Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 331 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    96
    Minor quibbles aside, we here at GamingExcellence have never been so happy to be so enraged. It's a great day for gaming when we can welcome id Software back into our living rooms and computer desks. RAGE is an easy candidate for the best game of the year, and was well worth the wait. Don't miss it.
  2. 90
    Rage is the complete package that fans of shooters, RPGs, and buggy racers have been waiting for. Combined with its jaw-dropping visual presentation, Rage easily one of the best games of the year.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    Rage is an amazing game, but we can't help but feel that it doesn't reach its full potential. While the shooting and the racing often works brilliantly, a rather weak story, repetitive missions and a lot of graphical errors ultimately make for a disappointing game.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Rage is a beautiful game that looks equally stunning with or without the hefty installation (which reduces the load times and is optional on the 360 but required on the PS3), so regardless of which platform you play on, you'll find a rich and rewarding adventure that sets a new visual standard for the postapocalyptic wasteland.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage is a fun first person shooter, and a marvel to look at. Unfortunately it is let down by a weak story and presentation.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    If you think first person shooters take themselves a little too seriously, Rage is the game for you. If you like shotguns, explosions, imaginative ammunition types and crossbows then Rage is the game for you. It's an unapologetic love letter to the classic FPS gameplay that inspired the most popular genre in modern gaming and it updates enough that it doesn't feel in the least bit dated.
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    The knuckle-whitening, often horror-infused experiences inside of RAGE are essential to the vernacular of modern shooters. The pretty case they come in is not.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 125
  2. Negative: 29 out of 125
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make itAwesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make it different than a standard military type FPS. The graphics are worth the price of admission alone! Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I wasn't particularly excited about Rage. But I bought it anyway, because I was aching to trade some games in, so I thought I'd give Rage aI wasn't particularly excited about Rage. But I bought it anyway, because I was aching to trade some games in, so I thought I'd give Rage a shot. And I am incredibly happy I did so. I'm not the biggest FPS fan and I do have 2 COD games and some Battlefield games but other than that first person shooters aren't my game of choice. But there is something about Rage... Rage is amazing and is definitely the best FPS of 2011. It has incredible visuals, fantastic AI, great (but few) weapons, fantastic animation and a so-so story. It certainly isn't the best game I've played and does have a few problems, such as a bad save system, fairly boring story, and not very fun exploration and some texture pop in. But this game is simply not to be missed. It has some of the best FPS gameplay I have ever played and EVERY bullet that hits an enemy feels powerful because every bullet has an effect. Rage is a fantastic game and I strongly recommend it. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Well so far i will score a 9 , havent finished yet maybe a 10 when finished. This game is brilliant, it's freash and real good fun. dontWell so far i will score a 9 , havent finished yet maybe a 10 when finished. This game is brilliant, it's freash and real good fun. dont listen to the negative reviews. The graphics are great although you can tell that its alot for the system to handle. one thing remember to save game on a regular basis. one thing that is annoying is the loading times when you die. Have fun with this game i sure as hell am :) Felicrux : this game has Potenial WTF. this game is brilliant. Collapse
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    One of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch onOne of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch on textures), few can beat this. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    It's a good thing that the main storyline is so short, otherwise the game wouldn't hold much interest for very long. As it is, a solid shooterIt's a good thing that the main storyline is so short, otherwise the game wouldn't hold much interest for very long. As it is, a solid shooter that portends good things if they can combine Id's amazing shooter engine with Bethesda's top-notch storytelling. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-personThis is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-person shooter, or a racing game. The racing portion was well-made. The vehicles have decent handling and the power-ups make the races quite a bit more interesting by forcing the player to strategize and adapt while racing. The vehicle customization is enjoyable, although the selections lacked depth. Vehicle driving consumes a large portion of the first 20 hours of the game. The first-person portion was a bit of a let down to me. The quests are monotonous and repetitive. Small, uni-directional environments make for an uninteresting quest experience. The weapons are difficult to aim, and it seems as though all of the weapons have the same damage effects as well as the same sound effects. The enemies are either over-powered or under-powered, and have incredibly bad A.I. Also, there is no cover system implemented in this game, and your character can often be shot or killed through objects, making for a frustrating gaming experience. Through the first 20 hours of game play, very little information is given on the background of your character (or other characters), and this alienates the player from the game world. There is no feeling of immersion and there is no emotional bond with this game. However, the portion I was really impressed with was the graphics rendering. This game is almost certainly the best-looking PS3 game I have ever played. The game has an impressive environment and art direction. The most impressive graphics feature, however, is that the environment doesn't blur when there is movement on-screen, or when panning the camera. Graphics-wise, this game is beautiful. Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    Rocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires noRocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires no skill, just dumb luck and you will fail continuously while you rage at the game, hence the name of the game. What a shame, because this game woudl be completely bad-ass if not for that stupid feature that spoils the rest of the game. Rocket Rally is so bad, that the person or people responsible for implementing it into the game deserve to be send to prison for the stress they caused to players. Expand

See all 125 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.