User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1952 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Great game. Main story is linear but pretty long and interesting. It remainds me movies like Unforgiven. There is large world with a lot of things to do and plenty of side task/quests. If you like TPP action games you have to play it.
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    i am going to be honest and say that this game just wasnt really very interesting for me it is a great game in many ways it just couldnt hold my attention maybe because it was a wetern style game i dont know but one thing i can say turned me right off of this game was the controling of the horse it just would not do what i wanted it to do most of the time and i ended up getting frustratedi am going to be honest and say that this game just wasnt really very interesting for me it is a great game in many ways it just couldnt hold my attention maybe because it was a wetern style game i dont know but one thing i can say turned me right off of this game was the controling of the horse it just would not do what i wanted it to do most of the time and i ended up getting frustrated with that but it isnt enough to turn some one off of the game enterly. the game looks beutiful with a couple of screen tears every once and a while but other than that the graphics are amazing. if you like western type games then this is defenatly for you but otherwise stay clear Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    It is an absolut merit to say that a videogame could capture a good part of Leoni's western moviesfeeling. RDR is one of the greatest videogame experiences because it successfully gathers a well told story, beautiful scenarios, outstanding characters (both major and supporting roles) and the greatest gameplay mechanics and missions compilation from the whole Rockstar's library. It is trueIt is an absolut merit to say that a videogame could capture a good part of Leoni's western moviesfeeling. RDR is one of the greatest videogame experiences because it successfully gathers a well told story, beautiful scenarios, outstanding characters (both major and supporting roles) and the greatest gameplay mechanics and missions compilation from the whole Rockstar's library. It is true that at first I got a little disapointed with the empty world when compared to GTA IV, but on the other hand, traveling from place to place reminded me of how much GTA San Andreas was awesome. If GTA IV impressed me with a higher maturity level than all the previous titles from the series, this subject takes a step further on RDR, as a one of kind plot on its debate about morality and consequences of your action. Plus, a very enjoyable multiplayer content comes with the pack. Not to say that this game is perfect, the final missions are very anticlimactic compared to the rest of the story, but the final mission and the ending makes this bad experienced to be quickly erased from your memory. In the end, you have a one of a kind opportunity to join John Marston on his journey to save everything left that matters to him, and learn from a tragically beautiful perspective that the scars from his past are deeper than the ones in his face, and to comprehend that the good and the bad relies on single actions and gestures of individuals, because people don't simply change, but the cirscunstances always do. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Absolutely the most visually stunning game I have ever played. Hours upon Hours could be spent just wandering through the huge map, exploring and admiring the beauty and grace of the game. The multiplayer is fun and has some really great game modes. The real treasure of RDR is the single player. A great story, perfect music, and spectacular eye candy make this a must play game. TheAbsolutely the most visually stunning game I have ever played. Hours upon Hours could be spent just wandering through the huge map, exploring and admiring the beauty and grace of the game. The multiplayer is fun and has some really great game modes. The real treasure of RDR is the single player. A great story, perfect music, and spectacular eye candy make this a must play game. The only reason I give it a 9 out of 10 is the controls are a little clunky especially for multiplayer. That is quickly forgotten when you are transported back to the old west to live out your wildest childhood cowboy adventures. Expand
  5. May 25, 2011
    10
    A bit late in reviewing but, it is truly one of the greatest games ever. Superb storytelling, superb gameplay and a very likeable protagonist. A must have for every PS3 owner
  6. May 7, 2011
    8
    I absolutely loved this game until the end of the Storyline. It was a huge disappointment, so much I stopped playing it. It's better than all of the GTA games and the graphics were epic.
