User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 757 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 757

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Portal 2 is a puzzle game of genius proportions. It taxes the brain in all the most pleasant ways, providing tons & tons of 'eureaka!' moments throughout. The humor of the game is also spot on, with the cast and writers delighting with their absurdity. The two player co-op mode is utterly fantastic, too. It's as good as or maybe even better than the single player campaign. Portal 2 unquestionably sets a new standard for puzzlers. If you want an excellent head-scratcher to while away the hours, this title will bewilder and amaze you. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    i loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked up the orange box years ago. when portal 2 came out i heard many people complain it was to short to justify its $60 price tag and after being burned by valve on left for dead i waited to pick it up new for $24.99. which after playing through it any thing under $30 for this game is just about right . it is to short to justify a $60 price tag and even though it has co-op which is kinda neat this game doesnt really need it thats not to say it was tacked on in any sense. its pretty solid its just that i didnt feel a huge disire to play it . what this game should have had and would have justified a $60 price tag at its release would have been creat your own maps and share them with people like Little big planet. now that would have been awsome and ive heard they are working on that but its not due out till mid 2012 aover a year since the game came out... too long of a wait for some thing like that i think. moving on to the single player... its great the script and humor is fantastic and even better then the first for sure . many new additions to how you can solve puzzles . they are just hard enough to where you will have to some times sit for a few minuites and think on the real hard ones but never frustrating to where you wana just give up i felt which is just perfect. the game took me about 6-7 hours to complete so yes it isnt very long . though if you enjoy puzzle games or liked the first Portal it is worth picking up and by now you can get it cheap. Expand
  3. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best gaming experiences ever made. You feel like you are really in a live science experiment. The game is like playing thru a Pixar movie. The characters are hilarious. This game is masterful.
  4. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Like with the first Portal, this series or franchise is meant to be played by "intelligent' people . Its a puzzle game combined with shooter characteristics, though few people don't tolerate that. But forget what this dumb head says, Portal 2 is game that you need to play by his originality, complex design, humorous scenes and top notch gameplay. Valve is sometimes getting negative views because of their late products, but with no doubts they are probably one of the best companies out there. So if you see Portal 2 or if you have plans to buy it ( or like the puzzle genre) just do it, of course is somewhat short. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    The controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this game to virtually anyone. The most astonishing achievement isn't the accomodating puzzles which vary in difficulty, the perfectly paced progression, the humour or fun co-op, but the ability to play cross-platform with PC with no problems at all, and no lag whatsoever. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    If I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treat robots/machines today. The three main characters in the game are excellent; chell is quiet, wheatley blabber mouths away and glados is stubborn, it overall creates a interesting experience where you bounce between glados and Wheatleys control throughout the story. The story by the way is awesome. The puzzles are smart, fun and are worth the effort. Its amazing. A must buy game. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    It's not too short. It's short, but not too short. The people finishing this quickly simply are great at puzzle games. I don't think most people are so you will get your time out of it. I did.
  8. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    A solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are in the last hour of the game) I'll give it 8/10 and an extra point for the extraordinarily amusing voice-work and the rare inclusion of something as rare as a local co-op campaign. Expand
  9. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is satisfactory on all levels. It's story is incredibly engaging, it's characters even better, the puzzles and gameplay are hugely expanded and improved from the first, the scope has been increased, and the co-op is great. However, despite the things that Portal 2 does right, you still can't help but feel the game's small size in terms of length and scale to a certain extent. Whie the game is satsifying, it doesn't change the industry and it is far from perfect. Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    A hilariously written sequel.I laughed my way through the single player game in one sitting.The dialogue is what stands out the most in this game. The co-op is good if you have a semi-intelligent partner otherwise you will spend more time explaining to them what to do instead of actually progressing.The gameplay is very similar to the original and some of the puzzles are tricky but this shouldn't be a full priced game.However if you are happy with the purchase price,good on ya. Expand
  11. May 3, 2011
    7
    really don't get into puzzlelgames, but this one is captivating. I actually bought it for my wife but she got creeped out. "Why do you always buy games like this?" I received from her as she hands me the control. I found it quite humorous with very little suspense at all. However, my wife, who mostly plays Sims or Little Big Planet, had to hide in another room. Overall, great artwork and graphics, very well done characters, engaging puzzels that make you feel very satisfied after completion. Too short though and that's why I think it would be better if you just rent it to finish it in the four to five hours it takes to complete.. Co-op has some more replay ability but alas I can't get my wife to play it with me. Zero replay ability for single game. Expand
  12. May 5, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a pretty fun game but it is short. It took me along the lines of 5 hours without much difficulty. It would've been nice to see more puzzles. The first portal seemed much tougher and longer and it was pretty much an experiment by Valve. Portal 2 was supposed to be a full game and it was almost laughable and how easy it was. Other then that the story was enjoyable. Controls threw me off sometimes remembering which portals to throw at which point during the more complex later puzzles, but regardless they still weren't much of a challenge. All in all like I said Portal 2 is a fun game, however I would more so recommend renting this game as it's very short and could be completed in one sitting. Expand
  13. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Most well designed puzzle game of all time, and it's also the funniest game i've ever played. Truly a genius work of art.
  14. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Another wonderful masterpiece brought to you by VALVe. This is A+ quality, well worth the $50 bucks.
    Everything looks so good in this game, the source engine seems to have evolved, it looks prettier than ever.
    If you liked the first installment of Portal, i'm sure you'll love Portal 2 with passion.
  15. May 30, 2011
    9
    Portals genius is the way it takes a simple premise (get from A to B using portals) and turns it into one of the most mind boggling, original and downright addictive games you'll ever play. Even if you don't normally like puzzle games i'd urge you to at least try this as apart from being one of the best games of this generation it's also like no other game this generation.
    Is it perfect?
    No, but it's not far off. If you want to be picky then, yeah, it's a little bit short and lacks genuine replay value but does any of that really break the game in any way or stop it being one of the greatest puzzle games ever? Hell no! Expand
  16. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Some say this game is way too short compared to the price. I would say it too 99% of the time, but not in this one. Quality over quantity.

