User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 806 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 806

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Some say this game is way too short compared to the price. I would say it too 99% of the time, but not in this one. Quality over quantity.

    To be honest, I've never been big fan of puzzle games. I usually miss something and I don't like being stuck in a single problem for more than few minutes. I would have given up in playing this game due to that, but the game still made me want to
    continue to play the game. Why? It was so brilliant. That's why.

    The puzzles are interesting, clever and funny. While the enviroment isin't really interesting and I couldn't even hear the music except for the ending, the game just keeps being enough interesting to keep going.
    The game also keeps adding things, making the puzzles feel fresh during the entire singleplayer.

    Every time a puzzle is made, you'll be rewarded with very well done monologue (And sometimes dialogue), which can make you laugh. While GLaDOS does feel a bit worse than before, the dialogue/monologue is still fantastic, proving that Valve does have quality writers (Once again!).

    What about the lenght? It took 5 hours to complete the game, but the puzzles and the dialogue/monologue were absolutely worth it. The game is constantly fun to play and the co-op adds even more lenght for those, who still want to solve puzzles.

    Even, if you're not fan of puzzle games, I recommend you to try this. I'm not fan of puzzle games either, yet the game was very entertaining.
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    VALVE is on their game. Mostly just basically look forward to intense gameplay, beautiful graphics, great multiplayer, great story, and great everything else. Remarkable game.
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying this is a BIAS review... original Portal was EPIC. If you haven't played it yet then get your a** on steam ( or buy the Orange Box) and play it already. That said this is a ten fold improvement on all fronts... The characters are great, the pacing is perfect and the few difficulty spikes are followed by a sense of accomplishment that is better left for you to find out for yourself. PLEASE!!! PLEASE!!! do NOT get online and cheat your way through the puzzles by looking at a walk through. This game will be enjoyed so much more if you take you time and figure it out on your own. Final verdict... BUY IT NOW!!! Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Best Game Summer 2011! This is the game Portal again with a fleshed out Story, New Mechanics, and Incredible Online Functions. Without telling you every spoiler, if you read other reviews and feel concerned with this games length, here is the truth. The Single Player mode is 3x as long as Portal 1. Then add on the Co-Op, that's where all the meat is. This game is worth your buy (especially if you enjoy other Valve games)! Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The only criticism of Portal 2 is if you haven't played it. The only negative reviews of Portal come from the inevitable tall poppy syndrome accompanying a critically revered title, or from people that simply haven't played it. Portal defies all expectations following the first game, even the unrealistic ones. The levels are exciting, one of video games most memorable characters, GLaDOS, makes a return in unprecedented style and wait for it, the game has co-op. Right now this sounds like the most biased review imaginable designed to flog product, all I can say is that with no stake in this game, I'd happily volunteer to stand around selling copies, it is that good. Why you may ask, well, that is a fair question, there are plenty of excuses one could come up with, but none of them are quite fitting. The game is an experience, a revelatory statement that will convert you if you let it. GLaDOS invites you in, know you may never get out. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    THIS is how great gameplay, controls and story should flow. Valve has once again created a masterpiece of modern gaming. From the moment i woke up in a room and told to look around to the ending song i was just sitting there going "What could they do next?" and they threw more mind bending puzzles and voice acting that still stick with me to this day. When it comes to visuals, it's just that right blend of polished but rustic look that makes every detail seem believable. The controls simple, you shot one thing and the other thing you shoot with have the portals connect, but its that simplicity that will make you wondering just how the creators were able to think up such mind numbing rooms and puzzles that are hard, but not so hard that it will have you rage quitting. When you complete a difficult room, you have a sense of accomplishment that many games just can't match. Above all it's the voice acting that truly sells this game. Your character doesn't talk, but its the 3 other characters that will have you listening to every word they say from the beginning. Some lines are haunting, but most have this charm that will make you laugh or smile because they talk about your doom, they still feel like old friends you don't want to leave. The single player is masterfully done, but in the co-op they find yet another perfect blend of fun and challenge. You and one other can complete more portal challenges that hold their own sense of accomplishment to them. I think Portal 2 is an all around perfect game, it has lasting appeal and great characters plus co-op that will have you coming back for more. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Most well designed puzzle game of all time, and it's also the funniest game i've ever played. Truly a genius work of art.
  8. May 9, 2011
    10
    Is Portal 2 the best game ever created? No probably not but is is damn close. I cannot believe the people on here giving it less than 9?! IT IS RIDICULOUS!!! Some of these people need to learn how to see a great game how can they say it's bad? I cannot find any reason why so I suppose I'll have to live with it. GLaDOS is so funny and Wheatly is a great character. It was a shame what happened to him. Expand
  9. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The campaign was fun, its a great puzzle game. Has some brain teasers, and a really great story mode with a fantastic ending, and some fun co-op. I enjoyed the co-op. It has some brain teasers, and was executed very well, you must use teamwork. Its not a co-op styles game where one persons can do all the work. You and your buddy need to work together, really fun and very well executed. This game is truly awesome 10/10. Expand
  10. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the haters, Portal 2 is masterful. The dlc is more of an avatar store, optional stuff people shouldn't be complaining about. Both full campaigns equal up to about 15 hours and they just beg to be replayed. This cake is not a lie
  11. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    By far the best game of 2011 so far and for sure a game of the year contender! This game is way better than the original, it just feels bigger and it is funnier, longer and plays better than the original! A MUST BUY.
  12. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    The best console version, and almost on-par with the PC version. If you are going to get a version, it should be this one, it comes with free PC/Mac copy. (unique to the PS3 version).
  13. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is one of the best games I've *ever* played, if not the best. I've already played through the single player 3 times, and pretty much done all of the co-op. Everything about it is so good, from the story, the humour, the game play, the test chambers, characterisation, and the detail in the graphics. And I didn't find one glitch anywhere. It is so well crafted, and really is at the peak of not only what Valve can do, but where gaming has arrived in general. I just cannot recommend this game enough. You'll have so much fun listening to the voice-overs, and you'll feel super-smart solving the puzzles. I really have gone as far as I can with this game, and I'm still hungry for more, so I just can't wait for Valve to release some DLC, that I believe they're going to sometime in June. I really don't understand why some people are giving this a low score, because honestly I feel this is a masterpiece, where the sum of the parts delivers something so much greater. Don't hesitate in getting this - it's truly amazing. Expand
  14. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    The first thing I noticed about Portal 2 was how funny it is. Well, one of the first things, anyway. The script, together with excellent voice acting (from Stephen Merchant, the superb JK Simmons, and of course Ellen McLain returning as GLaDOS) provides moments of hilarity while moving along what is otherwise a fairly dark plot. You return as Chell, the mute women from the first game who killed GLaDOS, and are placed in a post-apocalyptic world after being drugged and unconscious for who knows how long. But none of that matters, because you are there to test Aperture Science's many inventions, including Aerial Faith Plates, Proplusion Gel, Excursion Funnels, and, of course, the Portal Gun. The new test areas seem familiar at first, as they resemble (in fact some are the same as) test rooms in the original game. Soon, however, you are placed into rooms with a huge area and new devices. What the game does really well is distinguish the feel of the different kinds of puzzles. When you are in a test chamber within rooms designed by GLaDOS, it feels like someone made sure there was a way out. However, when you go behind the scenes, you truly feel like you're improvising as you go, and there's not only one solution that someone intended you to find. There is, of course, but the difference in feeling is palpable. The campaign is short (I think I finished in 6-8 hours), but is deserving of at least two replays, and there are co-op levels as well, which add to length of the game. Interestingly, PS3, Mac, and PC owners can link up via their Steam account, which is a huge bonus. To top it all off, of course, is the story. In the original game, the story was told behind-the-scenes, relying on the player to figure it out, and that's changed this time around. Let me say that I loved the barely spoken plot in the original game, but Portal 2's story is incredible, and told without the use of cut scenes (for the most part). Rather, it is told through dialogue and other types of voice-over. I won't go into detail since the plot is part of the richness of discovery, and there's a lot to discover in Portal 2. You'll want to see it all. Expand
  15. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Unlike most of the people on this site giving this game bad reviews, I have actually beaten both single player and co-op, so I have a right to be reviewing the game. First off I would like to say this is NOT a short game, which seems to be the only thing that most people are complaining about. It took me about 14 hours to play through both single player and co-op (including the hour me and my friend took to play tag in coop). This will obviously differ depending on how good you are at puzzles, but I have a 133 IQ, so unless you are Einstein or looked at a walkthrough for every puzzle before playing them, it shouldn't take less than ten hours minimum. Also, this is the funniest game i have played since, well, portal 1. In fact this is much funnier than portal 1, and i found myself laughing out loud almost every test chamber. The voice acting is sensational, with great writing and actors who were obviously into their roles. At some points I found myself standing still for five minutes just to listen to what the characters have to say (I waited at the turret production line part for ten minutes just to hear every one liner they say, every one making me laugh) . The story even has a few twists that you will not see coming,and an ending that will make you want to jump up and down at its sheer awesomeness. Obviously the game play isn't for everyone, but if you don't like puzzle games then you shouldn't be playing it anyway. If you do like puzzles, you are unlikely to find a game with more fun, challenging, and creative puzzles than portal 2. The only downside is that, as a puzzle game, there is not much re-playability other than revisiting the story. Fortunately valve has announced that they are going to support it with mod tools on PC and there is likely to be DLC, so we should have a decent amount of new content coming. In conclusion, Portal 2 is a fun, challenging, rewarding puzzle game with an awesome story. If you liked the first Portal,you will love Portal 2. Even if you dont like puzzles it is worth going through just to listen to the characters speak. It obviously doesn't have as much lasting appeal, but the price tag is worth the amount of enjoyment you will get from your first play through. Buy it, and you will love it. The only reason people are complaining about it being too short is that it is so good you don't want it to end. Expand
  16. May 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 is an engrossing and clever masterpiece. Everything, from the first minute to the last, is extroaordinary. The hilarity of Wheatley's mischief, the shock of betrayal, the happiness of GLaDOS' change of heart...everything is sewn together perfectly. Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Okay this trolling is getting out of hand. I am going to both review the game and dispell all the lies.

