• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 197

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andyman
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Old-school gameplay meets next-gen technology, that's MotorStorm in a nutshell. Most of the time this is a good thing (tight gameplay should come before spiffy visuals, after all). The racing is insanely addictive and hair-rippingly frustrating all at the same time. It's Burnout on dirt, while requiring the technical skill of Gran Turismo. My only beef with the game is its lack Old-school gameplay meets next-gen technology, that's MotorStorm in a nutshell. Most of the time this is a good thing (tight gameplay should come before spiffy visuals, after all). The racing is insanely addictive and hair-rippingly frustrating all at the same time. It's Burnout on dirt, while requiring the technical skill of Gran Turismo. My only beef with the game is its lack of options - there really should be a Custom Race mode where you get to choose what track, what vehicle, and how many competitors you're racing against. Other than that, MotorStorm is the game PS3 owners have been waiting for. See you online! Expand
  2. NickWert
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Motorstorm is the start to the great exclusive gaming in Playstation 3. Those of you that played the demo, off the starting line of the race you can see the amazing graphics. Whether you crash or not you will see the awesome physics of the cars and how crashing into destructable things accually makes shortcuts through the race. Those of you who are not fans of Playstation 3 are missingMotorstorm is the start to the great exclusive gaming in Playstation 3. Those of you that played the demo, off the starting line of the race you can see the amazing graphics. Whether you crash or not you will see the awesome physics of the cars and how crashing into destructable things accually makes shortcuts through the race. Those of you who are not fans of Playstation 3 are missing out on this amazing game. Expand
  3. FPSMaster
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    Fun game but only for a short while. Nice music and nice graphics but they could look better. It almost looks like a high res version of older rally racing games on Xbox with better particel effects. Mud effects do no look realistic and neither do the crashes. They feel very "light"and have no weight to them and get really annoying after the game stops to show you your crash after the Fun game but only for a short while. Nice music and nice graphics but they could look better. It almost looks like a high res version of older rally racing games on Xbox with better particel effects. Mud effects do no look realistic and neither do the crashes. They feel very "light"and have no weight to them and get really annoying after the game stops to show you your crash after the 100th time making what become overly repetitive and boring races last even longer. Races are fun with some vehicles, a nightmare with others like the useless semi and motorcycles. The fun vehicles are too loose then the semis are just slow and pointless to have in a racing game. The motorcycles turn so sharply you will go back and fourth hitting everything trying to straighten them out. No replay value and boring online modes round out the package. The only reason to keep playing is to unlock other vehicles to race on the earth shattering 10 tracks (sarcasm obviously)This is the equivalent to Brute Force on Xbox. Too much hype, good graphics and gamplay so shallow you'll be bored with it in a couple of days. Rent it definitely because it is fun, but don't buy it. Sony has got to learn just like M$ did that a nice looking piece of **** still stinks and is still a piece of ****. Graphics wear off fast in this game then you're done with it. Expand
  4. TheGoat
    Mar 13, 2007
    7
    Motorstorm is fun, extremely fun at times, but it also has some very frustrating setbacks. Mainly, Load times. Load times are unacceptably long. Especially when chosing your vehicle. 20-30 seconds, just to pick a vehicle! It's nuts, really. Loading up the game also takes a bit as well. The Blu-ray drive seems quite slow :( The physics of the game can be frustrating as well. The Motorstorm is fun, extremely fun at times, but it also has some very frustrating setbacks. Mainly, Load times. Load times are unacceptably long. Especially when chosing your vehicle. 20-30 seconds, just to pick a vehicle! It's nuts, really. Loading up the game also takes a bit as well. The Blu-ray drive seems quite slow :( The physics of the game can be frustrating as well. The smallest change in the terrain, and you're rolling over. Collision is wonky too. Certain areas of the tracks' cause you to wreck, that don't look as if they should. Online mode is about as bare bones as you can get. The lobby system is terrible. You have to enter a room to see if it's joinable. Most of the time, the room has already begun a race. I'm hoping they will patch this to filter out races in progress, and only leave the rooms that are idle (not in the "preparing") stage. Graphically, the game looks great when it's flying by at top speed, but when you slow down, and really look at it, it doesn't look to great. The good thing is, the racing part of Motorstorm is still fantastic, despite the physics/collision problems. Sequel should be an amazing piece of work. Looking forward to it! Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    a very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it cana very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it can feel abit off the wall. theres not alot of track variation . you will basically be racing in canyon and sand on every track. its a fun game online and playing it on my 100" HD projector makes it look even more insane . its a good racing game but its no gran turismo. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    i like this game quite a bit because it has pretty good graphics, awsome music that works with a raceing game, the maps are well thought out and have lots of detail and finally it is only on PS3. what this game is lacking though is a story mode of some kind and the ability to buy the cars not just have them gifted to you once you reach a certain amount of points but besides those this gamei like this game quite a bit because it has pretty good graphics, awsome music that works with a raceing game, the maps are well thought out and have lots of detail and finally it is only on PS3. what this game is lacking though is a story mode of some kind and the ability to buy the cars not just have them gifted to you once you reach a certain amount of points but besides those this game is top notch and is a must have Expand
  7. KeithL.
    Jul 6, 2007
    4
    I haven't seen a racing game this shallow since the Atari days.
