Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Quantum Conundrum, players take on the role of a 12-year old nephew to the eccentric Professor Fitz Quadwrangle (Professor Q). Upon entering the Professor�s vast, highly customized mansion, players quickly realize their uncle has gone missing. In order to find him,In Quantum Conundrum, players take on the role of a 12-year old nephew to the eccentric Professor Fitz Quadwrangle (Professor Q). Upon entering the Professor�s vast, highly customized mansion, players quickly realize their uncle has gone missing. In order to find him, players will need to use an Interdimensional Shift Device, allowing them to manipulate space and objects. While on the journey, becoming adept at switching between dimensions will help them trek from one bizarre room to the next. It might sound easy enough, but it�s a tall order for a 12-year old in a vast, kooky mansion! Once players start shifting between dimensions, they�ll soon discover physics is on their side! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    We love this. [Issue#221, p.79]
  2. This is a charming and fun adventure that easily earns its place among PSN's elite--and we could all do with a bit more thinking(whether with portals or dimensions)every now and then. [Sept 2012, p.84]
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    86
    Quantum Conundrum is a funny and original title created with great mastery.
  4. The learning curve is spot on, with each new dimension properly introduced and then quickly integrated with the others, so that you're always making progress and never feel patronised.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    78
    It's by no means a bad game and in fact, it has all the earmarks of a fantastic game, simply because it's so similar to the godly Portal. But the latter titles were never frustrating, and you felt more pride than relief upon finishing one of the puzzles. Here, glimpses of that brilliance are evident, but we lose sight of them far too often.
  6. Jul 27, 2012
    77
    It is a very, very good series of puzzles. And, (I suppose we can't avoid the elephant in the room any longer) if you've been looking for the smaller, cheaper, nephew to Professor Portal, without the co-op play, the polished presentation, or the laughs, Quantum Conundrum is it.
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    50
    Too easy for older gamers, and a little over the heads of younger gamers, Quantum Conundrum finds itself in a sort of purgatory between the two, and like a younger brother it can't help but live in the shadow of its older sibling's success.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This game may seem very similar to Portal, but has new game-play skills and other cool things that set it apart. Platforming is way tooThis game may seem very similar to Portal, but has new game-play skills and other cool things that set it apart. Platforming is way too floaty, which makes it much harder in levels that involve platforming, but that does not make it a bad game, for it is still a great game. The ability to change between 4(5 counting your own) dimensions is a genius idea, and is only a bit similar to Portal, because it involves physics. It is funny mostly, but at times the humor is off. However, this is an excellent game, and you should buy it if you are a fan of hard puzzles, intriguing characters, and physics. Fans of Portal will be delighted. Collapse
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    This is a really funny game and a strong bet for any Portal fans. This is first person, physics based puzzle game. You alternate betweenThis is a really funny game and a strong bet for any Portal fans. This is first person, physics based puzzle game. You alternate between dimensions to trigger switches and buttons to finish the stage. There are some plataforming elements, such as jumping between points, and in my opnion the game fails on this point - I find the jump button rather unresponsive. The puzzles are very clever and the difficulty is just fine. Art is beautiful and narrative keeps you motivated to continue, also being funny and getting some laughs out of you. The game somewhat stutter on textures between stages, but fortunately it disappears quickly and doesn't really happen on crucial moments, such as during a puzzle. There is some replay value to get the fastest time and fewest moves, if you are into that kind of thing (I, myselft, dislike it). It deserves a strong 8 for its current price. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    The first thing I have to say is I enjoy the puzzles and levels of which are in this level. And when they are accompanied by beautifulThe first thing I have to say is I enjoy the puzzles and levels of which are in this level. And when they are accompanied by beautiful graphics and great voice overs I really enjoyed the game as a whole but there are some problems Firstly while the graphics are good and crisp it does have some texture pop-in during the beginning or end of each level. along with the big doors taking 15 seconds to open there are some impediments to the pace of the game Second of all I would say that the game should have had more levels as I only felt interested in the game in 1 play through.

