Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 85
    An uninspired story, a glitchy weapon, and a sometimes-unwieldy camera don't damage Ratchet beyond repair. The irresistibly addictive jumping-shooting-collecting-upgrading gameplay is as powerful here as it's ever been, and the optional collectibles, side-missions, and unlockable Challenge mode offer a really satisfying amount of play time.
  2. 100
    Quite simply, it's as perfect as a game can be - state of the art in every respect, from graphics and animation to sound, music and voice acting, to story and script, to level design and environment themes, to puzzles and action, to weapons and gadgets, to hidden items and lifespan-prolonging side missions and collectibles. Truly this is a game that has it all, and the definitive PlayStation 3 title so far.
  3. Brings the previous generation’s top gameplay, injects it with a few Sixaxis treats and pumps up the presentation to a top standard for a package that few will want to miss.
  4. Its pacing, polish, and through-the-roof production values make Tools of Destruction an outstanding effort. So many series suffer from sequilitis, offering second, third or fourth entries that reek of phoned-in, uninspired development. But Insomniac has done the complete opposite, creating an experience that's clearly a labor of love for Ratchet and Clank's keepers.
  5. A strong title. Kids will love the game and demand to play more while adults may be content with just a single run through.
  6. There’s just something about this title that makes me want to go and play it again and again. Maybe it’s the superb weapon selection, the humorous story and characters, or the intuitive game play elements; I can’t quite put my finger on it. Whatever it is, Ratchet & Clank is a great 3D platform title, with plenty to do for all ages.
  7. Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is a solid debut of the franchise on the PS3. Although the story is kind of weak and the difficulty is not as hard as it could be, the game manages to rely on other strengths to make this a great ride.
  8. One of the best games in the series, but the return to platforming introduces a bit more linearity. The creativity and humor, though, can't be topped.
  9. Although some will be disappointed with the lack of multiplayer gameplay, to me the gorgeous visuals built around one of the best platforming experiences makes for an all around great experience.
  10. 85
    With updated graphics, new weapons that are easily upgraded and a wonderful sense of humor throughout, you'd be stupid not to play this game.
  11. The game feels remarkably similar to previous Ratchet titles, but that's not a problem...for now. Insomniac has perfected this style of game, with a slick and addictive balance between platformer and shooter. But because it's so easy to fall in love with the characters and the universe, it's painful to think that unless Insomniac can revamp the series in a way to make it feel fresh, it might be time to retire the duo.
  12. That Insomniac has so confidently found its feet makes the prospect of Ratchet’s annual return an exciting, rather than obligatory, one. [Dec 2007, p.86]
  13. Not only is Future a great game, it's the best yet on PS3, arguably the best-looking game ever, and an absolute pinnacle of fun. [Dec 2007, p.112]
  14. In some senses, Insomniac does need a clip 'round the ear for doing very little to innovate the gameplay in any meaningful sense, but if you're happy to play through a wonderful high definition version of an old classic, put your money down - you won't be remotely disappointed.
  15. Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is the future of the Ratchet and Clank series. 100% fun and addictive, anyone who jumps into the adventure will be hooked.
  16. 100
    Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is a top developer at the top of their game. The fact that a game this polished and expansive comes merely a year after the release of Insomniac’s "Resistance: Fall of Man" (the other great PS3 game) is nothing short of awe inspiring.
  17. The outstanding combination of tight gameplay and a first-rate presentation make it a great game.
  18. If variety is the spice of life then Insomniac has created a next-gen spice rack and filled it perfect visuals, awesome sound and music, creative weapons and gadgets, great gameplay, and tied it all together with an amazing story that will leave you on the edge of your seat as the final credits start to roll.
  19. It succeeds simply by delivering gameplay that’s perfectly executed along with a story that lovingly advances the saga of characters I’ve known and loved for years. Could it have done more to push the envelope? Sure, but that’s not what I’ll think of when I remember playing this game. I’m just going to remember all the fun I had – and that’s the point, isn’t it?
  20. TOD is a gorgeous, compelling and exciting title that seems to do everything right and does so with the style and grace seen very rarely these days.
  21. The only glaring criticism I have for the game is its lack of multiplayer, online or otherwise. Whereas the last console Rachet and Clank, “Deadlocked,” introduced a promising multiplayer component for the PS2, the PS3 version beats a hasty retreat. It doesn’t affect the final product much, but for those still unsold on the PS3’s online network, it raises an eyebrow.
  22. The action here will completely satisfy anyone looking for the kind of lighthearted, kinetic run-and-gun that was mastered several iterations ago, and my grievances with it are more of the intellectual variety than anything else.
  23. The whole thing comes off like something Pixar would produce if it chose to add game development to their filmaking. The lack of an online multiplayer/co-op option keeps it from being perfect, but that shouldn't stop you from enjoying this undeniable thrill ride.
  24. 100
    An amazing PS 3 game that fully leverages the power of the console. It sets the bar high for not only the series but for all PS3 games to come. It is, without a doubt, reason enough to buy the system.
  25. All in all, Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is a return to form for the Ratchet & Clank series and it shows that not every graphical showcase has to feature stunning realism.
