User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 173

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is really disappointing. There is more storytelling then the gameplay itself. On top of that, the story in the game is totally different from the manga. They should have waited at least a few months for the anime to show the end of the 4th great ninja war. But NO, instead they remake the original story with there own. But, I agree that the battles and graphics are nice. All in all its a solid game for the fans who love the fighting part and don't care about the story at all. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    If you liked previous games from the franchize and are a fan of the anime/manga, then you should buy this game. Just dont be fooled by the gameplay trailer that shows the Edo Kages, Ginkaku, Kinkaku and the swordsmen of the mist. None of them are playable or unlocked. Also cyber connect said that there will be no downloable content for those. Only for cloths or other nonsense stuff thatIf you liked previous games from the franchize and are a fan of the anime/manga, then you should buy this game. Just dont be fooled by the gameplay trailer that shows the Edo Kages, Ginkaku, Kinkaku and the swordsmen of the mist. None of them are playable or unlocked. Also cyber connect said that there will be no downloable content for those. Only for cloths or other nonsense stuff that adds nothing to the gameplay.

    I would gladly throw away all the fantastic singleplayer in game cinematic battles for one extra jutsu for each character plus the mentioned characters above since that at the end of the day its all about a fighting game.

    Dammit I just wish I could play with the old kages! So disapointed!
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game tottaly sucks, no Edo Kages,no Gin and Kin, so they only care about the main characters like naruto and sasuke, for example Konan and juugo who realy need some updates like new ultimate and new awakenning dont get nothing!! So they copy and paste, it is exaclty like generations and storm 2, it lacks inovation in gameplay and the story its not like the manga. So dont you get fooled by the good comentaries about this game because for someone who follows this franchise since storm 1 i can say in my humble opinion this game TOTALLY SUCKS. Dont waist money in something like this, so if they invest poorly in the game they shall get no money from us Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 can be a fun game if you're a fan of the show or manga, but it doesn't offer much to those who aren't. The combat is simplistic but works and allows new players to the series to jump straight into the game. The story whilst changing a lot of key points still tells the journey of Naruto and the Ninja War. The game hasn't really been tuned up the way you'd expect fromUltimate Ninja Storm 3 can be a fun game if you're a fan of the show or manga, but it doesn't offer much to those who aren't. The combat is simplistic but works and allows new players to the series to jump straight into the game. The story whilst changing a lot of key points still tells the journey of Naruto and the Ninja War. The game hasn't really been tuned up the way you'd expect from a sequel and feels a lot like Ninja Storm 2, whilst this isn't a bad thing as it still has plenty of new playable characters and continues the story, you instantly feel that you've played this game before. The online battles are still a mess, with people being encouraged to repeatedly use the same attack to win and no real incentive to try any of the lesser characters, it gets dull quickly. On top of that you have massive connection issues with most matches you join having some sort of delay. This can be side stepped if you host a match but then the other player will be in your shoes. So don't expect this game to have a strong playerbase for long. All in all I'd say this is a rental or buy when it's around $30. There is no need to play this game immediately and it doesn't bring enough new features to the table to warrant a full price purchase. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Im a huge Naruto fan. I've been following up the entire Naruto Storm franchise from top to bottom. Playing every game (Storm 1, Storm 2, Storm Generations) was a blast as it offered fresh new experiences and gave me such a joy that i was very anticipated for Storm 3. Usually when you hear the number 3, it sounds like the big number... The grand number of the franchise.

    So naturally,
    Im a huge Naruto fan. I've been following up the entire Naruto Storm franchise from top to bottom. Playing every game (Storm 1, Storm 2, Storm Generations) was a blast as it offered fresh new experiences and gave me such a joy that i was very anticipated for Storm 3. Usually when you hear the number 3, it sounds like the big number... The grand number of the franchise.

    So naturally, Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 was supposed to be the biggest and most awesome Naruto Storm experience for both loyal Naruto fans and Naruto Storm fans... But for someone who played them all... For me, This wasn't really the case...