    #1 The game is NOT 4 hours long. It has been disproven by many gaming outlets; Rock Paper Shotgun, 1up, Kotaku, etc. On a speed run it takes about 7 hours to beat the SP.

    #2. The DLC is ALL cosmetic. They do not charge for any added levels so this motion of you are missing game
    content because it costs money for a hat is ridiculous.

    The game is amazing and one of the best and most creative games made. Fantastic voice acting, great story, mind boggling gameplay. Better than Portal 1 in every way and the best Valve game yet. Do yourself a favor and buy it!
    Expand
  18. May 19, 2011
    10
    It's rare in our sequel filled world that anything equals the original, let alone surpasses it. Portal 2 accomplishes this without losing sight of what made the original great, an even rarer feat.

    Portal 2 puts you back in the shoes of the original speechless protagonist from the first game. For those that didn't have the patched PC version that explained a bit more of the ending from
    the last one, you were recaptured at the end of the game, setting up the beginning of Portal 2.

    You're greeted by a friendly AI core named Wheatley as the place is falling down around you. After making your escape from danger, you and Wheatley set out to find a way out of the facility. Much like GLaDOS from the first game, the game is absolutely made by the interaction between you and this character. The voicing of this character couldn't be more appropriate. The dialog at the ends of levels, as well as some of the little quips in between were on occasion laugh out loud funny. Of course, GLaDOS makes her appearance in this game as well, and is every bit as hilarious and sadistic as the previous game. The story is very intriguing, and you'll get to learn a lot of the background behind Aperture Science. For a game that in it's first incarnation started with no story at all, they've managed to wrap a great piece of fiction around the brilliant game mechanic that gave life to the series. Whoever is doing the writing for this series is worth every penny that Valve pays them. The gameplay differs very little from the first game until roughly half way through the game. The same two portal mechanic is still used to solve puzzles, but a curveball from a mechanic standpoint as well as a story standpoint gets thrown at the player with the introduction of gels. There are three different types of gel that it turns out Aperture was working on: a bounce gel, an acceleration gel, and a portal gel. The first two are pretty self explanatory. The third though, allows you to place a portal on any surface. This is a very interesting twist to the game mechanic, especially given how the gels are dispensed. I was worried in early previews when the gel was revealed that this would change the game drastically, and not for the better. However, I couldn't have been more wrong. The gel mechanics add another layer to the puzzles, but are never the absolute focal point of the puzzle. Every puzzle still maintains the portal mechanic as the primary means of getting the job done. I like to maintain my reviews as spoiler free, so I'll leave it to you to see what I'm talking about. Suffice to say, it's a welcome addition to the game.

    The only criticism I can level at the game are the load times. This seems to be more distracting later in the game than earlier. (Trying to avoid spoilers here) You'll find that the game will stop suddenly and take significant amounts of time to load the next section. I'm not a programmer, nor do I play one on TV, but I would think at this point that programmers should be able to find an intelligent way to seamlessly load the next section of a game unbeknownst to the player.

    This edition of the game introduces a co-operative experience with it's own stand alone story as well. I would strongly recommend finishing the single player version of the game before beginning the co-op. There's two reasons for this. First, completing all the puzzles in the single player mode will prepare you for the challenge of co-op. Co-op is a different beast entirely when it comes to difficulty. Though I only have about three hours in the co-op at this point, I would say that it is more difficult than single player. Secondly, the co-op contains a very minor spoiler for the single player game right out of the gate. It's not much, but if you like to be surprised as much as possible by story elements, you'll want to finish the single player first.

