User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 122
  2. Negative: 12 out of 122
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2011
    7
    Forgotten Sands was a surprisingly pleasant experience. I originally bought this game expecting nothing more than an abomination but I walked away happy with my $15.00 purchase. The game has a simple enough battle system where you can quickly start punching face right away without any struggle. My only annoyance about the fighting system is that the command to jump followed by jumping uponForgotten Sands was a surprisingly pleasant experience. I originally bought this game expecting nothing more than an abomination but I walked away happy with my $15.00 purchase. The game has a simple enough battle system where you can quickly start punching face right away without any struggle. My only annoyance about the fighting system is that the command to jump followed by jumping upon a target is not refined enough to my liking. I ended flying by enemies countless times. The puzzles are fun and gathering the "Sarcophagi" throughout the game came to be a pleasant hunt. The story is nothing special and the ending was lackluster. I was able to gather all my trophies in one play-through with doing the trials after I beat the game. Whether you are looking for an easy platinum or just want a way to kill 8 hours without bashing your head into a wall by the stupidity of a game, I would recommend purchasing this game used. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    5
    If you are a fan of the original Prince of Persia games, this game is for you. Has that classic Prince of Persia: Sands feel with next generation visuals. The combat and animation is a bit stiff, but overall its a nice throwback to how the series used to be. I loved the visuals and landscapes, opening was really cool. If you liked the Prince of Persia Sands games, I'd recommend thisIf you are a fan of the original Prince of Persia games, this game is for you. Has that classic Prince of Persia: Sands feel with next generation visuals. The combat and animation is a bit stiff, but overall its a nice throwback to how the series used to be. I loved the visuals and landscapes, opening was really cool. If you liked the Prince of Persia Sands games, I'd recommend this game to you else you might not enjoy it because it doesn't really do anything revolutionary to the series. Expand
  3. LBC
    Sep 8, 2010
    6
    Forgotten Sands is an enjoyable game, but it really just feels like an HD remake of the Sands of Time games. I was annoyed by the lack of variation in enemies throughout the game and by the overly simplified combat. I give Prince of Persia 2008 more credit than this game simply because it tried to go in a different direction. If you're a PoP fan, by all means get this game. Otherwise, aForgotten Sands is an enjoyable game, but it really just feels like an HD remake of the Sands of Time games. I was annoyed by the lack of variation in enemies throughout the game and by the overly simplified combat. I give Prince of Persia 2008 more credit than this game simply because it tried to go in a different direction. If you're a PoP fan, by all means get this game. Otherwise, a rental will do. It's a very short game. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    Forgotten Sands was the suprise game for me in 2010. I got it cheap and gived it a go. For me, it's the best in Prince of Persia series, while its more easier it has better gameplay too. Controls, graphics are better then any title in Prince of Persia games before. Game lasts about 8-10 hours but it's very enjoyful time. Decent game with a decent story and good gameplay. It isn't a game ofForgotten Sands was the suprise game for me in 2010. I got it cheap and gived it a go. For me, it's the best in Prince of Persia series, while its more easier it has better gameplay too. Controls, graphics are better then any title in Prince of Persia games before. Game lasts about 8-10 hours but it's very enjoyful time. Decent game with a decent story and good gameplay. It isn't a game of score 10 but it's a short, nice game to play through. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    An amazing platformer with some average combat is what I could say to shorten this review down by a lot, but i'm not. The newest entry to the Prince Of Persia series lives up to all expectations, climbing is tense and is a satisfying core gameplay mechanic, combat see's you take on lots of enemy's in one go, the story is pants and it overall feels like a solid game. Like I said climbingAn amazing platformer with some average combat is what I could say to shorten this review down by a lot, but i'm not. The newest entry to the Prince Of Persia series lives up to all expectations, climbing is tense and is a satisfying core gameplay mechanic, combat see's you take on lots of enemy's in one go, the story is pants and it overall feels like a solid game. Like I said climbing and using your ability's to smoothly over-come obstacles that normal humans would find impossible is brilliant fun. But unfortunately as the name suggests the game was soon forgotten despite how awesome it actually is. It had little problems yes, such as the combat being not as good as say Assassins Creed and the story was quite dull, but it is a very good game worthy of every pound and pence. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    A pretty enjoyable title that is affected by a short story, very simple controls and a fair bit of repetition. The only mildly challenging part of the game are the puzzles but these are few and far between even with the short story. What impressed me most about the game is the way it keeps you going though despite its drawbacks. I played this for several hours straight and managed to getA pretty enjoyable title that is affected by a short story, very simple controls and a fair bit of repetition. The only mildly challenging part of the game are the puzzles but these are few and far between even with the short story. What impressed me most about the game is the way it keeps you going though despite its drawbacks. I played this for several hours straight and managed to get the platinum trophy within 2 days. A very enjoyable but predictable story, not the best game out there but nowhere near the worst either. Good for a rent and a relaxing session of gaming. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2016
    7
    Prince of Persia: the Forgotten Sands knows what it does best, the parkour; so it is, thankfully, the focal point of the game. It’s challenging, demanding of skill, fun, unique and rewarding, and is all set in fantastically designed environments. But everything else in the game is decent at best, and the battle sequences are very sub-par. On the whole, though, it is a good game that isPrince of Persia: the Forgotten Sands knows what it does best, the parkour; so it is, thankfully, the focal point of the game. It’s challenging, demanding of skill, fun, unique and rewarding, and is all set in fantastically designed environments. But everything else in the game is decent at best, and the battle sequences are very sub-par. On the whole, though, it is a good game that is worth a go, or if you’re just a Prince of Persia fan – even if its quality is pretty much purely down to the parkour.

    74/100.
    Expand
  8. Oct 9, 2016
    7
    That is really nice game, but WAY TOO EASY. It could have had better plot and some puzzle levels (well, the content in game is too easy to be called puzzle).
  9. Jan 4, 2017
    5
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 49/100
    Mein User Score = 5/10
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    50
    Prince of Persia is a great series with a lot of potential, but the developers just didn't hit the mark with this entry.
  2. The Prince makes a triumphant return to his roots in The Forgotten Sands, and all of your fears of this being a rushed game to simply be released alongside the movie can be abolished; we'll put that one down to good timing.
  3. 70
    In the end, though, there's only so much we can praise an exercise in teaching old dogs old tricks. Forgotten Sands is exactly one step back for one step forward. Let's hope a flying leap is on the way.