    To be honest, I've never been big fan of puzzle games. I usually miss something and I don't like being stuck in a single problem for more than few minutes. I would have given up in playing this game due to that, but the game still made me want to
    continue to play the game. Why? It was so brilliant. That's why.

    The puzzles are interesting, clever and funny. While the enviroment isin't really interesting and I couldn't even hear the music except for the ending, the game just keeps being enough interesting to keep going.
    The game also keeps adding things, making the puzzles feel fresh during the entire singleplayer.

    Every time a puzzle is made, you'll be rewarded with very well done monologue (And sometimes dialogue), which can make you laugh. While GLaDOS does feel a bit worse than before, the dialogue/monologue is still fantastic, proving that Valve does have quality writers (Once again!).

    What about the lenght? It took 5 hours to complete the game, but the puzzles and the dialogue/monologue were absolutely worth it. The game is constantly fun to play and the co-op adds even more lenght for those, who still want to solve puzzles.

    Even, if you're not fan of puzzle games, I recommend you to try this. I'm not fan of puzzle games either, yet the game was very entertaining.
    Expand
  17. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a brilliantly witty, tongue-in-cheek game. The single player aspect took me a good 12 hours to get through, puzzling over each test chamber, sometimes then having a moment of eureka and realising how easy it is to solve. The voice work is brilliant, with Stephen Merchant giving a touch of sarcastic humour to the game, with Glados as sinister as always. The co-op, which leads on from the end of the single player campaign, is really good too, but works best with a friend in the room or over a microphone. Me and my mate completed it largely mic-free and we had some hilarious cases of misunderstanding and frustration. The graphics are nice too, even on PS3, which comes with a free PC copy which is also nice and hopefully this will happen more in future. Overall, Portal 2 is great fun, 4/5. Expand
  18. May 2, 2011
    8
    Come on guys Portal 2 is NOT the best game ever made for the ps3! 95 on metacritic? I wish people would review games via genre sometimes. For its genre it is the best game available for sure. Its down right addictive, clever and enjoyable. Rating it higher than Uncharted 2, GTA4/RDR and other games of epic propertions is ridiculous. Its worth having in your collection but If it had to be put into the list of ps3 best titles it would come around 70th at best. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    VALVE is on their game. Mostly just basically look forward to intense gameplay, beautiful graphics, great multiplayer, great story, and great everything else. Remarkable game.
  20. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Most of these "0" score Reviews are terrible. Give some thought and constructive criticism if your going to seriously give a game a 0 out of 10. But anyways, this game is Great. It is exactly what I expected it to be. My girlfriend and I have been playing for a few hours and it really makes you use your head. puzzles are not always as hard as you might make it out to be. It might not have great replay value, but I feel its worth the time it gives me. Expand
  21. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Loved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to this game, really making it two games in one. None of the puzzles are too difficult, I remember only one where I just could not figure out, but eventually I did, and it was a lot of fun in the process. Expand
  22. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    THIS is how great gameplay, controls and story should flow. Valve has once again created a masterpiece of modern gaming. From the moment i woke up in a room and told to look around to the ending song i was just sitting there going "What could they do next?" and they threw more mind bending puzzles and voice acting that still stick with me to this day. When it comes to visuals, it's just that right blend of polished but rustic look that makes every detail seem believable. The controls simple, you shot one thing and the other thing you shoot with have the portals connect, but its that simplicity that will make you wondering just how the creators were able to think up such mind numbing rooms and puzzles that are hard, but not so hard that it will have you rage quitting. When you complete a difficult room, you have a sense of accomplishment that many games just can't match. Above all it's the voice acting that truly sells this game. Your character doesn't talk, but its the 3 other characters that will have you listening to every word they say from the beginning. Some lines are haunting, but most have this charm that will make you laugh or smile because they talk about your doom, they still feel like old friends you don't want to leave. The single player is masterfully done, but in the co-op they find yet another perfect blend of fun and challenge. You and one other can complete more portal challenges that hold their own sense of accomplishment to them. I think Portal 2 is an all around perfect game, it has lasting appeal and great characters plus co-op that will have you coming back for more. Expand
  23. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Next to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more than it bargains for. Portal is good for anyone of any age. Solve these masterpieces of puzzles, work together with friends, and own the generation of robotics and a "small" lab procedure (no pun intended). I did a review on the PC version, and I said the exact same thing. Highly recommended to anyone of any age, of any kind. Expand
  24. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    I never played Portal 1, but I had seen the trailers for this game, and it looked pretty cool. A few weeks later, it was on sale for $40 (new) for the weekend at the local game store, so I took advantage of the opportunity and bought it. After just recently beating it (I'm a very slow gamer), I can safely say that it was worth the money. The puzzles are fun and, while plenty of them are fairly straight-forward, there are a good number that had me stumped for minutes at a time. The game has taken some heat for being too short, and while I agree that the single-player campaign could be longer, I enjoyed it from start to finish. The graphics, while not particularly mind-blowing and occasionally bland, are adequate. The inventive use of physics is entertaining, the dialogue is witty, and the co-op mode, while lacking some of the customization options of the PC/Mac version, is great fun with a friend. I highly recommend it. Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Valve is one of my favorite developers, not just because of their games, but because of their care for their fans. They truly listen, and to top it off, support indie developers with promotional deals like the potato sack. Valve is one rarely to disappoint, and I am glad to say this is their best creation since Half-Life 2. The graphics, though running on the same engine as the original Portal, look incredible with their changing environments. The sound, music and especially voice acting are golden. This is some of the best dialogue and voice acting I have EVER heard in a game, Stephen Merchant especially shines as Wheatley. The story is simple, but memorable, and the environment itself tells the history of Aperture Laboratory. The single player lasted a good 7 or 8 hours, and the co-op mode, which is entirely different from the single player, will tack on another good 4 or 5. The puzzles are fantastic! They are challenging, but never once was I frustrated to the point I got bored or wanted to do something else. All in all, Portal 2 is now at the top of my favorite games ever, and is my new number one from Valve. Expand
  26. May 9, 2011
    10
    Is Portal 2 the best game ever created? No probably not but is is damn close. I cannot believe the people on here giving it less than 9?! IT IS RIDICULOUS!!! Some of these people need to learn how to see a great game how can they say it's bad? I cannot find any reason why so I suppose I'll have to live with it. GLaDOS is so funny and Wheatly is a great character. It was a shame what happened to him. Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Now that the year of gaming has come to an end Portal 2 is safe in it's spot as the best game of 2011. Despite a lot of good games released nothing came close. Not just GOTY but GOTD (D=decade).
  28. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've
    ever heard. The puzzles are smart, but not to the extent where you're so stuck you have to look up answers online. The puzzles are challenging enough to make the gamer feel a strong sense of reward when the "ah-ha!" moment forms. If you like puzzles in your games, you owe it to yourself to play Portal 2. Expand
  29. May 7, 2011
    5
    Please be warned, at the current price tag of over £30 this game is NOT worth it. It is far too short, and apart from some nice introductions of gel's and tractor beams ,the puzzles on the whole seem to be underdeveloped , and dumbed down from the original. The "escaping" section of the game is far too linear and uninteresting making one yearn to return to the "test" chambers.
    Don't get me wrong, this is a reasonably good game. The voice characterisation and scripting are both witty and sharp, and once the price drops by half it will be well worth a play through, but in my opinion Portal 2 is not a fully developed game. There are glimpses of the genius and charm of Portal 1 but a 5 out of ten for good effort is alI I can award it.
    Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    "Portal 2" Does almost everything its predecessor did. The new things? Well, that's where valve made some decisions I don't agree with. The whole game feels play-tested to a fault, every puzzle practically screaming at you how it should be solved. In the story campaign (yes, it's brief, but I consider that neither a good or bad thing), I never felt for a moment like I experimenting with different methods to find my way forward, because all the puzzles were shoved into my face. There were no tantalizing moments where I saw a crack in the wall and thought "Look, an escape!" The escape is programmed in for you. As a result of this hand-holding, I don't think I was stumped for more than a few minutes at any time. This was clearly to make sure every player gets through the game and enjoys the clever narrative and excellent voice acting (Wheatley is truly a great character). But this wasn't a battle of me against a disembodied threat. This was me being hand-held through a movie. There was hardly any of those clever immersion moments that valve is so good at creating-with its gameplay. At several points, the game took control away from me and- by god, a cutscene? Why can't I move when the threat is right in front of my face? Puzzles are interrupted halfway for the story to move forward, when I do have control of the story I must do things where I'm thinking "Hm. This seems like a bad idea," and there really is, at some points, only ONE place to put your next portal. The multiplayer is neat if you have a friend who is EXACTLY as good as you at solving puzzles so neither finishes the game for the other, but don't try solving puzzles online while using symbols "Demon's Souls" style to communicate complex thoughts that aren't "Immenent fire," and are more "Put the portal here, I'll jump through it get a portal over there and you...etc." All criticism aside, this is a well made game, and plenty of fun to play if not much of a challenge. Almost too well made. You'll enjoy it, briefly, and move on. Just as long as you aren't looking for anything too ground breaking, like, y'know, "Portal." Expand
  31. May 11, 2011
    8
    It's a good game but extremely over-rated by the mainstream media. I enjoyed it, it kept my interest, the graphics were solid, the story kept me driving towards the end in anticipation of what happens and the gameplay is good. The only problem is nothing about it is amazing or even 'really' good; certainly there are far better games out there. However, I enjoyed Portal 2 but it would never be my GOTY and I'll probably trade it in before its value drops. This game, I think, isn't worth 60 bucks. Wait for it to drop to $30-$40 max and you'll get your money's worth. It's a clever puzzle game with some challenge that isn't really too challenging at all. Nonetheless, I enjoyed being in Valve's Skinner box with the 'pellet' being one test closer to the game's conclusion.

