Okami HD PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as theyIn Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as they must fight ominous beings and reclaim the earth from a curse that plagues it. It is crucial to help Amaterasu make the world a place where all living creatures can dwell once again. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    100
    Overall, Ōkami HD is an experience that should not be missed. It's stylized graphics and engaging gameplay really show that this game was ahead of its time with its initial release. Old and new players alike owe it to themselves to download it and either relive the adventure, or experience it for the first time. With its updated visuals and awesome gameplay, this is one that should not be missed.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    With its new face, Okami HD has never been so close to perfection, deserving its legendary status thanks to its beautiful visuals and its amazing soundtrack. Coming back from the dead, Cover Studio's title remains thrilling, offering a good opportunity to discover Amaterasu's adventures on PS3, especially for players that never had the chance to buy it the first time.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    93
    An example of innovative interactive mastery.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    An unforgettable, beautiful experience.
  5. Despite these flaws, however, Okami is still one of our favorite games and more than worth a meager 20 bucks. [Holiday 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    90
    Okami HD is an extraordinary, artistic and epic game that will absorb you entirely.
  7. While the game's temple design is never quite as consistently expansive or ambitious as a Legend Of Zelda, Okami's art, sturdy combat and inventive noodle-teasers have aged as gracefully as Jeff Bridges distinguished chin fur.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This is the game I consider being the most beautiful and artistically stylish of all time, and HexaDrive did a hell of a job translating it toThis is the game I consider being the most beautiful and artistically stylish of all time, and HexaDrive did a hell of a job translating it to glorious Full-HD. It's simple, actually: if you're a fan of adventure games, this is a must-buy. If not, this is a must-buy. In other words, an experience that is timeless and you can't be allowed to miss. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    There is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they areThere is a reason those 2 neg reviews have not said anything. They can't possibly tarnish this game without the world knowing they are trolling.
    Gameplay: 10 - The pacing is amazing, the combat is different then any other game and works beautifully, you gain rewards often and none of them are too powerful or underwhelming. Combat flows well, puzzles are rewarding.
    Graphics: Beautiful, different, a treat for the eyes.
    Sound: Sound effects are great and music is insanely well matched to the game.
    Entertainment levels: At maximum! The game is very fun with a lot of side quests to keep the player busy and entertained.
    Worth the money and so much more.
    Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If I could, I'd rate this game 9.6, but I rounded up. From the lush environments and your ability to rebuild them all the way to a fun,If I could, I'd rate this game 9.6, but I rounded up. From the lush environments and your ability to rebuild them all the way to a fun, humorous, and usually compelling story, you can easily immerse yourself in this masterpiece of video game art. There is a reason that it's featured in video game museums.

    Only two elements hold this game back from being perfect: its combat is regularly too easy, and it features far too much sexism from Issun about various princesses and priestesses. Okami's combat is almost never challenging; once in a while, you'll have to consider your tactics with a boss or mini-boss, but you won't die in the process. With regard to sexism, the whole "rescue the princess" trope was already tiresome well before Okami (thank you Donkey Kong, Mario, and Zelda!), so the developers could've chosen something less banal and annoying. Granted, Amaterasu is the character who's rescuing the princesses, etc., but Issun is the sexist and vapidly shallow mouthpiece that won't stop objectifying them--over and over and over again. We get hints that Issun is over 100 years old, and, in that case, he's a 100+-year-old man-boy. Once in a while, Issun seems to mature through the narrative, but not whatsoever with regard to women.
    Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I missed out on the Ps2 copy of this game and boy did i miss out! One word to describe this game is that it's a " Masterpiece ". I'mI missed out on the Ps2 copy of this game and boy did i miss out! One word to describe this game is that it's a " Masterpiece ". I'm speechless of what to say about this game. The gameplay is impressive. I adore the boss fights and love the bestiary- battles that this game has to offer. You can choose to fight the demon scrolls whenever you want to so the game isn't forcibly trying to force repetitiveness down you're throat. It gives off this classical feel that you have to become stronger to progress through the game, even though you really don't unless you want to tackle the demon gates later on in this game. The game gives us different unique weapons every-time you defeat an important boss of the story and if you have enough money to dish out to buy some other unique weapons. The storyline is where you start to notice that "Hey this game is kick ass!" You take control of this canine-god Amaterasu or better known as "furball or Ammy" and embark on a journey to cleanse the lands of darkness with her celestial envoy, Issun. Throughout the journey you get "praise" to level up you're attributes such as the ink pot, health bar, astral pouch and gain money to learn new techniques to overcome puzzles, defeat monsters or just finish those darn side quests. And to top it off you can use the celestial brush to harm enemies, solve problems, create miscellaneous weather and/or earthly objects, help the citizens in certain cities and gradually make people take notice that you are a god. There's so much that i haven't gone over so my review doesn't pay respect to the game one bit. The man who created Okami was a huge legend of zelda fan, so was there any doubt that this game would be bad? I think not. This game is the kind of game i would dish out 59.99 for! It's so much better then the mediocre games that are out now and it's only 19.99! and that's a bargain for over a 30-40 hours of a pure classical Japanese tail that is Okami. Buy the game, you won't miss out on the adventure of the year. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Everything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can beEverything great about video games in one package; Okami truly is a game that shows the artistic potential of what the gaming medium can be when designers are passionate about their product and are willing to step outside the box. From the beautiful art-style, to the atmospheric music, to the fantastic Zelda-esque gameplay; everything about Okami is near-perfect. Okami HD is the definitive version of Okami, and is a must play. Collapse
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    9/10 for simple and obvious reasons. If you don't know them already, you have missed out on this gem.
    Okami used to look decent and be
    9/10 for simple and obvious reasons. If you don't know them already, you have missed out on this gem.
    Okami used to look decent and be enjoyable gameplay-wise as well as in the story, which wraps up most major eastern legends and tales into a compelling story. Used to. Reborn as Okami HD, it's also very pleasing to the eye - of course not like a new release AAA title, but notably better. Fighting monsters, doing collection-quests as well as some others, acquiring new techniques to reach new places with and do new things with, it's much like the Playstaion-Zelda. The story is well-designed and -told, revolving around eastern mythology, bringing it's characters into an interesting adventure that will last any gamer with casual time-investment for quite a while. Definitely a purchase that can't be entirely wrong - if you don't love it, you'll at least enjoy it for once.
    Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Okami HD is Okami, but than HD. I didn't like the first game, so i didn't like this one either. I was expecting just a little more for what i spent.

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.