MotorStorm: Pacific Rift PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 312 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 312
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesO'Rourke
    Nov 10, 2008
    6
    Very disappointed with this game, for a start I dont see why some magazines are saying the graphics are so great, they barely look average on my TV while other games look great so I doubt its the settings.
    It is fun in doses but after playing it for a few hours I dont have the inclination to play it again, its just bland and boring!
    I really dont understand how many magazines can give
    Very disappointed with this game, for a start I dont see why some magazines are saying the graphics are so great, they barely look average on my TV while other games look great so I doubt its the settings.
    It is fun in doses but after playing it for a few hours I dont have the inclination to play it again, its just bland and boring!

    I really dont understand how many magazines can give this game 9+ out of 10.
    Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2010
    7
    a fun racing game that can screw you over alot with its chaotic track desighn . some tracks can make it hard to tell where you are going .you will think you are on the road yhen next thing you know you are warped back on the road , fall off a cliff , or just smash into some thing that just pops out of no where. you will find your self reseting alot because you got dicked so much by that ora fun racing game that can screw you over alot with its chaotic track desighn . some tracks can make it hard to tell where you are going .you will think you are on the road yhen next thing you know you are warped back on the road , fall off a cliff , or just smash into some thing that just pops out of no where. you will find your self reseting alot because you got dicked so much by that or at the start of the race the other cars will push you all over the place. some times not often though you will just explode for no reason. it makes me wish this game had a diffuculty setting so you could get more use to the tracks in this game . despite all that it is a fun game especialy online where you feel abit more balanced since you are racing with people who ahve the same issues you do. the game feels very arcady i feel like i should be pumping qaurters into this thing .the track varity is very nice the first motorstorm felt like all you ever raced in was just canyons . now you have tropical islands , valcano ash lands , winter mountains and many more. there is double the amount of tracks plus some expansion packs that add more. you have many different types of vehicles to drive in ranging from 4 wheelers to big rig trucks . i got this game off ebay for $18 which feels about right i dont think $60 woulda justifed a purchase of this game and im glad i waited . if you are a Gran Turismo fan and like your racers like that hold out for GT5 steering wheel support lots of cars and custimisation . this will keep me entertained for alittle bit but id much rather play GT5 for the deep racing experiance. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    this game is better the last one the maps are more fun and the racing is a little better and the setting is also better its not bad but its not amazing theres still nothing that separates this from all the rest
  4. Apr 26, 2016
    7
    A fun aracade off road racing game. Fell in love with motor storm after apocalypse, so I decided to try the predecessor to it. The racing is solid, responsive and aradey- like which I enjoyed. The tracks that they had was for the most part to me not as interesting as apocalypse (dynamic courses), but it is very open with different routes to the finish ( a major plus); and all routes forA fun aracade off road racing game. Fell in love with motor storm after apocalypse, so I decided to try the predecessor to it. The racing is solid, responsive and aradey- like which I enjoyed. The tracks that they had was for the most part to me not as interesting as apocalypse (dynamic courses), but it is very open with different routes to the finish ( a major plus); and all routes for the most part having it's own personality. The only thing I don't understand (I stick with single player for racing games) was why were the same tracks (about 16 I think) recycled over and over in the SP campaign? Don't get me wrong the tracks they did have were amazing and I get it, you use different class of vehicles which forces you to use different routes during a single track; but it doesn't make it less stale the third time through the same track. The unlockables were nice, but were just cosmetics, another bummer. Aside from my one MAJOR complaint, I still think this game was fun and adrenaline packed, a great arcade racer; just not as good as apocalypse imo. Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Nice sceneries and okay handling. Very enjoyable with friends especially when launchig of a cliff in a high speed motorcycle, bumping each other mid air. Not the best story and the translation of some things could be a lot better, but still, a decent arcade racer.
  6. May 11, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice game. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. 83
    A worthy follow-up to one of the PS3's early must-have titles. It fixes a lot of the outstanding issues from last time out, including offering many more tracks, and the course designs are fantastic. The vehicle mixes are sweet, and there are a ton of events to take on.
  2. 88
    It's the multiplayer that perhaps been given the most love since the last game.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    The core racing experience makes the misstep of celebrating failure rather than making the actual winning of races definable fun. [Dec 2008, p.90]