    7.7/10 IMO
    Expand
  32. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best Puzzle game of all time, and it is in the top for best game of all time. The story is engrossing, unique and hilarious. Also if you like multiplayer you would love this game.
  33. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    This game positively surprised me, as I am normally not a huge puzzle game fan, In fact i hate time.
    But i quite liked Portal 2, except some Puzzles that were ridiculously hard.
  34. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    This is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controls are easy to use, there's a fun story to the game, like I said already, it's a funny game. Also, new character Cave Johnson is nothing short of amazing. The game looks great, and it has a lot of very well done and at times complex puzzles. The length seems to be an issue with some people, but for the type of game that it is, it's about the right length. Overall this game may wind up being the crowning jewel in the Portal series, as it will be very difficult to beat. This is a game that I consider to be an all time great game. Expand
  35. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Just hands down an amazing game that is unlike anything else. The unique gameplay and fun puzzles go hand in hand with the very funny dialogue that is present from the very beginning.
  36. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Portal 2
    Portal Still Alive stunned gamers in 2007 with its interesting puzzles and intriguing concept. Now Portal is back, but everything has changed. No longer is the protagonist (Chell) confined to the sterile white environments of the test chambers in the first game. Now Chell finds herself in a larger adventure with a new enemy. This said the question remainsâ
  37. Apr 20, 2011
    2
    Come on people for how long are we gonna take this crap, 60 bucks for 5 hours. The critics are also getting more unbelievable every day, and most of us get fooled by them. The game industry with its greed, and lust for domination, is crumbling more and more everyday.
  38. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I can say, without any single doubt, that this is the best game I have ever played since the golden Half Life 2 - Doom 3 era. It's maybe me, but I could say that this game is a potential GOTY.
    Great gameplay mechanics, superb voice acting, great humor, beautiful environments and general awesomeness make for a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone. And the campaign is pretty long, too.
  39. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Great game. Finished single player game in two days because it was so addicting. Great humor and story. Great puzzles. I just wish it didn't have to end so soon.
  40. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything!

    Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting,
    and the campaign can be viewed as a bit short, but this is still a game that shouldn't be skipped in my book. Expand
  41. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    A true masterpiece. There is nothing to add. It is brilliant, funny, full of ideas. The two-player mode is fantastic. The graphics have a unique style. A fantastic and unique game.
  42. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and my portal buddy sitting next to me. It was due to this that I could get a platinum as this game needs constant online multi p communication. What a game. Bring on Portal 3. Expand
  43. May 25, 2012
    9
    Tremendously designed puzzles, very difficult at times.


    Superb dialogue that makes it more than a puzzle game and a must try for a fan of any genre.
  44. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the haters, Portal 2 is masterful. The dlc is more of an avatar store, optional stuff people shouldn't be complaining about. Both full campaigns equal up to about 15 hours and they just beg to be replayed. This cake is not a lie
  45. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    waring portal 2 fans please don't read this i can't be bothered with idiots. this game is a puzzle game and so you expect puzzles i thought it was to easy, and it isn't just me my young friend said it was to easier and he thinks call of duty is the best serious every. says a lot. this game got a six because it has an okay story, good graphics and co-op but compared to other games that came out like batman arkham city, l.a noire and Deux ex human revolution this game doesn't come close Expand
  46. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best Games i have played in the last 10 Years. Fantastic Single-Player and well made Coop-Levels. Intelligent Puzzles and a nice Atmosphere with wonderful Speakers (German Version).
    Thanks Valve for this Game!
  47. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The only criticism of Portal 2 is if you haven't played it. The only negative reviews of Portal come from the inevitable tall poppy syndrome accompanying a critically revered title, or from people that simply haven't played it. Portal defies all expectations following the first game, even the unrealistic ones. The levels are exciting, one of video games most memorable characters, GLaDOS, makes a return in unprecedented style and wait for it, the game has co-op. Right now this sounds like the most biased review imaginable designed to flog product, all I can say is that with no stake in this game, I'd happily volunteer to stand around selling copies, it is that good. Why you may ask, well, that is a fair question, there are plenty of excuses one could come up with, but none of them are quite fitting. The game is an experience, a revelatory statement that will convert you if you let it. GLaDOS invites you in, know you may never get out. Expand
  48. May 26, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory. There's just a sense of satisfaction that you don't get in other games when you figure out a chamber. I was thrilled with the Steam integration, the cousin and father both game on PC and by getting this version, I'm able to play with them on both platforms. Some of you may find if useless, but it's an option that's better to have and not need, then to need and not have. Now the issues I have is that the online coop is strictly based on your friends list, either PSN or Steam. Not everybody I know is going to play the same games as me, so a form on online matchmaking would have been nice; especially since a few trophies rely on your friends list, which I find rather unfair to achieve. I did love the split screen option, that's something too many games have gotten away from (and its full split screen the way its meant to be, not cut off like Resistance 2 or just the corners of the tv like in Killzone 3).Couple of other minor issues, parts are too linear and just it should have been longer. Aside from that, this is an enjoyable experience that any true gamer would be missing out if they didn't try. If your on any edge, just wait for the price drop and you will not be disappointed. Expand
  49. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    A game with puzzles that are enjoyable by adults is a rare treat. The new coop mode is especially welcome, and lives up to my expectations. This is really misclassified as a "first person shooter", and belongs rather in a lonely "mature puzzlers" category.
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 doesn't add anything new to the mix of it's game play, but rather it refines and perfects it to the point of where it amazes me. With the added Co-op with your friends at home, friends at their homes, or friends on Steam. Personally this is my GOTY of 2011, with some of the most lovable voice acting and humor in a game around.
  51. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-paced and driven by a dark and ominous soundtrack, invokes memories of Half-Life 2. The writing and voice acting are superb, with plenty of comic relief to put a smile on your face. While it's not the revolution HL2 was, it's as every bit a masterpiece in game design. Players looking for hardcore dexterity-based puzzles may be disappointed. Those of us who enjoy all aspects of gaming will cherish Portal 2 as an instant classic. Expand
  52. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    The middle of the game goes by at an incredibly slow pace. I almost wanted to hang myself. But the last third of the game is worth the $60 I paid for it alone, and the beginning is full of comedy and adventure. I would say play through the first third, maybe cheat through the second, and then get ready for the greatest third act of any game you will ever play in your life.
  53. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I could right a long boring review about how awesome this game is but instead I'll just say this: Portal 2 is easily the best puzzle game ever. You should play it.
  54. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    great game but with dated graphics, very short review but sums the game up well. Recommend for people who didn't fail school and can play chess AND can count to ten and name every letter in the alphabet =0
  55. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Excellent game and one of the best co-op experiences out there, Steam integration works well, the goofy and sometimes dark humor's very funny, loved gladOS, wheatley, CJ, Atlas and P-body. the only negative i can think of is that this doesn't have as many extras as the PC version, which is a waste for a blu-ray disc, not even the Cave Johnson commercials.
  56. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    It is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. Definitely one of the best games out there especially if you like puzzles. Expand
  57. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out
    to put another game in until you've completed it, and that could take a very long time depending on how well you can "Think with Portals" Unfortunately the second time around you won't get as much enjoyment out of it because you remember how most puzzles are solved. However these rumours about the game being only 5 hours of entertainment are complete lies, even when speed running and ignoring all the dialog you will not be able to complete the game in any less than around 7-8 hours.