    Pros:

    * More of the same great puzzles
    * Voice acting is outstanding, and the story is both engaging and laugh out loud funny in some instances
    * Enough new mechanics added to keep the game from feeling stale, while keeping the focus on using portals to solve puzzles
    * Co-op mode extends the play time of the game and gives a completely new experience, complete with its own stand alone story

    Cons:

    *Load screens between sequences can take you out of the flow of the game


    Score: 5 out of 5 stars - Must Own
    Expand
  19. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    please dont listen to the user score as of 4/19/11 i have no clue how they will be in the future but right now its all the trolls and the idiots thats dont know what a good game is or how to review a squeal. im giving it a 10/10 because it is a good sequel i am in no way saying its better then portal 1 because nothing ever is better then the original.the story line is not short its a perfect length the crazy antics are the same and it is a bit different then portal 1 and thats a good thing.get this game you will not be sorry. Expand
  20. May 12, 2011
    10
    Such an amazing, awesome game. The ideas are excellent, challenging but not too difficult. Really fun. I do think the price is way too much for today's market, considering how great iphone games are now for .99. Should be about $25. $60 is insane.
  21. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Valve is one of my favorite developers, not just because of their games, but because of their care for their fans. They truly listen, and to top it off, support indie developers with promotional deals like the potato sack. Valve is one rarely to disappoint, and I am glad to say this is their best creation since Half-Life 2. The graphics, though running on the same engine as the original Portal, look incredible with their changing environments. The sound, music and especially voice acting are golden. This is some of the best dialogue and voice acting I have EVER heard in a game, Stephen Merchant especially shines as Wheatley. The story is simple, but memorable, and the environment itself tells the history of Aperture Laboratory. The single player lasted a good 7 or 8 hours, and the co-op mode, which is entirely different from the single player, will tack on another good 4 or 5. The puzzles are fantastic! They are challenging, but never once was I frustrated to the point I got bored or wanted to do something else. All in all, Portal 2 is now at the top of my favorite games ever, and is my new number one from Valve. Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    These people don't know what they have played, they say shooting portals is monotonous, which is not true. The game is very varied, the place where you play it, even though is decaying is very beautiful, it even reconstructs itself. The characters are amazing as well, they have unique personalities. I have to say those people rating low are just trolls who have no idea what a game is and who think a game is just about shooting and killing. Those call of duty fanboys don't know what a quality game is. I highly recommend this game. 10/10 Expand
  23. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-paced and driven by a dark and ominous soundtrack, invokes memories of Half-Life 2. The writing and voice acting are superb, with plenty of comic relief to put a smile on your face. While it's not the revolution HL2 was, it's as every bit a masterpiece in game design. Players looking for hardcore dexterity-based puzzles may be disappointed. Those of us who enjoy all aspects of gaming will cherish Portal 2 as an instant classic. Expand
  24. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Another wonderful masterpiece brought to you by VALVe. This is A+ quality, well worth the $50 bucks.
    Everything looks so good in this game, the source engine seems to have evolved, it looks prettier than ever.
    If you liked the first installment of Portal, i'm sure you'll love Portal 2 with passion.
  25. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This is a truly amazing game. I had high expectations and they were definitely lived up to, if not outdone. The new atmosphere is amazing, and the robots have more personality than most human characters. This will be the best game of 2011.
  26. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, puzzling, innovative, all in all just a perfect game that I'm sure I'll be playing for years to come. The PS3 copy came with a code for downloading a large file on the PC or Mac that is labeled portal 2 but all it does is crash. I wouldn't recommend bothering with the code.
  27. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Valve have done it again! This game is Awesome, Pitty about the PSN being a bit rubbish, perhaps Sony should let valve take over the on-line side using their Steam systeml, GOTY in my opinion, Oh and ignore the trolls, if you want to experience a fine wine of a game get Portal 2
  28. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Fantastic writing, and the puzzles are deeper and more diverse than in the original game. The visual style is also very reminiscent of the first game, but much more developed and there are environments to see beyond austere test chambers (or the ruins thereof). There isn't a lot of flash to the visuals, but between the art design and great use of lighting, the game is still very nice to look at. Fun and entertaining from beginning to end, worth replaying multiple times, and the co-op is very well done.

    The game is about 7-9 hours long in single player, and maybe 4-5 in multiplayer. Some people think that's not enough content for $60 and ding the game for it, but that's kind of silly; rent the game or wait for the price to drop.

    Despite Gabe's former stance on the PS3 and how badly The Orange Box was ported onto the machine, the PS3 version of Portal 2 is actually slightly better looking than the 360 version (according to Digital Foundry) and runs at a rock-solid framerate. It also comes with a voucher for the PC/Mac version of the game and supports Steam features, including cross-platform online play between PC/PS3 players. The PC version is still the best version overall, but between the consoles, the PS3 version is the way to go.
    Expand
  29. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I can say, without any single doubt, that this is the best game I have ever played since the golden Half Life 2 - Doom 3 era. It's maybe me, but I could say that this game is a potential GOTY.
    Great gameplay mechanics, superb voice acting, great humor, beautiful environments and general awesomeness make for a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone. And the campaign is pretty long, too.
  30. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I love this game. The frame rate is crisp and the puzzles fun and imaginative. People detracting from this game are generally PC fanboys loosing another "exclusive" from their short list. The campaign lasts about 9 hours and the humor is top notch. The humor is not generally for children, and not because of vulgarity, but much like The Office, the humor is just above little one's heads. I love how the levels really feel to be actively changing as you move through them and the place feels alive. You never forget that you being toyed with. I honestly can recommend this game enough. Expand
  31. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The backlash against Portal 2 on this site is somewhat mystifying to me. As far as sequels go, it would be inconceivable to hope for a better one than this. Much of the bitterness of others probably stems from the underwhelming conclusion of Valve's alternate reality game leading up to the release and the fact that Portal 2 lacks some of the freshness of Portal 1 (but then again, it's a sequel--what do you really expect?). The brilliance of Portal 1's storytelling came as a surprise to people just expecting an experimental puzzle game; Portal 2, then can only lose points by not having even greater writing/humour/etc. Regardless, Portal 2 improves on the original with a longer and more challenging single-player mode, a co-op mode, several new mechanics, and more Portal humor. It's a great sequel to a great game. If the price seems steep to console users, just wait a while and pick it up later--it's worth your time. Expand
  32. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is easily the equal of Portal 1, and a fantastic followup that adds much to the already established perfection. Not only is the humor easily as good as last time, the puzzle solving goes from okay, to Portal 1's equal, to amazing and beyond anything Portal ever did over the course of the 7 to 10 hour campaign.

    Addressing some concerns that other reviews have said (don't listen
    to them, they are mad about an ARG and DLC that have nothing to do with the actual game), no, the game is not 3 hours long. No, there is no game-enhancing DLC to get upset about, the DLC, which is PC only in the first place, is purely aesthetic and no one who isn't interested has any reason to buy it. Finally, the ARG that took place before this game was release not only resulted in a midnight release on Steam (as opposed to the planned 7am release), it also got everyone who got all of the "potatoes" in the ARG Valve's *entire library of games for free*.