  26. In Tools of Destruction, Insomniac is back doing what they do best, and they do it better than ever. This is the best Ratchet & Clank adventure to date, and at this point the best game the PS3 has to offer.
  27. ToD is every bit a Ratchet & Clank game, well, except for the missing multiplayer game, and a great start for the series on the PS3. This one should be in every PS3 owners collection.
  28. A sparkly, hi-def retread of established ideas. It's a new battle, but not a new war. [Dec 2007, p.68]
  29. While games like "Twilight Princess" entice players with familiar settings and gameplay elements, Tools Of Destruction force feeds them. [Dec 2007, p.104]
  30. The game just can't decide what it wants to be. The story tries to be epic in its scope and appeal to an older audience, but the game is extremely easy and the story's premise is thin and the ending disappointing. The core gameplay of shooting and platforming is as solid as ever, but it's diluted by too many uninteresting minigames and unnecessary gameplay mechanics.
  31. 80
    Sadly, Ratchet & Clank Future has no multiplayer component to speak of, which bothers us both because we love multiplayer and because the series had a bit of a multiplayer groove for a while.
  32. Ratchet & Clank Future isn't a revolution, but it is a marvelously kickass game that'll keep you entertained for hours as you plumb the depths of its huge levels, find creative ways to blow up its monsters and try to ferret out all its dozens of cleverly hidden items.
  33. Tools of Destruction has finally given the PS3 something to be proud of, and is pure nerdvana from start to finish.
  34. 100
    It's rare that a game critic feels the way I do about this game, but in all honesty, I find it really difficult to find something that's not to like. The controls feel great. The graphics look great. The score sounds great. The weapon selection alone make me want to play the game over and over again, just to test out all the cool offered.
  35. The size and scale of these environments are incredible, with so much little detail going on in the background and no loading time once you've entered a level. It's definitely the best-looking PS3 game on the market.
  36. Tools of Destruction feels a bit short at times, but that is only when you are just driving through the game, going from point A to point B in the shortest route possible. When you take time to explore, you realize how expansive this game is, and how wonderfully designed.
  37. It has the beautiful next-gen visuals, new weapons and gadgets and even some well-implemented motion controlled segments, though overall it does nothing out of the ordinary or unexpected. It's an enjoyable, beautiful ride that just seems kind of familiar in the end.
  38. All of a sudden, the PS3 has got game, and Ratchet and Clank are leading the way.
  39. A solid platformer with laugh out loud humor and stunning graphics.
  40. 94
    Not only has it supplanted Going Commando as the best title in the franchise, it's also the best game of any series on the PlayStation 3 thus far -- and that's saying a lot when you're up against Oblivion, Ninja Gaiden, Warhawk and Insomniac's very own previous effort, Resistance: Fall of Man.
  41. 92
    There’s just so much to collect, so much explosive firepower to wield, and so much charm to the environments and characters that you’d be crazy to let this game pass you by.
  42. A classic title, but in some respects only just.
  43. 95
    Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is like asking for a pony for your birthday only, when you open your present, it turns out to be a unicorn.
  44. It’s not a revolution, but everything it does, it does really well. Once again, a brilliant product of Insomniac’s imagination. [Nov 2007]
  45. 96
    Tools of Destruction gives Sony something it desperately needs, a solid reason to actually own a PS3.
  46. 80
    All at once it feels very familiar and yet fresh. Indeed the visual clarity really does help propel the game to new levels of artistry but on the other hand, it feels like a game played many times before. Regardless it never stops being anything less than great fun to play and hugely engaging.
  47. 85
    Although it offers nothing new, it refines the series with crisper visuals, improved flight controls and the addition of Clank’s solo missions. If you weren’t a fan of the series before this won’t change your mind, but fans will enjoy it.
  48. Ratchet & Clank may be going through the same routine, but it's impossible not to love them. [Dec 2007, p.118]
  49. 85
    Not only one of the best looking PlayStation 3 games, it's incredibly enjoyable, with some excellent weapons and some brilliant action set pieces.
  50. Combines hectic, but fluid action with extravagant audiovisual fiesta. The only thing to complain about is the lack of truly new ideas. [Nov 2007]
  51. Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction isn’t a groundbreaking sequel by any means. But thanks to super-refined gameplay, unbelievable graphics, and a generally fun atmosphere, you’re looking at one of the PS3’s best games.
  52. About as close to true perfection as games are gonna get right now.
  53. 72
    For one level, Tools of Destruction is the exciting, Pixar-esque platform brilliance that we anticipated from those early screens. After that, though, it's the same PS2 title as ever, and the tired mechanics of this franchise are dead to us. [Issue#160, p.66]
  54. 82
    The whole experience certainly delivers on expectations from the previous games, although without ever really breaking the mould. This is a new Ratchet and Clank, but it is thoroughly the tried and tested action that we are experiencing, be it dressed in some impressive new garb.