    Then there is the Co-op, which in many games feels like a quickly added extra feature that didn't really need to be there at all. Not with Portal 2, it is set shortly after the end of the single player campaign and occasionally hints at it without creating any spoilers. The characters are unique and all around amazing with their own form of character development that can better many other games out their where the character can actually talk!

    Another nice fact is that this is the first game that allows you to access steam via a console, and can even connect directly to your account and you can then download the PC version for free and even share achievements and Trophies. All extra downloadable content is free also.

    One of the biggest regrets of mine is that I missed Portal 1 and went straight for this.
    DO NOT miss this game.
    Expand
  58. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    If you don't wanna pay $60 for the game then rent it... Or just wait till the price drops. O look its under $30 now on glyde... Quit your gripping. Its obviously worth it if more than 90% of the users disagree with you.
  59. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    either you love Valve or hate them, but they sure know how to create a world that you just want to go back to again and again. Would be very difficult to out do portal 2, but the bar for all games has just been raised higher.
  60. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal was a very interesting game. It was a mix of a puzzle game, a first person shooter and a platformer. It not only was a success, but was also super fun, if short. Now we've got a sequel, and the good news is that it's even better. Portal 2 now has a more complex story, unlike the first, which was just that "you are a test subject, do these test chambers". With Portal 2, you have a robot companion called Wheatley (voiced by Stephen Merchant) who is your key to getting past the awoken GLADoS, before becoming the main bad guy and final boss at the end. The writing is superb, providing a great combination of humour and character development as GLADoS realises what her true self was before becoming her robot self. Portal 2 also makes a lot of improvements in the gameplay. The levels feel a lot larger, requiring you to think more outside the box and the Portal gun also makes the game run a lot faster than before. The campaign is still kind ofshort, clocking in at around 6/7 hours, but is still longer than a good number of first person shooters out there. While Portal 2 has no competitive multiplayer at hand, it does have co-operative multiplayer. The co-op follows on from the end of the single player campaign, though the story is no where near as important in the co-op. All of the puzzles, however, do feel just as great as the single player puzzles. Even better is that the PS3 owners get to play with the owners of the PC and Mac versions with the Steam integration, unlocking achievements and even chatting with their Steam friends without needing the Steam client on PC/Mac. Xbox owners are a bit left behind with this, which is a shame, but the game plays no differently in single and multiplayer, which is nice, showing that Valve put the same amount of love in the Xbox version as they did with the others.
    My final verdict on Portal 2? It's one of the best games of 2011 thus far and other games have got to do A LOT to beat it. The gameplay is a challenge, but the good type of challenge, the story and voice acting is superb by the whole cast ( J.K. Simmons as Aperture Science CEO, Merchant and Ellen McLain returning as the ex-bad bot GLADoS) and the co-op adds to it all. The length isn't as much of a problem as others say, but once it's all over, you'll just want to start again. Why? Because Portal 2 manages to reach a level of quality that other games can't even get close to.
    Expand
  61. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good.

    Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of
    pointless walking trying to find where you need to put a portal. It was poor game design there. The graphics are sub par for this generation. The graphics are a little grainy.

