Prototype 2 PlayStation 3

Prototype 2 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Behold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your wayBehold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your way across the ravaged wasteland of New York Zero to take revenge on the man responsible: Alex Mercer. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Blackwatch Collectors Edition Trailer - Prototype 2
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    95
    Prototype 2 is a sequel that far surpasses its predecessor with an interesting character, good storytelling, and a lot of gratuitous violence.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    90
    The Bio-Bomb turns your enemy into a ticking time bomb. While your victim explodes into a gory mess of tendrils, tearing his colleagues apart, Heller walks away as if nothing has happened. Because everyone knows: "cool guys don't look at explosions". [May 2012, p.105]
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    86
    Prototype 2 is not perfect and there are a few things which need to do a better job next game - like the lack of variation in missions - , but nonetheless this is one of the most visceral, spectacular and brutal sandboxes out there. A far better videogame than its predecessor.
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    80
    Prototype wasn't a bad experience, but Prototype 2 builds on that framework, and provides a much richer gameplay experience. You might not replay this several times, but the main storyline provides about 12 to 15 hours of enjoyment, and the completetists out there will continue leveling Heller up long after the game is over.
  5. May 7, 2012
    78
    You can have some fun with it, but if you're looking for a challenging and engrossing open world game then you might be a bit disappointed.
  6. May 4, 2012
    75
    All in all, Prototype 2 does a good job of creating an interesting combat engine, but falls short visually, in story-telling, and general mission design. Assuming that you are geared for some mindless death and dismemberment, this is a good way to spend the time until the new releases hit the open market.
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    60
    Like its predecessor, Prototype 2 is an enjoyable distraction rather than a must-play affair. Its varied combat and satisfying traversal mechanics provide the title with a surprisingly solid basis, but a lacklustre plot and dreary setting prevent it from competing with the very best in the open-world genre. There's certainly fun to be had here, but it's of the disappointingly dispensable kind.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Prototype 2 is a masterpiece of open world destruction! Like killing hordes of zombies? of course you do! The game looks and soundsPrototype 2 is a masterpiece of open world destruction! Like killing hordes of zombies? of course you do! The game looks and sounds amazing. I love how many ways there are to kick serious ass! You can be sneaky stealthy ninja type or just a complete beast and charge the obstacles head on. Operate tanks, fly choppers, use tons of weapons or become the weapon. If you like open-world games, if you want to have god-like powers pick this game up now! Getting a new copy gets you Rad-net which opens up a bunch of mini games that are good-times when hanging out with a bunch of peeps. I liked being Alex Mercer, but Heller is even more bad-ass! Two thumbs up, 10 out of 10! Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I have both played and watched someone play this game, good graphics better than last game for sure, not crysis but def good, the gameplay isI have both played and watched someone play this game, good graphics better than last game for sure, not crysis but def good, the gameplay is solid,fast and fun, the story can be a bit slow for me, but i'm not dissapointed, what makes this game stand out is the violence, and explosions, good effects, i enjoyed this game and would give it a 8 or higher, only gave burning skies a 10 because it was getting 0's which is unfair, Expand
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    Compared too the first game, this game is great. Compared to other games, this game is still great. The story isn't as strong as I would haveCompared too the first game, this game is great. Compared to other games, this game is still great. The story isn't as strong as I would have liked since there was a lot of hype put into making Heller be an indepth protagonist. But it is really interesting to see Alex Mercer as one of the enemies now. The game play is pure fun. Its something alot of game lack these days, actually just pure fun. No grinding, no prestige, just running straight up walls and then elbow drop tanks into oblivion. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    First of all, the game still suffers from the same problems that the original [PROTOTYPE] game had. The combat is basic at best, as when youFirst of all, the game still suffers from the same problems that the original [PROTOTYPE] game had. The combat is basic at best, as when you hit any character at all in the game, there is no impact whatsoever from them which just feels like you are button mashing and slicing through thin air, even the fist to fist combat has no impact from it. They really need to take a look at Rocksteady’s fighting formula as they know how to make already perfect combat more refined (don’t believe me then go play Batman Arkham Asylum and Batman Arkham City). I also still have a huge problem with the way Heller consumes people, like the way Mercer did in the first [PROTOTYPE] game, all of the obsorbing happens outside the body (which is weird even for the type of game it is). This frustrated me a bit as surely the changes should be happening inside Heller’s body regardless (maybe have his arms and various other body parts rumble or something? It’d sure look better than it all happening outside his body).
    As much as the game tries to get you into the story by planting the whole revenge theme into the plot (like what was very well done with Assassin’s Creed II), I found myself not caring in the slightest about the story and why Heller is out for revenge and why he’s hunting and consuming almost every mission. So if you’re hoping the game has a better story than the original, you are sure to be disappointed.
    I honestly found myself just playing the game to go around and find all of the collectibles scattered about NYZ and doing all of the side quests, because they were fun to do and were a distraction from the story (not to mention, very easy achievements/trophies). That was the main reason that kept me coming back to play [PROTOTYPE] 2, plus gliding about the city and never being in any danger of dying was pretty fun as well. You will never be challenged in [PROTOTYPE] 2 (unlike the original in some cases), even playing it on Insane difficulty (not using the Game mode), I only died once or twice near end. You are insanely overpowered in this game and some gamers may/may not like that. To younger gamers, I think it’ll appeal more, but to gamers who are proper gamers and want a decent challenge, it’s fair to say that [PROTOTYPE] 2 is not the game for you.
