Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    100
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is as much a triumph of curation as it is a technical showcase; Ghibli and Level 5 have cherry-picked the very best elements from their own past and combined them with the best that the genre has to offer.
  2. 100
    This game gave me the same feeling as the first time I saw the original Star Wars trilogy.
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    100
    With an engaging and touching story, beautiful graphics and a cast of charming characters, this is one of the best game experiences this year. You'll be whisked away to a wonderful world that's hard to tear yourself away from.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    98
    To put it lightly, Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is one of the best games I have played in years. From the moving story and characters to the amazing visual style and game design, there is little to complain about here.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    96
    Ni No Kuni easily stands with the best Japanese RPGs of this generation, and I believe it will stand the test of time to become one of the beloved adventures that people remember for years to come. This is the game for everyone who wishes they made RPGs like they did "back then," but who also loves the advancements we've seen in graphics, sound, and gameplay systems over the years.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Ni No Kuni knows what it is and it never betrays that fact. It’s a JRPG, and in my book, it’s an instant classic.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    95
    Ni no Kuni gets so much right, and is an amazing and timeless game.
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    95
    I cannot stress how much enjoyment Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch has delivered. From the compelling narrative to the incredible visual design to the incredibly deep, and well-paced mechanics, this is a game with which every JRPG fan will likely fall in love. Even if you are a casual fan of the genre, this would be one I would recommend checking out if you have a PS3.
  9. Jan 17, 2013
    95
    Ni No Kuni is a serenade, a love poem dedicated to all JRPGs. Level 5's latest epic is a brilliantly-crafted game that has the ability to totally capture the player and mesmerize him with its splendid visuals.
  10. Jan 17, 2013
    95
    It's hard to find weaknesses in this game. If you don't like it probably it's just because you'd rather play something else. But Ni No Kuni is way more than just pretty graphics or a nice story: it's one of the best RPGs on PlayStation 3.
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    95
    The perfect storm of adventure, challenge and emotion. A lesson in what being a JRPG means. [Feb 2013, p.80]
  12. Jan 18, 2013
    94
    A magical, unforgettable voyage awaits us in Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. This title brings back the essence of the JPRG genre, featuring great audiovisual beauty and a complex classic-flavored battle-system.
  13. Jan 15, 2013
    94
    One of the best RPGs I've played in years...a beautiful mixture of the traditional makings of a JRPG combined with gorgeous graphics, a wonderful story, a great cast of characters and thoughtful gameplay.
  14. Mar 21, 2013
    93
    Ni no Kuni is almost a perfect video game adaptation of a Studio Ghibli's movie with only minor problems. Level-5 excels in crafting experiences and Wrath of the White Witch is no exception, from beginning to end exudes geniality. The story is an emotional travel through a fantastic world filled with charismatic characters. The gameplay offers a wide arrange of personalization thanks to an almost endless collection of creatures to capture. In an era in which JRPGs are dying, Ni no Kuni might be the savior that could take things to the next level.
  15. 93
    Ni No Kuni is a miracle. Doused in character and constructed with depth, its first half hour is awe-inspiring yet the challenge can carry beyond the hundred hour mark.
  16. Jan 19, 2013
    93
    If you have any sort of appreciation for a great RPG, look no further than Ni no Kuni.
  17. Jan 16, 2013
    93
    Ni no Kuni is a visual masterpiece and a testament for the once great JRPG genre, everything is so well executed that you simply cannot miss the opportunity to play this game.
  18. Apr 11, 2013
    92
    The entertaining battles and the resolutions of plot threads as the game progressed toward the final credits were worth paying the cost of a slow start to the gameplay. This is a game that we'll be talking about for years to come, and I'm happy to have played it.
  19. Feb 11, 2013
    92
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is a special game and a rare beast in the current console generation. A traditional Japanese RPG with a deep and rewarding gameplay experience with a level of polish reserved for the biggest of franchises. Even if level grinding and monster catching is outside your comfort level, this game is worth checking out. Once you spend a few hours with Oliver, Mr. Drippy and his friends you will not be able to put Ni No Kuni down.
  20. 92
    It’s not perfect of course, and may not turn heads amongst the most eccentric of JRPG lovers, but what Level – 5 and Studio Ghibli have produced is an entrancing trip through an alluring, original adventure that’s surprisingly touching despite it’s simplicity, and easily rivals some of the best games I’ve played to date.
  21. Jan 22, 2013
    91
    There are few JRPGs out there with the same level of perfection found in this Level 5 production. A top notch adventure with plenty of magical moments and fun characters.
