Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    83
    Finally an anime game which doesn't only use the franchise name to call attention. One Piece: Pirate Warriors looks great, it's fun and provides the whole One Piece Experience, starting with Ruffy's fight against Buggy.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    If you're a One Piece fan or someone looking for something just a little different from your standard Dynasty Warriors title, One Piece: Pirate Warriors gets a heavy recommendation. Just keep in mind that "different" is the key word, for both better and worse. Your money buys a whole lot of content, so it won't be wasted. The Main Log, while mostly enjoyable, takes a bit of patience, but the other modes are worth the price of admission all by themselves.
  3. 80
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors is a gorgeous game oozing with production value. There's plenty of content on offer, and while gameplay fails to differentiate from the Dynasty Warriors formula, it's hard not to enjoy such a mechanically sound, visually impressive adaptation.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors is not the typical musou. Nice visuals, a light but effective RPG side and a good amount of content make the latest game from Omega Force a nice surprise.
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    The new combat system is smoother than in other Musou games and the good graphics turn this title into a must buy for every One Piece lover.
  6. The gameplay is deliberately kept simple, but offers enough depth to sink your teeth in. A combination of light and heavy attacks doesn't surprise anyone any more, but Luffy and his buddies move in such an enjoyable way it kept us entertained. [October 2012, p.74]
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    76
    A playable anime, that's what this One Piece: Pirate Warriors is. A must-have for all Luffy fans around the world that comes exclusively to PlayStation 3 with a gameplay that pushes the boundaries seen in Dynasty Warriors to bring not only fights, fights and more fights, but also platform and puzzle mechanics with coop offline and online too. But its far from being the supreme One Piece game, because there are story arcs that the game doesn't include and the music and enemy AI are not at the same level that the visual part. A good game anyway, but a little too short even with its different modes.
  8. Oct 9, 2012
    75
    Definitely not the best anime adaptation, but also not the worst. There's a lot of fun to be had with One Piece... if you're willing to overlook the annoying camera and an incomplete story.
  9. Oct 2, 2012
    75
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors isn't the game of the year but it's probably the best game in the series. Some can say it's just a Dynasty Warriors-like, with all the problems that come with it, but it's a good one. The use of Quick Time Events is clever and brings some kind of renewal to the gameplay. Most of all, Pirate Warriors is the most accurate episode and it will be no problem to convince the fans.
  10. Sep 23, 2012
    75
    A greatly polished, different game that relies on a well-known mechanic. If you're a fan of the anime and enjoy hack 'n' slash games it's fully recommendable. Also it's worth considering if you like either the series or the genre, but if One Piece or hack 'n' slash games are not your first choice, make sure you try it before you buy it.
  11. Oct 28, 2012
    70
    All in all, I did enjoy playing One Piece: Pirate Warriors there's a lot of love in this title, but some awful too. If you can overlook the warts, you've got a good game.
  12. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors is a fan's dream, until they encounter the boring combat and one-dimensional gameplay. It's one of the better 'Musou' titles out there, but this style of beat-em-up needs some renovation.
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    If you are a One Piece fan then this is the best game to come out in the UK for the franchise and should satisfy anyone's craving for a bit of Monkey D. Luffy and his peculiar cast of friends.
  14. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    Pirate Warriors offers a decent summary of the story for newcomers. Veterans will enjoy the enthusiasm the game is overflowing with. The shallow gameplay keeps the game from being great, however.
  15. Oct 4, 2012
    70
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors may seem like your standard hack n slash game based on an anime, but with the online co-op, it really makes things fun and keeps things fresh in what is, essentially, an automatic "you win" game.
  16. 70
    There is little doubt that this is game for long play sessions, thanks to the possibility to evolve and fight with each character. At the same time, is a highly accomplished representation of the One Piece universe, with many of his characters presenting speeches and moments worth noting.
  17. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    For a Musô-inspired beat'em all, this On Piece will probably delight the fans of the manga. Visuals are top-notch in terms of cel-shaded fidelity, boss combats are epic, and the gameplay solid enough, except maybe the QTE sequences which, quite quickly, become repetitive and annoying.
  18. Nov 27, 2012
    69
    There's something strangely uplifting here. [Issue#224, p.78]
  19. Sep 20, 2012
    68
    One Piece license make the game appealing, but the same old musou formula is still there to let us down.
  20. Oct 31, 2012
    65
    QTEs and button mashing for Pirate Warriors only.
  21. 65
    Given the lack of polish and execution, the price might be a stretch for those unfamiliar with the franchise, but for loyal fans of the series, or Sh'nen manga in general, One Piece: Pirate Warriors is bursting at the seams with rich content, and is probably one of the better anime influenced games to come out in awhile.
  22. Sep 20, 2012
    65
    More variety in the usual Musou gameplay structure isn't really enough to differentiate this title from other games in a genre that really hasn't evolved at all in years. Developers should really start considering what's wrong with the genre, and try to make it evolve. Pirate Warriors is not the right answer to the problem.
