Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as toPES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as to how the player's body will automatically shape to receive it. Trueball Tech adds more freedom, with full 360-degree control within several yards around the player and the ability to shield the ball from opposing players, use deft controls to wrong-foot them, and intuitive methods to master close control. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 - Engineered With Emotion
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is very much what its name implies, an evolution. Konami have taken off the gloves and issued a very strong challenge to EA; whether or not this will translate to actual sales is yet to be seen as this battle will be fought over the coming year.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    Even though some long lasting problems -like the poor AI- are still here, the new edition of PES is one of the best representations of the "beautiful game".
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    It sacrifices little of the feel while introducing some new concepts that I hope stick around. While aspects like the bid to introduce emotion to players remains inconclusive and I'd like the developer refine its control scheme, for the first time in a while the future of the franchise is more exciting than its past.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The best Pro Evo has been all generation and, for players looking for a more in-depth and grounded game of football, a genuine alternative to FIFA.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Calling it a simulation doesn't quite feel right, but this captures the look and action of a football match better than anything else I've played.
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    On the field we run into a more complex and deeper game, in which it’s all about patience and steel nerves. This is partly because PES 2014 is more a soccer simulator than a game and partly because the game part of it still has many flaws. It’s a promising step for the next generation of PES-games though, that much is obvious.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    This new PES 2014 has made efforts in its gameplay, offering freer and more realistic actions, but it disappoints on the technical side. Slowdowns in front of goal are annoying, most of the players (except the stars) are unrecognizable, the public is poorly done... In short, we are still far, far away from catching the ogre FIFA.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 92
  2. Negative: 53 out of 92
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Anyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better thanAnyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better than FIFA, it just needs that final off-field mode to fully surpass Fifa. The current sales are already in PES' favour and that shows that people are truly acknowledging PES Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    Cuando llegó la actual generación de consolas, los títulos PES no lograron adaptarse bien a PS3 y Xbox 360, logrando un producto mal acabado eCuando llegó la actual generación de consolas, los títulos PES no lograron adaptarse bien a PS3 y Xbox 360, logrando un producto mal acabado e incluso irritable para los seguidores tradicionales de la saga.

    Pues bien, llega una nueva temporada futbolística y Konami quiere recuperar el trono que una vez fue suyo, o al menos recortar la ventaja para hacer dudar a los usuarios en qué título deportivo comprar. Seguramente estéis de acuerdo conmigo en que el mayor lastre que tenía PES era su motor gráfico. Gracias a Hideo Kojima y su nuevo motor gráfico, el Fox Engine, que entre otros grandes juegos moverá el próximo Metal Gear Solid.

    Gracias al Fox Engine podremos disfrutar de unos partidos con una calidad gráfica impresionante. Mencionar que el graderío, los efectos de iluminación y las texturas son el mayor logro del estudio en la actual generación. Pero aquí tenemos que frenar nuestro entusiasmo y darle un palito a Konami. No tendremos partidos con lluvia, excusándose el estudio en qué no le daba tiempo añadir la física de la pelota con el terreno de juego encharcado…

    Destacar que dispondremos del sistema True Ball Techque, que logrará que los movimientos del balón sean más realistas y no parezca una pelota de playa. Esto se notará desde el primer momento, ya sea a la hora de pasar o disputando el balón. Hablando de disputas, destacamos el espectacular contacto físico que ofrece este nuevo PES, con choques y entradas que seguramente os impresionarán.

    Los rostros de los jugadores están recreados prácticamente a la perfección gracias al PES ID que ya se añadió el año pasado. Pero en esta ocasión además de aumentar el número de jugadores recreados, han añadido sus movimientos y gestos más característicos.

    Nos ha gustado mucho la forma que tiene Konami de ambientar los partidos, que es otro punto a destacar del nuevo PES. Antes de comenzar el partido veremos a los jugadores en túneles de vestuarios y colocarse posteriormente para que la prensa pueda tomar todas las fotos que necesiten. También podremos ver a los jugadores protestar cuando el árbitro pite el final por alguna jugada polémica vivida en el encuentro. Los cánticos de las aficiones son reales y tomados directamente de los estadios lo que hará que nos metamos de lleno en los partidos. Sin duda, las licencias estrella del juego son la Champions League, la Copa Libertadores, la UEFA Europa League y la AFC (la Champions de Asia). Por eso, hay equipos sueltos de ligas como Alemania, tales como el Bayern de Múnich.

    Hablando de esto último, Konami ha incluido la nueva característica llamada Heart, que su función es que los jugadores son motivados por el público del estadio dependiendo si juegan como locales o visitantes. Punto negativo para nuestra liga que se queda huérfana en lo que a la recreación de estadios se refiere.

    Pero por desgracia no es oro todo lo que reluce, ya que encontraremos algunos puntos negativos que seguramente os irriten más de la cuenta. Será prácticamente imposible quitarle el balón a nuestro rival sin hacer falta y si lo logramos será por fallo de nuestro rival, no por mérito nuestro. Los árbitros bajo mi punto de vista son bastante tarjeteros, ya que faltas que parecen inofensivas las castigarán con cartulina amarilla.