    Lastly I believe most of the puzzles are WAY too easy and makes the game less enjoyable overall. however I do love the game in spite of the multiple flaws I'm giving the game a 7/10
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    4
    Warning: this review is a blatant rip-off of Yahtzee's review of QC because I can't be asked to write my own.
    Quantum Conundrum is a game
    Warning: this review is a blatant rip-off of Yahtzee's review of QC because I can't be asked to write my own.
    Quantum Conundrum is a game available on Steam that comes to us from Kim Swift, ex-Valve luminary who brought us the gameplay behind Portal. But it means that an immediate comparison is drawn between Quantum Conundrum and Portal, both being quirky first-person physics puzzlers with repetitive environments, a voiceover of ambiguous motivation, and an almost fetishistic approach to the concept of science; although Quantum Conundrum takes a slightly more circuitous route that overlooks The Haunted Mansion at Disneyland.

    You are a small boy who's been sent to stay with his inventor uncle, Professor Quadrangle, but arrives to find him absent in all but voice and needing you to rescue both him and the house from a strange dimensional flux. And after a few dialogue lines, I realized that the eccentric, morally questionable genius with a prominent Q in their name was voiced by John de Lancie of Star Trek: The Next Generation fame. Blimey, that's about as typecast as you can possibly get.

    So the puzzles are driven by a handheld device called the Portal gu - oh, wait. Actually, a sort of Power Glove thing that allows you to shift between four alternate dimensions (read: screen filters) that alter the physical properties of the objects around you. It's kind of like a glove-mounted **** dispenser except it alters the physical properties of things other than your own legs. There's the piña colada dimension, where everything is light and fruity; the Black Russian dimension, where things sit much more heavily and you start clutching your head complaining about your ex-wife; the absinthe dimension, where everything floats off into the sky to come crashing apocalyptically down the following morning; and the slow motion dimension, where this analogy kind of breaks down. Combining these four states of matter, you must use the available loose objects to depress switches, bypass hazards, and transport yourself to the exit door. But unlike Portal, the nature of the four dimensions makes it a lot easier to find multiple solutions to complex puzzles. And by that I mean, hope you've played a lot of Feces Tetris, because it's time to stack ****

    Since you're all so crushingly obvious, you're probably thinking: "A comedy puzzle game by a Portal creator voiced by Q from Star Trek? My money could not exit my wallet fast enough." But slow down, moneybags, because I don't actually like Quantum Conundrum. And considering the decent writing and talent, it had to work pretty hard to reach that point.

    Quantum Conundrum is a game that wouldn't have gotten very far into its elevator pitch. Four words in - "first person precision platforming" - and the CEO will be hammering on the call button like it will somehow make his heart start working again. Jumping on really obnoxiously small platforms from a first-person perspective where your feet exist in some hypothetical netherplane is like successfully penetrating a really splintery glory hole blindfolded and with a ten-foot run-up. But QC just loves making us jump from one flying piece of small, uneven furniture to another to cross its deadly pits. What's especially obnoxious as that you need to get through each level without dying to 100% the game, and you might glide through 90% of the puzzles in a level like a diarrhea surfboard before dying fifty times at the end trying to jump onto an inflatable sofa held aloft by a giant fan and crossed fingers.

    On that note, if you are basing a precision game around a physics engine, then it would be nice if that engine could be relied upon to do the same thing each time. There's one bit where you have to use zero gravity in slow mode to make four boxes hover at the right height to make stepping stones, but they only fell in a pattern that would allow such a thing about 20% of the time, usually rolling merrily around for a while like D20s on a fat nerd's primary flab shelf. An object thrower might have flung end tables in a consistent arc ninety thousand times, but the moment I activated slow motion to jump on one it caught on a ledge and went spinning off into a ring of hungry wolves. Sometimes buttons wouldn't work 'cause the power would get most of the way along the wire to whatever it was supposed to activate and then stop and zip right back. That's right, my frame rate was so bad that it was literally interfering with the speed of light.

    "Wait a minute," I hear you rudely interrupt, "if you suspected your frame rate was sticking its **** up the physics engine, did it not occur to you to lower the graphical settings?" Of course it occurred to me. Just a shame it didn't occur to Airtight Games, 'cause there are no **** graphical settings. And who the **** needs motion blur? Anyway, I've got to score this so I guess I should give it a 4 out of 10.
    Expand

See all 5 User Reviews