  7. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game for Rockstar to make, the story is immersive and the overall gameplay is great! The graphics are some of the best I've seen, this game is just awesome! :P But if your looking to just shoot up the west, then this may not be the game for you. Yes there are amazing gun blazing moments like RockStar alwaysThis is one of the greatest games of all time. Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game for Rockstar to make, the story is immersive and the overall gameplay is great! The graphics are some of the best I've seen, this game is just awesome! :P But if your looking to just shoot up the west, then this may not be the game for you. Yes there are amazing gun blazing moments like RockStar always delivers, but the story is where its at in this game. Now I love to shoot a barman as much as the next guy, but people (while looking through the reviews here) must have expected another GTA 4. This is not GTA, this is better in my personal opinion. I had no problems with this game, maybe a little slow to get the story going, but I love the huge open world, with animals to hunt and bandits to shoot in the face. The multiplayer however is by far the best part, multiplayer free roam is just a blast! Going into possies with your friends and hunting outlaws (or being outlaws) is an exhilarating experience that should be in more games. Overall, I can expect to keep coming back to Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  8. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Amazing game and a must must must buy for a Western fan. The story is as engrossing as any classic western, visuals and animation are at rockstar quality, sounds are top notch (from the soundtrack to authentic sounding weapons to the excellent voice acting). This is a very long game but exciting every step of the way and story develops slowly but leaves you entirely satisfied at itsAmazing game and a must must must buy for a Western fan. The story is as engrossing as any classic western, visuals and animation are at rockstar quality, sounds are top notch (from the soundtrack to authentic sounding weapons to the excellent voice acting). This is a very long game but exciting every step of the way and story develops slowly but leaves you entirely satisfied at its conclusion. Outside of the main story, there a numerous side adventures that are extremely fun (hunting animals in particular and chasing fugitives). It was a pleasure for me to complete this game 100% which I could not say the same for GTA4. Best Rockstar game of all time. Expand
  9. May 30, 2011
    9
    No game ever deserves a perfect ten, but RDR is the closest to it! Everything about the game is wonderful, the story, the setting and the characters! John Marston quickly becomes a favourite and you become attached to him! My favourite game I have ever played! I didn't want it to end!
  10. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    It's much more than just GTA in the West. It expands upon the already solid formula we're so used to from Rockstar's earlier games and brings its own flavor and character to a genre which was sorely lacking. There's something in this game for everyone and once you've finished the 20+ hour long story, there's always the ranked multiplayer to keep you busy in the Wild West for quite some time.
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption, a must game for every gamer. Great story telling, great characters and great environment, just leaving my controller idle and watching some of the scenery is just a one way of admiring the beauty that Rockstar made. Truly a masterpiece. The only bad thing i found out was the online multiplayer for this game doesn't have the longevity like other games. I went onlineRed Dead Redemption, a must game for every gamer. Great story telling, great characters and great environment, just leaving my controller idle and watching some of the scenery is just a one way of admiring the beauty that Rockstar made. Truly a masterpiece. The only bad thing i found out was the online multiplayer for this game doesn't have the longevity like other games. I went online after 4-5 months after release and I didn't found much people playing anymore.

    All in all, even without online, this game can hold it's own.
    Expand
  12. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is basically GTA4, but set in the Wild West and you can be a good guy or bad guy. I was never a fan of cowboy movies but the story was epic. I will not tell you anything about the story, but that it was epic. I still can't believe what happened. I don't care if this sounds nerdy but John Marston is one of my video game role models. Now on with the gameplay. Just thinkRed Dead Redemption is basically GTA4, but set in the Wild West and you can be a good guy or bad guy. I was never a fan of cowboy movies but the story was epic. I will not tell you anything about the story, but that it was epic. I still can't believe what happened. I don't care if this sounds nerdy but John Marston is one of my video game role models. Now on with the gameplay. Just think "GTA Wild West Town". Your character feels flexible and you have great gameplay mechanics. The world was so huge I actually got lost (and mauled by a bear). Online is epic (again I can't tell you, you have to experience it). Now a question that always hangs, GTA4 or this? If you want to be a good guy, go for RDR. If you want a modern setting, go for GTA4. Simple as that. But just remember that you get your money's worth in this game. Epic story, epic gameplay, epic online. Get this game. Expand
  13. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Black Ops and Red Dead Redemption for the PS3 have a great number of cheaters that use everything from modded controllers with rapid fire to lag switches and glitches. Here is a very small list of some of these gamers.

    XEL_MALBOROX MR__Arizona RKC_Hell-Raiser Taachii55 Blackpanther021 Tos-7- K_-sA_Abood Bonelessbrownie Devilwearprada_ Hero-Gabriel dir_en_grey04 Gold_RevolverS
    Black Ops and Red Dead Redemption for the PS3 have a great number of cheaters that use everything from modded controllers with rapid fire to lag switches and glitches. Here is a very small list of some of these gamers.

