• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2011
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    100
    At times incredibly challenging, yet never frustrating, that's the addictive nature of Sidescroller in a nutshell. It's one of the most memorable bite-sized games I've played in one of the best years videogames have seen in a while.
  2. Oct 30, 2011
    92
    Shoot 'em ups are burdened with the weight of the hardcore and while PixelJunk SideScroller obeys that command, its art, music, and basic gameplay are attractive enough to lure in anyone who might remember walking into an arcade. Simply put, SideScroller carries the sentiment of its genre predecessors without the standard prescription for rose tinted glasses.
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    91
    At this point you should be playing SideScroller, because despite it walking a well-worn path down shmup lane, it's just as compelling as any of Q-Games' more experimental titles.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    91
    SideScroller is not a glorified minigame. It's shorter than the Shooter series the first time through, but that just means it's properly modeled after the old games that inspired it. In other words, it's a PixelJunk game, and that also means a well-executed visual style, smooth gameplay, and an impressive soundtrack.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    Along with Deathsmiles and Gradius V, SideScroller is one of the few side-scrolling gems of the past decade.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    PixelJunk Sidescroller is just a touch short but pure fun all the way through, and hard mode is very cool. I'm not sure IGN got that far... PixelJunk wins again. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    PixelJunk Sidescroller is possibly the best PixelJunk game released so far, with retro arcade graphics and several similarities with the PixelJunk Shooter. I started it on casual, the easiest difficulty, and it is still crazy hard. In most games you are relieved to have beaten the game or boss, but in PixelJunk Sidescroller, I feel like jumping for joy after reaching a CHECKPOINT. Co-op is great, except for the fact that you share the two one-ups that are provided. (Rage quit city) All in all, it was definitely worth ten dollars I forged to buy it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Classic side scrolling shooter gameplay with the usual Pixel Junk polish. Not every game they make is a masterpiece but every single one is worth your time and money. This latest effort once again puts terrific audio and video at the forefront. The gameplay doesn't break any ground, but it's fun and solid. I was shocked at how low IGN rated it. Are they jaded, biased, or just ignorant? Full Review »