    But still a brilliant game, 9/10.
    Expand
  62. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying this is a BIAS review... original Portal was EPIC. If you haven't played it yet then get your a** on steam ( or buy the Orange Box) and play it already. That said this is a ten fold improvement on all fronts... The characters are great, the pacing is perfect and the few difficulty spikes are followed by a sense of accomplishment that is better left for you to find out for yourself. PLEASE!!! PLEASE!!! do NOT get online and cheat your way through the puzzles by looking at a walk through. This game will be enjoyed so much more if you take you time and figure it out on your own. Final verdict... BUY IT NOW!!! Expand
  63. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is one of the best games I've *ever* played, if not the best. I've already played through the single player 3 times, and pretty much done all of the co-op. Everything about it is so good, from the story, the humour, the game play, the test chambers, characterisation, and the detail in the graphics. And I didn't find one glitch anywhere. It is so well crafted, and really is at the peak of not only what Valve can do, but where gaming has arrived in general. I just cannot recommend this game enough. You'll have so much fun listening to the voice-overs, and you'll feel super-smart solving the puzzles. I really have gone as far as I can with this game, and I'm still hungry for more, so I just can't wait for Valve to release some DLC, that I believe they're going to sometime in June. I really don't understand why some people are giving this a low score, because honestly I feel this is a masterpiece, where the sum of the parts delivers something so much greater. Don't hesitate in getting this - it's truly amazing. Expand
  64. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    A great continuation of the portal story. It's sad to see users such as "Valvesucks" needlessly bring down the user score when they obviously haven't tried the game.
  65. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    A great game with easy controls, semi-hard puzzles, awesome story and co-op missions. It does fall flat the middle of the game but picks of great afterwards.
  66. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to
    tell if it is good. it is. very good. i would reccomend it to the whole family, as for a fps, it has a low level of violence, and is generally light hearted. great game improved. buy this now. or later. just make sure you do so. Expand
  67. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    By far the best game of 2011 so far and for sure a game of the year contender! This game is way better than the original, it just feels bigger and it is funnier, longer and plays better than the original! A MUST BUY.
  68. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    The best console version, and almost on-par with the PC version. If you are going to get a version, it should be this one, it comes with free PC/Mac copy. (unique to the PS3 version).
  69. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    A masterful experience, to say the least. Portal 2 definitely lived up to my expectations. The Co-operative campaign was especially fun, as it allowed for more intricate level designs. The single player campaign was alright, although quite lacking in content. It takes very little time to beat the single player campaign, and the levels generally require very little thought. It seems that, more often than not, you are simply wandering around trying to find where you can place a portal, rather than actually finding a creative way to reach the goal. Nevertheless, this game is certainly worth at least a rental. Expand
  70. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Great sound and graphics. Difficult puzzles that are actually pretty fun to play + a decent story and coop. I believe the user score is too low here and as with all Valve games I wish they were longer, just like I wished all great movies were longer.
  71. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    I had never played the first portal so I didn't quite know what to expect, but the game is a lot of fun and most of all a lot more inventive than the usual fare from the first person shooter genre. Being able to chose between playing on the PS3 or PC was a very nice bonus. Highly recommended.
  72. May 10, 2011
    6
    Critics are calling Portal 2 "A Masterpiece", some are even calling it "the greatest game ever created". But is it? Now I've played some amazing games in my time: Elf Bowling 1 & 2 but how does this rate in the real world? Well, let me tell you from one "hardcorer" to another, it's a bit like Portal 1, but I never played that game so I can't really comment. Anyway I have played Portal 2 though and it's quite a good game. You can move around. You can jump up and down. You can put yourself into holes... and come out the other side. If you're very clever you can even see yourself going in and out of the holes ***Spolier*** You're a chick with an orange jumpsuit and white T-Shirt!!!! On the negative side it does go on a bit. I was playing the first level for well over a week before I realised I didn't have the controller switched on. But once I did oh boy, the game frazzled my eye balls. The visuals are so cool it's like not even a video game but virtual reality, only in a fully realized as a cartoon. Seriously though, I can't tell you how amazing this game is. If you've only ever played Frogger before then you will be so startled you will die from excitment and delirium. It's funny too. When I was playing game I couldn't believe that evil artificial **** calling me an overweight scumbag for trying to murder her (Mom ain't so talkative now with duct tape wrapped around her mouth). As I was saying, the game is also funny, there's an evil artifical **** that keeps calling you an overweight scumbag for trying to murder her... wait a minute. Anyway if I could give this game 11 out of 10, I wouldn't because it's not as good as all that. However if you do like playing video games, this is one for you. You also get to stick a potato on your finger at one point. Expand
  73. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    very fun and challenging game. The puzzles are incredible. half way through it jumps into a long story mode and it is very fun. the ending was great and i LOVE Wesley. great game much was improved from the 1st game. and the co-op is even more difficult and requires you to think more. i'd recommend this game to anyone that likes puzzle games.