  8. pwnedU
    Jul 19, 2007
    4
    More like motordrizzle.
  9. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    The graphics are outstanding but to be truthful, there didn't seem to be any motivation to make the player want to keep going. The random races didn't hold my attention.
  10. ssss
    Jan 11, 2007
    0
    The graphics suck. They look like PS2 graphics, the dust, the physics, the car models, everyhing. And the PS3 doesn't even have rumble. I mean come on, this is an off-road racer where you're supposed to feel the off road but there's no rumble. And it looks terrible, as bad as Excite Truck on the Wii, but the PS3 is supposed to be a gazillion times more powerful. And Excite The graphics suck. They look like PS2 graphics, the dust, the physics, the car models, everyhing. And the PS3 doesn't even have rumble. I mean come on, this is an off-road racer where you're supposed to feel the off road but there's no rumble. And it looks terrible, as bad as Excite Truck on the Wii, but the PS3 is supposed to be a gazillion times more powerful. And Excite Truck at least has speed, MotorStorm is sooooooo slow it's barely playable. Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This single-handedly justified my early PS3 purchased. So many nights of moving through those awesome menus and into races so intense (and perhaps a little too difficult), that is was an entirely new experience.
  12. GazT.
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    Brilliant game & anyone who has only played it for 10 minutes HAS NOT seen everything the game has to offer! And as for the ps2 game with pretty graphics get real what is there that looks or plays like this on the ps2 - now. Got a PS3 get it its wicked!
  13. Limanima
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    This game is awsome. I dont uderstand some of the bad reviews this game has. It has amazing graphics, and a fantastic gameplay. What else a gamer wants? Calling mediocre to Motorstorm (Hardcore Gamer Magazine)? This comments must be from some XBox fanboy.
  14. TonyB.
    Feb 18, 2007
    6
    I own the Asian version which is stripped down without online multiplayer and limited gamemodes. Motostorm does have nice graphics, including some excellent vehicle models, and realistic physics but some of the backgrounds are a little bland with low res textures. My main complaint of the game is how slow if feels at 30fps, it really does feel at times like you are barely moving. (Xbox I own the Asian version which is stripped down without online multiplayer and limited gamemodes. Motostorm does have nice graphics, including some excellent vehicle models, and realistic physics but some of the backgrounds are a little bland with low res textures. My main complaint of the game is how slow if feels at 30fps, it really does feel at times like you are barely moving. (Xbox 360, Ps3, Wii, PC owner) Expand
  15. Justarius
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    I think it's sad Xbox fanboys would take the time to come on here and vote a low score. The game isn't even out yet but they know this title will kill hence the votes. However, for those of us lucky enough to play the demo, it is fantastic! I rate this game 10 just on the 2 levels/2 vehicles I've played. Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all I think it's sad Xbox fanboys would take the time to come on here and vote a low score. The game isn't even out yet but they know this title will kill hence the votes. However, for those of us lucky enough to play the demo, it is fantastic! I rate this game 10 just on the 2 levels/2 vehicles I've played. Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all time and perhaps best racing title, period. Any doubters, just go to a friends house and play the demo for 10 minutes. Any true gamer regardless of console preference will love it despite being a hated PS3 title (just like Halo/Gears of War are excellent titles even if you hate the 360). Note: The Japan Import is NOT the full game. The US/Euro release will have multiplayer, more modes, more polish, etc. Most of the Cons you will read about are for the Japan release only (and they will get an update once the full game is out). Trust me, PLAY THIS GAME! Expand
  16. SladeW.
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    This is the funnest racing games I have ever played a must buy.
  17. DavidW.
    Mar 8, 2007
    6
    I played this a month ago at the Game On exhibition in London. Even though I got 10 minutes at most on it, I felt I'd already got everything the game had to offer. It plays like countless other racing games with nothing innovative at all. It felt like playing a PS2, with nicer graphics. The cut-scenes of destruction quickly got boring, and felt they'd been forced in to show off I played this a month ago at the Game On exhibition in London. Even though I got 10 minutes at most on it, I felt I'd already got everything the game had to offer. It plays like countless other racing games with nothing innovative at all. It felt like playing a PS2, with nicer graphics. The cut-scenes of destruction quickly got boring, and felt they'd been forced in to show off the graphics. The graphics are very nice, though this isn't probably the best kind of game to show them off. The game being in HD was the biggest change, and that's really what it feels like, a PS2 in HD. Nothing new. Expand
  18. RenegadeS.
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    Astonishing game. Truly next-gen graphics, great physics models, awesome scenery, and different vehicles that really feel different. Those who say it's so slow must've been driving the big-rigs, which are meant to be like that. Get yourself a bike though and it flies along at light-speed - exactly how it should be.