    As for the ending of the game (I’m not going to spoil it), but I don’t know where the [PROTOTYPE] we series goes from here (I was saying the same thing about The Force Unleahsed series, but hey why should killing of the main character mean that he/she won’t be in the next game). Let’s just hope that Radical Entertainment take more time with the next installment(s) to the series.
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    Prototype 2 is a true example of fan service based games. It's still Prototype but it's tweaked gameplay remains (with some new cool moves) noPrototype 2 is a true example of fan service based games. It's still Prototype but it's tweaked gameplay remains (with some new cool moves) no less fun than it's predecessor, having tweaked graphics, improved 'story based' side missions, a living, much more fun to explore city then before, making this game (In my opinion) a solid sequel. If you liked the first game, chances are high that you don't want to miss out on Prototype 2! In the previous Prototype, the city didn't feel like a living city. (as far as a city filth with walking dead can be) What i didn't really like about Prototype 1, was that during the storyline, the more you will progress, the less freedom you will have as the whole city ends up like a chaotic slaughter-field full of infected and armies attacking you from every corner and skyscrapers that look more like cardboard boxes instead of buildings. Since it's an openworld, all of this made the game (for many of us including me) less fun to explore. ^ What i like about Prototype 2 is that this will not return. Unlike it's predecessor the the city is actually fun to explore and feels alive. The city is split up in 3 seperated Zones. You have a Yellow Zone, a triage area full of crowded shanty towns and the poor. What you will find sometimes are some infected, immediately taken down by Black watch. You will hear pedestrians having conversations with each other and feel their pain, children crying in street corners and see how pedestrians will be treated like prisoners by Black Watch. Then you have the non-infected Green Zone, fully controlled by armies and Black Watch troops. A Zone where safety is said to be almost guaranteed. People just live their daily lives. What you will find however are cages with infected and even pedestrians locked up. The Red Zone, the name says it all, is crowded with zombies and infected in every corner. You're in the middle of a war between armies, zombies and Black Watch troops defending their headquarters. You will find cages with pedestrians being locked up by Black Watch who treat them like prisoners. The Red Zone is Manhattan, home of Alex Mercer. The fact that the city feels much more alive and every zone has it's own atmosphere, makes Prototype 2 for me definitely worth having a look at. Storywise Prototype has never been known for it's storytelling and character development. If you're looking for an amazing story driven game, you will most likely be disappointed. However, i do think the whole concept is pretty unique and find the plot pretty interesting, so i really wouldn't call it's story bad. It's just a shame the way the way the story explains isn't all that interesting and the characters aren't that likeable, except for Alex Mercer this time around. In it's predecessor Prototype 1, i personally didn't find Alex Mercer all that interesting. Sure, he had a cool look but i couldn't really care about his personality and he seemed kinda flat. This time around, as a villian, Alex Mercer started to peek my interest! (Warning, SKIP TIL THE END if you don't want to read any spoilers) - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Spoiler - - - - - - - - - - - - - I like the fact that Mercer makes us believe that he is innocent and explains James Heller (Main Protagonist) that the whole viral outbreak is a lie, and that Black Watch is corrupt. Alex Mercer sees something in James Heller and infects him, giving him similar powers. During the story, you will find out why Mercer has given Heller these powers and that he wasn't the only one having these similar powers. Alex Mercer has infected you giving you (James Heller) similar powers and wants you to work together with him defeating Black Watch. All of this seems like Alex Mercer isn't "the bad guy" afterall until you find out that Alex Mercer isn't actually much better than Black Watch. You find out that he was responsible for the death of his family and has spreaded the infection himself. During the story, you will find out that you haven't been the only one infected by Mercer and you will have to fight your way defeating these people. It appears that Mercer has been recruiting a private army of infected like himself to turn against Black Watch. As you (James Heller) uncover the truth about Mercer and turn against him, Alex Mercer claims you as an un thankful traitor who takes advantage of his power and ends up kidnapping your daughter who appeared to be still alive. By working together with Dana Mercer, Alex his sister you will face your biggest threat, Alex Mercer. - - - - - END OF CONTAINING SPOILERS - - - - - Protototype isn't a revolutionary step forward, but feels like a solid tweaked version that most of the fans will probably love! Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    This was a fun game to play. Pretty much if you enjoyed the first game you'll probably enjoy this one too. I thought the game was a bit onThis was a fun game to play. Pretty much if you enjoyed the first game you'll probably enjoy this one too. I thought the game was a bit on the easy side and it does get kind of repetitive towards the end. In my opinion, it's not really much of a step up from the first one, it's more on the same level than anything else. It's at least worth checking out. I don't regret playing it but I don't know if I'll ever play it again. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    This game like the first ones is a clone of another game , prototype 1 is a copies of inFamous 1 and Prototype 2 is Prototype 1 withThis game like the first ones is a clone of another game , prototype 1 is a copies of inFamous 1 and Prototype 2 is Prototype 1 with another number and a clone of infamous 2 BUT not so fun like inFamous series Expand

See all 37 User Reviews