    There is no reason to dislike this game, and many of the reviews are simply venting frustrations not at all related to the game's quality. It's better in every way than one than the original Portal, save one, originality. And let's face it, that magic has passed, we can't get that moment in time back, so we should enjoy an amazing game for what it is, the best possible sequel to Portal, and the best game of the year so far.
    Expand
  33. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Talk about a vindictive attack. I registered for Metacritic for no other reason than to help balance the senseless voting of a few limited minded individuates. If you are stupid enough to run through a game like this in 3 hours (not that I believe you can without glitching), than you deserve your sub-par experience. Go back to staring into a strobe light to fry your brain. Single player play time for me 7.5 hours. Enjoyed every moment. Great writing, acting and overall the ambiance is brilliant. Valve polished every inch of this game (will almost every inch) to a painful shine. While I won't call it hard, it is very satisfying. Looking forward to going through the game again just to see what I missed and pick up a few missed achievements. The biggest downside... Source. You can't help but notice that this game is running on one of the most out dated graphics engines still in modern production. Sure they upped some texture resolution and added a few more reflection effects, but it doesn't change the limited polygon count, and the slow loading times. Valve did great for the limitations of the technology, but longer draw distances would have made some scenes infinitely more epic in their scope. Technically I actually give this game a 8.5, strictly for the technical short comings, but for balance sake I will enter a 10. Expand
  34. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Valve has created a wonderful sequel to Portal. The enrichment center is alive. There are holes in the ceilings and walls that let the light filter through and plants grow through the cracks. The sounds of birds and crickets give it the feeling that nature has taken over. The graphical detail is much greater than the original Portal and I found myself wanting to explore as much as solve the puzzles. Everything about the game is an improvement over the first Portal. I highly recommend it to anyone who is tired of zombies and explosions. Portal 2 is a breath of fresh air. Expand
  35. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Ok this game it's all I've waiting for, and I'm sure truly fans will agree with me, and the co-op mode it's a nice and great bonus. Graphics are good, gameplay is as awesome as Portal was and I'm in love with the wonderful soundtrack, the VALVe team did a magnificent work there. Worth the buy nuff said.
  36. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    My opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is about 8 hours long, but I assure you it will be the greatest 8 hours of your life. The also added a new multilayer option that you can play local or online. I have tried it out with a friend and it is fun, and also a bit more challenging the the single player. Overall a great game and if you have the money I suggest buying it Expand
  37. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is a great game...single player and multilayer done great hours of fun for you and a friend. What can i say VALVe just puts another notch in their already heavy belt of great games. well well worth the 60 dollars the gestures you can make with the guests are great and the steam overlay on the system works beautifully. chats come up in the lower right corner just like on the PC and allow the game to run smoothly and unaffected. The people on here complaining about the graphics must be retarded source still looks great and we ALL know they are not going to release source 2 until half life 3 so the fact you got your hopes up just shows how dumb you really are. Expand
  38. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the best PS3 games out this year, and a free pc copy makes all that much better. The plot is good and the gameplay is excellent, the portal mechanics have been fine tuned to near perfection.
  39. Pep
    Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was great. I absoluteley loved it, and enjoyed every piece of it. I would recommend this game to everyone I know, and think that spending 50 $ was worth all the money. (10.0)
  40. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Great game. Finished single player game in two days because it was so addicting. Great humor and story. Great puzzles. I just wish it didn't have to end so soon.
  41. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    My opinions on the game are that it is a beautifully crafted masterpiece that is worthy of it's 95 metacritic rating and that people can play and enjoy whilst also being mentally challenged to solve the puzzles provided. The witty Humour and constant one-liners from Glados, Cave Johnson and Wheatley make the game ever more fun and add hilarity into the Mix, Valve certainly know how to make you laugh.
    Overall for me this game gets a 10 and if you're strapped for cash i would go for it and it is cheaper than any other brand new game out there.
    AS well as this Everybody Talking about Day 1 DLC being bad and it's too short are wrong,. You don't need the DLC to play the game and enjoy it's just there if you want it, all it is is optional extras like hats and costumes. As well as this the Game it self lasts in the region of 12-15 hours for everything (or 17-20) if you listen to the developer commentaries as we
    Expand
  42. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Valve has done it again , incredible game like aways. The 1st Portal was such a lovely surprise in the orange box , such a smart and innovative gameplay and Portal 2 just took this formula to another level. I really don't know how many smart people you must place together to figure out soo many ,soo different and soo smart puzzles. I think when game industry was invented many ears ago , the goal was just to entertain people , then games become something more , something bigger and games like War Craft , Star Craft , Half Life and Portal boost the evolution of gaming and made an example how to make FPS shooter and real time strategies. Expand
  43. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Simply ignore the users giving it a 0 rating, the game itself is wonderful and amazing. It has a great mix of humor, action and puzzles to solve. If people must complain about the price there were numerous sites offering it for as little as 34$ (some gave away gift cards worth up to 20$). It really is far from a disappointment, so what if there is a day 1 DLC that offers new looks for your robots..isn't that the same reason a lot of people gave up on TF2 anyways? They aren't forcing anything on you, remember this. The Co-Op has been obviously one of their most cherished pieces of the game, thus majority of the trailers and videos for the game showing the new Co-Op characters and gameplay. It's a whole new game inside of a game. Don't forget they also made the game cross platform, so you can play with people on either PS3 or even the PC! (Plus the PS3 comes with a free copy of the PC version for steam, so why not?!) Expand
  44. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is hands-down one of the best games I've ever played. The story is almost as much fun as the gameplay and all of the dialogue is genuinely funny. I've never played a game that made me audibly chuckle as often as this game does. I wanted to complete the puzzles so that I could hear the next bit of dialogue from all of the characters. Anybody that beat this game's single player campaign in 4 hours their first playthrough has to be some sort of supergenius speedfreak. It took me about 9 to finish, and I'm absolutely sure that time could be improved, but the game is so engaging, rich with detail, and fun to explore, I'd find myself reading many of the posters and pausing to make sure I didn't miss any dialogue. However, I still feel I spent at least 7 of those hours solving puzzles, so whether you care about the story and environs or not this game is still not as short as many people have noted. The puzzles are crafted so brilliantly by the creators that even though the solution may not be initially obvious, you always seem to find the solution, and they make you feel so smart for doing it. I really enjoyed the first Portal and the second installation took the best parts of the first and made them bigger, faster, and more exciting. What more could you ask for in a sequel?
    This is thus far my GOTY pick and if you play video games and value a good single player experience, it would be a shame not to play this game.
    I'm playing through the multiplayer now and have yet to finish it, but the puzzles are just as much fun as the single player campaign, but you absolutely must work together, so I don't recommend playing with someone you may fight with as things can get frustrating when you someone doesn't do their part or even just fires the wrong portal at the wrong time.
    All in all, I feel this game is at least a 95 out 100 for any gamer who likes to invest themselves in their games. It's a near perfect game to me if ever there was one.
    Expand
  45. May 4, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the greatest videogames ever made. I just finished it last night, and I must say that this game has a perfect balance of puzzle and story, seamlessly integrating both. I never had to stop solving puzzles to appreciate the story, but beyond that, I actually felt like I was a part of the story, even though the game is incredibly scripted. Portal 2 has fiendishly clever puzzles. While there's always one specific solution, I had plenty of "ah-ha" moments. I never had to refer to any guides, but the puzzles get pretty complicated. There were definitely a few moments where I just scratched my head. I won't spoil it, but there's lots of great back-story and character development for fans of the original game. Lastly, the graphics were phenomenal - I did see some blurry textures here and there, but there was an incredible sense of space, and thought was put into every object in the game. Perhaps the most impressive aspect though, was the way that the environments would change as you moved through them. This is a huge change from the original, of course.

