PlayStation Home PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Dec 11, 2008
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    This was a great idea by Sony, i'm a little surprised that microsoft did not think of this. a place where you can hang out with your friends play games and even watch some MOVIES! in the loot theater, although i don't think alot of those are interesting. its still pretty cool to do that on a virtual world. although i think playstation home should have its own in game currency instead ofThis was a great idea by Sony, i'm a little surprised that microsoft did not think of this. a place where you can hang out with your friends play games and even watch some MOVIES! in the loot theater, although i don't think alot of those are interesting. its still pretty cool to do that on a virtual world. although i think playstation home should have its own in game currency instead of using real money. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    With so much to do, you can easily get lost in this online world. There are many Locations you can visit, each with their own unique activities. There's racing, shooting, Texas Hold'em, bowling, billiards, mini-games tied in with PS3's staple of games and more. A great way to meet other follow gamers with like minded interests, you can easily join other parties and jump into a game throughWith so much to do, you can easily get lost in this online world. There are many Locations you can visit, each with their own unique activities. There's racing, shooting, Texas Hold'em, bowling, billiards, mini-games tied in with PS3's staple of games and more. A great way to meet other follow gamers with like minded interests, you can easily join other parties and jump into a game through Home.

    There's a wide variety of downloadable items for your avatar and living space, free and otherwise.

    If there was only one thing wrong with Home, that would be the lack of explanation of what to do and where to do it.
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Hello everyone,
    It's been a long time since Home came out. Envisioned by Sony as one of the main driving forces behind it's home entertainment it didn't excell very well up to this point. However, I can really see the potential. This feature can easily be as popular as the top social networks out there. It is a very fun place to be. You can interact with your friends, check cool places,
    Hello everyone,
    It's been a long time since Home came out. Envisioned by Sony as one of the main driving forces behind it's home entertainment it didn't excell very well up to this point. However, I can really see the potential. This feature can easily be as popular as the top social networks out there. It is a very fun place to be. You can interact with your friends, check cool places, follow up on AAA releases like Killzone 3 and so. However, it seems that not a lot of people have been behind it to drive it to succeed. But I can really see the potential. Personally I am one of the regular visitors to the PS Home. I will continue to be. I am sure in the future it will have more cool features that will make people visit it more often and be a great gaming Hang Out.
    Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    I love it. me and my family meet at home on regular basis. It helps to stay connected with people if you are the kind of person that is shy and doesn't like to connect by other means. I can't wait to see the announced update to this feature and how this will improve the xperience. I heard they will add the ability to create your own space and characters. Anyway, this is a step up on theI love it. me and my family meet at home on regular basis. It helps to stay connected with people if you are the kind of person that is shy and doesn't like to connect by other means. I can't wait to see the announced update to this feature and how this will improve the xperience. I heard they will add the ability to create your own space and characters. Anyway, this is a step up on the right direction and an experience that is worthy of trying at least once. If you are like me you will absolutely love it.. Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    10
    Ok, a rating of 10 may seem odd to some of you. PS Home is a social network of sorta, similar to second life where you walk around meeting people, playing games, party, run clubs/Families and participating in events that happen in PSH.
    It is also good that I waited this long in order to review home cause if I had done this review back when home had very few locations and almost every
    Ok, a rating of 10 may seem odd to some of you. PS Home is a social network of sorta, similar to second life where you walk around meeting people, playing games, party, run clubs/Families and participating in events that happen in PSH.
    It is also good that I waited this long in order to review home cause if I had done this review back when home had very few locations and almost every avatar looked the same, this would have more than likely had a rating of 4-5 out of 10. PSH now has more variety; you now have TV available in your apartments (must purchase TV's & Radios), more clothes, portable items, pets/companions, mounts (bikes, motor bikes, creatures & the list goes on), you also have a decent selection of animations you can purchase, tons of spaces to visit and way more games available.

    On another note, home adds another way to interact and get to know people which is not offered on any other platform outside of PC. I am one of the many who's sunk in over $300.00 in less than a few months on PSH items, clubhouses, clothes, mounts, apartments, furniture, arcade cabinets and well this list goes on as well. Home is still in beta and will always he a beta as it will always continue improving. If you have not been on home since when Central Plaza was around, you might as well try it now as it is way better now with abpot more to do. Home also has free rewards on several mini games, some retail games offer home rewards as well just in case some of you did not know but that practice is dying off.
    PS Home is part of what makes owning a PS3 worth it. I have met some good people but also met some serious trolls, this is something that happens even on games online so trolls will be trolls, at least you can ignore & report.

