Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There exists a small galaxy in the universe containing seven worlds, shimmering in seven colors... These worlds exist and act independent of one another. This has allowed them to develop and nurture rich, unique cultures. Then one day, a decree was sent out...
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    79
    Quite a fun game, though it is a Japanese RPG so expect seemingly endless screens of dialogue that can (thankfully) be skipped through if you don't mind missing a few jokes. There is also a lot of explaining about exactly what all of the mechanics do from the Explanatory Shampuru.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    70
    Mugen Souls is a must have for NIS America's games fans and a piece of interest from RPG gamers.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    Mugen Souls is the very definition of a 'good' game. Whilst it'll never blow you away, and there are certainly a number of issues, there's also plenty to do and a varied cast of characters to escort you on this bizarre adventure. If you're after an RPG that isn't quite the norm, then Mugen Souls is worth a look.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    Mugen Souls tries to take a few stabs at making fun of games such as Disgaea while itself committing the same atrocities – i.e. needless grinding, relying on stat maximization and an insane amount of battles. A tactical RPG at heart, filled with equal measures of gothic Lolita fetishizing and wicked humor, Mugen Souls is a quirky little gem that will satisfy the most hardcore number crunchers, while leaving the rest of us slightly bored after the first hours.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    50
    Mugen Souls is the worst RPG experience I've had in a long time. I like that the game has two different battle systems, I just wish either was fun to use. Neither is able to hold your interest for very long, with one growing tiresome due to needless complexity and the other being too simplistic.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    40
    The absolute lowest point in this gen's lunatic JRPG precedent thus far. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    20
    All in all, Mugen Souls turns out to be an incredibly frustrating game with some good ideas that quickly get lost in the grind.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game really have some new interesting elements and is funny + erotic (like the most games of Compile Heart)

    recommend++ for everyone
    This game really have some new interesting elements and is funny + erotic (like the most games of Compile Heart)

    recommend++ for everyone who have a good taste for video games and espeically for JRPG Fans!
    Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Battle systems are quite intricate, there are multiple strategies to use to win a battle which can be moe kill, defeating the opponent orBattle systems are quite intricate, there are multiple strategies to use to win a battle which can be moe kill, defeating the opponent or using a powerful peon ball.

    At least the game has customizable characters, I'm not going to rate the game low just because it simple, just having one is a plus.

    Character upgrades in the Mugen Field is quite addicting, I could spend hours over there testing out setup to clear 100 floors.

    The story's really simple and linear, the true ending route is quite heartwarming and main character learns the value of friendship.

    I don't recommend this for the average gamer, it is not for everyone, you can either love it or not like it. There are some nit picky things such as the loading times or lag but it's been fixed on the sequel. Mugen Souls is more fun than most games I have ever played and felt as if it were made just for me.
    Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    An excellent game if you're a fan of JRPGs. Contains a lot of humor and dialogue. Gives you the option of Japanese voices or English dub.An excellent game if you're a fan of JRPGs. Contains a lot of humor and dialogue. Gives you the option of Japanese voices or English dub. Customization is up there and a linear progression that lets you visit previous worlds. Arena mode that lets you fight indefinitely. I really love how you can customize your characters, different clothing, hair styles, armor etc. A very underrated game like cross edge but not as radical. Collapse
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    This game is a lot of fun. I do understand why a lot of people don't like it. This game clearly follows the Disgaea tree of gaming. ThereThis game is a lot of fun. I do understand why a lot of people don't like it. This game clearly follows the Disgaea tree of gaming. There are a million things to do and million game mechanics. It is crazy overwhelming and that is why those of us who like it really like it. If you are a Disgaea fan I think you will like it. It does take away the grid based system and adds a circle of movement for each characters turn which is a little disappointing but I still really enjoy it. A lot of your favorite game mechanics are still there, some of the good one are gone, and a bunch of new both good and not so good are added. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    A very quirky and fun JRPG. It feels like Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2 with a dash of Disgaea. Some of the mechanics can get a little tedious,A very quirky and fun JRPG. It feels like Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2 with a dash of Disgaea. Some of the mechanics can get a little tedious, but being a game in a genre that doesn't have a large selection on current generation consoles, it is a nice addition to the collection. It is definitely a niche title, so it's recommend for players with a certain taste for JRPGs and other anime related media.

    Pros: Battle system is fun, dialogue is humorous, character customization, overall feel, plenty of things to do, music is catchy.
    Cons: Moe Kill in battles can get old pretty fast, loading screens are abundant, looks slightly outdated, it can get tedious at times.
    Expand

Trailers