    I know there are some people complaining that Portal 2 was too short, but I thought the length was perfect. It took me about two weeks to finish it, mostly because I only had small segments of time. In contrast with sprawling open-world games, this game gives you a constant sense of direction. It also has a sense of urgency, though you can always solve the puzzles at your own pace. There was a time when I might have complained that 8 hours of gameplay was too short, but at this point I'm more concerned about a 'perfect' experience; Portal 2 is thoughtful and thought-provoking in every moment. It absolutely has might highest recommendation.
    Expand
  46. Ru3
    Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I only played portal 1 briefly, so for all intents and purposes I am a newcomer to Portal in Portal 2. But I have to say, I was riveted. Yes, I finished the entire campaign in 2 days, but that was playing for about... 5 hours each day, give or take. I took it slow. I enjoyed the dialogue, the interesting backstory and the hilarity of the voice actors.
    I wasn't even aware there was DLC. And
    to that end- who cares? If you don't like DLC, DONT DOWNLOAD IT. It's cosmetic. Seriously. I don't know what people are getting so worked up about; if people don't like the fact that the DLC costs so much, then DONT BUY IT. Sheesh.
    The graphics use a dated engine, fair enough. But it's not meant to look insane with visuals. The concept is what is being promoted. The game did exactly what it was meant to do- play with physics to solve the puzzles, and make it longer than portal 1. Which it did (apparently, since Portal 1 was short as hell).

    And if people didn't like the concept of shooting portals to solve puzzles, maybe they shouldn't have bought a freaking puzzle game! I am not a fanboy. I appreciate a job well done when I see it. Yes, it lasted 2 days for me, but they were two days well spent. And I'm not buying DLC- why? BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO- and that DOESNT affect what I feel about the game itself.
    Expand
  47. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best game what I played! I can´t understand the negative user score. The single player is short but perfectly written. The new game play elements are amazing!!!!
    Thank you Valve!!!
  48. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    A sequel greater than its predecessor. Great visuals. Great dialogue. Great gameplay. Online co-op is addicting.

    It's totally worth your money to go pick this game up today. Pick up the PS3 version and get the PC version through Steam for free. Steam and PSN integration is hopefully something we see more PlayStation games go to.
  49. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    In all of my years playing video games, and all the different types of games I've played, none of them ever made me want to keep playing more, more than Portal and Portal 2. A lot of people complain that Portal 2 is too short, but from my perspective, it adds more playback value. In my honest opinion, Portal 2 is but a pinch shy from a perfect game. Comparing my experiences with other masterpieces such as MGS4, Final Fantasy, and Legend of Zelda, Portal 2 gave me that urge to keep playing and make the most out of it. The only other game that also made me want to keep playing were (the earlier) Guitar Hero games and they didn't even have a storyline back then. So what does Portal 2 bring to the table? A great story, lovable and despicable characters, unique and addictive gameplay, high playback value, a cute almost childish simple sense of humor, and an awesome soundtrack. My only complaint is the fact that the final boss battle could have been a bit more difficult. I found some of the levels much harder than the final battle, and the fact that there are no more cake jokes. I'm not sure if you would call that a spoiler but I don't care. I love the game and I will be playing Portal 2 for a very, very long time. In three words, Portal 2 "was a triumph!" Expand
  50. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I loved this game. I'd rate it a 9 but for it to get to that average I must rate it as a 10. It took me 9 hours to complete single player and I still haven't gone through with developer's commentary, or finished co-op. It's definitely worth the money being that it comes with the PC and Mac version (a $50 value) free. I loved all of the black humor and the enveloping story. This is a sequel that I'm not at all disappointed with, being that I hardly expected one when playing through the first game. This is a great game that I'd whole-heartedly recommend to anyone, no matter if you're a gamer or not nor what genre of game you normally play, and, in my opinion, is a front runner for Game of the Year. That being said I'd have liked to see more of the testing elements combined in the tests and some more difficult tests for the hardcore gamers, that is my only negative comment. Expand
  51. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Another absolute triumph in almost every aspect by Valve, with a truly engrossing story and atmosphere that carves an extraordinary cinematic experience for the player, still fitting neatly into the cosmology of Half Life. The game introduces a multitude of new game play elements and mechanics to harness alongside most concepts of the first game. players will see the return of the benevolent and comical GLaDOS amongst an array of new and wonderfully voiced characters. Content is also provided in a healthy sum as once the single player campaign is completed, players can move on to the equally as lengthy and outstanding cooperative campaign. Portal 2 Vehemently pulls itself ahead of the crowd and will please newcomers to the franchise along with fans of the Brilliant and innovative first game a like, it is an exceptional game to say the least and will provide endless hours of fun. Expand
  52. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    1. If you beat the game in four hours, you should be proud of yourself. Not everyone can beat it as fast as you. Plus there are the co-op missions, which will add at least four more hours for someone with your skill.
    2. You're not being forced to pay for cosmetic DLC so why complain? Every dollar you choose to spend helps the developers.
    3. I think the PC should be able to see through
    multiple portals.
    4. I will agree that ARG was a disappointment, but that's more of a marketing scheme than gameplay value.
    Expand
  53. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    First off love the game never played the first but maybe I'll head back now. Anyways I notice how the pc version is one point higher which is not mine concern. What bothers me is that ps3 and xbox version are rated the same even though the ps3 gets a free pc copy and we can play with pc users. Either bring the rating for ps3 up or 360 down
  54. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    A wonderful game that does the original justice while adding wonderful new elements. Do not listen to the trolls, this game isn't 5 hours long or crappy. Not even close to a waste of money.
  55. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This is the best game out there. So far the story is amazing and I don't want to spoil you with anything. Just enjoy your ride through the Aperture facilities and try to find your way out of this mess. Only 3 games could be better in the future: Episode Three, Mass Effect 3 and Half-Life 3 :D
  56. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game with at least 15 hours of play time. Anyone who says otherwise is lying. Better than the first, totally worth the price. The cross platform play is also exceptional. Well done Valve.
  57. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    The story - "Valve-styled". It made me play all evening and, after that , all night long...
    Graphics - one of the strongest sides of this game. I'm still affected by these maps with VERY HUGE spaces. I'VE NEVER SEEN anything like this before!!!! It is still misunderstandable how can these maps load in ~10 seconds?! I'm also puzzled how can these maps fit into my notebook videocard's
    memory which is only 256mb, high-detailed?!
    Defects: 1. Game often shuted down. But I suppose that is a bug of my non-legal copy.
    2. The first 10-15 testchambers are really boring! But I understand that they are created for some unique idiots who will buy the second Portal without playing the first one! But as for me, it is really annoying!
    This game EXCEEDED ALL IMAGINABLE EXPECTATIONS!!!!
    Well, there are many small defects in this game, so I'd better rate "9", but this game really affected me... Then the only mark I can give is "10"!
    P.S.:Yes, I'm definitely buying the official copy...
    Expand
  58. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    It is awesome! Go away haters! Portal 2 is a must buy and does everything right! Best game out this year so far! The game doesn't deserve 0's and 1's. It deserves 9's and 10's!
  59. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Ingenious puzzles, unique environments, and clever writing combine to make Portal 2 one of the best games of all time. Access to Steam and a free copy of the PC version make the PS3 version of Portal 2 an even better choice.
  60. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of my favorite games of all time, even better than the first. The story, the puzzles, and the characters are all more complex this time around, in a good way. The ending itself is amazing, the moon sequence, followed by the adorable turret opera, topped off with the unexpected return of the (original?) companion cube! Well done Valve! Expand
  61. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    The self-righteous,entitled trolls around here are probably those who played the Valve "ARG" game and thought they'd win a house or something. Don't listen to them. This is honestly one of the best game I've ever played and I've been playing games since the Atari 2600. It's fun, It's clever, it reminded me that there are still people that *care* about making great games instead of **** them out from the game-o-tron factory.