    XEL_MALBOROX
    MR__Arizona
    RKC_Hell-Raiser
    Taachii55
    Blackpanther021
    Tos-7-
    K_-sA_Abood
    Bonelessbrownie
    Devilwearprada_
    Hero-Gabriel
    dir_en_grey04
    Gold_RevolverS
    BaRBiie_C4n_KiLL
    Crazy_Slag
    date1016
    Tazzz31
    ALN3ME_Skull
    YoungGunz_Raiden
    Jake-t-Snake
    MATACAMPEROS_77
    Stich_Boy
    Filth_1
    OCB-LA-GACHETTE
    OCB_BOUGE_DE_LA
    OCB-BEFALO-M13
    Dirty-Killaz
    Areksandorya_368
    Salem30
    Sergio_Cruz_H
    Critan_Pedro
    YoungGunz_Demon
    Jimi101mokumz
    Galactico2010
    Moon_kiss
    SirBricante
    Fheer1
    The_sleeper_one
    xllx__SAM__xllx
    Born-to-Game
    Red1on1
    Crazyfofo
    Jr_player1
    Lukasky
    Vargas23-09-1998
    Karma0809
    Talooon
    Latino131
    RDFC_Butler
    RDFC_KillaKid Dead_Headshots Silentt_Warrior RedMarlboro- Kriss_Lopez
    Expand
  14. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Experience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin forExperience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin for trading,finishing tasks for strangers,completing missions,purchasing homes to save your game,and travelling from MEXICO to US.The gameplay is so much fun because of the accurate controlling of the gun,the simple,easy covering system,the variety of weapons in the game like a wenchester repeater,the knife,the lasso,the shotgun,etc.Very good graphics,high quality textures,realistic landscapes of the mountains,the rivers,and the desserts.The Rockstar team are very well on representing the wild west by the so many details in the game,the old saloons,the houses,the horses,and the high mountains.Strong story of John Martson who is working with the US government agent Edgar Ross to kill the outlaws,in his journey he went to mexico to revenge from Bill Williamson that was his best friend,he was involved with the Mexican revolution against the president,and with the president of mexico.After finishing his deeds with government,he went to his house to see his wife Abigail,his son Jack,and Uncle.Lefting behind the harsh world that he was living in ,but the surprise is the government after making him to work with them,They decided to kill him like a dog but his wife and his son have escaped from them.Jack Martson has grown up to seek revenge for his father.The possitives are good gameplay,strong story,good graphics,fun missions,long map to explore,good voice acting,fun multiplayer.The negatives are the dead eye feature that lets you to kill multiple enemies fast which makes the enemies week and non competitive,and the sadly ending.I am waiting for the next Red Dead Redemption maybe they will make Jack martson the new character in the game.(Sorry for my bad English). Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    LOVE IT , I Must Agree , I Prefer this over GTA 4 AND L.a Noire. Its a Breath taking game and the end is amazing. Never been so attached to the Characters. Theres so many side quests & missions You can do theres never a time where you have NOTHING to do. You can decide if you want to be a Honorable Legend of the West By Helping People in help or An Outlaw robbing banks killing etc. TheresLOVE IT , I Must Agree , I Prefer this over GTA 4 AND L.a Noire. Its a Breath taking game and the end is amazing. Never been so attached to the Characters. Theres so many side quests & missions You can do theres never a time where you have NOTHING to do. You can decide if you want to be a Honorable Legend of the West By Helping People in help or An Outlaw robbing banks killing etc. Theres so much about this game i love i can probably write for 2 hours. Its just Amazing. Graphis are a 10/10 Sunset is truley Gorgeous. The Horses are Beautifully animated and so are the wild animals. Its Honeslty Breath taking. The Story line is WOW. Of course every games graphics have a few kicks and bugs but we play a game for the storyline. I Recommend anyone to buy this game . Its Amazing. And you will NOT be let down Expand
  16. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    Rockstar found gold with this title.Yeah, you can cause havock if you want to, just like in GTA 4, but the story and more importantly, it's feel, makes this game more than a GTA set in the west.They just nailed the inherent sadness of the best westerns.Behaviour, dialog, characters and beautiful graphic design, all evoke those hard, past times.The ordeal the main character has to overcameRockstar found gold with this title.Yeah, you can cause havock if you want to, just like in GTA 4, but the story and more importantly, it's feel, makes this game more than a GTA set in the west.They just nailed the inherent sadness of the best westerns.Behaviour, dialog, characters and beautiful graphic design, all evoke those hard, past times.The ordeal the main character has to overcame to find some kind of solace it's handled in a very serious manner, giving the ending some extraordinary gravitas to it I've never seen before on a game.The gameplay is flawless, a 3rd person shooter with varied, fun missions you can accomplish to advance the main story or side missions for secondary characters which provide some much needed comic relief.The game's long and fun, and it has a multiplayer that give it endless replayability.Highly recommended! Expand
  17. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    There is so much fun stuff to do in this game. I feel like you can't be bored playing this game. The game is beautiful, so even just sitting on your horse, admiring the Mexican sunset while watching deer jump across the plain is awesome. A fresh change of pace from GTA for Rockstar most indeed. The story was brilliant especially the end.
