• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 290

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I have given it a 9 because after a while it gets boring, however it will never get boring if you constantly have a friend round round who's motorstorm mad. In festival it is hard so you need to be very skilled to get to rank 8. I think if it would have had better online and more variety in cars and tracks so then i would have given it a 10. I think that in motorstorm apocalypse it will have better online and more variety so when i get that and review that i think I'll give it a 10. I think pacific rift is worth buying and i think it will be worth getting apocalypse in the future Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    the best driving arcade game of the gaming history. It is wild and frenetic, you can feel the motor and gasoline running in your blood to and you can fly the heavier metal. Its simply the best
  3. Sep 27, 2010
    7
    a fun racing game that can screw you over alot with its chaotic track desighn . some tracks can make it hard to tell where you are going .you will think you are on the road yhen next thing you know you are warped back on the road , fall off a cliff , or just smash into some thing that just pops out of no where. you will find your self reseting alot because you got dicked so much by that or at the start of the race the other cars will push you all over the place. some times not often though you will just explode for no reason. it makes me wish this game had a diffuculty setting so you could get more use to the tracks in this game . despite all that it is a fun game especialy online where you feel abit more balanced since you are racing with people who ahve the same issues you do. the game feels very arcady i feel like i should be pumping qaurters into this thing .the track varity is very nice the first motorstorm felt like all you ever raced in was just canyons . now you have tropical islands , valcano ash lands , winter mountains and many more. there is double the amount of tracks plus some expansion packs that add more. you have many different types of vehicles to drive in ranging from 4 wheelers to big rig trucks . i got this game off ebay for $18 which feels about right i dont think $60 woulda justifed a purchase of this game and im glad i waited . if you are a Gran Turismo fan and like your racers like that hold out for GT5 steering wheel support lots of cars and custimisation . this will keep me entertained for alittle bit but id much rather play GT5 for the deep racing experiance. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Maxxed out in 3D (@720p), MotorStorm 3D Rift includes 10 tracks from the full MotorStorm Pacific Rift game. All tracks can be played in 3D (you'll need a 3D capable TV and a high-speed HDMI cable) or 2D. A very cheap buy from the PSN store but disappointing that you have to pay for it if you already have Pacific Rift (unlike a couple of other games that have free 3D patches/updates). The jumps, corners and crashes are simply amazing in 3D (The Edge track is superb) and it's the best 3D game out now (Super Stardust HD is a close second). If you have a 3D TV it's a MUST BUY! Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Great game online and off, shame it gets too damn difficult towards the end, which is the same niggle the last one had. but still cant wait for the next installment.
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    I accidentally overrated blur as a 10 in a previous review, this recieving a 9 would suggest it's worse, indeed its not at all. It's a fantastic game. Fluid and beautiful. I honestly think it's maybe the most delicious racer ever seen. Beats MS1 in my book as the former was full of idiotic turns that relied on trial and error to overcome. Exillarating and atmospheric. Ok now the gripes : It's too hard to be honest , it relies on the gamer to play a lot to get up to standard, I put it down for a week and when I got back on I couldn't win a race. Lastly I love the little ATV's they are my favourite and I used them a lot, but they are rubbish at handling and get nailed on any level except for the first. This forces the user to end up choosing between maybe one or two categories of car ( leaving the other redundant) . Overall superb though, grab some mates and have a festival of your own, this game and beer are meant for each other. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Owned this game for 3 months now.. Awesome game. Great graphics, Good control. Custom soundtracks. Photo mode. Looking forward to the next one..........
  8. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    A very enjoyable gaming experience, MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is a huge improvement from it's predecessor. A wide range of vehicles and incredibly life-like landscape the second of the MotorStorm saga is all a racer could ask for.
  9. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is a fantastic game. The racing style may seem crazy and arcadey at first glance, but in actual fact you have to drive very skillfully to gain good positions as the difficulty increases. Breaking, control and well utilized boosts are the keys to victory here. If you drive like a wild man, you'll soon end up in Respawn Central with a one-way ticket to last place. That said, the game still offers a glut of breakneck, crazy fun; punching riders off motorcycles, crushing buggies under the wheels of a monster truck, nudging other racers off the cliffs... Great stuff! The local multiplayer is also unbelievably good and playing split-screen with friends is an endless riot. Get a few players together who know their way around the game and... Oh yeah, it's party time! The graphics are also worth a mention in the 'That's Awesome' department too. Motorstorm is truly one of the best looking games on PS3. There isn't much to say about Pacific Rift in the negative, in fact the only things that spring to mind are; A: the overbearing soundtrack (just turn the volume down in the options). B: The minimalistic bare-bones online racing (a more pertinent and disappointing problem). But these problems in no way ruin the fun that Motorstorm delivers. Expand
  10. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    *THE GOOD: Good sense of speed, choice between routes according to car type makes it more tactical, stunning graphics, the game pushes you to take risks instead of playing it safe

    *THE BAD: Not much variation between game modes (everything comes down to racing as fast as possible and making NO mistakes. With or without other drivers), oversensitive physics cause you to crash even if it
    is not your own mistake Expand
  11. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    After awhile all games get boring. Onine is fun and fast and having played it afew nights ago against a friend in 2 player splitscreen and then 4 player splitscreen lastnight this game is the most satisfying racer ive played on any console so far.