  74. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is such A Masterpiece, I can't tell it in one review. It is not about puzzle gameplay (which is awesome and gets 10 for good puzzles) and Presentation (still 10) but for story and athmosphere which get 11 out of 10. Funny jokes, good voice-acting, well written phrases for characters are the main points of Portal 2. The Co-op is 10 too. In all other games, co-op is just to play with friend, here you must think a lot before acrually getting puzzle into action. The only bad thing about this game, is that it was made by Valve. That means no part 3, ever. Espcially due to the fact that developers wraped-up the story at the end completely. But lets not forget that Valve loves to give what they do for the game later for free, so maybe there will be a Continuation to the story of GLaDOS and Chell. And let's not forget the best OMG moment in gaming history. Expand
  75. Mar 4, 2013
    6
    The humour alone is reason enough to buy Portal 2. The gameplay is enjoyable and there are funny and likeable characters spread evenly throughout the game. The biggest issue is how short and easy the game is. I don't play a lot of puzzle games and I finished it in just under 6 hours. That's just too short and with little replayability since most of the game is figuring out the puzzles (which aren't very hard anyway) it was very underwhelming. Expand
  76. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The campaign was fun, its a great puzzle game. Has some brain teasers, and a really great story mode with a fantastic ending, and some fun co-op. I enjoyed the co-op. It has some brain teasers, and was executed very well, you must use teamwork. Its not a co-op styles game where one persons can do all the work. You and your buddy need to work together, really fun and very well executed. This game is truly awesome 10/10. Expand
  77. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I'd like to give Portal 2 a 10, honestly I would, but as many have mentioned, it lacks a bit of the freshness of Portal. I was hoping for new mechanics, not just new ways to use existing mechanics. That being said, Portal 2 is an amazing game, filled with great puzzles, witty voice acting, and what is probably the best co-op play since SMB on the NES. The advent of Steam of the PS3 is a nice touch, and I'm personally excited to see where it goes from here. Expand
  78. May 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 is an engrossing and clever masterpiece. Everything, from the first minute to the last, is extroaordinary. The hilarity of Wheatley's mischief, the shock of betrayal, the happiness of GLaDOS' change of heart...everything is sewn together perfectly. Expand
  79. May 23, 2011
    10
    SHOUT OUT! TO ANYONE THAT LOVES PUZZLES, THIS IS YOUR GAME. This game is so much fun, I wish it didnâ
  80. May 15, 2011
    10
    Well worth it to play, I understand the PC gamers' agonies over the game and feel sympathy for them. But still, this game is incredibly polished, has professional voice acting, and has one of best co-ops of any game! the story is engaging throughout due to humor provided by GlaDoS, Wheatley, and Cave Johnson. They pretty much run the whole story as you are only the background character. Why criticize? Expand
  81. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    Really good puzzle game that even manages to attract fps fans to try it out. For me as a single player it's a bit short though as I really don't care about co-ops and multiplayer.
  82. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my life, simply put. When i got done with Portal I was amazed at the quality of the game, (although being a side game) only to be even more impresses with Portal 2, it deserves game of the year and it'll get it! P.S.- It's a short game, so if you're looking to conserve money, rent it, beat it, and return it.
  83. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    An improvement of a sequel if I ever saw one, Portal 2 outdoes its predecessor through new mechanics, more fascinating characters, and a deeper legacy to follow. Its intellectual and comedic genius has managed to break through the medium as something truly unlike anything else out there. Its pure dumb fun with all of the headache of a complex algebra problem. If this sounds like a bad thing, then you need to try it for yourself, because Portal 2 is well worth it. Expand
  84. Apr 24, 2011
    5
    Great game so far. Have a huge bug though, I'm not sure if its tied to my internet being down but twice my saved game data says corrupted and I have to completely start over. Any one else have this problem? Any suggestions? I'm going to play again but make sure to copy the save game data to another profile. Pissed off was pretty far too. Without the bug I would have given it a 9.. love unique coop games but the graphics and load times are pretty bad. Awesome to use steam and play with pc but pretty sure that's part of the reason I can't even load my own saved gamed. Maybe there is already a patch out, will find out tommorrow when my interent is hopefully fixed. Expand
  85. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    The first thing I noticed about Portal 2 was how funny it is. Well, one of the first things, anyway. The script, together with excellent voice acting (from Stephen Merchant, the superb JK Simmons, and of course Ellen McLain returning as GLaDOS) provides moments of hilarity while moving along what is otherwise a fairly dark plot. You return as Chell, the mute women from the first game who killed GLaDOS, and are placed in a post-apocalyptic world after being drugged and unconscious for who knows how long. But none of that matters, because you are there to test Aperture Science's many inventions, including Aerial Faith Plates, Proplusion Gel, Excursion Funnels, and, of course, the Portal Gun. The new test areas seem familiar at first, as they resemble (in fact some are the same as) test rooms in the original game. Soon, however, you are placed into rooms with a huge area and new devices. What the game does really well is distinguish the feel of the different kinds of puzzles. When you are in a test chamber within rooms designed by GLaDOS, it feels like someone made sure there was a way out. However, when you go behind the scenes, you truly feel like you're improvising as you go, and there's not only one solution that someone intended you to find. There is, of course, but the difference in feeling is palpable. The campaign is short (I think I finished in 6-8 hours), but is deserving of at least two replays, and there are co-op levels as well, which add to length of the game. Interestingly, PS3, Mac, and PC owners can link up via their Steam account, which is a huge bonus. To top it all off, of course, is the story. In the original game, the story was told behind-the-scenes, relying on the player to figure it out, and that's changed this time around. Let me say that I loved the barely spoken plot in the original game, but Portal 2's story is incredible, and told without the use of cut scenes (for the most part). Rather, it is told through dialogue and other types of voice-over. I won't go into detail since the plot is part of the richness of discovery, and there's a lot to discover in Portal 2. You'll want to see it all. Expand
  86. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Okay this trolling is getting out of hand. I am going to both review the game and dispell all the lies.

