Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    60
    The real problems appear with both the wait times to actually get to a race and the glitched experience that emerges from the first wave of the green flag (if you're lucky enough to see it).
  2. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    It gets the job done, but NASCAR 2011 is a better reminder of the great old NASCAR games than it is a good game in its own right.
  3. 48
    Broken online play, lack of caution flags, and the inability for the pack of cars to spread out. You'll have fun for five minutes, then become incredibly frustrated.
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Sometimes you don't have the car to beat, and you end up point racing for whatever you can get. Eutechnyx's effort here is appreciated, but it's not championship material.
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    60
    Many will leave disappointed, yet the more reasonable should still welcome this faithful yet flawed interpretation of their sport. Come the inevitable sequel, though, the developer will need to really turn the corner.
  6. May 10, 2011
    40
    For now, I'd pass on NASCAR 2011: The Game. The multiplayer is completely busted, and I'm a big fan of voting with your dollar. If you're a NASCAR fan, maybe you should let your vote be heard by not picking up this mess. For those of you who did, I really I hope that the patch delivers on the promised fixes because I'd be greatly upset if I had spent $60 on this.
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    60
    "For fans only" is a well worn cliche, but in a game as incredibly specific and dedicated as NTG: 2011, it's the truth.
  8. May 4, 2011
    72
    NASCAR 2011: The Game lays an excellent foundation for future iterations in the series. The arcade-style racing is engaging and the sense of speed is executed beautifully. However, the all-too-simple Career mode and somewhat broken online play hold the game back from what could have been, and what hopefully will be in the near future. I can recommend this game to NASCAR and racing fans that follow the sport. For casual racing fans, rent or borrow it first to see if you've got to have it.
  9. May 5, 2011
    65
    It's a very easy and sometimes arcade-ish game, it really doesn't have what it takes to simulate such a thrilling driving experience.
  10. Throw in spectacular crashes and the ability to rewind time to avoid them and even us Brits have something to enjoy. [Oct 2012, p.119]
  11. Apr 4, 2011
    55
    This may even be a bit generous given all of the problems. Eutechnyx is trying to fix things and I commend them for that; unfortunately it just feels like a beta test and that's just unacceptable. We'll just have to see how they build on this next year.
  12. Apr 3, 2011
    78
    Overall a very good initial offering from Eutechnyx. Their Euro background definitely doesn't seem to be a handicap as they were able to translate the "feel" of driving one of these big, heavy cars to a rather effective degree.
  13. But these are niggling issues; the franchise is moving up through the driving-game field and may finally be in contention for a podium position come next seasons. [June 2011, p.81]
  14. 65
    An arcade racer that has more to offer than a few hundred left turns, NASCAR The Game 2011 provides plenty of thrills despite some bumps in the road.
  15. 70
    NASCAR 2011: The Game has its highs and its lows, and while the overall career mode is pretty shallow and the presentation can sometimes be quite inconsistent, the core gameplay, specifically the sense of immersion, is what will be bringing players back.
  16. Apr 19, 2011
    70
    As a first try out of the gate for Eutechnyx, NASCAR 2011: The Game holds up moderately well. That being said, they will need to work on building a more in-depth career mode and a much smoother multiplayer experience if they really want the franchise to take off next year.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    1
    Let me just start by saying, I know this is Eutechnyx's first NASCAR game. But why put out a game that was only halfway through the development phase?
    Career: 2/10
    This could have been so much more. Career mode lacks depth and and a reward system, giving you no incentive to finish it at all, or play through again if you do slug through the snoozefest. Guess what else? There's only one season to this '"career mode". Enjoy!
    Graphics: 3/10
    From a distance, the cars look great. Go a little closer, however, and you see the ugly truth: Car decals and stickers are extremely pixelated at close range, and every driver has the exact same face model. If you enter the free-roam camera mode, you'll notice that the AI cars have every detail on them really blurred. Look into their drivers seat, and you can see that every one of them are in the same "turn car right" animation, and no matter how many races you play, they are always like this. Crashes are horrible: slam into a wall just a little, and your car will look like it was sheared in the side by a subway train. Opponents take absolutely no damage in this game, because, screw reality!
    Gameplay: 0/10.
    Too arcadish. AI drive like it's a game of follow the leader and never try to pass or avoid wrecks. They make no effort to challenge you; I can get a 3 sec lead in two laps!
    Online: N/A
    I never go online for racing games.
    Overall: 1/10
    A poor and shoddy experience that could have been so much more. Overall, a black
    flag for Eutechnyx.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    Plus side: good car design feature. Lets you pick from hundreds of logos, shapes, text and sponsors to place on your customized car. Single player is fun for about one short race then it gets frustrating. Lower difficulties are too easy (good or bad depends on the way you look at it). Down side: To much loading between menus. The AI is unintelligent (computer drivers don't have any character and they follow each other like one long train). Pit sequence could be redone (if your within the pit commitment lines the screen initiates loading. I would like this to be more fluent with no loading times during the race). Bottom line is that I understand this is meant to be an arcade racing game but for those hardcore NASCAR fans I recommend just renting this one or staying away completely until price drops perhaps. Too many frustrating moments in this one. Full Review »