  19. NickG.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    An exceptionally fun driving game, that's worst flaw is the limited number of tracks. Worth playing.
  20. DonksB
    Feb 15, 2008
    3
    This game could and should be so much better. It starts off really well but then the maps just become repetitive and it takes a ridiculously long time from dying to re-spawn. The AI is a big disappointment, after a while you realize that only the vehicles in front of you are racing, once you pass them the game keeps them in suspended animation directly behind you which means that when you This game could and should be so much better. It starts off really well but then the maps just become repetitive and it takes a ridiculously long time from dying to re-spawn. The AI is a big disappointment, after a while you realize that only the vehicles in front of you are racing, once you pass them the game keeps them in suspended animation directly behind you which means that when you make a mistake you go from first to last place almost instantly. This is proven by looking at the times when you finish, if you finish say 3rd then the two in front may be a few seconds in front but everyone behind you is within one second of your time. This becomes a real problem when you get to level four maps as most of the other vehicles are not actually racing, they are just trying to knock you off so others can race pass, to the extent that the games just becomes pointless and irritating. Expand
  21. EBiddle
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    The most fun I have had with a racing game in quite some time! I am blown away with the visuals, and the realistic crashing is beyond words. A must-have for any racing fan!
  22. Kev
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    Played the demo at my friend's house. Fantastic game. I will buy a PS3 in March for this game alone. The graphics are ridiculously good, especially on a HiDef TV. The 1st time I went over a cliff I actually felt vertigo. The 1st two comments are from people who never played the game or are blind. Nothing on the PS2 comes close to this. The backgrounds are photo-realistic. I will Played the demo at my friend's house. Fantastic game. I will buy a PS3 in March for this game alone. The graphics are ridiculously good, especially on a HiDef TV. The 1st time I went over a cliff I actually felt vertigo. The 1st two comments are from people who never played the game or are blind. Nothing on the PS2 comes close to this. The backgrounds are photo-realistic. I will agree that it badly needs rumble but that is by no means a deal breaker. 9/10 for me. It loses 1 point for lack of rumble. Sweet game! Expand
  23. Justarius
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    This game is fantastic! Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all time and perhaps best racing title, period. The graphics, racing engine and especially the physics are all stellar. Sure it could use more tracks... but what it lacks in variety it more than makes up for with the quality of these 3 key components. Any doubters, play it on your friend's PS3 This game is fantastic! Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all time and perhaps best racing title, period. The graphics, racing engine and especially the physics are all stellar. Sure it could use more tracks... but what it lacks in variety it more than makes up for with the quality of these 3 key components. Any doubters, play it on your friend's PS3 for 10 minutes and you will love it regardless of your console preference and despite it being a hated PS3 title (just like Halo/Gears of War are excellent titles even if you hate the 360). Trust me, PLAY THIS GAME! Expand
  24. JakeM.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This game is great especially the graphics incredible this game is pretty hard not like crazy hard but pretty hard but a lot of fun u can have a bigrig,buggy,rally car,dirt bike,and a trophy truck,also a sand rail type thing. crashing is fun too every little piece just fly around like real life a must buy.
  25. JulianT.
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    Yes, it only has 8 tracks, so what? have you ever seen anything look so good before? This game is real fun playing solo, but the real fun starts online, it is awesome. If you have a PS3, you have to get this game period.
  26. HamiduB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    6
    Game looks solid and all but come on, it's one of the shallowest(if there's a word like that) racing games I have ever seen, I just can't believe people rating it high like 8 0r 9 out of 10, its just too ridiculous. With limited environments and no multiplayer mode except online, I think it's better to rent the game than buy it.
  27. SteveM.
    May 14, 2007
    5
    Graphically wonderful - the gameplay is very shallow but not particularly addictive to make up for it. Where are the decent PS3 titles?
  28. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    WOW! pure race action with the best nexgen graphics ever. innovative gameplay and tracks. Online-Mode will be better with 1.2 Update - but we want more tracks, more tracks !!!
  29. Steaky
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Great off road action. Its more realistic than Xcitetruck, so yeah its 'slower'. Off road racing is like that though :P Still its great fun, good sound and graphics (frame rate is fine, I dont notice it being too low). Online works well also. I love the motion steering, adds a lot more realism. Only issue is there is no voice chat in the online play.
  30. ThomasLord
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing from start to finish. The graphics are sublime, the physics are spot on and the damage is like no other game, utterly fantastic!
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Motorstorm is pretty much the best off-road driving simulation ever to grace a console. The physics are so accurate, yet altered for arcade like effect, and feel so right that the development team must have had at least a couple Physics PhD’s on staff to pull off such a feat. [JPN Import]
  2. One of Motorstorm's big successes is that it demands of you things that other racers don't even bother to ask. You'll have to learn every nook and cranny of the terrain before you can drive around courses with confidence. [JPN Import]
  3. Tough, dynamic racing. A blistering thrill ride that makes good on PlayStation 3's promises. [JPN Import; Jan 2007, p.58]