I loved this game it was made to be realistic so they made the machines slower. I mean alot of people complained that gundams were to nimble and athletic for gaint robots then said the games were crap. so now that they made them less nimble everybody calls it worste than crap. make up your minds... also the story takes place in the one year war while your a soldier in the military, its I loved this game it was made to be realistic so they made the machines slower. I mean alot of people complained that gundams were to nimble and athletic for gaint robots then said the games were crap. so now that they made them less nimble everybody calls it worste than crap. make up your minds... also the story takes place in the one year war while your a soldier in the military, its not supose to be this gaint plot where you becaome the greatest hero of the war, the graphics are great in my opion so stop insulting them, its a great game and im tired of people saying its crap just because they dont know the controls or the robot moves to slow, its a game for the fans of the series not a new random person who never played a mobile suit game before. Expand
  7. AdrianTolan
    Jul 27, 2008
    0
    This game get's a big fat zero because it has no value.Once you complete it (If you can without feeling angry about you're purchase) don't trade it in, if you are a good human being you owe it to the world to snap the disc the set it on fire.
  8. RexR
    Jul 7, 2008
    4
    I LOVE the Gundam series. I was excited about how the people made it look (from the previews). It looks great. The down side is comparing it to "Federation vs Zeon" it was horible. Targeting took to long, non-existent, or poor. The reflexes of the suits' movement are slow when attacking and trying to move from you attack. There is not fired reticule and if so it only existed for the I LOVE the Gundam series. I was excited about how the people made it look (from the previews). It looks great. The down side is comparing it to "Federation vs Zeon" it was horible. Targeting took to long, non-existent, or poor. The reflexes of the suits' movement are slow when attacking and trying to move from you attack. There is not fired reticule and if so it only existed for the limited targeting reticule that was sub-par. I love the series, so I love seeing how they are. I'm impressed by the Gouf, and the Zaku with the connon, freaking sweet!!! Expand
  9. EthanC.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Some great detail in my book kinda slow at first but picks up really quick.
  10. FULLRAPT
    Oct 27, 2007
    8
    Gundam is awesome, and Xbox360 has its own GUNDAM GAMES too. And to those who trash the 360 without playing its amazing exclusives like Blue Dragon, Puzzle Quest Warlords, Forza Motorsport 2, Gears of War, Halo 3 and Splinter Cell Chaos or Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter you can stop right now. Seriously don't be dumb. And Half Life Orange Box but what I was going to say, even though Gundam is awesome, and Xbox360 has its own GUNDAM GAMES too. And to those who trash the 360 without playing its amazing exclusives like Blue Dragon, Puzzle Quest Warlords, Forza Motorsport 2, Gears of War, Halo 3 and Splinter Cell Chaos or Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter you can stop right now. Seriously don't be dumb. And Half Life Orange Box but what I was going to say, even though the 360 is so competitive and packed with games......GUNDAM is still a fan favorite. And GUNDAM is like PROJECT SYLPHEED for the 360, its a treasured under-rated game. Both systems have dozens of under-rated games, and I give a prop out to them....if you own a PS3 or are going to get one, RENT THIS GAME & TRY IT!!! Its really fun, as most Gundam games are. 360 & PS3 both have their great games. Expand
  11. MurshedH.
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    This is a fan only game. I like gundam series. So as a fan in I would give this game a 9 out of 10 but I do have to consider what what game is all about. It is a hard game. If you are not familiar with the previous game controls you might be at a loss. The graphics eventhough HD it does have its flaws. The sound however seemed solid. The storyline is little different then most of the This is a fan only game. I like gundam series. So as a fan in I would give this game a 9 out of 10 but I do have to consider what what game is all about. It is a hard game. If you are not familiar with the previous game controls you might be at a loss. The graphics eventhough HD it does have its flaws. The sound however seemed solid. The storyline is little different then most of the gandam games as you are a normal soldier in this game and as you progress though it you gain more experience and rank. Overall this game deserves more attention and less negative press. Expand
  12. FriggenHugeOrc
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    For the Die hard gundam fans....its a must have!
