Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    Playstation All-Stars battle Royale: Not the all-star moment everyone was hoping for, Playstation All-Stars battle Royale is instead a decent enough fighter with serious balance problems and a boring cast. [March 2013]
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    It adds that element of strategizing, especially in online play, where a player can knock out all three of their opponents in fell swoop. Plus, much to my amazement, a character I had no experience using won me my first online match – thank you, Jak.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    Overall, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is mildly fun.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Instantly gratifying but off-target and eventually weary. [Feb 2013, p.74]
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    80
    Overall, I have to confess that I wasn't expecting a huge amount from Playstation All-Stars, but it surprised me. The Supers system provides a good twist on the Super Smash Brothers formula, it's obviously been lovingly put together and it's simply a great deal of fun. It's definitely a game that's worth playing.
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    65
    Playstation's most hardcore fans will appreciate the number of familiar characters but I doubt anyone will be really thrilled with All-Stars Battle Royale. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.59]
  7. Dec 24, 2012
    90
    DO NOT call PS All-Stars a Smash Bros. knock off, it is actually anything but a copy or clone of Nintendo's fabled fighter. SuperBot has taken the most basic premise of that series and crafted a full-featured fighter that delivers something beyond the casual experience and that crosses over into the competitive fighting realm.
  8. Dec 23, 2012
    60
    Does its best to please Sony lovers, but falls down as a brawler. Makes you want to dust off your old games, not play this. [Jan 2013, p.105]
  9. Dec 21, 2012
    20
    The constant parallels to Super Smash Bros. eventually undermine Playstation All-Stars, which has nowhere near the generosity, enthusiasm, or longevity of a Super Smash Bros.
  10. Dec 20, 2012
    70
    As it stands, PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale is a cool, if limited, way to celebrate the history of Sony's time in the videogame business. It is just a shame that some of the ideas that give the game its own identity spoil it.
  11. Dec 18, 2012
    85
    Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale is a great fighting game, and is a lot deeper than you might think.
  12. Dec 18, 2012
    55
    Nauseatingly basic and lazily produced, this should be avoided by all but fervent PS devotees. [Jan 2013, p.63]
  13. Dec 14, 2012
    74
    This is an interesting arena brawler with lots of action and a Sony celebrity cast. It can get quite chaotic though. Thanks to the tighter controls on the dual-shock controller the PlayStation 3 version trumps the Vita counterpart.
  14. Dec 12, 2012
    82
    Do yourself a favour this Friday and grab a couple of mates, invest in four controllers, knock back a case of brewskies and work that arse groove on your couch as PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is going to keep your interest for a quite some time.
  15. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    Let's forget about the game that pits favourite iconic video game characters such as plumbers and Pokemon for a minute and focus on what this is. PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale stands on its own two feet to show that it, too, has a place in this world.
  16. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Battle Royale isn't the most original of games, then, but it's far more accessible than most fighters, rich in fan-service and PlayStation history, and a fun party game to boot. It may never particularly surprise or break any moulds, but it's a seriously fun, well-crafted brawler, and well worth a look, particularly for fans of the franchises it houses.
  17. Dec 7, 2012
    75
    Playstation All Star Battle Royale is a good Brawler Game with some issues in balancing that ruins the global experience.
  18. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    While it has been accused of cloning the Super Smash Bros. franchise, in the end All-Stars Battle Royale is a game with its own character that will certainly satisfy the PlayStation die-hard fans.
  19. 85
    After working my way through the multitude of options and modes this game has to offer, I can say conclusively and with confidence that while there's still a few wrinkles to work out in the combat system, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is an outstanding example of an approachable fighting game that surely deserves your consideration, and easily earns the right to step into the winners circle and stand with the big boys.
  20. 80
    Oriented to the characters and for maximizing the possibilities of fighting, the fans will find here quite a proposal worthy of a reunion of stars.
  21. Dec 4, 2012
    85
    A fun little game that will give you hours of "just one more fight then so I can get even" entertainment.
  22. We're missing a bit of that Nintendo-magic when it comes to the environments. And the cast. While it is certainly representative of nearly twenty years of PlayStation, is missing the likes of Spyro and Crash Bandicoot. Or any character from Square Enix for that matter.[December 2012, p.70]
  23. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    A little light on characters and modes perhaps but all the same, Battle Royale is great fun. [Issue#225, p.54]
  24. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    It's a solid and pretty entertaining Smash Bros. clone with a Sony paintjob, which beyond the obvious similarities to the original even manages to bring some individuality of its own to the table.
  25. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale delivers some great fighting and hilarious comedy at the same time. It's a must-have for anyone who loves the fast-paced style of fighting popularized by Smash Bros. While it would be easy to dismiss the game for being a copycat, doing so would be a mistake as the game does quite a few things differently that help it stand on its own. It's a very well put-together game regardless of its inspiration and is worthy of at least a rental for skeptics.
  26. Battle Royale is an otherwise tightly designed and technically accomplished fighting game. Consulting our crystal balls – not a euphemism – we see it acquiring a small but dedicated following on the tournament scene. It'll never be as big as Street Fighter or Tekken, but it'll always be present on the periphery. [Christmas 2012, p.70]
  27. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale won't dethrone the Super Smash Bros. IP, but finally offers a great alternative, especially players looking for some crossover fighting games. The title proposes some good ideas such as its battle system mainly focused on combos. However, the fighting sequences lack the necessary dynamism.
  28. Nov 27, 2012
    85
    Everyone says PlayStation All-Stars does nothing but cheaply rip off Super Smash Brothers, but there's more to it than that. A lot more, in fact. This is in every way a solid fighter, with a large and well-balanced (though not yet as good as it could have been) cast, many colourful stages and deep, rewarding gameplay elements. Above all it's fun - if not at times a little chaotic.
  29. A short-term thrill. It's still two years till the PlayStation's official 20th anniversary. With any luck, 2014 will see a deeper and more enticing sequel to this game.
  30. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    PlayStation All-Stars makes a couple of design decisions that make the whole thing feel a little more awkward than it should. Also, for a game that's supposed to bring together the greatest heroes of the PlayStation platforms, it's missing too many key figures.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 192
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it has a story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review. the strory is good it has funny and comedic rivalries and overall is a good singleplayer mode. next let me start off with the unlockables that are just amazng and will keep gamers coming back for more. i wont go into details becase some the unlockable are just too awesome. I woud also like to talk about online and offline mutlplayer, now the multplayer is where the game really shines i would even say it beats smash bros its just that amzing with 20 charactrs and 2 dlc characters that are free , i know this game is gonna be a success so if you want a fun brawler by all means go out and get this game, this game is a 10/10 Full Review »