Okami HD PlayStation 3

Okami HD Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as theyIn Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as they must fight ominous beings and reclaim the earth from a curse that plagues it. It is crucial to help Amaterasu make the world a place where all living creatures can dwell once again. [Capcom] Expand
  • Developer: HexaDrive
  • Genre(s): Fantasy, Fantasy, Action Adventure, General
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • Special Controllers: Move Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Okami HD Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    100
    Overall, Ōkami HD is an experience that should not be missed. It's stylized graphics and engaging gameplay really show that this game was ahead of its time with its initial release. Old and new players alike owe it to themselves to download it and either relive the adventure, or experience it for the first time. With its updated visuals and awesome gameplay, this is one that should not be missed.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    With its new face, Okami HD has never been so close to perfection, deserving its legendary status thanks to its beautiful visuals and its amazing soundtrack. Coming back from the dead, Cover Studio's title remains thrilling, offering a good opportunity to discover Amaterasu's adventures on PS3, especially for players that never had the chance to buy it the first time.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    93
    An example of innovative interactive mastery.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    An unforgettable, beautiful experience.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Despite these flaws, however, Okami is still one of our favorite games and more than worth a meager 20 bucks. [Holiday 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    90
    Okami HD is an extraordinary, artistic and epic game that will absorb you entirely.
  7. While the game's temple design is never quite as consistently expansive or ambitious as a Legend Of Zelda, Okami's art, sturdy combat and inventive noodle-teasers have aged as gracefully as Jeff Bridges distinguished chin fur.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they areThere is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful, different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  2. 794
    Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. A perfect mix of fun gameplay, side missions, many secrets, and a beautiful story that can bring you to tearsThis game is absolutely amazing. A perfect mix of fun gameplay, side missions, many secrets, and a beautiful story that can bring you to tears at it's climax. Okami is a game that nobody should miss out on, and now that it's in stunning HD you don't have an excuse anymore. Diving into the world of Okami is an experience you'll never forget. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Having played the Wii version, this re-release was a great way to relive one of the best games I have ever played. 6 years old and still atHaving played the Wii version, this re-release was a great way to relive one of the best games I have ever played. 6 years old and still at the top of its genre. You owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    as you can see from other user reviews, the game is a hands down masterpiece. the graphics and art is unsurpassable. nothing like you willas you can see from other user reviews, the game is a hands down masterpiece. the graphics and art is unsurpassable. nothing like you will ever see in your life. the controls are unsurpassable as well. i've never played anything like this. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2014
    9
    This is deifnitely one of the best gaing experiences I have ever had. The beautiful, hand drawn graphics assault the eyes with euphoricThis is deifnitely one of the best gaing experiences I have ever had. The beautiful, hand drawn graphics assault the eyes with euphoric wonder. The characters are wonderful and memorable (Kamiki Village's Elder being one of my favorites, wait til you see his dance moves) and the quests are fun and engaging. The puzzles are fairly simple but make great use of the abilities the game doles out and lend to one or two 'Aha!' moments. It follows the Legend of Zelda formula of having areas being inaccessible without certain abilities and a long first act that leads to a world-traversing adventure. All in all, just completely enjoyable. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for theThe original was my favourite game of all time but unfortunately, since I wanted to upgrade my ps2 to a ps3 to get the latest games for the Playstation, i couldn't keep the original any longer. However, seeing this in the Playstation store really lightened my day! I love the graphics,style,story and just the game in general! If you haven't already got this game, you should seriously buy it now! Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2016
    4
    For the price it's OK but nothing more.
    I played for one hour but I won't play more, maybe my kids will like it.
    The game has a lot of lines
    For the price it's OK but nothing more.
    I played for one hour but I won't play more, maybe my kids will like it.
    The game has a lot of lines of text you need to read but no voice-over ... it's annoying.
    It's not a bad game, it just looks too old, too boring and too childish for me.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.