  18. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Unquestionably one of the best games ever made, nothing combines action, story-telling with an old-west feel like RDR. People may say that GTA 4 is better than RDR, but Niko is just some petty criminal, whereas Marston is fighting for a just cause.
  19. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    I liked the first hours. Let me begin by saying that I'm not a sandbox guy. I don't really like just doing stuff in the world, I never know what to do. I need missions and storyline. So based on that, I liked the first hours. But after a while I got bored, and by the ending I was just playing because I wanted to complete is, didn't pay off. GTA IV payed off at the end of the story, thisI liked the first hours. Let me begin by saying that I'm not a sandbox guy. I don't really like just doing stuff in the world, I never know what to do. I need missions and storyline. So based on that, I liked the first hours. But after a while I got bored, and by the ending I was just playing because I wanted to complete is, didn't pay off. GTA IV payed off at the end of the story, this one this not. Except for that, I had about the same experience, and GTA IV was never really a drag. Expand
  20. May 22, 2012
    9
    This game is absolutely fantastic. The taking of GTA-esque gameplay and open world and bringing it to the Wild West is brilliant. The story is fantastic, the gameplay is smooth and fun, and all the things you can do and places you can explore leave the player with a fulfilling gaming experience. The only thing that I believed was lacking was the multiplayer, but who even needs that inThis game is absolutely fantastic. The taking of GTA-esque gameplay and open world and bringing it to the Wild West is brilliant. The story is fantastic, the gameplay is smooth and fun, and all the things you can do and places you can explore leave the player with a fulfilling gaming experience. The only thing that I believed was lacking was the multiplayer, but who even needs that in such a single-player driven game! Expand
  21. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever if not the best.To be frank have still not completed the game but all the time that i spent playing felt it was worth.never a dull moment be it our hero riding the horse all the way across the map or searching for flowers in the wild(yeah you do that for increasing a challenge called survivalist) or even playing card games its all so fun... along withSimply one of the best games ever if not the best.To be frank have still not completed the game but all the time that i spent playing felt it was worth.never a dull moment be it our hero riding the horse all the way across the map or searching for flowers in the wild(yeah you do that for increasing a challenge called survivalist) or even playing card games its all so fun... along with that u have all the western style shooting which adds up more fun... the oonly thing that cud have been better i wud say was the graphics and music.. but trust compared to the other games out there those are still pretty good.. whatever gamer u are this is one of those games u have to play before u die........ 9.5/10. Expand
  22. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    The only thing that I hate from this game is : Why The John Marston Cannot Swimm ?? great riding horse,great visualization,great hunting,great storyline and characters
  23. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game by Rockstar. The PS2 Red Dead Revolver I believe has a better story line than Red Dead Redemption. I enjoyed the weapons, enemies, and over all plot. I like the ending which had an excellent twist. I believe this is a solid title with plenty of extras that will keep you coming back for more.
  24. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    What a GREAT game! , i dont know why some people hate it, its an AMAZING game, I recommend everyone to buy it especially if you like open world/action games
  25. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    for people who say red dead redemption is gta with a horse well you are wrong.it is way more than that.the environment is beautiful.will play it about 56 hours if you do the side missions.
  26. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Late to review I know, better late than never! I'm not really into the old Wild West theme - usually! But I made an exception for this game. Its game play is good and its certainly entertaining. Good game!
