• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PixelJunk Shooter returns with more levels and new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 25, 2011
    100
    PixelJunk Shooter 2 builds on the formula of its predecessor, with shooting, puzzles, traps, and a lot of various fluids to play with. The new gameplay mechanics are perfect and with them, Shooter 2, thanks to a well balanced difficulty, is an impeccable action title. Too bad that the multiplayer is but a small bonus, but it's not reason enough not to play the game!
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    90
    More of the same in a good way rather than a lazy more of the same. [Issue#204, p.96]
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    88
    That said, however, Pixeljunk Shooter 2 is an excellent game. With a fresh graphical style, tight controls, and innovative gameplay, it's everything a downloadable game should be. While there are some minor stumbles for the more casual, puzzle-oriented player, that shouldn't discourage anyone who's curious from picking it up.
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    Rather than leaving players blasting away indiscriminately, the game introduces more complex and engaging design based around its excellent fluid dynamics, inviting us to invest greater mental energy into our play.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    PixelJunk Shooter 2 once again proves that creative minds have all the space they need on the current generation of consoles. The mixing of different elements (like water, lava, gas and oil) is innovative, works extremely well and is expertly executed. What makes this interesting from start to finish are the different elements each level brings with it.
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    By and large, PixelJunk Shooter 2 is actually a better game than the first. There are more toys, more variety, online play (in theory) and arguably a better use of colour and sound as well. The drawbacks actually arise out of being a massive fan of the PixelJunk games and expecting more.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    60
    More of an "expansion" than a true sequel, PixelJunk Shooter 2 manages to offer some great gaming moments, paired with unique visuals. On the downside, it tends to get too repetitive and has a checkpoint system that's one of the most unfair we've ever seen.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire,ok youre in the stomach of this huge beast...it still plays like the first expanded. this time their is smoke/air, corrosive acid, fire, water... a few more tricks and treats i won't... good sequel ...or expansion pack whichever you prefer... in any case... it has renewed my interest in the first pixel junk shooter i'm playing it now.. again ... that to me is the mark of a good sequel Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    For the price of the game alone and the amount of hours of fun you will have playing it, it's well worth it! The adventure mode (singleFor the price of the game alone and the amount of hours of fun you will have playing it, it's well worth it! The adventure mode (single player) part expands on the original game. It's simple, yet fun to play and can be considerably more challenging than the first game in places. The addition of online battle (versus mode) is a magnificent bonus. Matching is solid, usually according to opponents with a similar skill level. When paired with opponents with a higher skill level than yourself, you get bonus currency (unlock points) should you manage to win. There are a large number of unlockable items available, which can give you the opportunity to vary your playing style and strategy. This additional depth creates a satisfying experience when you pull off a win by more than the usual online fare of "shoot anything that moves" which is the cliche of modern online multiplayer games today. To summarise : great fun and great value for money. I'd pre-order PixelJunk Shooter 3 if I could! Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    9
    Really liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did notReally liked the first game. The sequel introduces a new spinning move, acid, a different oil, more suits, disguised survivors (that i did not see coming the first couple times), and online battles. The dark stages are a lot of fun. There isn't much room for error for the last boss, but nothing too difficult, I think they struck a good balance. The co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy, too (killing them with the lave suit is hilarious!) My only problem with is that I wish it was longer. Expand
  4. May 2, 2011
    4
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play
    This sequel expands on the first game, taking you deeper down the planet,
    The level setup is expanded and there are more materials to play around with.
    Graphics are equally basic and crisp as the first game.

    But, this all doesn't matter actually, because compared to part one it's much too diffucult to possibly enjoy. i gave up after the first three levels.
    Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2012
    2
    The first game was easy, but great. I guess they took the first part of that very seriously, because no one could call this one easy. I likeThe first game was easy, but great. I guess they took the first part of that very seriously, because no one could call this one easy. I like bullet hell shooters, and masochistic games like The Impossible Game, La-Mulana, Trials HD and so on... but this takes the cake. One or two levels into the game, I'm running into learn-by-dying boobie traps like lethal powerup dispensers, walls that grab you, and worst of all, infinitely growing green jelly you have to shoot 10 times a second just to tunnel through it. There is no rapid fire. Thanks, guys - you've made a game that cripples my wrists with RSI, and I can't even access over 90% of the game because it's literally unplayable. I thought Eden and Shooter are brilliant, but now I'm staying away from Sidescroller, etc because it's not worth the risk. Collapse
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    I loved the first game, although it was a little bit easy. The sequel, however, is absurdly difficult. I gave up midway in the second level ofI loved the first game, although it was a little bit easy. The sequel, however, is absurdly difficult. I gave up midway in the second level of the first world. Already the game is a lot more difficult than the most difficult level in the first game. I like a challenge, but this game is just frustrating. Expand