Payday: The Heist PlayStation 3

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Play UK
    Jan 9, 2012
    88
    A solid FPS that requires canny planning and teamwork to succeed. [Issue#213, p.96]
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    83
    If you like Left 4 Dead, heist movies, or multiplayer, you should be checking out Payday. The potential will be instantly obvious to you and it's well worth the $20 for the amount of replayability the game has.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    81
    It's rough in places, but the pay-off's well worth it. [Jan 2012, p.94]
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    An insanely enjoyable game that more than makes up for its lack of polish with its devilish charm. It's worth every penny of the twenty-dollar asking price.
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    Regardless of its imperfections, if you're wondering about getting Payday: The Heist, simply ask yourself: did that scene from Heat get my blood pumping? Did those robberies in Point Break make me want to don a president mask and go buckwild on some bank tellers? Your answer will steer you in the right direction.
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    In spite of its few faults and a curious lack of a competitive multiplayer element, Payday: The Heist manages a fun and fresh cooperative experience that duly pays tribute to a genre rarely seen in games.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    77
    Payday: The Heist offers a great atmosphere, a well-done coop mode – a must-use feature due to a lacking AI – and fast paced action.
  8. Oct 20, 2011
    77
    A worthwhile multiplayer-oriented shooter that is diverse, intense, and offers plenty of depth…provided you can find it. The endless streams of foes, the stark presentation and lack of instruction, and the mediocre AI brings it down a notch, but the fun factor remains relatively high.
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    76
    A thoroughly entertaining shooter.
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    75
    Creepy masks and intense bank-robbing action make Payday: The Heist a thoroughly entertaining shooter.
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    75
    If you do have friends who can't get enough of heists, then Payday is a fine choice and an arguable target for a lawsuit from Michael Mann.
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    75
    PAYDAY: The Heist is a classic example of a diamond in the rough, a game that is just too enjoyable at its core for any of its issues to remain unforgivable.
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    75
    Working together to get the loot and the insanity of trying to get out alive are tense, enjoyable experiences. Issues like the clipping and generally "blah" presentation keep PayDay from being an amazing experience, but they don't stop it from being a good time.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I had the pleasure of playing Payday at Gamescom 2011 and I have to say it rocks! It's a very fun 4-player co-op experience with lots ofI had the pleasure of playing Payday at Gamescom 2011 and I have to say it rocks! It's a very fun 4-player co-op experience with lots of action. In order to succeed in the game, you need to coordinate your efforts well with the other players. You are playing against the clock with more and more cops and FBI agents showing up, trying to stop you and your crew of bank robbers. And yes, you are the bad guys in this game. The graphics also deserve special mention as they look gorgeous. I'm very much looking forward to playing the final game. Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    When I saw the user score on metacritic and the critics score, I was a bit sceptical if this is a good game. At the end I bought it, because aWhen I saw the user score on metacritic and the critics score, I was a bit sceptical if this is a good game. At the end I bought it, because a friend had it and he said it was a good game. OH MY GOD, after I played it an hour I realised how awesome this game is. The idea of doing heists is just a very good idea for a game. Fortunately, there is an AI-Director like in l4d2, that means that everytime, the situation will be different (for example the bank manager will be at another place etc.) Also, if you kill civilians, more cops will come (and stronger types of cops, such as SWAT or special units). That means that the heists will never get boring. The gameplay is exactly what you want from a FPS, the weapons feel great and the controls are precise. There are also level ups (you can unlock weapons, perks etc), some kind of perks (you can choose between ammo bag or health bag or you can choose between having more ammo or being stronger for example). This class thing is also important, since you really need to work together and have a good plan. The game is quite challenging, so coop teamwork is essential. Because you have to work together its very fun and tactical, especially if you play with friends. The best thing is, that it only costs 20 bucks. The only contra thing I have is, that the upgrade stuff isnt explain very good (you have to press tab while in the game, and choose the class you want to upgrade in the next level up). The graphics arent exactly crysis, but they look good (in my opinion). Finally I can only say, if you are tired of all these military FPS or just want to experience something unique in FPS or love movies like heat or the town or just want to play a great game, then go and buy payday. I give it a ten since some morrons give it a 0 (normally I would give a 9). PS: sorry for bad english^^ Full Review »
  3. Bas
    Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Payday: The Heist is just awesome. If you're looking for one of those just, pure fun games that are coop, this is one of the best. PaydayPayday: The Heist is just awesome. If you're looking for one of those just, pure fun games that are coop, this is one of the best. Payday falls short of a 10 because of reasons like there's no tutorials for anything, nothing explains how you level up, etc. The gunplay is somewhat not smooth, but you will easily get used to it and won't even notice when you're really in the game. Almost everything else about the game is awesome. It is very frantic, strategic, and has a fast pace. There are multiple ways to do a mission and because of this, and the fact that enemies are always in different places and attacking you differently, the game has an amazing replayability even though there are only 6 missions (at launch). Payday: The Heist is without a doubt one of the best downloadable games this year, is only $20, and an absolute must buy if you like coop shooters. 9/10. Full Review »