User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 674 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 674
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    I've been a R&C fan since the first game came out, and I'm still a fan. Tools of Destruction, however, was a bit of a disappointment for me. Over all I still enjoyed the game, but I felt that it was inferior to most of the previous titles. The story line was original, but not very engaging. The gameplay was roughly the same as the old PS2 titles, which is fine, but I feel like theI've been a R&C fan since the first game came out, and I'm still a fan. Tools of Destruction, however, was a bit of a disappointment for me. Over all I still enjoyed the game, but I felt that it was inferior to most of the previous titles. The story line was original, but not very engaging. The gameplay was roughly the same as the old PS2 titles, which is fine, but I feel like the developers should have taken the opportunity to improve. I feel like the weapons and gadgets you can get in the game were all recycled from previous titles. If you're a R&C fan, I would recommend this game simply as a continuation to the series. For everyone else, you may enjoy a single play through, but it doesn't have much replay value. Expand
  2. LouisP.
    Jul 27, 2008
    6
    Decent game. Not as much fun as the previous R&C titles. I even lost interest before beating the game once. The weapons include some new stuff, but a lot of completely useless junk. The weapons are only rarely useful for specific enemies, other than that, not much strategy is involved.. just fire away. This worked fine for me in previous games, but here it just gets boring for some Decent game. Not as much fun as the previous R&C titles. I even lost interest before beating the game once. The weapons include some new stuff, but a lot of completely useless junk. The weapons are only rarely useful for specific enemies, other than that, not much strategy is involved.. just fire away. This worked fine for me in previous games, but here it just gets boring for some reason. I don't like the bosses, its not like you have to find a weakness or anything... just empty clip after clip of ammunition on them... heck, the first space boss could even be defeated by flying around in the same clockwise circle on the screen non-stop, while holding down the firing button... boring. There's also numorous little glitches like u can get stuck while walking on different objects (rocks and other scenery). The story held me interested for a couple of hours, and then i just thought screw it. It's not a bad game though, i just feel a need so complain over everything i dislike about it, when all other critics give it 9 or 10. Expand
  3. PatM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    6
    Decent game, but not worth the 9 it is getting. It is lacking in replayability, and online capabilities.
  4. MartinA.
    Oct 23, 2007
    6
    I think R&C was boring and annoying.
  5. JasonM
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    I don't know what people see in this game. I guess it's made for kids, because the gameplay is just repetitive shooting....over and over and over, just shooting enemies. Nothing interesting about it. Why is this thing getting such good reviews?
  6. DanielF.
    Nov 9, 2007
    6
    Looks nice but very boring...has a life span of 10 minutes before you yawn and turn the game off. Been there done that is all you can say...another poor poor next gen game. Avarage at best.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    5
    Accidentally gave my review a 10 when I meant to give it a 5.

    /150
    Accidentally gave my review a 10 when I meant to give it a 5.

    /150 char............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Expand
  8. SYC
    Feb 4, 2008
    7
    Exactly what you'd expect from a PS3 Ratchet title. Georgeous visuals, silky smooth framerate and some polish and tweaks to the existing formula makes TOD the best yet in the series, The general
  9. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    Having loved the first one when I was younger and then playing the following 3 I thought this game was going to be the same exciting new experience that it was then. I haven't played the original games since it came out so while I knew what to expect as far as gameplay I still thought it would a fresh feeling. I've got to say, this game did not hold up for me. I felt like I was pushingHaving loved the first one when I was younger and then playing the following 3 I thought this game was going to be the same exciting new experience that it was then. I haven't played the original games since it came out so while I knew what to expect as far as gameplay I still thought it would a fresh feeling. I've got to say, this game did not hold up for me. I felt like I was pushing myself through it rather than actually wanting to see what was next. I didn't find the story interesting in the slightest bit and it didn't help that the audio was either out of sync or skipped and repeated at times. Visually the game was on par with my expectations and the gameplay wasn't terribly bad but it felt monotonous. It was certainly an enjoyable experience reliving certain aspects of a game I once loved but just doesn't feel like what it used to be. I'll be playing the rest of the future series in hopes that it is just a poor experience with one game. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Given the series orientation towards multiplayer in the final chapters on the PS2, it's quite surprising to find Tools of Destruction a solely single-player experience. With a handful of mini-games Tools of Destruction can be rushed through over a weekend, with the only real replay value stemming from Insomniac's traditional selection of Skill Point challenges to achieve on every level.
  2. The single best game you can find on the PlayStation 3 right now, and at the end of the day, it's the best in the series. If you own a PS3, you need this game in your library. It is the absolutely definition of a must-have title, and right now is the front-runner as game of the year, hands down.
  3. 85
    Not only one of the best looking PlayStation 3 games, it's incredibly enjoyable, with some excellent weapons and some brilliant action set pieces.