Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe PlayStation 3

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 111
  2. Negative: 20 out of 111
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BartR.
    Nov 17, 2008
    4
    Horrible AI makes this game just as weak as the predecessors (past MK3). The opponents sometimes just stand there idly waiting to be completely annihilated, and then in split second they become unbeatable, and this is on easy difficulties. The "kombo" challenge is horribly tuned, with combos not registering upon completion. If this game was supposed to revive the series, it falls short on Horrible AI makes this game just as weak as the predecessors (past MK3). The opponents sometimes just stand there idly waiting to be completely annihilated, and then in split second they become unbeatable, and this is on easy difficulties. The "kombo" challenge is horribly tuned, with combos not registering upon completion. If this game was supposed to revive the series, it falls short on many, many levels. If it's Teen rating was the only problem, we would only be so lucky. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    The second worst game i've ever played, overall game play is clunky and unrefined, the 'campaign' is useless, theres time in the fight where your just randomly falling and it turns into a weird QTE deal. overall crappy game, deserves every 0 it gets... also no replayability just utter crap.
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    This is not a bad game, let me be clear on that. It just doesn't deserve the "Mortal Kombat" name on it. MK needs to be bloody and gory and have finishers to kill your opponent brutally. This is NOT mortal kombat.
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    4
    This game is not that great. The story is ridiculous and does a lousy job of explaining why the DC Characters are underpowered versions of themselves. Superman, the indestructible son of Krypton can be taken out by a few sweeping kicks from Sonya Blade or an ice blast to the chest courtesy of Sub Zero? That's lame. All of the usual MK fatalities have been removed. Apparently parentThis game is not that great. The story is ridiculous and does a lousy job of explaining why the DC Characters are underpowered versions of themselves. Superman, the indestructible son of Krypton can be taken out by a few sweeping kicks from Sonya Blade or an ice blast to the chest courtesy of Sub Zero? That's lame. All of the usual MK fatalities have been removed. Apparently parent company, WB who owns DC and MK doesn't want to see Wonder Woman's heart get ripped out or Batman's head get torn off. The gameplay is wonky. There's a slight delay between hitting the buttons and the characters' actions. It's also very unbalanced. There aren't alot of gameplay modes an the ones that do exist aren't worth your time to explore. Since it's release, its become drastically cheaper and that means you can pick it up in a bargain bin for a very low cost if you're looking for a few extra trophies or achievements. Otherwise, I'd pass up on this game. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    3
    This game is awful and lacks imagination and innovation. They should not have put MK and DC together they just don't mix. Fatalities were comical but they were...stupid at the same time. Mortal Kombat was always gory but this is a huge disappointment.
  6. May 30, 2013
    4
    This game is way too short and difficult, even on the very easy mode. The story is pretty lame and the klose kombat was annoying. As soon as I finished it, I gave it away to a friend.
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    2
    Worst. Mortal. Kombat. Ever!
    But, to be fair, I will write all +/-.
    + Graphics
    + Isn't expensive
    - Fatalities aren't brutal [!]
    - Audio
    - Ugly DC characters
    - BORING !!!!
    - Heroic Brutalities
  8. May 11, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. bad game.

    I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it...............
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 75
    Casual players will punch through the storyline before burning out after getting stumped by one or two Kombo Challenges, while Mortal Kombat fans will have trouble accepting the toned down Fatalities and somewhat slower gameplay. In short, this game's fun, but its legs probably can't carry it beyond the whole "Wow, Batman's fighting Superman" first impression.
  2. The game is not a failure by any means, but you will find yourself asking for more or wanting to play other more fleshed out fighting games. The visuals were also a big letdown, especially the backgrounds, mainly because we've been spoiled by other visually appealing fighting games.
  3. 84
    The combat is solid, the story mode is substantial and if you are a fan of either universe there is something here to enjoy. The lackluster finishing moves and lack of extras really hurt the overall experience, but if you are indeed looking for a game that pits two franchises full of beloved characters there is a lot to love here.