    I am not even exaggerating when I say I laughed more playing this game than I laughed playing all the other games I ever played put together. Yes, it is that good. In fact, this is more than a game. It's an experience. Personally I have a hard time finishing a game these days. I usually lose interest halfway because,well, because game-o-tron factory. This is the only game I ever restarted right after finishing it (with the developer's commentaries of course) because I wanted MORE. In fact ,I want all game developers making a game right now to stop whatever they're doing and play this game. Better yet, playing this game should be mandatory in every game-making courses (or whatever it's called right now). Long story short: VALVe has done it again but BETTER. This is a masterpiece plain and simple. Go play it NOW.
    Expand
  62. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Please do not listen to any one who tells you this game is anything less that brilliant, you can easily forgive it for being short mainly due to the fact that is so fun you will find your self passing the single player more times than you feel comfortable with. The voice acting is top notch and it makes me hope to see Stephen Merchant reprising his role in any way possible, not only because he captured the character of wheatley brilliantly, but because his character is so lovable i couldn't imagine it any other way. The music is ear-gasmic, so much so it is the only game i would recommend buying the soundtrack. it offers more than any other sequel has ever done before by turning a 2 hour game in to a fully fledged 5 - 8 hour masterpiece with unforgettable characters and amazing gaming moments. you will find your self laughing more than being frustrated by the villains dead pan and hilarious comments. Expand
  63. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best story lines and satisfying game play I have played in years. It deserves All the love it gets. It's even greater on ps3, better graphics and PC and ps3 gamers can play online together.
  64. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I don't even understand how people are rating this game 0. Lack of content? There are 2 games in this game. DLC? Its so optional its crazy. And has anybody looked at the prices? I'm pretty sure its like a dollar for the things people are rating this game 0 for. Furthermore, when you buy the ps3 edition, you get a free computer version. Also, the game is $49.99 on steam right now. People pay 59 for freaking black ops STILL. FINALLY. If you bought the potato sack, and beat the games and all that junk, you got a free copy of portal 2. How are these the actions of a company that cares only about money?! Expand
  65. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    If you've ever enjoyed a Valve game, then you already know how good Portal 2 is. Every moment is a delight. And just to be clear, the single player campaign is longer than the Portal one by a good few hours, and that's not even considering the co-op. Cheap at twice the price, in my opinion.

    On the other hand, if your sole criteria for what makes a good game is how long it takes you to
    complete it, then you need to reassess your priorities. I'd rather have half a dozen hours of perfection than 80 hours of thinly spread repetitive grind. If you actually managed to come away from Portal 2 feeling disappointed, then you have bigger problems than having just 'wasted' your money on a video game. Expand
  66. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a fantastic game. Those who are complaining about the short length (it's about 7-8 hours without rushing) are neglecting to mention that those 7-8 hours are pure excitement. There is never a dull moment. No item finding, no leveling up, no fetch-quests. Without all the fluff common in other games, it leaves an incredibly well-written narrative coupled with mind-bending puzzles and jaw dropping set-pieces. Could it have been longer? Sure. But what you get is a fully satisfying experience, and it'll be easy to go back and play it multiple times. This one will be hard to beat for GotY. Expand
  67. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Valve picks quality of quantity in portal 2. The voice acting is fantastic, the story is amazing, the game play is loveable. After finishing single player, I can say that this is one of my favorite games. Its length is a tad short. I finished it in an evening and a morning, but like I said, its quality. And you can stretch the time by going for the trophies. But Valve better release some free DLC/ user made levels. In all, if you liked portal a lot, get this
    if you liked the idea of portal but thought it was a tad boring, look up some videos and see if you like it
    If you hated portal, wouldn't recommend it to you.
    Expand
  68. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I found this game an excellent sequel. For me, it is the games writing that really sets it apart. The comedy and voice acting is brilliant and at times they manage to even scare you despite you knowing there are no actual enemies in the game (as it is all puzzle based). The player gets to explore and understand the history of Aperture laboratories and makes the relatively closed world of the first instalment a much bigger one.

    On a puzzle based note, I did feel that the puzzles weren't as challenging as I thought they would be. I was expecting a much steeper difficulty curve, with only a couple of the puzzles posing any real difficulty (maybe I have been thinking with portals too long?). That said, there is no reason not to pick this title up if you are a fan of good puzzle games, a fan of the first one, or just very entertaining and clever writing. At the time of writing this, PSN has been down since its release so I am unable to comment on the cooperative mode, however, I have heard from fellow Steam users that it is just as good as the single player experience, if not with harder puzzles.
    Expand
  69. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best Game, sequel is at least as good than the first one.
    I am just not a big fan of Stephen Merchant voice though.




