Ninja Gaiden Sigma PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 155
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustenK
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    This game was super aggravating at first, until I knocked it down to the "Ninja Dog" difficulty setting. Despite the obvious disrespect of calling me a dog, by the end I began to respect the game. It has its moments of fun, but I would only recommend this title for uber-fans of the 3rd person, Japanese combo (hack n'slash) video games.
  2. DietrichB.
    Feb 22, 2009
    7
    This is undoubtedly the most hardest game I have ever played. The game is great for people who are truly hardcore, if that is you then this should be a great purchase. But if that is not the case and you are not extremely patient then you will find this game a torture. I started on the normal difficulty, but very early on in the game I was forced to resort to the Ninja dog mode (easier This is undoubtedly the most hardest game I have ever played. The game is great for people who are truly hardcore, if that is you then this should be a great purchase. But if that is not the case and you are not extremely patient then you will find this game a torture. I started on the normal difficulty, but very early on in the game I was forced to resort to the Ninja dog mode (easier difficulty), but still I couldn't beat this game. I think I got to the 10th level where I just couldn't beat that boss, so I ended up trading. One of the major problems is that if you beat all the enemies of some sections and proceed to the next area, but for some reason you have to go back to the previous section, you will have to fight the enemies again which is a real pain in the ass. My advice rent the game, beat the first 5 levels if you think you are up to the task then buy it. Expand
  3. May 8, 2013
    7
    It's not bad but it's a shame to say the gameplay is inferior to that of its old school predecessors. It's simple, repetitive button bashing with nothing in the way of diversity. I am new to the ninja gaiden series and decided to play the NES titles first. They blew me away. Still today they are immensely entertaining. And then I played the modern games and lost all interest. There is noIt's not bad but it's a shame to say the gameplay is inferior to that of its old school predecessors. It's simple, repetitive button bashing with nothing in the way of diversity. I am new to the ninja gaiden series and decided to play the NES titles first. They blew me away. Still today they are immensely entertaining. And then I played the modern games and lost all interest. There is no originality, just watered down fights and a cliche storyline. The difficulty in the NES games felt natural but now it's artificial and lazy. It's a good game but to be worth anyone's time it would need to have completely different gameplay altogether. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    for its time ninja gaiden is good but it has some flaws that make it not perfect for me first it is too long and feels repetitive after a while and controls are not bad but the camera's bad angles makes it bad
  5. DarylL.
    Nov 9, 2007
    6
    The first few minutes of playing Ninja Gaiden are great. Blood squirting from slain enemies, the graphics look crisp, it just looks cool! After the initial surprising and absorbing intro the game becomes, what can only be described as frustrating. Camera angles are a nightmare leading you to run around like a headless chicken. The enemies are a lot tougher than necessary and by the end of The first few minutes of playing Ninja Gaiden are great. Blood squirting from slain enemies, the graphics look crisp, it just looks cool! After the initial surprising and absorbing intro the game becomes, what can only be described as frustrating. Camera angles are a nightmare leading you to run around like a headless chicken. The enemies are a lot tougher than necessary and by the end of the second level you are left feeling depleted and quite frankly rather bored of the repetitive gameplay. Expand
  6. warmonger
    Jul 5, 2007
    5
    Boy talk about overrated! this graphics are pretty (nothing spectacular) but the controls are not! and along with the awkward camera angles, it really takes away from what otherwise would have been a very good game. It reminds me a lot of Onimusha but the controls we're more tight on that game. Don't believe all of the hype,definitely rent before you buy or at least try the Boy talk about overrated! this graphics are pretty (nothing spectacular) but the controls are not! and along with the awkward camera angles, it really takes away from what otherwise would have been a very good game. It reminds me a lot of Onimusha but the controls we're more tight on that game. Don't believe all of the hype,definitely rent before you buy or at least try the demo.....I'm glad I did! Expand
  7. bestreviews
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    With great graphics and good handle on the controls, fight sequences,umm, lets just say it made much of my experience very frustrating. I would kill a group of enemies that untilmately never die. every time you revisit a place where you faught a group of people you will be faced with the same exact fight again, over and over and over and over again, so if you are missing anything you are With great graphics and good handle on the controls, fight sequences,umm, lets just say it made much of my experience very frustrating. I would kill a group of enemies that untilmately never die. every time you revisit a place where you faught a group of people you will be faced with the same exact fight again, over and over and over and over again, so if you are missing anything you are going to hate having to ever go back the way you came. Oh yeah what is up with the camera angles? For all the reviewers who scored this 100 should rate the game on how it is and not rate it on how much better it is compared to a nintendo version,umm I am paying $60. Overall I would only recommened this as a renter. I would onnly want to pay $8 to be dissapointed definitely not $60. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    87
    Genuinely new content doesn't abound, but Sigma remains such an expansive, challenging, and well-paced thrill ride that you won't care. [July 2007, p.84]
  2. Hardcore Gamer
    90
    It's a great game and worth a try if you're brave and/or a masochist. [July 2007, p.64]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    This is punishingly, mercilessly, remorselessly ferocious. You will never, ever finish it. Until you learn to block. [July 2007, p.98]