Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    91
    Playstation All Stars Battle Royal is an amazing fighting game wrapped in an idea we have seen before. When it comes down to it, what makes a great game in any genre is balance and All Stars has it in droves. Although some will never see its brilliance, I would maintain that once played it could change the mind of many a sceptic. Add to this a return for some of Playstation's well missed characters and awesome value for money in Cross Buy and you have one of the most refreshing fighting games in years.
  2. Dec 24, 2012
    90
    DO NOT call PS All-Stars a Smash Bros. knock off, it is actually anything but a copy or clone of Nintendo's fabled fighter. SuperBot has taken the most basic premise of that series and crafted a full-featured fighter that delivers something beyond the casual experience and that crosses over into the competitive fighting realm.
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale delivers some great fighting and hilarious comedy at the same time. It's a must-have for anyone who loves the fast-paced style of fighting popularized by Smash Bros. While it would be easy to dismiss the game for being a copycat, doing so would be a mistake as the game does quite a few things differently that help it stand on its own. It's a very well put-together game regardless of its inspiration and is worthy of at least a rental for skeptics.
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Exactly what a mash-up should be – not single game environments, not stories that only include the character of one specific game, but a fusion – a celebration even – of the brilliant PlayStation games that we all know and love.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    This game offers a potential for endless hours of fun...We all expected a knock-off, but this fighter has an identity that's completely unique.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    SuperBot Entertainment has meticulously merged three generations of platform lore into a four-player brawler that's both approachable and cunningly complex.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    For the most part, barring the half-hearted campaign, they've greatly succeeded. If you find yourself playing Smash Bros. into the wee hours of the morning with friends, you should enjoy PlayStation-All Stars: provided that you have at least some affinity towards the franchises that take part in this tournament.
  8. 90
    PlayStation All-Stars is a deeply engaging fighter and love letter to PlayStation fans that ultimately triumphs over shallow single-player content and a few design quirks.
  9. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    As a tribute to the PlayStation family it could have been better, but as a fighting game it's outstanding. Loads of fun based on a great multiplayer will have us playing for a long while.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 198
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. ThisFor real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, itAmazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it has a story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review.do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review. the strory is good it has funny and comedic rivalries and overall is a good singleplayer mode. next let me start off with the unlockables that are just amazng and will keep gamers coming back for more. i wont go into details becase some the unlockable are just too awesome. I woud also like to talk about online and offline mutlplayer, now the multplayer is where the game really shines i would even say it beats smash bros its just that amzing with 20 charactrs and 2 dlc characters that are free , i know this game is gonna be a success so if you want a fun brawler by all means go out and get this game, this game is a 10/10 Full Review »