    From the get-go, every Naruto Ninja Storm fan clearly says it right from the bottom of their heart that it literally feels like the same game and most of the content is reused. This is in a matter of fact true. Only 25% of the roster feels new and the stage roster has been cut massively in comparison to Storm Generations. Characters brought back have no modifications to them. Characters and costumes that are refined and new to the franchise however have actually been modified. Stage choices were really questionable. A perfect example is how there's two of the same stages (Hidden Leaf Village) but the only difference is that one of them has boxes in it. Another example is how the great ninja war Battlefield and the site of Planetary Devastation look practically the same. Some New/Old stages have been given a Ring-out modification. You cannot toggle it on/off and it's a forced mechanic in 4-5 stages. The substitution system and the awakening system has been improved but not really as to calling it an entirely brand new experience because only some can instant awaken. It does however set up a new element to the game and i think those that are very competitive with the game will enjoy that improvement in particular.

    What felt disappointing the most to me is the campaign (And a Non-Canon ending for Naruto fans which feels like a slap to the face). I'm not here to entirely bash on the game but when you break it down to the main core of the game: It didn't gave me a brand new Ninja Storm experience i was quite expecting and i was kind of disappointed. Though, i will honestly mention what i like and what i didn't like about it and the rest is up for you to decide as always. Now i am going to say that the boss battle parts are very exciting and enjoyable... However, that isn't enough to really hold the campaign and entirely call it "satisfactory". Most of the time, you'll be facing dialogue-based cutscenes and walking sections over and over again. It first displays a cutscene then you have a section where you can walk around freely. When you get to the destination, it triggers another cutscene. It repeats constantly slapped in with random normal battles and some boss battles like previous Storm games and it doesn't feel much like a brand new experience to the Storm Franchise. The new Hack and Slash sections don't last very long and are very short. There's only like four parts in the game where it's all hack and slash and that's about it.

    The ultimate decision system had no impact on the main story but it only slightly modified the battle depending on which path you selected. Regardless of whether you pick Hero or Legend, you'll find out that it's not really all that difficult until the few last missions of the game. Also, the tool sets are very restrictive and you can't mix and match together. You'll be selecting a legends tool set or a hero tool set every time before a match begins. The hero tool set because all the healing/chakra recovery potions are only in the hero tool set so unless you're macho enough to try being a legend the entire game, you'll pretty much stick to the hero set for it's benefits.

    The new characters are a welcome addition with about some that you won't like as much. It still follows the traditional Ryo-unlockables system so it's okay. The Jinchuriki and Butterfly Choji are very fun to play with and are probably the best additions to the game. Being able to play the tailed beasts for the first time made me very happy. Though... There was no trace of the one tailed beast that the young Gaara had or the Naruto Tailed beast mode it promised. (Hopefully, the DLC can fix that).

    To wrap the review nicely, those who owned all the Naruto Storm games or some of it are going to be somewhat displeased with lack of innovation this game has. Those who are new to the Storm franchise or those who are huge fan of the Naruto franchise: This is a Naruto game i guarantee you'll have alot of fun with. It's just really hard to give it a 10/10 because while i'm a really huge fan of the Naruto Storm games: This one didn't really give me a WOW factor. I really felt like it's more of the same.

    Storm 3 is a game that brings in newcomers easily but leaves old storm players with a same game and a topping of fanboyish content to try and win them back over. The potential was washed off
    Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    7
    As a fan of the previous Ultimate Ninja Storm games I had high expectations, I had pre-ordered it 3 months before the launch of the game and was thrilled when I was finally able to play it. The graphics and art work for this game were spectacular and the boss battles kept you on the edge of your seat, the free roam had been improved since ultimate ninja storm 2 but still wasn't nearly asAs a fan of the previous Ultimate Ninja Storm games I had high expectations, I had pre-ordered it 3 months before the launch of the game and was thrilled when I was finally able to play it. The graphics and art work for this game were spectacular and the boss battles kept you on the edge of your seat, the free roam had been improved since ultimate ninja storm 2 but still wasn't nearly as fun as it was on ultimate ninja storm (I don't understand why they didn't change it as it was out classed by a game that came out in 2010).

