Rayman Legends Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Legends is the follow-up to Rayman Origins and brings multiplayer interactions for you to employ. The Glade of Dreams is in trouble again. During a 100-year nap, the nightmares multiplied and spread, creating new monsters even scarier than before. These creatures are the stuff ofRayman Legends is the follow-up to Rayman Origins and brings multiplayer interactions for you to employ. The Glade of Dreams is in trouble again. During a 100-year nap, the nightmares multiplied and spread, creating new monsters even scarier than before. These creatures are the stuff of legend… Dragons, giant toads, sea monsters, and even evil luchadores. With the help of Murfy, Rayman and Globox awake and must now help fight these nightmares and save the Teensies. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rayman Legends - Mariachi Madness
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    Rayman Legends isn’t just good, it’s utterly terrific on practically every level. That such a title was once confined to Nintendo’s sickly hardware seems abhorrent, although it’s the sort of rare game that would sell a console. An exquisite offering, it exudes polish and should appeal to everything sentient within 50 yards of the TV.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    95
    After the formidable Origins, Ubisoft continues the rebooted Rayman franchise with Legends. Once again, the developer hits it out of the park. The interesting art style, the fun and accessible gameplay, and the gleeful soundtrack all add to the overall experience. It's a shame that there is no online multiplayer, but a number of competitive challenges more than make up for it.
  3. CD-Action
    Oct 16, 2013
    95
    An essence of pure, unpretentious fun, a work of geniuses with untamed creative powers. I simply can’t imagine a human being that will not enjoy this wonderful, beautiful game. [CD-Action 11/2013, p.66]
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    No fan of platform games should miss this one: it's incredibly fun, tremendously beautiful and exudes a lot of charisma.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    90
    If you don’t have others to play with, that doesn’t mean you should miss out on the fun, though, because have no doubt about it, Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers we’ve played in years. [October 2013, p79]
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    If you loved Origins, you’ll definitely get $60 worth out of this even with some Origins content being present here, while those who’ve never played Origins should give the demo a shot and see if they like it. If you’re won over by it, then snatch it up ASAP.
  7. 80
    I just wish there was a more elegant solution for touch-screen gameplay that simply doesn’t translate to platforms other than Wii U, where Legends was conceptualized and built first.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    There is nothing other than the word PERFECTION to describe this game.
    Best game of this gene if not the best game of All Time
    GRAPHICS
    There is nothing other than the word PERFECTION to describe this game.
    Best game of this gene if not the best game of All Time

    GRAPHICS
    GAMEPLAY
    SCOPE
    Collapse
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Like falling in love all over again. This game is pure magic. I've been a fan of Rayman for a while now so I picked this up hoping to findLike falling in love all over again. This game is pure magic. I've been a fan of Rayman for a while now so I picked this up hoping to find another good platform experience in Rayman Legends. Not only was I blown away by the sheer awesome unique game design and mechanics but also by the awesome story. Gameplay is very good and every level brings up something new and fresh to keep you interested. Enemies and your friendly characters are top notch with a lot of variety. The soundtrack fits the mood perfectly in each level and keeps you pumped in anticipation. The story is epic and interesting. There is a lot of replayability. I just have to recommend this to other people. If you don't buy this you're really missing out. I know I'm going to be jumping in those paintings for amazing adventures for a long time to come! Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This game is definitely one of my favourite games of 2013, it outdoes "Rayman Origins" in almost every way. This game is designed in a moreThis game is definitely one of my favourite games of 2013, it outdoes "Rayman Origins" in almost every way. This game is designed in a more open ended way, so you can do levels in practically any order. The multiplayer is somehow even more fun than the original, and the online challenge mode is addictive as hell. This game is not about finishing every main level, it is instead about collecting everything. You unlock more challenge levels the more you play, and beating these unlocks even more. You can even unlock levels from "Origins" until you have the entire game.

    The gameplay is smooth and can become quite challenging, the graphics are beautiful, and the music is exceptional and well suited. Multiplayer rules and it has great replay value.

    If you like platformers, get this game now.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Rayman Legends Improves on everything in Rayman Origins, which i thought was impossible seeing how good that game was. The graphics look lotsRayman Legends Improves on everything in Rayman Origins, which i thought was impossible seeing how good that game was. The graphics look lots better, the gameplay is smoother and more fun, the music and sound effects are perfect, there is heaps more content with more levels, challanges and minigames. I could go on and on about how good this game is.
    Easily one of the best games i have played,
    Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is refreshing and really good fun. The most impressive aspect is how many different types of gameplay they've managed to squeezeThis game is refreshing and really good fun. The most impressive aspect is how many different types of gameplay they've managed to squeeze into each of the different worlds. The music really adds another level to the experience, and the bonus rhythm levels are a real hoot. I find myself playing with a cheesy grin plastered on my face a lot of the time, which can't be said of many games these days. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2014
    9
    Platforming perfection! It's apparently the biggest Rayman game ever but great gameplay and genius level design mean you'll never get bored.Platforming perfection! It's apparently the biggest Rayman game ever but great gameplay and genius level design mean you'll never get bored. Ther's plenty of depth, variety and surprises and the online challenges will keep you coming back long after you've completed the main game. It's the best 2D platformer for years. In fact, if this game was around in the genres 16-Bit golden era it would be talked about along side the great 2D platformers like Sonic 2 and Super Mario World and that's the biggest compliment I can give it. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2017
    3
    I did not find this game fun at all. It was really dull and the opposite of what vibrancy and playfulness many reviewers and players haveI did not find this game fun at all. It was really dull and the opposite of what vibrancy and playfulness many reviewers and players have attributed to the game. Sure the level design appears to be engaging and variable with some variety, but the game-play and characters did not appeal to me. I found killing the enemies and progressing through the levels very pointless and unrewarding, as there is no real challenge or perceptible purpose to completing each level, let alone actually enjoying any of them due to the lack of investment in what limited game-play and obstacles to tackle such linearity brings in a game where silly behavior and atmosphere do not in any way help the game experience. I really wanted to like this game, but maybe it is just not for my age group ( I am almost 17). Though what it all comes down to is the specific elements and aspects that can sustain my interest and my enjoying of any game, but in this game there was little to substance that could be discerned or satisfaction to be derived. An unfortunate disappointment. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.