    #1 The game is NOT 4 hours long. It has been disproven by many gaming outlets; Rock Paper Shotgun, 1up, Kotaku, etc. On a speed run it takes about 7 hours to beat the SP.

    #2. The DLC is ALL cosmetic. They do not charge for any added levels so this motion of you are missing game
    content because it costs money for a hat is ridiculous.

    The game is amazing and one of the best and most creative games made. Fantastic voice acting, great story, mind boggling gameplay. Better than Portal 1 in every way and the best Valve game yet. Do yourself a favor and buy it!
    Expand
  87. May 12, 2011
    10
    Such an amazing, awesome game. The ideas are excellent, challenging but not too difficult. Really fun. I do think the price is way too much for today's market, considering how great iphone games are now for .99. Should be about $25. $60 is insane.
  88. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    These people don't know what they have played, they say shooting portals is monotonous, which is not true. The game is very varied, the place where you play it, even though is decaying is very beautiful, it even reconstructs itself. The characters are amazing as well, they have unique personalities. I have to say those people rating low are just trolls who have no idea what a game is and who think a game is just about shooting and killing. Those call of duty fanboys don't know what a quality game is. I highly recommend this game. 10/10 Expand
  89. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    I was waiting for this game for about a year. I am a big fan of the original portal.Actually the game is OK, but it is not a sandbox anymore like Portal 1. Everything is scripted. If you throw the cube it will 100% fall in the right place, the portal will open in right place, laser beam will hit its target, etc. This is why I do not like portal 2. From the other side, the game is good. A+ high quality puzzle. Levels are hard enough but not too hard. Interesting plot. My mark is 0 only because it is too scripted. I loved portal 1, and I hoped portal 2 would be the same... Expand
  90. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Fantastic writing, and the puzzles are deeper and more diverse than in the original game. The visual style is also very reminiscent of the first game, but much more developed and there are environments to see beyond austere test chambers (or the ruins thereof). There isn't a lot of flash to the visuals, but between the art design and great use of lighting, the game is still very nice to look at. Fun and entertaining from beginning to end, worth replaying multiple times, and the co-op is very well done.