  22. Jan 17, 2013
    91
    Charming characters, stunning visuals, a vast world worth exploring, tons of cool things to do and a heartwarming story - these are only some of the reasons, why Ni No Kuni: Curse of the White Witch is a must-have title in 2013. Level-5 and Studio Ghibli have created a fantastic adventure reminiscent of JRPG-classics like Dragonquest VIII or the 32-Bit-Final Fantasys. For me this is clearly the best Japanese roleplaying game this console generation has seen so far.
  23. Mar 12, 2013
    90
    Level 5's highly anticipated collaboration with Studio Ghibli is just as great as it looks. And it looks great. The art style is exactly what you'd expect from Studio Ghibli, and the same goes for the music. Battles are fought with familiars, that you collect and train throughout the game. It's not a revolution, but it does almost everything right.
  24. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Wrath of the White Witch combines the innocence of an anime feature film with a well-known “get up and try again” attitude. The game is light-handed with its morals, and not overly melodramatic in its story. It exists as a perfect balance between two drastically different forms of storytelling: a film and role-playing game.
  25. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    With hundreds of hours of gameplay in a world that you’ll never want to leave, Ni No Kuni is not only a brilliant game to start 2013 but also one of the best games in years.
  26. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Nu No Kuni is a role-playing game as we have not seen in years. It's a delightful title: in the gameplay mechanics, in the narrative structure and in all the features.
  27. Feb 13, 2013
    90
    It has been a long time since I finished a game and felt goosebumps and had to wipe away a singular tear that escaped before I noticed.
  28. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni is the old classic Japanese kolossal updated to our days. If the industry turned its back to the Japanese RPG genre as a whole and the relevance of Japanese games seems to fade away more and more each day... then the work of Level 5 and Studio Ghibli is to be considered a touching love letter to the land of the rising sun and its videogames culture.
  29. Feb 8, 2013
    90
    If all you ever dreamt of is to starr in a Ghibli movie – to be cartoonified and just be able to control whatever happens – you shouldn’t miss out on Ni No Kuni. It features extensive gameplay amidst an atmospheric world topped with a compelling story. It has everything a modern RPG needs to satisfy a gamer’s every need.
  30. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is a masterpiece, lovingly crafted by both teams at Level-5 and Studio Ghibli. It's bursting with so much character, humour, strength, and sorrow that it's impossible to put down. The lively animation and whimsical design is flawless, with memorable characters that will stay with you throughout your entire gaming career. The narrative may not seem particularly groundbreaking at first, but this is an adventure that's unlike any other.
  31. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    This is one of those unique adventures that you'll never forget.
  32. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    Level-5, along with the amazing localisation work, took the experience from their background and created an adorable RPG that will be remembered for ages to come.
  33. [Y]ou're looking at everything you could want in a game; a breathtaking world to get lost in, wonderful characters, a fun tactical combat system, hours and hours worth of quests, puzzles and more booty to grab than a live stage show of Magic Mike. Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is gaming at its most magical and only the hardest of hearts will not be spirited away by it. [January 2013, p60]
  34. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    I don't usually count myself in the group of people who frequently wished they were younger. But in this particular case I'd give a lot to be able to see this world and its magic through young and unspoiled eyes, to be able to take it all in unfiltered. The influence Studio Ghibli exerts over this is so strong that it single-handedly might make Ni no Kuni that defining game for a young and Japanophile generation, not unlike what those Final Fantasys of old managed to become for us. And because I hold those so dearly, I couldn't think of a bigger compliment. I salute Ni no Kuni.
  35. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Any fan of the genre owes it to themselves to give Ni no Kuni a try, but I won't go so far as to guarantee that you'll love this game even if you've hated past JRPGs.
  36. Jan 23, 2013
    90
    Maybe all that beauty would be undermined by the low-key narrative if the combat wasn't as deep. It's why this collaboration between Level-5 and Studio Ghibli works. One without the other might have been good, but together they've created a superb role-playing game for this generation to savor.
  37. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    The impact of the fantastic soundtrack cannot be overstated.
  38. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Stunning, gripping, and touching in all the right ways.
  39. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Not only a fantastic JRPG in its own right, Ni No Kuni: The Wrath of the White Witch is perfect for anyone who has ever wished to live inside a Studio Ghibli film.
  40. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is much more than a vehicle for the House that Miyazaki Built; it's a first-class production all the way that delivers-and improves on-every aspect of the traditional Japanese RPG.
  41. 90
    If the dazzling production values don't win you over, the storyline, characters and engaging combat will.