    El lanzamiento a balón parado es otro punto a discutir. Ahora dispondremos de una línea formada por puntos para apuntar en la dirección que queramos y seguramente os sea útil para lanzamientos precisos pero echaréis en falta sacar el balón rápido para sorprender al rival.

    El modo multijugador tampoco nos funcionó como debería. La estabilidad de los partidos deja aún que desear, con un lag molesto que influye en la disputa de los partidos. Se hace raro que a estas alturas todavía sigan pasando cosas como estas. El estudio se tira piedras sobre su propio tejado al no cuidar un componente tan importante para la mayoría de usuarios.

    En conclusión, Konami ha empezado prácticamente de cero para asentar las bases para la siguiente generación, porque en la actual llega tarde. Tomamos a PES 2014 como un título de transición y es de agradecer que pongan empeño en lograr recuperar aquellos años maravillosos. Algo que tendrán que mejorar será la adquisición de licencias pero aún así nos encontramos un buen juego gráficamente muy vistoso y con unos efectos sonoros bastante logrados, con comentarios de Carlos Martínez y Julio Maldonado “Maldini”.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    6
    Okay, where to start. PES 2014 is still PES, I've been playing PES since it was ISS (getting on for 20 years ago) and it hasn't changed allOkay, where to start. PES 2014 is still PES, I've been playing PES since it was ISS (getting on for 20 years ago) and it hasn't changed all that much in that time, the core gameplay remains recognisable.

    This version however, has quite a few downsides.

    The framerate is shocking, when you're actually in play it's fine but the pre match cutscenes and replays look like .gif files.

    The crowd moves and it looks terrible, they probably have 15 frames of animation, and they're very low res.

    The English commentary is nowhere near as good as it should be, it's possibly the worst of all the sports games that have commentary, it's getting to the point where I just don't think they should include it.

    It is constantly loading something.

    It's still pretty fun though, if you can get it cheap and despise FIFA, go for it. And personally I don't mind the lack of official licenses, I enjoy the editing. I spent many an hour on PES 4 and 5 editing all the premier league teams, but all in all the technical issues this game has disappoint me. I don't think old gen consoles like the PS3 and 360 can handle the new Fox game engine, and it suffers.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    This game dissapointed me,it is just dissapointg to me i am one of the bigest fans i know of pes since i am alive.....i played countless hoursThis game dissapointed me,it is just dissapointg to me i am one of the bigest fans i know of pes since i am alive.....i played countless hours of pes,reaching top rankings,having fun whit frends and then this comes out that for me ruined the franchise....When i first started playing everything seemed normal,when the game started the menu was different it was a little bit strange but...i went to play master league and become legend...everything was missing,the cutscenes,the talking,,everything that made the game fun it was not there and in the match the game just was horrible bugs everywhere and the grapich were horendes but how much i hate this game at the same time i love it.....this broke my heart i was not expecting such a tthing from you konami you were the best in football games....in this game you went the fifa way and they/you failed...miserably...and teh worst thing is every player llooks dam the same.....i went to fc london to rename it and make my own club and every onfe of the players was same i cud not recognize them...this game is dissapointing in every level if you are a fan and a newbe..so it deserves a 3-and this is coming from a old fan of the franchise..dissapointed. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    2
    PES 2014 is worst PES edition ever.
    New engine made it worse. Comparing with PES 2013:
    Graphics- worst Skills- worse and slow, cant
    PES 2014 is worst PES edition ever.
    New engine made it worse. Comparing with PES 2013:
    Graphics- worst
    Skills- worse and slow, cant realize who is better,
    Copycat of FIFA, dont know which fifa but the fact is PES gone to FIFA rout, and if that we PES FANS wanted, we would have converted to FIFA.
    Commentary- same as PES 13, no development and FIFA is much better in that area.
    Atmosphere a bit better.
    MANY,MANY,MANY little details yet to say, but I leave it to KONAMI studio.
    My guess if they make next year same BAD game or if we dont see real touch-development, then I can assure that all will play FIFA soon!
    RIP PES
    Collapse
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    the worst pes ever play like s*** It is absolutely copy from Fifa This version must be free not for sale worst of money Nothing to saythe worst pes ever play like s*** It is absolutely copy from Fifa This version must be free not for sale worst of money Nothing to say about this version Waste time buy Fifa 14 is better a lot Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    0
    I never thought that I would load a pes game and regret playing EACH AND EVERY time I do. I keep on wanting it to be worth it, but haveI never thought that I would load a pes game and regret playing EACH AND EVERY time I do. I keep on wanting it to be worth it, but have toaccept that it won't be. AI and passing is terrible, why the hell do you need to use two control sticks just to beat an inferior player? The difficulty setting seems to centre more around a a manufactured inability to get a rebound to go anywhere near one of your players rather than increased AI. I may have to go FIFA next year, which is heart breaking. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews