Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    Ratchet and Clank Q-Force proves that after ten years, there is still life in the old Lombax yet that is worthy of consideration – if only there were more mission objectives and levels to enjoy.
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    80
    I came into this review with a lot of harsh thoughts based on what amounts to "You took my single player away from me." But after examining what was accomplished, and what was released at a decent price range ($19.99) for the package, I am kinda seeing the value in Insomniac's latest R&C experiment. I really hope we see a true single player sequel in the future, especially on next-gen equipment, but if this is what we have to deal with in the mean time, waiting might not be so bad.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The tower defence element in Ratchet & Clank: QForce feels familiar from the get-go, and we were surprised it has never been done in a Ratchet & Clank game before. It's a shame the single-player campaign is a little bit short, but the multiplayer will keep you entertained for quite a while. QForce gives the Ratchet & Clank franchise a much needed refresher.
  4. 80
    A very short list of flaws are barely able to tarnish what amounts to a hidden gem among a busy holiday retail season filled with blockbuster AAA titles.
  5. 80
    A great addition to the series, packing plenty of content and fresh ideas.
  6. Dec 5, 2012
    75
    In the final assessment, Full Frontal Assault feels like an experiment that produced mixed results. If I squint, I can just make out the vision of the perfect melding of tower defense and third-person action that the game was meant to be. However, the true image of FFA is a game that feels as though it's attempting to complete two different objectives, and failing to fully carry out either one. I admire Insomniac for continuing to take chances with the Ratchet & Clank series, but I'd rather the studio devote its resources to the new action/platformer that fans want.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    71
    New ideas and a sense of refreshment are being implemented in this new chapter of the Ratchet & Clank adventures, with quite good results.
  8. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    The latest offering in the Ratchet & Clank series fails to innovate, instead opting to blend overused formulas that other games have done better. The current road for the series seems bleaker with every passing installment. [Jan 2013]
  9. Dec 24, 2012
    70
    Full Frontal Assault is a nice little experiment, but all we were thinking is how much fun the old Ratchet & Clank games were. Making a multiplayer tower defense game of one of the greatest platformers of all time was not the best idea. But for a small budget price it is still good fun for a little while.
  10. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    Those 15 deaths, the difficulty imbalance, the weapon irrelevance and manual camera notwithstanding, the game was fine. But you know, those are all really big issues that drag down a game's score. Ratchet and Clank: Full Frontal Assault also is dreadfully boring, so I can't rate it anything higher than "average."
  11. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    For their tenth birthday, Ratchet and Clank are not making an incredible come-back. And yet, despite the lack of humor and graphics that are getting old, Ratchet & Clank: Full Frontal Assault remains entertaining enough thanks to its interesting gameplay mechanics and its well-balanced difficulty. Multiplayer mode won't occupy players for the next ten years, but it will surely please them.
  12. Dec 16, 2012
    70
    Especially fun if played with friends –or against them–, this new Ratchet & Clank doesn't seem to fully work as a whole, but at least brings us something fresh for the series.
  13. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    The single player mode suffers from a lack of variation, but the competitive and team based multiplayer is a fantastic addition to both the Ratchet & Clank universe and the Tower Defense genre as a whole.
  14. Dec 10, 2012
    70
    A different approach to the well-established formula of Ratchet & Clank that works well... for the most part. The single-player is extremely short, but the strategic nature of the gameplay makes the online multiplayer very enjoyable.
  15. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    This $20 game does one thing well: it has a competitive multiplayer mode that blends tactics and action in a way that allows for some exciting and unpredictable battles.
  16. 70
    As good as QForce is, it feels as though Insomniac is having an increasingly hard time recapturing the magic of the fabulous duo that put them on the map in the first place.
  17. Dec 2, 2012
    70
    Insomniac took a risk with this title, but I think it has paid off. It is a fun game to play with a friend and is worthy of being called Ratchet and Clank.
  18. Jan 21, 2013
    68
    It's damn fun to collect bolts, shoot some enemies and improve the base-defense, but only in the multiplayer mode. Lacking gameplay-depth makes the single-player not really entertaining. In my point of view the game is ok, but it's not a true Ratchet & Clank game. It seems that Sony took the name of a well-known franchise and made a traditional base-defense-game instead of a new game in the world of Ratchet & Clank.
  19. Dec 27, 2012
    68
    Ratchet & Clank: QForce is short and lacks content and variety, but fun nevertheless if played with or against a bunch of friends. A full scale entry in the franchise might benefit more from these interesting new mechanics.