  27. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. I suspect it will be a very long time before I am honored to play a game as good as this in the future. It's the best open world game I have ever played. The graphics are top notch. The voice acting really is exceptional and pulls you into the story. The sound is great. from the muffled sounds of your horses hooves to the crisp sounds of western gunOne of the best games ever made. I suspect it will be a very long time before I am honored to play a game as good as this in the future. It's the best open world game I have ever played. The graphics are top notch. The voice acting really is exceptional and pulls you into the story. The sound is great. from the muffled sounds of your horses hooves to the crisp sounds of western gun shooters. You really start to have feelings for the main character. The horses in this game are absolutely beautiful, and realistic. There are plenty of mini games in this open world gem including; poker, horse shoes, arm wrestling, finger knife, black jack, and liars dice. Expand
  28. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. Interaction with the old west has never been better. Great graphics, realistic areas, unique gameplay, and just the right difficulty. This is the best western game ever created.
  29. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Not a western fan? I wasn't. Red Dead Redemption got under my skin. Now, I enjoy Johnny Cash, can watch an old Huston or Peckinpah movie and Deadwood, and so on. I get it. John Marston, the main character, is a man that endears himself to many of the people in the game and out of it as well (as you may have found out reading other reviewers). Part of the credit goes to the master voiceNot a western fan? I wasn't. Red Dead Redemption got under my skin. Now, I enjoy Johnny Cash, can watch an old Huston or Peckinpah movie and Deadwood, and so on. I get it. John Marston, the main character, is a man that endears himself to many of the people in the game and out of it as well (as you may have found out reading other reviewers). Part of the credit goes to the master voice work by the actor, part goes to the engaging story line. The gameplay is challenging without becoming annoying. Not normally a fan of console controls compared to pc gaming, but RDR has dynamics that compensate for the less than ideal aiming of a PS3 controller. The environment is beautifully rendered through the graphics, sound effects, and music that make the world a pleasure to live out a legend in. You can marvel at just going to the menu and seeing the freeze frame create a beautiful tableau. RDR has pacing that can be at times exciting and other times relaxing, encouraging the player to take time enjoying the wildlife (even while hunting it). I loved it and will likely replay it just to experience it all again. Expand
  30. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    1 WORD 'MINDBLOWING' thats what you would call the rockstar masterpiece "Red Dead Redemption'
    Remember those spaghetti western movies? Combine all the beautiful moments of those movies in one box(now u have some idea of what waiting for u in red dead redemption).Let me list few words that are the very strength of the game :Great main story ,Fantastic orchestral score,Memorable characters
    1 WORD 'MINDBLOWING' thats what you would call the rockstar masterpiece "Red Dead Redemption'
    Remember those spaghetti western movies? Combine all the beautiful moments of those movies in one box(now u have some idea of what waiting for u in red dead redemption).Let me list few words that are the very strength of the game :Great main story ,Fantastic orchestral score,Memorable characters and AMAZING GRAPHICS with incredible amount of detail added to each and everything u see in the game.And you know ROCKSTAR NORTH are the only masters of SANDBOX and again outdid themselves in RDR.If you are a fan of western Cowboy thingy then you sure to HUG RED DEAD REDEMPTION with open arms.......well done rockstar a solid 10/10
    Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    If you actually like to play games in general, you have to have this game!!!!!!!! The best story, ending, atmosphere, soundtrack, characters, location, amazing graphics, tonnes of replay ability and not to mention the amazing multiplayer, this is the best game ever made, 100000000000000/10 if I could!!!