  55. Odds on, you'll finish the ride exhilarated. [Dec 2007, p.92]
  56. Combines absolutely jaw-dropping graphics with familiar platforming/shooting mechanics and genuinely funny humor to make one of the PS3's few true masterpieces. [Dec 2007, p.66]
  57. Intense, beautiful and accessible. A return to the series' roots and a stellar game indeed. [Nov 2007, p.22]
  58. This is visually one of the best looking games on the market. And with an engine that's gunning it at 60 frames per second, and capable of 1080i upscaled, R&C Future is also running on one of the best engines, as well. The gameplay is precisely what we've all come to love, except louder, more heated, more energetic, more fun, and with all new gameplay mechanics added to the mix.
  59. The return of Ratchet & Clank couldn’t have arrived at a better time. Right now, we stand before one of the best PS3 games for the end of the year.
  60. The game's sprawling, detailed, lively alien worlds are full of secrets and rewarding to explore. The entire affair is dazzling in high definition...(but t)he game's nonstop barrage of quips and one-liners is a bit fatiguing.
  61. Tools is, very simply, the best game to come out for the PlayStation 3 since it was introduced last year.
  62. It's actually pretty damned impossible to fault Tools of Destruction on any level: this is the epitome of platforming excellence.
  63. There are no truly wrong instances in this game that jump out, and many of the problems are just minor enough that they can be easily forgotten about after you actually get into the game and begin to enjoy it.
  64. Given the series orientation towards multiplayer in the final chapters on the PS2, it's quite surprising to find Tools of Destruction a solely single-player experience. With a handful of mini-games Tools of Destruction can be rushed through over a weekend, with the only real replay value stemming from Insomniac's traditional selection of Skill Point challenges to achieve on every level.
  65. The single best game you can find on the PlayStation 3 right now, and at the end of the day, it's the best in the series. If you own a PS3, you need this game in your library. It is the absolutely definition of a must-have title, and right now is the front-runner as game of the year, hands down.
  66. All in all, for the slight faults the game has and the sometimes repetitive nature the game employs, you cannot deny that this is a stellar title and will do much to propel the series to future titles.
  67. Whether you're a platformer fan or fancy some frenetic blasting action, Tools of Destruction fits the bill. Combine the enjoyable gameplay (that's fun for all ages) with some of the best visuals the PS3 has seen and you have a game that every PS3 owner should own.
  68. Although it stays true to the Ratchet & Clank formula and doesn't try to get too creative, this is easily one of the best PS3 games so far.
  69. Future is a great game in its own right, despite its positioning to show off the power of its publisher's platform, despite the fact it does very well show off the PS3's capabilities.
  70. Online play is an easy oversight to overlook, though. The single-player game is as tight as any platformer around, and the presentation is so far beyond what we've seen before that you simply can't afford to pass it up. The future is bright, indeed.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 602 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 129
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    i love ratchet and clank and i believe it to be one of the things the Xbox gamers wish they had there are only a couple issues that i hadi love ratchet and clank and i believe it to be one of the things the Xbox gamers wish they had there are only a couple issues that i had which is why it does not get a perfect score from me. when i bought this game it had been a while since i had played a ratchet & clank game and was excited when this came out and i wasnt disapointed with the good graphics many weapons to use and awsome voice acting and laugh out loud moments that make me smile and as always the story is top notch and has a couple twists that you dont see coming. one problem though is the length and although it is an awsome game there is only about 10 hours of game play if you arent trying to get all the skill points and extra figures to get and can easily be compleated in a weekend i wish they had continued to make the games multiplayer to add some replay value. also the extra battle items i found to be next to useless as i almost never used them except for the Mr Zurkon and i think they could have just left these out. you should not miss out on this game and you will be playing through it a couple times so you should defenatly pick this up Full Review »
  2. LouisP.
    Jul 27, 2008
    6
    Decent game. Not as much fun as the previous R&C titles. I even lost interest before beating the game once. The weapons include some new Decent game. Not as much fun as the previous R&C titles. I even lost interest before beating the game once. The weapons include some new stuff, but a lot of completely useless junk. The weapons are only rarely useful for specific enemies, other than that, not much strategy is involved.. just fire away. This worked fine for me in previous games, but here it just gets boring for some reason. I don't like the bosses, its not like you have to find a weakness or anything... just empty clip after clip of ammunition on them... heck, the first space boss could even be defeated by flying around in the same clockwise circle on the screen non-stop, while holding down the firing button... boring. There's also numorous little glitches like u can get stuck while walking on different objects (rocks and other scenery). The story held me interested for a couple of hours, and then i just thought screw it. It's not a bad game though, i just feel a need so complain over everything i dislike about it, when all other critics give it 9 or 10. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    I've been a R&C fan since the first game came out, and I'm still a fan. Tools of Destruction, however, was a bit of a disappointment for me.I've been a R&C fan since the first game came out, and I'm still a fan. Tools of Destruction, however, was a bit of a disappointment for me. Over all I still enjoyed the game, but I felt that it was inferior to most of the previous titles. The story line was original, but not very engaging. The gameplay was roughly the same as the old PS2 titles, which is fine, but I feel like the developers should have taken the opportunity to improve. I feel like the weapons and gadgets you can get in the game were all recycled from previous titles. If you're a R&C fan, I would recommend this game simply as a continuation to the series. For everyone else, you may enjoy a single play through, but it doesn't have much replay value. Full Review »