    Home does have lots for users to do so once you're in and manage to purchase items and meet new people you will be hooked automatically… as I said, if you own a PS3 a highly recommend trying it out.
    Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Well I've had my PS3 for a while now, own a few games and use Gamefly, and just spent about 12 hrs in Home over the weekend - that should tell you something. First of all I am very surprised that there haven't been any 'Critic' reviews or very much attention in the gaming press generally. PS Home has a fantastic potential as someone already mentioned. It really is the kind of futuristicWell I've had my PS3 for a while now, own a few games and use Gamefly, and just spent about 12 hrs in Home over the weekend - that should tell you something. First of all I am very surprised that there haven't been any 'Critic' reviews or very much attention in the gaming press generally. PS Home has a fantastic potential as someone already mentioned. It really is the kind of futuristic virtual social place I imagined some years ago when 3D graphics and connecting people online became a reality. It reminds me a lot of my first experience with a 3D virtual space in the late 90's - Dreamland Park. At first I was very skeptical about and amused by the amount of stuff to buy and their initially apparent mediocrity and high pricing. After a while you realise that the whole point of this is not to go around buying everything you see, but after figuring out what is available and where to find it (half the fun), you buy a few things to make one or two outfits that express something of yourself and, and this part is crucial, distinguish yourself from the 'noobs' who wear only the super bland default clothing. Once you figure out this Noob vs Regular class system (inherent in most online spaces), you will start to be accepted more by other folk and have a better time socially. I have had a wonderful time just hanging out in the various dancefloor areas and dancing about with my av's varied array of dance anims and just having fun watching others and listening to their interactions. I haven't got to the point yet where I've made friends with new strangers and to be honest, as an adult in my forties I feel a little strange doing this with sometimes obviously younger people, although as I mentioned, I have had similar experiences with Dreamland park some years ago which was more of an adult hangout. The games themselves run the full range of slightly crappy underdeveloped distractions to full bore AAA quality games. Some are free, some are not. And some work better than others as social experiences.. I really like the idea of the quiz gameshow 'Buzz' and it's potential (you can create your own questions for others) and wish it had more people playing. What might not be apparent at first is that the avatar dress up and hangout decoration metagame is intimately connected to the games in the form of rewards. It is possible to develop a failry interesting wardobe of free stuff from items you have won by persisting at the games. Additionally certain items are for sale that give the player perks in the relevant game and thus provide their own incentives. You can buy your own private hangouts, in most cases very beautifully rendered, and fill them with more purchased/ won items for you to hang out with your friends in a less public environment (fairly pointless for me so far). There are also many different public hub areas to meet up, play minigames, socialise or access the other major games. The one MAJOR social type game environment I think Home is missing is what made Dreamland Park so amazing. This would be a sandbox type building environment, such as that seen in online Lego or Minecraft, where you can express yourself in 3D building and visit others' creations. Adding this to Home in my opinion would be a massive draw and attract more of the kind of gamers and social users I think Sony is trying to bring to Home. All in all a fascinating and continually growing experience that you can get lost in for hours on end, explore once, or become a regular, and worth checking out with or without your online buddies. Expand
  7. May 15, 2014
    9
    Playstation Home Was Released In 2008 For PS3 And Ported To PS4 I Think It's Like Facebook If It Was Like A Video Game

    Gameplay: You Make You're Own Character And Talk To Other Players,Do Challenges,Play Mini Games,Get Rewards Like Items For You're House Clothing,ETC Also You Can Make You're Own Group,Purchase Houses,ETC Overall It's Very Fun Graphics:The Graphics Are Decent But I
    Playstation Home Was Released In 2008 For PS3 And Ported To PS4 I Think It's Like Facebook If It Was Like A Video Game

    Gameplay: You Make You're Own Character And Talk To Other Players,Do Challenges,Play Mini Games,Get Rewards Like Items For You're House Clothing,ETC Also You Can Make You're Own Group,Purchase Houses,ETC Overall It's Very Fun

    Graphics:The Graphics Are Decent But I Expected Better To Be Honest Also The Music Is Decent And The Sound Is Good

    Controls:They Are Easy To Control Especially The Mini Games

    Gameplay 90/100
    Graphics 80/100
    Music 85/100
    Sound 95/100
    Control 90/100

    Overall 95/100
    Expand
  8. May 2, 2015
    9
    With so much to do, you can easily get lost in this online world. There are many Locations you can visit, each with their own unique activities. There's racing, shooting, Texas Hold'em, bowling, billiards, mini-games tied in with PS3's staple of games and more. A great way to meet other follow gamers with like minded interests, you can easily join other parties and jump into a game throughWith so much to do, you can easily get lost in this online world. There are many Locations you can visit, each with their own unique activities. There's racing, shooting, Texas Hold'em, bowling, billiards, mini-games tied in with PS3's staple of games and more. A great way to meet other follow gamers with like minded interests, you can easily join other parties and jump into a game through Home.

    There's a wide variety of downloadable items for your avatar and living space, free and otherwise.

    If there was only one thing wrong with Home, that would be the lack of explanation of what to do and where to do it
    Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.