  32. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    I shouldn't haven't to force myself to play this game, which is what happened after I bought it. Basically its GTA IV set in the old west. Boooooring! I gave it 6 hours, and I still could not get myself to play it anymore. I heard it gets better the later on in the game. But come on 6 hours into it and I have to wait longer for it to get better? Why do I think its boring? TakesI shouldn't haven't to force myself to play this game, which is what happened after I bought it. Basically its GTA IV set in the old west. Boooooring! I gave it 6 hours, and I still could not get myself to play it anymore. I heard it gets better the later on in the game. But come on 6 hours into it and I have to wait longer for it to get better? Why do I think its boring? Takes forever to get anywhere on horse from location to location. Missions aren't that appealing. Its to similar to the GTA IV for me. I expected something different. Expand
  33. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    If you go into this game expecting GTA V then you'll be sadly disappointed. THIS IS NOT GTA, OR BASED IN THE GTA UNIVERSE. Some people jump into the game and start shooting everything then getting the sheriffs on them, then die, then repeat until it gets boring instead of follow the story. And what a story it is, its kind of split into three sections: wild west america, mexico and thenIf you go into this game expecting GTA V then you'll be sadly disappointed. THIS IS NOT GTA, OR BASED IN THE GTA UNIVERSE. Some people jump into the game and start shooting everything then getting the sheriffs on them, then die, then repeat until it gets boring instead of follow the story. And what a story it is, its kind of split into three sections: wild west america, mexico and then modern mountainous america (all one map) Its basicallyy a trilogy. However the mexican part of the game bored me a bit and whilst having it's good moments you inevitably compare it the the first "film" which is the best. Theres a huge cast in the game which creates some memorable characters indivual to each section however there is some crossovers which are nice to see. The storys great and so is the gameplay which plays like a third person cover based shooter, and with the ability use every gun in the game (after you buy, get given or find them) means you can constantly adapt. Dead eye (slows down time and allows you to target partes of the body) works well and its impresive that if you shoot someone in the leg they react to it and can literally be brought to their knees. The single player can last a while with quite a few side missions which are more like side storys which add to the overall length and imersion. then theres the multiplayer which is on par with the single, everything you do helps you level up and the free roam is full of mini missions you and your posse can do, there are also a string of competitive games to play which work well and are good fun and never seem to get old so like me you can pour hours and hours into the online without it feeling repetitive or boring. There are a few glitches but they don't ruining the experience and the graphics which aren't mind blowing still look good and are enough to keep you imersed. I feel I should talk about the lighting which is spectacular and very realistic, everyting has a shadow and the game looks amazing when theres lightning happening. Everyone needs this game its so deep and John Marston is one of the best game characters rockstar could have chosen to play lead man, his voice acting is top notch and you really beging to care about him and his struggles. Its simply the best game ever and deserves everyones attention. Expand
  34. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    My one saving grace on the ps3 right now. Its the only game that is actually working well for me on the p3 right now. Its a hoot to play although a bit graphic in places and certainly something that you don't want your kids in the same room while your playing!
  35. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    I think it is the best PS3 game I ever played. The only bad thing I found is that the beginning and the ending are boring compared to the action of the middle of the game. But this is a really good game, with an excellent soundtrack, an excellent scenario, an excellent gameplay, an excellent map, sublime landscapes, long life expectancy (+ multiplayer).
  36. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    It's kind of funny; after checking out a few of my favorite games on this site I was compelled to create an account in order to write positive reviews about them. This game won numerous game of the year awards, and was honestly the best game from Rockstar I've played since San Andreas. Yet somehow there are folks that actually gave this a negative rating. I'm not sure how this isIt's kind of funny; after checking out a few of my favorite games on this site I was compelled to create an account in order to write positive reviews about them. This game won numerous game of the year awards, and was honestly the best game from Rockstar I've played since San Andreas. Yet somehow there are folks that actually gave this a negative rating. I'm not sure how this is possible.

    When I first purchased this game I was not looking forward to it very much. I thought "Gee, this is going to be Grand Theft Horse, oh well, hope its fun". I'm not a fan of westerns, as that genre doesn't really interest me much. However this game won me over 100%. The gameplay is quite compelling, the main storyline is compelling in the way a good novel, or great movie is compelling. I personally put in a lot of late nights finishing portions of the content just to see what happened next. I was so enthralled by the game that, immediately after completing it, I started a new game over again. As I mentioned before this won numerous game of the year awards for 2010 and all of them were well deserved. I personally can't wait for the rumored sequel.
    Expand
  37. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    This game is the best western Cowboy game available personally and It has fairly good graphics and very fun Missions it really gives you the effect of a western cowboy and his adventure to redeem his old life
  38. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    The best game RockStar has ever made in my opinion, yes, even better than GTA. Much lasting appeal, some of the best graphics around, good sounds and awesome gameplay (even riding a horse around is fun).