    The game is about 7-9 hours long in single player, and maybe 4-5 in multiplayer. Some people think that's not enough content for $60 and ding the game for it, but that's kind of silly; rent the game or wait for the price to drop.

    Despite Gabe's former stance on the PS3 and how badly The Orange Box was ported onto the machine, the PS3 version of Portal 2 is actually slightly better looking than the 360 version (according to Digital Foundry) and runs at a rock-solid framerate. It also comes with a voucher for the PC/Mac version of the game and supports Steam features, including cross-platform online play between PC/PS3 players. The PC version is still the best version overall, but between the consoles, the PS3 version is the way to go.
    Expand
  91. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This is the best game out there. So far the story is amazing and I don't want to spoil you with anything. Just enjoy your ride through the Aperture facilities and try to find your way out of this mess. Only 3 games could be better in the future: Episode Three, Mass Effect 3 and Half-Life 3 :D
  92. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Very fun game! A fan of the first game, Portal 2 has more of a story to it with the same challenging puzzles as the first. On chapter 7 and it's been a fun ride so far, can't stop playing the damn game!
  93. May 27, 2011
    1
    This game infuriates me. The original is one of my all time favorites, but this one takes a game that was about strategy and turns it into a game where you spend most your time searching for that one spot that you are able to create a portal just so you can progress. The environments are not as appealing, the new droid with a British accent is lame (but the original GladOS still kicks ass) and to be honest I have to force myself to play and get through the levels. It's simply not fun, engaging, or compelling. Expand
  94. May 19, 2011
    9
    Okay fellow portal makers PORTAL 2 is here and let me tell you it is Amazing.It is everything a great game should be. A great single player experience,a new Multiplayer Co op feature gives a lot more value for your money and gets some crazy puzzles starting.Now let me start with this the cast is awesome from the once again laugh out loud funny GLADOS to the extremely witty British humor of Wheatley.The game has some new features like repulsion Gel which is a very nice feature it allows players to experiment with the environment. Also now we have lasers replacing the ORBS from the first game,the ending is superb and in a way makes you a little sad inside i wont spoil it for you though.But yea its a Amazing game if you liked the first game you will adore this one. Expand
  95. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are the extra mile, with puzzles more brain bending than any of the ones found in the single player campaign, you'll be spending almost as much time working these out with a friend as you did in the single player campaign. If you like puzzles, and enjoy a fun narrative with legitimately enjoyable characters, play this game. Expand
  96. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    A truely wonderful game. Quite unique in today's Market. This is not a game I would normally go for but the sheer lack of decent games out until the winter this year forced my hand.... And I'm so glad as it's one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.it's fun and it gets you thinking without being irritating. You feel like a genius when you finish some of the tests (when, in fact, you don't have to be!) . Ignore those who go on about value for money - it took me a week to finish the single player, playing about 2 hrs a night and I'm sure co-op offers even more. And I bought it for £25. The script is fun and considering there are only 3 characters in single player mode it really draws you in. If you fancy something a bit different, get this. Expand
  97. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game and a relief from all the generic FPS games out today. Well designed, funny and very clever execution. I loved the first Portal game and this takes the idea and converts it into a stand-alone A class title. Just the right length, certainly didn't feel robbed, and replay value from Co-Op mode. Excellent.
  98. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    This has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; the ending is exactly when it should be! The voice acting is certainly amongst the best you get. As a game, the controls are exactly what you would expect and pretty easy to get to grips with. Portal 2 is genius. Full stop. Expand
  99. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    As good as Portal 2 was, I just wanted a little more... . The single player campaign was really quite good but felt lacking in some areas, maybe some of the sections got tedious around the middle of the game but overall it was pretty good. The Co-op was alright but the story was lacking and didn't really inspire much thought. This game probably deserves an 7 but to even it out i'm giving it a 0. Collapse
  100. May 10, 2011
    9
    Who doesn't love a little strategy? Vavle's new Portal 2 absorbs you right from the start with GLaDOS verbally cutting you down between testing and predicting your immanent demise. This is an instant classic. The levels progress in difficulty as you work your way through the challenges with Wheatly, your nut-case guide, at your side to support you at the beggining. I recommend this FPS/Strategy game to anyone looking to kill time with a smile on their face. Expand
  101. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    As good as Portal 2 was, I just wanted a little more... . The single player campaign was really quite good but felt lacking in some areas, maybe some of the sections got tedious around the middle of the game but overall it was pretty good. The Co-op was alright but the story was lacking and didn't really inspire much thought. This game probably deserves an 7 but to even it out i'm giving it a 0. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 continues the original's model, both in terms of gameplay and humor, and reviewing it poses just as many challenges. So let's just get this out of the way right now: Portal 2 is videogame nirvana for the thinking man.
  2. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  3. That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]