    [spoiler] .
    .
    .
    .
    I still prefer the song from PORTAL
    [spoiler]
    Expand
  70. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    never played the first so dont know about the sandbox style of the first..and when my misses bought me this game i was not looking forward to playing it(i like to shoot things) but it blew me away and i got addicted!! now if only the psn was working so i can co-op online
  71. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Well paced, atmospheric, challenging and ultimately rewarding, this game is really excellent. The visuals are stunning, the story is engaging and the overall aesthetic to the game really draws you in to the world. Whoever cast Stephen Merchant deserves a pay rise. Well done Valve.
  72. May 22, 2011
    10
    Great game! Masterpiece by Valve. Good graphics(Not amazing), and good physics. The game features some very funny characters. The storyline is very balanced, and since it follows up the original Portal, its a bit important you have played the original Portal. The single-player storyline might be a little to short, but its still an awesome game. The Co-op game-play, I personally find very very funny. The Steam integration on the PS3, and the free PC version is just great marketing by Valve, and it works flawless. 10/10

    An DLC has been announced, with news levels and so on! 10/10
    Expand
  73. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This is hands down the best game I have played in a long time. The story was incredible, and if you dont run crying to the internet for walkthroughs, single player is 7 hours minimum. To all those who are complaining about the length of the game, let me introduce you to a company caled VALVE. If you have the PC or PS3 version, steam will keep the game updated with new things, including dlc. Now while silly things like costumes cost money, things like new modes, and new levels will be released this summer, for FREE. Thats right, VALVE has always continued its support of their games, and more importantly the people who buy them. There will be plenty of new additions, that wont cost a dime coming in the future to MORE than justify the price... so get over it, dont cheat, enjoy the game, and look forward to FREE additional content http://playstationlifestyle.net/2011/04/29/free-portal-2-dlc-aiming-for-summer-release/ . Expand
  74. May 6, 2011
    10
    What makes me sad, is the amount of haters hating on this game just because of one little flaw. For example: GlaDOS didn't turn out exactly as I expected her to be so this game gets a 0, or, awesome game, 0. This game is exactly what we all want and a perfect sequel for the first Portal. THe humor is amazing, the characters are funny, and I don't know anyone who didn't enjoy the game.
  75. May 23, 2011
    10
    SHOUT OUT! TO ANYONE THAT LOVES PUZZLES, THIS IS YOUR GAME. This game is so much fun, I wish it didnâ
  76. May 15, 2011
    10
    Well worth it to play, I understand the PC gamers' agonies over the game and feel sympathy for them. But still, this game is incredibly polished, has professional voice acting, and has one of best co-ops of any game! the story is engaging throughout due to humor provided by GlaDoS, Wheatley, and Cave Johnson. They pretty much run the whole story as you are only the background character. Why criticize? Expand
  77. May 29, 2011
    10
    The original Portal quickly became a sensation in the gaming industry, so how do you follow it up, like this. Portal 2 does practically every thing right, it's laugh out loud funny, has brilliant puzzle design, and has a deep, rich back story about Apeture you will get to learn. The normal campaign will probably clock in from 5 to 7 hours on your first play through a the co-op will take about as long. that's around 10 to 14 hours considering you don't play through it again. And that's not what you do in Portal, you replay it countless times because it an excellent game. Overall, is Portal 2 better than the original? Well in terms of game play, to me it makes the original look like a tech demo because of all these creative new elements in the game. In terms of humor, music, and design it's also better. But in terms of which game changed the industry and will be most likely be remembered more, Portal 1 will always win. Expand
  78. May 29, 2011
    10
    This is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twists which will make you scratch your head and keep playing just to see what's going on; and new gameplay devices are introduced smoothly and expertly, never overwhelming the player. It's also interesting to see how Valve handled co-op mode: it's a whole new campaign by itself, and it features an indicator system that may not be as effective as using an actual headset, but it's surprisingly functional all the same. All in all, there's nothing wrong to be found here... Unless you're so spoiled about game length to the point that 16 hours devoted to high quality gaming isn't as good as 40 hours managing inventory just so you can endure another 40 hours of medieval fantasy cliches. Then, and only then, Portal 2 isn't the game for you. Expand
  79. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    wow people are giving this low scores because of its length have they played the multiplayer

    This game is a fun engaging puzzle game with a very good story attached to it if you like portal 1 this is a must buy if you like the half life setting this game has more of that if you like a puzzle game you can't go wrong with getting this game. The time it took me to finish the single player
    was about 7.5 hours those hours are the funnest hours you will ever have BUT you should play in 1 hour sessions as it might get repetitive. the multiplayer however is an extra 7 hours long so your getting 14 hours of gameplay compared to Mw2 where you would get 6 hours at most of gameplay so time isn't issue with this game

    My advice: Get it
    Expand
  80. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Rather than go on about how much I loved the game, let me instead leave you with some helpful notes. -The game plays like a tutorial. That is, the learning curve is extremely linear. Very rarely are you asked to do something complicated without being made to do a simple version of it a level or two before. Still, very rarely is anything explicitly spelled out. -As I see it, there are two different negative reactions to this. Seasoned players from Portal 1 are aware of this system and take full inventory of the tools available to him. These people complain that the game is too easy.
    Then there are the people who get stuck on a very specific part with a simple solution and they say the game is too hard.


    -Addressing the people in that second camp... The most common criticism I hear goes something like, "you're stuck in one section of the game forever looking for that one part of the wall you're supposed to shoot."
    You can get stuck in this game, but rarely if ever does it involve finding that one random spot to stick a portal. If you're firing wildly on the horizon, fishing for a spot to progress, you're doing it wrong. Progress is never accidental.


    -"I liked the test chamber parts, but the middle part sucked."
    As convincing as these non-test areas are, they're really test areas, just dirtier-looking. Anyone who attempts to navigate these parts normally is going to get stuck.


    -The story is well-written, well-acted, and well-paced. Some people are critical of it, comparing it to the first game. This is my take: The first game is interesting and elegant in a way that surprises you. What looks like a simple but unique puzzle game actually has an interesting, dark sense of humor. The sequel, unable to deliver this same kind of surprise, instead makes an effort to introduce new characters and bothers to flesh them out. But it doesn't lose its dark sense of humor.


    -Co-op is more of the same but with a buddy. The story isn't as complex, but the puzzles are more difficult. (although they are mostly confined to the obvious test chambers people seem to like) My advice? Play with someone you know you're not going to fight with. At any one point you'll feel stupid because the other guy figured something out before you could, or you'll be frustrated with the guy you're dragging along. Compared to most co-op games, this one is unforgiving in that success is clearly success and failure is clearly failure.