    An incredible campaign is joined by a solid multiplayer experience. A Western game can't get any better than this. 10/10
  39. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Wow. I have played some amazing games with great gameplay, story and a fantastic universe, but I have never played a game as good as this. I only picked this up at the start of this year, and I really regret waiting so long to do so. Red Dead Redemption is Rockstar's masterpiece. It blends a fantastic story, great gameplay and an incredibly immersive, gorgeous world that really feels likeWow. I have played some amazing games with great gameplay, story and a fantastic universe, but I have never played a game as good as this. I only picked this up at the start of this year, and I really regret waiting so long to do so. Red Dead Redemption is Rockstar's masterpiece. It blends a fantastic story, great gameplay and an incredibly immersive, gorgeous world that really feels like a living world. I'll start by talking about the graphics. The graphics are absolutely breath-taking. Two years after its release and Red Dead is still one of the best looking games I have ever played. The wild west looks fantastic and diverse and has a gigantic scope. I have never really been compelled to explore any open world games- GTA4 didn't really have an interesting world, in Skyrim I just spammed the fast travel and in many other open world games I just only focused on the story. However in Red Dead Redemption the world is so beautiful that simply riding my horse around the Wild West is enough to keep me incredibly entertained. Now I will talk about the story. The story seems like a simple western but it is still fantastic. It is the story of a man called John Marston. At the beginning John gets shot and left to die by former gang mate Bill Williamson. He is taken in by a woman named Bonnie MacFarlane who tends to his wounds and lets him stay at her ranch. Marston then goes on a journey to try and find Bill Williamson and kill him before he kills his family. It's an interesting story filled with some whacky, interesting and compelling characters. There wasn't a single character (with the exception of Nigel West Dickens) who annoyed me. The gameplay was just fantastic. The main weapons I used were a rifle, shotgun, knife, pistol and a lasso. All of them look good and feel powerful, because every bullet of a gun that hits an enemy, every victim you throw your lasso at reacts well and realistically, a shot to the leg won't necessarily kill, whereas a shot to the chest or head can kill instantly. The horse riding is a bit wonky at first, however you get used to it after a while and you wouldn't have the horse riding controls any other way. There are a lot of activities to do in Red Dead. From cattle herding, horse breaking, assaulting gang hideouts, playing poker, liar's dice and blackjack, hunting and more. There are also treasures to find and a lot of cool costumes to unlock, with the Mexican poncho being the highlight of all the costumes. There are just so many things to do in the massive world of Red Dead Redemption and you'll never feel bored of what you are doing. The bottom line is that Red Dead Redemption is an absolute masterpiece. It blends a fantastic open world, a great story, fantastic gameplay and charming characters. Red Dead Redemption is single handedly the best game I have ever played. Rockstar are simply the master game creators, and I cannot wait to see what is next for the Read Dead series. You absolutely have to buy this game, your money will be well spent and you will enjoy it for hours, even if you aren't a fan of western movies. Expand
  40. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    This game,at least for me,was a disapointment .Unlike GTA,it is the same thing over and over and over.
    The controls are utterly bad and not like GTA.The missions are basically the same.You go to the sheriff,he tells you to help him go kill some people,you do that and then after a day or so,you go and do the same thing again.
    GTAIV and L.A Noire where fantastic games,absolutely amazing,but
    This game,at least for me,was a disapointment .Unlike GTA,it is the same thing over and over and over.
    The controls are utterly bad and not like GTA.The missions are basically the same.You go to the sheriff,he tells you to help him go kill some people,you do that and then after a day or so,you go and do the same thing again.
    GTAIV and L.A Noire where fantastic games,absolutely amazing,but this one was just a horrible game.
    Expand
  41. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Probably one of my favorite games of all time!! This is truly an amazing adventure. The plot is compelling and unforgettable, the combat is fun, the land is vast and gorgeous, and the music perfectly fits the atmosphere of the game. Other than a few glitch moments here and there, this is one of the best games of this generation!!
  42. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    red dead redemption is easily one of the best games ever created. It's definitely in my personal top 5 games I've ever played: really good and immersive story, great controls, great graphics and environment and long singleplayer!
  43. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is one of those games that suck you in for weeks.
    When I first started the game I didn't like the controls and I thought that the main character is not very cool.After 3 hours,when finally got used to controls, I just couldn't stop playing.Most amazing thing in this game is that you never get bored.There are tons of things to do in single player,like hunting all the
    Red Dead Redemption is one of those games that suck you in for weeks.
