Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. 88
    It has a robust story, an interesting system, a magnificent roster, and wonderful music. It's a great package that suffers from a few design choices I simply don't agree with. However, they are but small nitpicks in an otherwise enjoyable game.
  2. May 29, 2013
    88
    With its stunning visuals, enormous substance and strong online community, it’s a fighter that comes easily recommended. You see, good things really do come to those who wait.
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    90
    Much like Dissidia: Final Fantasy and Super Smash Bros., Persona 4: Arena is a fighting game spin-off tailored for the fans, first and foremost. Whether or not those fans also enjoy the fighting game genre in addition to RPGs, there is enough content and callbacks that make this purchase a no-brainer.
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    This dream collaboration between Atlus and Arc System Works brings us a game that will easily stand out even in the crowded fighting game segment. It's also sure to serve as a gateway drug for both RPG and fighting game fans to cross to the other side. Really, there's nothing else quite like this.
  5. May 23, 2013
    90
    Persona 4 Arena is an awesome fighting game. The bizarre partnership between Arc System Works and Atlus has created an elegant, impressive, fun and worth buying game for both beginner and advanced players.
  6. May 21, 2013
    90
    Arc System Works proves once again that right now it's one of the best fighting game developers in the industry.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    Persona 4 Arena is as eccentric and Japanese as it gets. Anyone who has ever enjoyed a JPRG will love the game even if fighting games aren't their forte.
  8. Aug 9, 2012
    90
    Not only was I treated to a fine fighting game worth playing, but I got the chance to spend more time with beloved characters who I never guessed I'd ever be revisiting. My compliments to both Atlus and Arc System Works for producing a superb game that far exceeded my expectations.
  9. Aug 17, 2012
    89
    Staggeringly beautiful and provides just enough fan service for the RPG players while ramping up the challenge for the fighting game guys.
  10. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    If you're a JRPG or fighter fanatic with even a hint of interest in the other genre, P4A is an absolute must-buy. With such a wealth of story-based content laid on top of the game's steadfast 2D fighting foundations, P4A's impressive debut sets the bar high for all forthcoming fighters.
  11. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    By appropriately mating the strengths and traits of its mixed heritage, Persona 4 Arena flourishes as a fantastically realized fighting game that stands tall even without resting on the laurels of legacy.
  12. 90
    With an absolutely stellar presentation, some of the most memorable tracks picked from the last game, an arsenal of modes to play, and one of the lengthiest stories in a fighting game, Persona 4 Arena has everything a fighter should have, plus more.
  13. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    It weaves the majesty and imagination of one of the best role playing franchises of all-time into the snarling bravado of a one-on-one brawler so effortlessly, one wonders why it's never been done so well until now.
  14. 90
    A superbly effective combination of the very best of Persona's storytelling and character design, with one of the best 2D fighters of the modern era.
  15. May 27, 2013
    91
    A joy to play. A huge story mode, rock-hard trials and great online will keep players occupied for a long time. [Issue#231, p.80]
  16. Combine some rock-solid fighting with a strategic Persona System (think: the ability to manifest a second, ghost buddy for 2 vs 1 beat downs) and Persona 4 Arena feels like a breath of fresh air. Round all that off with faultless versus and online modes, and you’re looking at a truly unique fighter that deserves to be noticed by mainstream gamers everywhere. [April 2013, p74]
  17. 90
    A great cross-genre splash that gives gamers a new fun and competitive fighting game to sink their teeth into. However, it may not appeal to those unfamiliar with the series.
  18. May 16, 2013
    90
    Sporting satisfyingly deep, yet accessible fighting mechanics and a diverse range of gameplay modes, it’s hard to fault Arc System Works' intense entry into the Persona franchise. Persona 4 Arena is a focused and polished brawler that will appeal to both fans of the series and fighting aficionados alike, and has proven to be well worth the wait for European gamers.
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    90
    Persona 4 Arena is a solid, accessible entry point for both fighting games and the Persona series without disappointing hardcore fans of either.
  20. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    Simply put, it's one of the best fighters to grace the console. It'll keep you coming back for more over and over, but I did find myself wishing there were more characters and more of the story. Still, as a fighter, it hits all of the high marks.
  21. May 11, 2013
    92
    Even though it's aimed at fans of the franchise, this title is an outstanding 2D fighting game, deep and fun that fans of the genre will enjoy too.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 11 out of 33
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    0
    Thanks a lot, Atlus, for region lock. As a traveler I bought my PS3 overseas and you wasted my money with this unprecedented stunt. I couldn't expect it because PS3 titles are never region-locked, and you screwed your faithful customer big time. Good job! Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    5
    10/10 for the game. Excellent fighter, arguably the best Arc System Works game since BlazBlue.

    Bu, unfortunately, 1/10 for the region lock.


    Unless you read niche gaming blocks, you may not be aware this game contains a lockout preventing PS3s from outside of the USA and Canada from reading the disc.

    As I have the FFXIII limited edition PS3 from Japan, I cannot play the game. I bought it completely unaware of this, and now am stuck with a $60 coaster. After googling the issue I found information on it, but now it is too late. I will have to purchase a Japanese copy of the game to play it.

    If you have a USA PS3, I highly recommend this game as it is amazing, but if your console is imported be aware you will have to buy the version that matches your region or it will not work.

    Atlus, in the future if you must region lock again, please print a warning sticker or something to prevent unaware buyers from purchasing the game. Nothing sucks more than playing $60 to be stuck with a coaster.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    A brilliant game from a brilliant studio, published by the best publisher currently. I love you Atlus, never stop making games.

    Persona 4
    and Blazblue are my favorite games in the genre's that they're in. This fuses them. Holy crap. Full Review »