    -It's short. I finished it in two days playing pretty steadily. If you're on the kind of budget that allows you one game all year, this might not be for you. But if your budget allows two games, get a nice multi-player that lasts you a while and Portal 2.
    Expand
  81. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    the people who bash this game don't know what they're talking about, this is without doubt the best game of the year so far, and for me, even the decade. it's an achievement in video game game play, and a milestone in video game storytelling.
  82. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I bought the game, pre-owned, with the intention of trading it in as soon as I finished it, upon finishing it I knew that I could never sell this game. thought the first Portal was a great game, but too short. However Portal 2 is much longer, and so much better. Without doubt Portal 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. The puzzles are at times challenging but never frustrating, the voice acting is amazing and it is just an all round brilliant game. I would recommend anybody and everybody to buy this game. Hopefully there will be a third! Expand
  83. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. The visuals are great and gameplay is challenging at times. The announcement of the free upgrade with challenge mode will keep me nipping in and out of the game for some time. I love the fact that for once a third-party developer made the game look and perform better on the PS3 than the 360. Good work. Now announce Half-Life 3!
  84. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made . Don't make yourself the ignorance of not playing this all time masterpiece Awesome character design spectacular writing and amazing overall gameplay experience I didn't regret buying . Perfect in all ways!
  85. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I did not even play the first portal, and yet i am so convinced Valve have created a monster franchise out of this game. It was funny, witty, and truly cynical in it's humor. Thanks for the great game Valve. A plus for Playstation 3 owners, you get a free version of Portal 2 for Steam on PC, definitely sold me the copy I bought. But honestly, I did not even play the PC version. What I did like though, was to be able to play my Steam friends through the PSN while they were on Steam!!!! That was such a great idea. Expand
  86. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The perfect combination of puzzles and fps gaming, plus a wonderful co-op. The only problem is that the source shows its age but this amazing music make you forgive. Expand
  87. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my life, simply put. When i got done with Portal I was amazed at the quality of the game, (although being a side game) only to be even more impresses with Portal 2, it deserves game of the year and it'll get it! P.S.- It's a short game, so if you're looking to conserve money, rent it, beat it, and return it.
  88. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Playing this game was an excellent use of my time. The story was encapsulating, the puzzles were with lack of a better word, puzzling and the physics of the portals were mind boggling. Steven Merchant made an excellent cast member, he made the Wheatley character incredibly entertaining and funny. Best game of the year so far. Anybody who gives a bad review is either not a fan of puzzle games or is stuck at a certain puzzle and has gotten frustrated. Expand
  89. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    The sequal to a award-winning puzzle game, Portal 2 has a lot of expectations. Thankfully, it lives up to those. The game looks sharp, and the early levels had my jaw open most of the time. All 3 main characters are voiced amazingly, and the dialouge is nothing short of hilarious. The gameplay is as sharp as ever, and the new puzzle obstacles are unique, and none of them feel tacked on. The twists and turns in the plot can become absolutely ridicoulous (In a good way). Don't listen to the idiots complaining about the length of the game. The main campaign takes anywhere from 6-8 hours, depending on how smart you are, and is still a blast the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th times through. That would have been enough in my book, but the game goes even further and gives you a second, COMPLETELY DIFFERENT campaign just for co-op. That can take about 4 hours, and supports local and online co-op. This is a great game and easily takes the crown for my favorite puzzle games, and one of my favorite games in general. Expand
  90. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    A truely wonderful game. Quite unique in today's Market. This is not a game I would normally go for but the sheer lack of decent games out until the winter this year forced my hand.... And I'm so glad as it's one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.it's fun and it gets you thinking without being irritating. You feel like a genius when you finish some of the tests (when, in fact, you don't have to be!) . Ignore those who go on about value for money - it took me a week to finish the single player, playing about 2 hrs a night and I'm sure co-op offers even more. And I bought it for £25. The script is fun and considering there are only 3 characters in single player mode it really draws you in. If you fancy something a bit different, get this. Expand
  91. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    either you love Valve or hate them, but they sure know how to create a world that you just want to go back to again and again. Would be very difficult to out do portal 2, but the bar for all games has just been raised higher.
  92. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal was a very interesting game. It was a mix of a puzzle game, a first person shooter and a platformer. It not only was a success, but was also super fun, if short. Now we've got a sequel, and the good news is that it's even better. Portal 2 now has a more complex story, unlike the first, which was just that "you are a test subject, do these test chambers". With Portal 2, you have a robot companion called Wheatley (voiced by Stephen Merchant) who is your key to getting past the awoken GLADoS, before becoming the main bad guy and final boss at the end. The writing is superb, providing a great combination of humour and character development as GLADoS realises what her true self was before becoming her robot self. Portal 2 also makes a lot of improvements in the gameplay. The levels feel a lot larger, requiring you to think more outside the box and the Portal gun also makes the game run a lot faster than before. The campaign is still kind ofshort, clocking in at around 6/7 hours, but is still longer than a good number of first person shooters out there. While Portal 2 has no competitive multiplayer at hand, it does have co-operative multiplayer. The co-op follows on from the end of the single player campaign, though the story is no where near as important in the co-op. All of the puzzles, however, do feel just as great as the single player puzzles. Even better is that the PS3 owners get to play with the owners of the PC and Mac versions with the Steam integration, unlocking achievements and even chatting with their Steam friends without needing the Steam client on PC/Mac. Xbox owners are a bit left behind with this, which is a shame, but the game plays no differently in single and multiplayer, which is nice, showing that Valve put the same amount of love in the Xbox version as they did with the others.
    My final verdict on Portal 2? It's one of the best games of 2011 thus far and other games have got to do A LOT to beat it. The gameplay is a challenge, but the good type of challenge, the story and voice acting is superb by the whole cast ( J.K. Simmons as Aperture Science CEO, Merchant and Ellen McLain returning as the ex-bad bot GLADoS) and the co-op adds to it all. The length isn't as much of a problem as others say, but once it's all over, you'll just want to start again. Why? Because Portal 2 manages to reach a level of quality that other games can't even get close to.
    Expand
  93. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    It is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. Definitely one of the best games out there especially if you like puzzles. Expand
  94. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and my portal buddy sitting next to me. It was due to this that I could get a platinum as this game needs constant online multi p communication. What a game. Bring on Portal 3. Expand
  95. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    I wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quite as strong storywise. I really hope there will be some dlc (I'd pay for it!). Definitly remommended. Expand
  96. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game and a relief from all the generic FPS games out today. Well designed, funny and very clever execution. I loved the first Portal game and this takes the idea and converts it into a stand-alone A class title. Just the right length, certainly didn't feel robbed, and replay value from Co-Op mode. Excellent.
  97. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Superb game ! Went back to it today and picked up some trophies and played the free co-op DLC. The voice acting and music compliment the gameplay superbly. A must buy
  98. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending

    The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like
    gels, light bridges, lasers, and gravity beams. It's just great. If you don't play it, you are depriving yourself of one of the best experiences you can have, not just as a gamer, but as a person. Expand
  99. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. TG.
  100. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Now that the year of gaming has come to an end Portal 2 is safe in it's spot as the best game of 2011. Despite a lot of good games released nothing came close. Not just GOTY but GOTD (D=decade).
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 continues the original's model, both in terms of gameplay and humor, and reviewing it poses just as many challenges. So let's just get this out of the way right now: Portal 2 is videogame nirvana for the thinking man.
  2. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  3. That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]