    Its fully deserving of a ten but i could'nt get the notch above the panel to hit the ten mark stupid website.
    10/10.
    Now to go an buy Apocalypse!
  12. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    Im way late on this game, but I LOVE it. I think the racing is great, graphics are wonderful, music is good, online play is a blast, and overall the whole game is excellent. I'm not sure why there are the negative reviews about graphics. To me the game has MANY hours of play before it becomes boring in the least. It isn't focused about immersing the player into car make-up etc, rather it's focus is putting you on a rig and racing. simple enough. Really enjoy the game and wish there were more that were similar to it. Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2012
    1
    The appeal of this game is difficult to comprehend. The only thing I can respect is that there are 8 different vehicles and each one has its distinct advantages and disadvantages according to the terrain. But that's where it ends. Save datas corrupt easily, and some of the textures are simply abysmal. What strikes me most about this pathetic "racing game" (if you can call it that) is how shocking the driving physics (or lack of) are compared to other games in the genre. The understeer is severe, making the game unplayable. Controls are generally unresponsive and unless you use the bike everything handles like a brick. There is little skill in this game, it's all about picking the fastest route for your vehicle because the game's mechanics are so basic there is little room for perfection. All you can do is boost, accelerate, brake and handbrake. Even the most arcade racers manage to implement some sort of skill but Motorstorm is neither skillful nor appealing to either casual gamers or hardcore racing fans like myself. This is mostly due to the fact that the flow of the action and intensity of going fast over rough terrain is broken up by constant crashing. This is brought about by the highly insensitive steering and the amount of clutter in your way on cirtually any path you choose. Most people would probably start off picking a rally car because it's something they feel most familiar with, but unrealistically the rally car has amongst the worst handling even though it should be one of the sharpest vehicles due to its stiff suspension. Overall there's nothing to credit this game for other than its frankly pathetic attempt at making a racing game which involves different types of vehicles over less bland scenery. Soundtrack is deafening and the almost non-existent driving physics coupled with the WORST CONTROLS I'VE EVER COME ACROSS IN A RACING GAME make it unplayable. You really have to have no standards whatsoever to even consider rating this a good game. If you've played a racing game before, no matter how bad it was, you won't find one worse than this. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is a very fun, challenging and badass arcade racer from Evolution Studios. It improves on pretty much everything from the original. The best in the series.
  15. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    i am not much of a story mode guy (in this case its called a festival), so i dont really like it. but the free play is just awesome. if u're really angry, u take a bike or an ATV put up a bunch more as opponents, and punch them. this game rocks
  16. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    this game is better the last one the maps are more fun and the racing is a little better and the setting is also better its not bad but its not amazing theres still nothing that separates this from all the rest
  17. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    I played Pacific Rift after finishing M Apocalypse, and to my surprise I am enjoying over Pacific!
    Pacific Rift is far more beautiful graphically that apocalypse, the scenery is beautiful, the vehicles seem to be much more detailed than those of m Apocalypse, the gameplay is also more natural and fun conclusion: Pacific Rift, despite being older, is much better than Motorstorm Apocalypse
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Nice sceneries and okay handling. Very enjoyable with friends especially when launchig of a cliff in a high speed motorcycle, bumping each other mid air. Not the best story and the translation of some things could be a lot better, but still, a decent arcade racer.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. 83
    A worthy follow-up to one of the PS3's early must-have titles. It fixes a lot of the outstanding issues from last time out, including offering many more tracks, and the course designs are fantastic. The vehicle mixes are sweet, and there are a ton of events to take on.
  2. 88
    It's the multiplayer that perhaps been given the most love since the last game.
  3. The core racing experience makes the misstep of celebrating failure rather than making the actual winning of races definable fun. [Dec 2008, p.90]