Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    73
    Full of fan service, this one is for the Naruto faithful. It's competent and looks great, but if you're just after a good fighter, you can do better. The fighting genre is experiencing somewhat of a second golden age of games right now and Generations isn't quite one of them.
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    72
    Cool fighters with crazy abilities lift this 3D fighter above most manga-scrappers. [June 2012, p.81]
  3. 70
    It looks like there are only special strikes and crazy battle tactics in this game. Colorful, dynamic and spectacular piece is targeted mostly towards fans of the original manga and anime series. [June 2012]
  4. This third game in the Ninja Storm series is going to feel like a small step backwards from the previous title for longtime fans. Conversely for newcomers it's perhaps the easiest game ever to get into despite the manic on-screen action – if you have a sense of timing. [May 2012, p77]
  5. 70
    Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is a product that any fan of the series may feel compelled to buy, but unlike the previous one, there some considerations to do first. The elements that made the earlier a product of excellence have been lost along the way and it is a little less Naruto than expected.
  6. 70
    This outing for Naruto still has quite a bit of life left, fighting remains flashy and fun, albeit a bit generic.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    This series has a beautiful visual style and an aggressive combat rhythm uniquely its own. But while the core mechanics remain intact, Generations drops some features found in its predecessors and offers shallow alternatives.
  8. Apr 8, 2012
    60
    With plenty of new content mixed in with plenty of old staples of the series, Ninja Storm Generations is sure to please fans of Naruto. For average users and those just a little curious, this might not be the fighting game for them. Artistically it is very enjoyable, based on another animé series with a lot of plot and storyline that could have anyone watching or playing for years. But its gameplay is rather hit or miss.
  9. The expanded universe and story options don't stop this from feeling like the same Naruto game we've seen so many times - though the game is not without its unique quirks. [Apr 2012, p.83]
  10. Apr 17, 2012
    53
    It's not worthless and there's actually some fun to be gleaned from it. [Issue#217, p.79]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    good game
    and naruto is king of ninja anime :)
    we need RPG game from namco bandai games plaessssssszzzzzzzz and we need RPG REAL RPG GAME
    good game
    and naruto is king of ninja anime :)
    we need RPG game from namco bandai games plaessssssszzzzzzzz and we need RPG REAL RPG GAME NARUTO ,,,,, :) PLAZZZZ OK
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Naruto UNSG is a welcome 2.5 edition to the series. Fans of the series will thoroughly enjoy this instalment in the series as a collection ofNaruto UNSG is a welcome 2.5 edition to the series. Fans of the series will thoroughly enjoy this instalment in the series as a collection of the entire character roster to date, plus many extras.
    With 72 playable characters, and 15 support, this game boasts the largest roster in any Naruto game.
    Cyber Connect 2 have showed time and time again that they are dedicated to keeping to the source material and this is portrayed in UNSG as well.

    This is a day-one purchase for me, and I strongly recommend it to other naruto fans. Though many of my friends who aren't even fans of the show still enjoy these games.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    All the characters fight the same so I doubt its 70+ characters. This game really was just a DLC. So instead of upsetting their fans theyAll the characters fight the same so I doubt its 70+ characters. This game really was just a DLC. So instead of upsetting their fans they decided to release this DLC just with new mechanics and voilà you have a new game. Not only were they cheap but they ruined the game with the new sub bar and the cancel system which seemingly turns this game into a game of cat and mouse. Whomever is the aggressor at the start of the game wins. It takes no skill at all. Each character only has 1 jutsu which is absurd. I can deal with the button mashing and the simplistic combos but at least give me the ability to do more than one jutsu. This game was a huge let down for me and I watch the anime and read the manga weekly. Hope CC2 can fix the problems. Full Review »