User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 20 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    The lack of updated uniforms, shady graphics, no update on Team Builder, and the deletion of exporting rosters to Madden has ruined this once great franchise for me. Until these issues are fixed, NCAA Football has lost me as a buyer.
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    4
    All the next gen legacy problems still exist here. Laggy unresponsive controls for the most part. The player your controlling frequently does not perform the action you're trying to perform (catch/swat/dive/juke) or if the player does perform a dive or swat it does so in a manner that takes the man your controlling out of the play by diving or lunging in the completely wrong direction. The switch man AI on defense does not switch you to the most opportune man and this makes improvised plays on defense extremely frustrating. Nothing new here, all of these problems have existed since they went to "next gen" and honestly after 8+ years there is literally no hope of them getting fixed anytime soon. I'll just stick with the PS2 version of the game, it's more fun to play. Collapse
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    8
    I was skeptical at first, seeing as most of the presentation is very similar to NCAA 12. However, after playing for a while I have really grown to like the game play alot, the (slightly)new recruiting system, and the (slightly)new passing system. The game play isn't all that different, but the improvements that were made seem to make the game very enjoyable. Definitely could have been better, but I still really enjoy this game. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    NCAA football 13 has a few minor tweaks but is fundamentally the same game as older titles. The Devs at EA have no competition...So why make a ground breaking title ? Let's just think about this for a second.... If you were running a race by yourself ... Would you sprint to the finish line? No... You would walk,have a few brews, cross the finish line, and collect your reward. I've been on other forums listening to people say things like... E A needs to do this that.... They didn't get my teams shoelace right , and blah blahblah. The bottom line is the game is just a yearly roster update. So instead of just purchasing a "new" copy of the game...just update the roster. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    NCAA Football 13 is, in my opinion, a good game and a purchase I do not regret. A former football player myself, I have no issue with the mechanics or aesthetics of the game; in fact, the game is so complex and nuanced that folks who don't have a deep understanding of the game of football may be overwhelmed or frustrated when they first try to play. The question potential buyers need to ask themselves is if they CAN enjoy this game. If all you have is a basic, rudimentary understanding of football you may be disappointed; this is NOT the fault of the game. If, however, you understand formations and enjoy making coverage adjustments pre-snap, I don't believe you'll find this game too challenging to enjoy. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2012
    1
    Same game with very few differences from the past years. The only real difference in this years game is the constant freezing. Even after the patch. It's very disappointing to play an hour and a half into triple overtime, win, then have the game freeze and not save a damn thing. This game gets a 1. The menu lags, and scrolling through any statistics in the game lags. Will not purchase another EA Sports title for a very long time, if ever again. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    There is absolutely no reason to buy this game. NCAA 12 is a better game and is 1/6th the price.

    You know the fancy new throwing mechanic they added? I went back into NCAA 12, changed Barkley's stats to match those in NCAA 13, played a season in 12, then 13, and saw no visible difference. You know what I did see? Interceptions. Dropped interceptions. If you've got anything worse than a
    Heisman candidate passing Quarterback and are using the personal sliders, your passes are going to touch defenders as often as your own receivers.

    And the game blatantly cheats. Those little philosophy sliders or whatever they're called in game don't do **** defensively. The game doesn't care if your all conservative, that Freshman QB that came in when the starter strained something (and I've yet to see a CPU player miss extended time. It's always a quarter at worst) is still going to break 6 tackles on his way to the end zone to make the game "competitive".

    The presentation doesn't mean a thing when the game sucks. If I could find an address, I would mail this game back to EA--and I didn't even buy it from them.
    Expand
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    0
    All the next gen legacy problems still exist here. Laggy unresponsive controls for the most part. The player your controlling frequently does not perform the action you're trying to perform (catch/swat/dive/juke) or if the player does perform a dive or swat it does so in a manner that takes the man your controlling out of the play by diving or lunging in the completely wrong direction. The switch man AI on defense does not switch you to the most opportune man and this makes improvised plays on defense extremely frustrating. Nothing new here, all of these problems have existed since they went to "next gen" and honestly after 8+ years there is literally no hope of them getting fixed anytime soon. I'll just stick with the PS2 version of the game, it's more fun to play. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. There's just not enough improvement upon last year for me to recommend this. [Oct 2012, p.114]
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    80
    By no means is NCAA 13 a bad game. It's just that it is not a substantial update given the annual cycle. I wish there was more to keep coming back to. Last year blew my socks off, this year, I still have my shoes on.
  3. Still, EA Tiburon delivers a game that might finally challenge Madden for the gridiron crown. [Sept 2012, p.86]