  20. Dec 14, 2012
    68
    It's one of the worst Ratchet and Clank but it's different. Low price and cross-buy make it more irresistible but its graphics are mediocre and it isn't well balanced. Online modes with cross-play PS3-PSVita.
  21. Jan 16, 2013
    67
    Enjoyable, if lightweight, tower defense at a decent price. [Feb 2013, p.87]
  22. Feb 2, 2013
    66
    Ratchet and Clank Q Force is not a bad game, but it’s not a great one either. If you are a fan of the franchise there is definitely something here for you however you may be under whelmed.
  23. Jan 7, 2013
    65
    The concept with its mix of well-proven action and exploration on one side and tower defense on the other is interesting. But especially when it comes to everything associated with the latter the QForce leaves much to be desired.
  24. Jan 2, 2013
    65
    Ratchet & Clank QForce scores points for trying something different with the series, but the so-so implementation of ideas and elements leaves it falling slightly flat. The game looks and sounds great, but without the solid gameplay reinforced by some of its predecessors, this rather short game may be the last time we see Ratchet & Clank for a while, but it might be for the best.
  25. Dec 10, 2012
    65
    A decent multiplayer game, Q-Force falls flat in the campaign and lasting appeal departments.
  26. Because new weapons are found instead of bought, every bolt you collect is used for upgrading your base with turrets, shields and mines. Despite all that carnage, it is still necessary to jump into the fray yourself most of the time. [January 2013, p.78]
  27. Dec 14, 2012
    64
    The exploration is a blast, but the shooting is a bust. Gradually upgrading defenses feels rewarding, but grinding for bolts proves tedious and stressful. In the end, the positives and negative battle to an uneasy stalemate that results in an experience that's simply middling.
  28. Nov 30, 2012
    64
    An okay little game. Overall, it's fun, but the gameplay can get grindy, repetitive, and frustrating at times. It's certainly a good idea that had a lot of potential, and at downloadable price it's really not the worst deal out there. However, it's not the game that R&C fans wanted to celebrate the series' ten-year anniversary with. It doesn't have the story, the action, or the overall feel of classic Ratchet and Clank adventures.
  29. Apr 5, 2013
    60
    A decent hybrid of genres but why is it so short? [CD-Action 04/2013, p.78]
  30. [O]nline modes can be great fun, but they have one glaring weakness – within a week of release, they were all but deserted online. Getting into a 2v2 competitive match – which is the only thing that anyone has been playing at all – has been a struggle since launch, which is never promising. If you've got friends who also bought the game, this won't be a problem, but if you're hoping for something to play against random folk online we wouldn't expect this one to have a sudden huge surge in players. [February 2013, p76]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    This game is another step in the wrong direction for ratchet and clank. Who voted to have a monster single player polished franchise move to multiplayer? I think it is better than All 4 one because atleast the classic control feel is back with a true 3rd person camera. This game is fun to play for 30 minutes or so but gets old very fast. I fear one of my favorite franchises may be dying. I truly hope insomniac plans to give us a true sequel to a crack in time as that was the last truly amazing ratchet and clank game. Graphically this game doesn't look good either. It only runs at 30fps which would be ok if the graphics were impressive like in uncharted or gears of war. Ratchet games have always looked simple but they still looked good because the cartoon like art style was complemented by a buttery smooth 60fps. This engine seems to be the same as all 4 one, which looks worse than a crack in time especially the character models. In summary, boring campaign, no heart to the story, 30fps with all 4 one quality character models, this game feels like a boring multilayer attempt that should have accompanied a true sequel to a crack in time, too bad there isn't an awesome single player campaign to make up for this multiplayer crapfest. Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    Great game. At $20, you can't go wrong with it. From the moment the start screen appears, you get that classic Ratchet & Clank feel, and when you get into the game, it nicely blends some old school and new Ratchet very nicely. Multiplayer is very fun and addicting, single player is also a blast. If you're into the 3D thing, it's great. The colours in it aren't washed out when you change to 3D like they were in All 4 One. The feel is great and puts you deeper into the game.

    Unfortunately I had to right this extra part in my review:

    This game gets quite frustrating by the time you get to the 4th level. The final waves of enemies just gets unbelievably difficult to defeat. You need many defences to protect your base, but they cost a lot of bolts. You never have enough bolts to actually purchase enough defences. You also run out of ammo much too quickly and end up dying or loosing your base many many times. I changed my rating from a 9 to an 8 because of this. It really does takes away from the experience.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Very good for al r&C fans! must buy it! its god and has a great graphic as well, i like new characyers hoping that dlc planets will coming soon! for now we have gold bolts skill points and many other things to collect! welcome back R&C Full Review »