  23. One Piece and Dynasty Warrior diehards will find plenty to love; anyone else will be bored after about two missions. [Holiday 2012, p.76]
  24. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Despite being a beautiful cel shaded game that stays true to the manga original in every way, One Piece: Pirate Warriors just isn't fun enough to play and it also sure could be more user friendly.
  25. Oct 8, 2012
    60
    But make no bones about it,: this is Musou by the numbers. You can't get more risk averse than a Dynasty Warriors clone with an anime license attached, and it plays as derivative as it sounds.
  26. Attacks are doled out with three face buttons and although there's a tights fistful of combos to learn and modifiers on the shoulder buttons for variety and occasional defensive manoeuvres, we literally took down a clutch of enemies by bashing the controller against our butt. No joke. [October 2012, p78]
  27. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    In the end, it's quite a shame, because whenever you think you've seen enough of One Piece: Pirate Warriors all of the sudden Ruffy and friends make your belly ache from laughing again or dazzle with superbly choreographed special moves that fit the Dynasty Warriors formula quite well. I'm not usually one to judge a game on basis of what it could have been. But this material just begs for a title in which you get to live the actual adventures of the Straw Hat Pirates, instead of just their battles in a solidly playable but ultimately mind-numbingly generic fashion.
  28. Sadly the repetitiveness of the gameplay, despite team attacks and unlockable special moves, gets tiring long before the charms of the world. And so, ironically, Luffy just doesn't quite have the legs
  29. Sep 24, 2012
    55
    It's a good title for fans of the franchise looking to play their favourite chapters from the on-going saga. Unfortunately, its poor localization, repetitious 'room clearing' level design, and shallow multiplayer mode make it hard to recommend to a wider audience.
  30. Oct 27, 2012
    50
    One Piece: Pirate Warriors partly unsuccessful capturing the heart and soul of the One Piece franchise. The dialogue is funny and the Straw Hat Pirates are well animated, but the gameplay is repetitive, and unless you're a true Dynasty Warriors fan this button mashing title might end up disappointing.
  31. Oct 12, 2012
    50
    Unless you are a diehard Dynasty Warriors fan, I can't promise you intriguing gameplay, but there is a fun story locked behind all the repetitiveness. Maybe one day we'll see the One Piece game that this story deserves. Until then, I think I might just search out some episodes of the anime and see how they stack up.
  32. Oct 3, 2012
    40
    Zany flair puts a bit of wind in its sails, but One Piece: Pirate Warriors is still a shallow, tedious game.
  33. Sep 24, 2012
    30
    One Piece fans will enjoy the novelty but only Dynasty Warriors groupies will be able to bear the typically mindless gameplay.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 11 out of 19
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    Another **** One Piece game reproduced. Playing this game made me feel so **** bad that I didn't change my underwear for a week after ****ting and pissing in them. I slept in my own damn **** and piss. This game is that bad. Terrible gameplay and terrible story along with a ****-ton of bugs and bad graphics. This also **** up my ps3 by deleting saves from other games.. really?? Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    This has to be the worst game I have ever played on my ps3. It crashed my system, deleting all my other saves to games. The graphics are **** horse **** and the gameplay is even **** ****tier. I wish I could just take all of these games and destroy them it is so **** bad. **** THIS GAME, DON'T BUY Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Being a full on One Piece fan, no matter what the game was going to be like , Pirate Warriors was going to be an instant purchase for me. Following Luffy's story up to the New World, the straw hat team go back in time to speak about their previous journeys. What also made the game so perfect was the fact that the game held its Japanese voice over with the original cast. However I would understand that not everyone enjoys reading subtitles but those who are into the one piece anime and manga then the cutscenes and dialogue are perfect. In addition the graphics at first did not sell, characters looked plastic as if the production cost for this game was not very high. However once I got into the game itself I was completely sold. It was as if the anime was given a next gen make over. Although once again there are some who may not like this art style and that too is understandable. Next the gameplay itself. Split into fighting and taking over territories, boss battles and quick time events, those who are familiar to the dynasty warriors games would feel at home playing this. Which comes to a major draw back to Pirate Warriors. As I was not fond of the Dynasty warriors series, I was worried how this game was to play out. Once I got into it It felt very familiar not I continued to enjoy it, not because of the actual gameplay which is at least satisfying as you use Luffy's gomu attacks and the straw hats iconic moves, but I realised I was enjoying this simply because it was One Piece. Those who do not watch one piece as well as not enjoying dynasty warriors will find little they would like in this game especially with the story being extremely shortened with arcs missing ( i did not mind these arcs as I never found them interesting e.g skypeia) and the development of the bonds with the characters is not present which is the main reason to why One Piece is so enjoyable, it is because I know these characters and finally I am playing as them.
    With the main log focused on Luffy, as well as the challenge mode and other side logs involving the other characters including a co - op online, Pirate Warriors would keep anyone especially one piece fans busy for a long time. I give this game a 9 as a bias opinion but for anyone who does not enjoy one piece and the dynasty warriors gameplay, I say save your money as Il give it as 6.5 in that circumstance as the game is not at all bad, but may not be enjoyable.
    Full Review »