Quantum Theory PlayStation 3

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    One of the most under-appreciated games of the year. It seems like everyone jumped to conclusions about this game and followed the lead of gamers that failed to give this one a chance. Story was entertaining, game-play was challenging, voice acting was very good. The game was also innovative in it's use of environment. Those that criticize it say that it is a copycat, but is it that big ofOne of the most under-appreciated games of the year. It seems like everyone jumped to conclusions about this game and followed the lead of gamers that failed to give this one a chance. Story was entertaining, game-play was challenging, voice acting was very good. The game was also innovative in it's use of environment. Those that criticize it say that it is a copycat, but is it that big of a deal to utilize a working dynamic? Call of Duty copied Medal of Honor's aiming system. Killzone 2 tried and failed to incorporate a similar cover system. Why criticize Quantum Theory for doing it, and getting it right? That aside, I feel sorry for those that did not purchase the game and missed out on a real spectacular multiplayer experience. That was the shining jewel of Quantum Theory. My only criticism about the game is the lack of an On/Off option for auto aim. Unfortunately, just as the internet is good for finding information, when misused, like it was on the harsh reviews, it can really kill a good game. It is not possible to find a multiplayer game anymore. That is unfortunate because it was a real blast when it lasted. For those of you who judged it by the demo, or did not give it half a chance, I am disappointed. What should have been a decent turnout for a spectacular game was killed by ignorance on the internet. Next time, actually play the whole game before you review it. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2010
    5
    The game isn't terrible but it could have been a whole lot better, weapons although creative made very little difference due to the fact that almost all enemies died instantly from a headshot, lack of story didn't really help " die this" and "die that" they should have worked a bit better on the script. Too short and lacking in variation of enemies, the only other problem the game had wasThe game isn't terrible but it could have been a whole lot better, weapons although creative made very little difference due to the fact that almost all enemies died instantly from a headshot, lack of story didn't really help " die this" and "die that" they should have worked a bit better on the script. Too short and lacking in variation of enemies, the only other problem the game had was the 2 characters in the story barely had any relationship so players couldn't really feel any connection to the them. Considering that this was joint made by Tecmo and KOEI these 2 should have done better. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    1
    I'm not going to waste my time writing a review and you shouldn't waste your time playing this game. If you've bought this game don't open it! Instead return it to the store for a full refund.
  4. May 2, 2011
    1
    Oh my God, Tecmo-Koei, what are you trying to do to us?! Better saying, what are you trying to do to YOURSELVES? Not since the Atari times had I seen such mediocrity in a game. It's so bad It'll make you cry. Please, Tecmo-Koei, redeem yourselves by releasing a HD version of Romance of the 3 Kingdoms and throw this in the sea.
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    5
    i love gears of war so even though this game looks like a rip off it still looked fun. unfortunitly it was very sloppily put together . its buggy its glitchy the story makes even less sense then gears of war does ... which is pretty remarkable . the voice acting is ok ...well maybe tolerable is a better way of saying it . this game needed another year of work and more thought to be puti love gears of war so even though this game looks like a rip off it still looked fun. unfortunitly it was very sloppily put together . its buggy its glitchy the story makes even less sense then gears of war does ... which is pretty remarkable . the voice acting is ok ...well maybe tolerable is a better way of saying it . this game needed another year of work and more thought to be put into it . if that was done we might have gottin a more enjoyable game. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game was virtually destroyed only because he had a strong influence of Gears of Wars. the truth is that it is a title certainly mediocre, but not for this unworthy of attention. It has a particular style that can be charming, not to mention the controls are by no means so disastrous as everyone says. the game defends well, has a charisma all its own and can be safely considered at a lowprice.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I'm guessing that most of the poor scores come from two groups:
    Critics that appraised merely the technical aspects of Quantum Theory, and overly hyped shooter fanboys who expected Socom: Gothic Edition.
    I'm going to make it clear: The point of this game is not shooting people. The combat mechanics are very mediocre, despite permeating the gameplay. I think that disappointed a lot of
    I'm guessing that most of the poor scores come from two groups:
    Critics that appraised merely the technical aspects of Quantum Theory, and overly hyped shooter fanboys who expected Socom: Gothic Edition.

    I'm going to make it clear: The point of this game is not shooting people. The combat mechanics are very mediocre, despite permeating the gameplay. I think that disappointed a lot of people who wanted a revolutionary cover-shooter. Really, you can blame the advertising for most of that since the game tries really hard to sell itself as a bad*** shooter. In reality, the gameplay is meh. Nothing special. Yes, there are genuinely cool guns to use, and there's a solid dynamic cover system in place. However, the controls are a bit sluggish and the answer to almost everything is shoot it or smack it.

    I still give this a 10, because the shooting mechanics are not the point of the game. Yes, combat is pervasive. You spend roughly 80% of Quantum Theory fighting. However, the real point of the game is mixed. It's about deciphering the highly original story, following the relationship between Syd and Filena, and surviving the murderous tower itself. Everything makes life difficult for you. Even the tower itself wants to kill you, and it accomplishes this by retracting the cover I tried to camp behind, and by rearranging the floor and paths to push the player into lethal situations. Between the very floor trying to kill you, and enemies popping out of every gap in the walls, there's a very real sense that you're in a hostile environment. Syd and Filena bond surviving this twisted place together, and the player ends up getting immersed in the struggle. I'm not sure how to explain this, but it's as if you bond with the game itself, as you survive everything that the tower, the gillskin, and the nosferatu throw at you.

    The story is one of the most original I've played, although I'm not going to spoil it here. Furthermore, the boss fights are actually good for once. In most games the boss fights (imo) are nothing but tedium and repetition. In Quantum Theory, they're over relatively quickly, and they're given a sense of urgency as most bosses nearly require teamwork to beat. They're also relatively dynamic, as the tower will often spawn cover for enemies at the same time it removes it for you. It's a harsh environment that can only be survived with Filena's help. Thankfully, her AI is quite good and she never needs babysitting.

    So, essentially, Quantum Theory is an unpolished but very original game, with an interesting story, interesting characters, and innovative methods of altering levels to increase replayability and force you to think on your feet. There's really no other game like it on the market, and although it could be better, you're in for a very underrated, misunderstood, but epic experience
    Expand
  8. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    i don't mind games ripping of other games but only if it became better this game rips gears of war in a really really bad way bad gameplay and no story do not play this game
  9. Dec 16, 2014
    5
    i´m always down to give a game a chance even when it only got bad reviews. So i found this for 5€ and tried it out. Yes, it is broken, yes the main character is unlikeable, yes the AI is not existing and yes the story is total bull but i play it and found some enjoyment. But eventually you will come to a point that this game will frustrate you to death.
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 34
  2. Negative: 23 out of 34
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    64
    The game does over multiplayer with up to eight players. Even here, however, the game seems somewhat limited in scope. You have only a handful of maps, and only four game modes, two of which are ranked.
  2. Dec 30, 2010
    64
    If you like epic storytelling, skip this one. The KI is lame and doesn't motivate you at all, but the multiplayer is fun for a few hours.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    72
    A cover shooter that steals from the best, but falls flat on its face during the getaway. [Issue#231, p.86]