  13. GeoffreyM.
    Jan 21, 2007
    6
    In a gamer prespective it has be poorly under rated. But it is easy to see why. I do agree the game was badly rushed but sadly out of all the PS3 games it is the only one I still play just because it isn't boring, Resistence is too much like other shooter games to the point that i zone out while playing wake up and realized I won. While Crossfire I die in 1 hit stand there with my In a gamer prespective it has be poorly under rated. But it is easy to see why. I do agree the game was badly rushed but sadly out of all the PS3 games it is the only one I still play just because it isn't boring, Resistence is too much like other shooter games to the point that i zone out while playing wake up and realized I won. While Crossfire I die in 1 hit stand there with my eyes open wondering what and where that shot came from. This game is perhaps the poorest game designed for PS3 at the time but it is no where near as bad as most biest reviewers have stated. Most Gundam game's can't keep my interest as long as this one has I've been playing it more than any other PS3 game I own. Also if anyone owns a PS1 still or has PS1 games this game looks no where near to a PS1 game in fact it looks better than most PS2 games in exception for a few most resent PS2 games which run crap on older PS2 at times. People have completely ignored the nice building destruction work they did, though that work I think was a waste of time since you don't realized it much until you land on one and smash into it, the building just doesn't fall down but breaks into pieces and most will still be standing until you mash those parts up too. Over all the graphics are not bad, not perfect but I think people see Gears of War and except all games now to look like that or better. Water effects are extremely under rated, atleast I can say on Crossfire they tried with water. If you look at most games they only try to make it look pretty but then do nothing else. Crossfire it moves and moves alot and that's except for a 15-30 ton 40foot mecha right? Combat, lol best i've seen in the Gundam world since Zeonic Front for the PS2, it makes my heart pwnd definity when you're losing. Thats good enough in my book. Once you get into Hard mode and above this game is a pain in the rear. Definity if you start a new game on hard, so you start with nothing but the worst mobile suits possible. Gameplay lol Rusty but atleast you never freeze or fall through the ground like you do on some other games in the past that magically got higher ratings than this game. Controls are a brain buster at times, took me a while to realize I could throw my shield on the ground and use a weapon under neath it. Lockon is not as useful as people say unless you're really close to a target, zoom view is alot more useful than what G4 said. I've gone through full missions taking out half the enemies using Zoom view, you just have to use it right and now aimlessly point your gun at someone firing wildly hoping you will hit something important as G4 started, if you really try to aim you can blow and enemies head off and get a very easy kill. The game is not worth the time unless you're complete bored of all of your other PS3 games or you just like crushing buildings when you smash in to them. Expand
  14. Apocalyps3
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    I thought this is the best Gundam GAME EVER! If you think this game is bad look at the last Gundam Game, I mean common people this has to be the best Gundam Game yet.
  15. DrewM.
    Dec 12, 2006
    0
    You're better off shooting yourself in the head than playing this atrocious "game". Really. I wish that's what I would've done. $10,000,000 for this crap? I sure hope Sony has something up their sleeve, because it ain't lookin' too hot.
  16. LukeM.
    Dec 8, 2006
    0
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  17. IanI.
    Dec 4, 2006
    0
    The Xbox 360 suffers from the same faults as the original in that is simply has no titles that anyone is interested in and those it has that are mildly good are available on every console. Gears of war is a great game. I wouldn't pay $500 to play it though. Crossfire is a travisty, its absolutly horrible and for those of us that watched the E3 footage of the game and were looking The Xbox 360 suffers from the same faults as the original in that is simply has no titles that anyone is interested in and those it has that are mildly good are available on every console. Gears of war is a great game. I wouldn't pay $500 to play it though. Crossfire is a travisty, its absolutly horrible and for those of us that watched the E3 footage of the game and were looking forward to a mech game on our PS3s it is unfortunate how it left us sadly dissapointed. Not just dissapointed...but down right let down. The graphics are decent in my opinion for the style they are done in however the distinctly last gen environments and physics leave you feeling like you just got crapped on. Honistly I expected nothing more from Bandai. Resistance: Fall of Man, Metal Gear Solid 4, FFXIII, these are the games I pay for when I shell out 600 for my PS3, not some shity thrown together piece by namco bandai. There will always be crap games out there, thankfully we have sites like metacritic that will let us know what not to buy so that we can stop supporting the companys like EA that consistantly put out rushed less than compleate, hell less than fun games. Don't pay companys to produce crap like this game, reward them for making good games. I encourage anyone to get Gamefly so that they can rent these games before they buy. It has saved me hundreds of dollors and hundreds of hourse of absolutly horrible games. Expand
  18. HiroM.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Sure this game is slow, and rough around the edges, but if your a gundam fan, you should love the new aspects incorporated and support bandai in their forming of another new, better than this one game.
  19. BobJ.
    Nov 19, 2006
    0
    This is game is so bad it made my eyes bleed. Talk about next gen PS3. HAHA it looks to me like the PS1 not PS3 X-play the show gave it a 1/5 you should watch it at g4tv.com VERY FUNNY review.
  20. Matt
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    Games like this seem to be everywere on Sonys so called next-gen system and thats nothing new. Thats the way it is with all these crap ass japanes systemes. I hope more are made kill sony go XBOX 360! Halo and Gears of War will rule the world!
  21. Jul 11, 2011
    0
    i didnt like this game and not because of the graphics or the movement speed but because it is just so hard to hit anything in this game i wish there was at least an aming riticule or somthing that way i can tell where i am aiming at. the first mission does not even give you a tutorial it just says here u go go kill them and i bet given time i could figure out how to play this game withi didnt like this game and not because of the graphics or the movement speed but because it is just so hard to hit anything in this game i wish there was at least an aming riticule or somthing that way i can tell where i am aiming at. the first mission does not even give you a tutorial it just says here u go go kill them and i bet given time i could figure out how to play this game with some efficiancy but it took me a long time to just do the first mission but i am not a patient person when it comes to games like this i wish they would have done better that way i could enjoy it bacause this is defenatly an interesting story Collapse
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 31
  2. Negative: 25 out of 31
  1. 20
    The game is an embarrassment to the Gundam name, and raises suspicions that it was rushed for the PS3 launch. Clearly, the series -- and the fans -- deserve better.
  2. Only the most blinkered Mobile Suit fetishist could love this clunky battle sim, which trades speed, finesse, and depth for...well, nothing, really.
  3. I have nothing positive to say about this game. I even hate the menu screen. Perhaps the best thing I can come up with is that this miserable piece of trash is so awful that it’s destined to be the worst-selling game of the PS3 launch.