  42. Jan 21, 2013
    90
    If you're a lover of games that require you to put in before you get out, and you recall the glory days of the Eastern RPG, where experience points were the lifeblood and the grind was king, you have literally no decent excuse for not finding a way to play Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. A classic of the modern age, built entirely from classics of the past, it's advised you get comfortable, cancel all your plans, and prepare to enjoy a game that will dominate your life for the next few months.
  43. Jan 18, 2013
    90
    Studio Ghibli and LEVEL 5 combined their knowledge and the result is awesome. Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch captivates everybody with a great anime atmosphere, a deep story and approved gameplay mechanisms. By now Ni No Kuni is a candidate for a game of the year award.
  44. I'm saying this deserves to be picked up by so many more people than the niche of role-players and Studio Ghibli fans it immediately appeals to. I'm saying it's so finely crafted it could warm the heart of an Army Of Two player and soothe the perpetual anger of a FIFA-phile… if they'd only let it.
  45. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    With a heart-warming protagonist, beautifully illustrated world, and addicting gameplay, Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is another masterpiece of which Level-5 and Studio Ghibli can be rightly proud.
  46. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    A pure act of love. This is what Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Which is for both Studio Ghibli lovers and gamers who want to embrace again that old fashioned, classic spirit from the RPG genre of 16 and 32 Bit generations. The makers of Spirited Away and the creators of Dragon Quest VIII -Level 5- join forces in a visually constant Tour de Force that contains one of the best scores ever written for a videogame and a battle system that mixes turn-based with real time action. One true jewel of the PlayStation 3 library.
  47. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    Ni No Kuni is a fantastic journey into good, old, japanese RPGs. The incredible design and the rich gameplay are enough to entertain both young and experienced players. If you have a PlayStation 3, you can't miss this awesome experience.
  48. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    It's a world where pretty fantasy archetypes clothe heartfelt domestic drama, and where outlandish cartoon creations sit at the heart of an engrossing game, infusing it with their exotic charm. Ni no Kuni wears its Studio Ghibli inheritance as lightly as Oliver does his little red magician's cloak, transporting us from one universe to another with the wave of a wand.
  49. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    But with one massive, graceful, Welsh-tinged sweep, the combined might of Level-5 and Studio Ghibli has reinstated credibility to a flagging area of gaming. It's taken years of craft and - likely - a hell of a lot of money, but Ni No Kuni is a wonderful, wondrous experience and will keep you captivated and enchanted for dozens of hours.
  50. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    Despite a battle system that has the ability to irritate, Ni No Kuni should be experienced and enjoyed by all types of gamers.
  51. Feb 11, 2013
    89
    Exploring Ni No Kuni is a wonderful, magical experience.
  52. Feb 22, 2013
    88
    Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch is the textbook example of a Japanese role-playing game that includes all of the required features such as a turn-based combat system and lengthy narrative.
  53. Feb 7, 2013
    88
    Ni No Kuni is an amazingly complete package. It’s disappointing the game puts the player through a lot of backtracking and the difference between the beautiful cinematic cut scenes and the text balloons is terrible. These are only minor issues when you see the beautifully created world, the excellent fighting system and the incredible amount of content the game has to offer.
  54. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    A stunningly beautiful and bittersweet adventure about love and loss, burning brightly with the magic of Studio Ghibli, hampered only by a repetitive combat system lacking tactical elements. [Jan 2013]
  55. Whereas characters in western RPG's tend to nag more than the average math teacher, the inhabitants of the beautiful world that is Ni no Kuni tend to have an intelligent sense of humour, rarely seen in games. [January 2013, p.62]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 832 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 209
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I picked this up at midnight and I was amazed by nearly every aspect of the game so far. The story is beautiful and heartbreaking so far. I am really enjoying something that square enix forgot about and that is EXPLORATION!!!!!!!!! New gen RPGS are just hallways or sandbox games. This really brings back memories of psone style RPGS when you can explore a world map. I have 100s of games across psone, ps2, ps3, psp, dreamcast, saturn and wii. And even though I've only played Ni No Kuni for a few hours. It is by far the best jrpg NO best of any rpg this gen for sure. Doesn't matter how it ends I've had more fun with the first few hours of this game then 100s of hours spent on others. This game needs to be a best seller so game designers will stop making every game with guns. Don't get me wrong I love killzone but FPS is getting OLD!!!! I hope this brings new life into the game industry that has been costing on crap for too long. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I must say it is a wonderful storytelling with a nice gameplay never seen in a J-RPG from playstation 3, it makes rememeber the golden era of the J-RPG from psone. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I just want to say than you Studio Ghibli & Level 5 thanks for give us this masterpiece !!!
    The colors, the music, the battles, what a
    wonderful day am having..... Full Review »