    However, even with these various features that made the game enjoyable it still wasn't what I really wanted, it's combat engine was practically identical to ultimate ninja storm generations and the frames will drop an insane amount at times during this game for no apparent reason, now I am able to tolerate these various problems but there is one thing that really disappointed me about this game and that was when fighting on line, the servers that run ultimate ninja storm 3 are terrible, the fights are usually filled with glitches, if you happen to actually beat someone you will usually be screamed at for "spamming and some characters that can be used in this are very over-powered.

    I would recommend this game to newcomers to the series as it is a fun brawler and the story is fantastic. But, those who have followed the gaming series up until now will be very disappointed with fighting mechanics as Namco Bandai haven't put any effort into it what so ever.
    Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2013
    5
    Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 is fourth entry in the Ultimate Ninja series. If you are not familiar with the game series or even the anime series I would suggest to pass on this game. The story starts off right where the last left off and continues the story of Naruto. You will be completely lost if you do not know who characters are and what they do. The game play has notNaruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 is fourth entry in the Ultimate Ninja series. If you are not familiar with the game series or even the anime series I would suggest to pass on this game. The story starts off right where the last left off and continues the story of Naruto. You will be completely lost if you do not know who characters are and what they do. The game play has not changed much from the previous game. The fighting is still flashy but simple when you delve deeper into the game. During the story mode you will be watching a lot of cutscenes and fighting 4 or 5 times in each chapter. But the sections in between the fighting and cutscenes are tact on and feel unnecessary. The multiplayer is runs well and seems to have a decent community. In the end Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 is a great game for Naruto fans but if you are not familiar with the with these characters, I would stay away. Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    jogo muito divertido principalmente a campanha mas seu excessivo numero de loading estraga um pouco o game chegando a momentos que vai ter loading de dialogo para outro dialogo os visuais são impressionantes lembrando muito o anime mas peca em alguns fatores como o grande numero de serrilhado e a queda de quadro durante as lutas o forte do jogo e seu multiplayer que e totalmentejogo muito divertido principalmente a campanha mas seu excessivo numero de loading estraga um pouco o game chegando a momentos que vai ter loading de dialogo para outro dialogo os visuais são impressionantes lembrando muito o anime mas peca em alguns fatores como o grande numero de serrilhado e a queda de quadro durante as lutas o forte do jogo e seu multiplayer que e totalmente estrategico mas com comando muito simples o que esta faltando e mudar um pouco a jogabilidade deixando um pouco mais robusta e complexa Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    At first i would like to say that Im a big storm 3 player with in depth knowledge of the game and i would like to believe Im in a good level in this game....but we all have to admit that storm 3 is far from a good game

    the story mode is good the cutscenes are great and the boss battles are very attractive as in every storm game (Im not counting generations) but gameplay-wise storm 3 is
    At first i would like to say that Im a big storm 3 player with in depth knowledge of the game and i would like to believe Im in a good level in this game....but we all have to admit that storm 3 is far from a good game

    the story mode is good the cutscenes are great and the boss battles are very attractive as in every storm game (Im not counting generations) but gameplay-wise storm 3 is totally broken cause of the unbalance of the characters and the glitches that occur.....the balance in my opinion second to the game mechanics is the most important thing in a fighting game heavily based in online gameplay....the mechanics of the game are not even close to a fighting game's and are very easy to learn and abuse....also the unbalance of the game gives the opportunity to certain people to abuse it and like that it creates a very difficult and irritating community to be in (I ve been in this community for a long time I know)

    overall storm 3 is a broken game (that is very fun to play with friends tho and i suggest you do that) that need lots of improvements that I doubt cc2 will make
    Expand
  10. May 12, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Totally unworthy for the "Naruto" Manga: few character, few stage, same characters "copy-pasted" from Storm2 with not even a modify, story mode totally wrong.. as a Fan of the Manga i'm really disappointed. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Delivers a visually exciting experience. [May 2013, p.107]
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    85
    The best Naruto game yet. [Issue#230, p.77]
  3. Anyone who has watched more than one episode of Naruto, Bleach or any of the Dragon Balls, knows that the pre-fight exposition/tea party can drag on for quite a while. So prepare to sit through some pretty lengthy and non-interactive cutscenes. [April 2013, p.84]