PixelJunk SideScroller PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2011
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    100
    At times incredibly challenging, yet never frustrating, that's the addictive nature of Sidescroller in a nutshell. It's one of the most memorable bite-sized games I've played in one of the best years videogames have seen in a while.
  2. Oct 30, 2011
    92
    Shoot 'em ups are burdened with the weight of the hardcore and while PixelJunk SideScroller obeys that command, its art, music, and basic gameplay are attractive enough to lure in anyone who might remember walking into an arcade. Simply put, SideScroller carries the sentiment of its genre predecessors without the standard prescription for rose tinted glasses.
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    91
    At this point you should be playing SideScroller, because despite it walking a well-worn path down shmup lane, it's just as compelling as any of Q-Games' more experimental titles.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    91
    SideScroller is not a glorified minigame. It's shorter than the Shooter series the first time through, but that just means it's properly modeled after the old games that inspired it. In other words, it's a PixelJunk game, and that also means a well-executed visual style, smooth gameplay, and an impressive soundtrack.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    Along with Deathsmiles and Gradius V, SideScroller is one of the few side-scrolling gems of the past decade.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    85
    PixelJunk SideScroller is a title that I could sit and play it for hours if wasn't for the need to sleep and other necessities. The simplicity of the game's design and the ease of use controls make it an easy game for anyone to pick up and play. Though it's totally up to the player if they have the determination to make it through 13 levels of enemy filled levels and creative bosses. If that's not enough then there are Leaderboards to top and trophies to earn for those looking for more of a challenge. IF you haven't already started downloading PixelJunk SideScroller you should be. Fun starts with the drop of a few coins.
  7. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    83
    Fast, furious and smothered in old-school cool. [Jan 2012, p.91]
  8. Dec 10, 2011
    82
    PixelJunk SideScroller delivers and intense, exciting shoot'em-up experience. It's so stylish in everything it does and it's definitely a game fans of the genre can't miss.
  9. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    A great game, which is very approachable at first, but then spikes in difficulty. It has a special charm that veteran players will love and appreaciate. Its gameplay is robust, modern and full of references to previous entries, but also includes some classic elements.
  10. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    SideScroller's final stages are arguably among the best things Q-Games has ever done, but be warned: if you're used to the puzzley pace of Shooter, you won't find its playful nature here.
  11. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 26, 2011
    80
    Accentuated by some splendid-looking, challenging boss fights, it's a steal for fans of the genre. [Holiday 2011, p.74]
  12. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    A simple Scrolling Shooter, taking us back directly to the 80's.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Slipping into their finest retro attire, Q Games has once again proven their ability to step into any genre and own it.
  14. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    We knew about "game design", but with PixelJunk SideScroller, we can now talk about Designer Games. The tasty neo-modern look of this Q-Games shoot'em up isn't everything there is to it: the game itself is a very good one, maybe a little light though, for shoot'em up pros or otherwise.
  15. Nov 2, 2011
    80
    Overall this is a wonderful addition to the PixelJunk stable and the pick of the bunch in terms of executing a single minded approach.
  16. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    It's not perfect, but it's shooter purity in an electric-glowing bottle that may not go down easy, but it sure tastes delicious with every gulp.
  17. Nov 4, 2011
    78
    With the exception of the high production values, I feel like I've played a lot of games like PixelJunk SideScroller before. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but it does feel like a departure for a studio that I normally look to for unusual and exciting innovations. For anyone looking to enjoy an old school shooter with a few surprise twists, Q-Games delivers the goods.
  18. Play UK
    Jan 9, 2012
    77
    Harder than a cage fighter on Viagra. [Issue#213, p.97]
  19. 75
    Familiar boss battles and a few frustrations don't cloud this typically addictive and visually outstanding PixelJunk shooter.
  20. Oct 31, 2011
    75
    This $10 package just feels a trifle light on content, that's all. Otherwise, PixelJunk SideScroller is nod to the golden age of gaming; for the most part, it moves right, the design and atmosphere is a big bonus, and the soundtrack continues to set the PixelJunk franchise apart. But with three stages, not a ton of gameplay options and variety, and a two-player option that seems too frustrating, I can't recommend this with as much conviction as I've done with other titles in the series.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    PixelJunk Sidescroller is just a touch short but pure fun all the way through, and hard mode is very cool. I'm not sure IGN got that far...PixelJunk Sidescroller is just a touch short but pure fun all the way through, and hard mode is very cool. I'm not sure IGN got that far... PixelJunk wins again. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    PixelJunk Sidescroller is possibly the best PixelJunk game released so far, with retro arcade graphics and several similarities with thePixelJunk Sidescroller is possibly the best PixelJunk game released so far, with retro arcade graphics and several similarities with the PixelJunk Shooter. I started it on casual, the easiest difficulty, and it is still crazy hard. In most games you are relieved to have beaten the game or boss, but in PixelJunk Sidescroller, I feel like jumping for joy after reaching a CHECKPOINT. Co-op is great, except for the fact that you share the two one-ups that are provided. (Rage quit city) All in all, it was definitely worth ten dollars I forged to buy it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Classic side scrolling shooter gameplay with the usual Pixel Junk polish. Not every game they make is a masterpiece but every single one isClassic side scrolling shooter gameplay with the usual Pixel Junk polish. Not every game they make is a masterpiece but every single one is worth your time and money. This latest effort once again puts terrific audio and video at the forefront. The gameplay doesn't break any ground, but it's fun and solid. I was shocked at how low IGN rated it. Are they jaded, biased, or just ignorant? Full Review »