Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    20
    The constant parallels to Super Smash Bros. eventually undermine Playstation All-Stars, which has nowhere near the generosity, enthusiasm, or longevity of a Super Smash Bros.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    While it doesn't innovate the genre to which it belongs in any way, Battle Royale is still simply fun, immediate and full of personality. From a technical point of view, the game does not allow complaints, while a moderate disappointment is to be expected in the lack of truly original modes that could have made the game a gem. Despite this, we encourage all to give Battle Royale a chance before calling it a copy of the legendary Smash Bros.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Battle Royale isn't the most original of games, then, but it's far more accessible than most fighters, rich in fan-service and PlayStation history, and a fun party game to boot. It may never particularly surprise or break any moulds, but it's a seriously fun, well-crafted brawler, and well worth a look, particularly for fans of the franchises it houses.
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Latency issues aside, 90% of your time with PlayStation All-Stars is going to be spent fighting, away from the game's lifeless game modes, unlockables, and challenges. And that fighting, easily the most important factor of the game, is an absolute blast, even if the way it resolves doesn't always feel fairly tallied.
  5. A short-term thrill. It's still two years till the PlayStation's official 20th anniversary. With any luck, 2014 will see a deeper and more enticing sequel to this game.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Exactly what a mash-up should be – not single game environments, not stories that only include the character of one specific game, but a fusion – a celebration even – of the brilliant PlayStation games that we all know and love.
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    It adds that element of strategizing, especially in online play, where a player can knock out all three of their opponents in fell swoop. Plus, much to my amazement, a character I had no experience using won me my first online match – thank you, Jak.
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    As a tribute to the PlayStation family it could have been better, but as a fighting game it's outstanding. Loads of fun based on a great multiplayer will have us playing for a long while.
  9. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    For all of SuperBot's noble efforts in creating an accessible yet technical fighter, you can't play PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale without ever feeling like something crucial is deeply lacking. The weak roster and poor presentation actively works against the title, and while there's enjoyment to be found this is a game that's highly unlikely to stick in your mind or, more vitally, ever be asked for at parties.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 468 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 198
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it has a story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review. the strory is good it has funny and comedic rivalries and overall is a good singleplayer mode. next let me start off with the unlockables that are just amazng and will keep gamers coming back for more. i wont go into details becase some the unlockable are just too awesome. I woud also like to talk about online and offline mutlplayer, now the multplayer is where the game really shines i would even say it beats smash bros its just that amzing with 20 charactrs and 2 dlc characters that are free , i know this game is gonna be a success so if you want a fun brawler by all means go out and get this game, this game is a 10/10 Full Review »