    When I first started the game I didn't like the controls and I thought that the main character is not very cool.After 3 hours,when finally got used to controls, I just couldn't stop playing.Most amazing thing in this game is that you never get bored.There are tons of things to do in single player,like hunting all the animals,doing different side quests and so on.During the story missions,even when you are just riding to some destination for a long time,you still don't get bored,because of the super interesting dialogues between characters.This game is a smash hit,you miss so much if you don't play it.
    Expand
  44. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    If you hate this game you're not a gamer, simple as that. No, I'm not a Rockstar fanboy but it's really so goddamn obvious that Red Dead Redemption is the best game this gen, by far and that is a fact.
  45. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead is a masterpeice, plain and simple. The story is breathtaking and will leave you wanting more, yet being satisfied. The free roam is fun and has the added joy of joining a posse with friends and fighting other gangs. The story is extremely long and occasionally slow, but in the end it will suck you in and not let go. Fokes leave your computer and buy this game immediately!!! Expand
  46. Mar 10, 2012
    2
    How did Rockstar manage to make GTA-Goes-West so boring, even frustrating at times? Clunky controls, game breaking clipping errors and a terribly executed cover-system. The dialog and exposition are not entertaining, insightful or the least bit interesting. RDR is my most disappointing gaming experience in the last 15 years.
  47. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This game blows all the GTA games to water .The wild west version with an nice storyline amazing missons and has a lot to offer .the multiplayer is dissapointing but other than that it is a fanstastic game
  48. May 14, 2012
    8
    This is one of those games where you got so much stuff to do and its so addictive. I have played this game about 40hours and its still one of the best Wild-West games ever. I really hope rockstar makes Red Dead Redemption 2 whit much more things to do this game is NOT crappy one.Multilayer in this game is good but I expected more there is some kind of PvP and Gang-hideouts but notThis is one of those games where you got so much stuff to do and its so addictive. I have played this game about 40hours and its still one of the best Wild-West games ever. I really hope rockstar makes Red Dead Redemption 2 whit much more things to do this game is NOT crappy one.Multilayer in this game is good but I expected more there is some kind of PvP and Gang-hideouts but not anything special. There is very good choice of weapons only problem I found was that you cant dual wield revolvers. The game itself is not that hard like old GTA games because you have checkpoints and regenerating healt but still I love to play this game. Expand
  49. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. Absolutely perfect. The visuals are stunning and are never boring to look at. The gameplay is fun, meaty and feels right, every gun feels powerful and sounds perfect, the rag doll physics are the best I've seen in the game. The story is good enough to make you care and forget about how much time you've played. The world is filled with mini games, side quests, randomThis game is perfect. Absolutely perfect. The visuals are stunning and are never boring to look at. The gameplay is fun, meaty and feels right, every gun feels powerful and sounds perfect, the rag doll physics are the best I've seen in the game. The story is good enough to make you care and forget about how much time you've played. The world is filled with mini games, side quests, random encounters, gang hideouts, hunting, it feels alive. I would recommend this game to anyone, hardcore to casual, and that's why it deserves a 10/10. Expand
  50. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This is a fantastic game by Rockstar.
    The wild west has never been properly portrayed in another game, and RDR does a great job at doing so.
    One of the best games this generation.
  51. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Rockstar just hit the right spot with Read Dead Redemption.
    At the same time it's easy to explain, it's hard. The easy part's that RDR is very much like GTA, except by the fact it's Western themed. The hard part's that, besides the similarity of the genre, RDR has some artistic touch that GTA doesn't. The dialogues, the picking of the words and the conversation itself were mastered, in
    Rockstar just hit the right spot with Read Dead Redemption.
    At the same time it's easy to explain, it's hard. The easy part's that RDR is very much like GTA, except by the fact it's Western themed. The hard part's that, besides the similarity of the genre, RDR has some artistic touch that GTA doesn't. The dialogues, the picking of the words and the conversation itself were mastered, in this game. It's really hilarious sometimes, as as well dramatic and deep other times. Plus, the voice acting is perfect, just how every game should be (in special, the voice of John Marston, the protagonist, is badass and awesome as hell). Story-wise, RDR has a decent story. It's not the best story out there, but it really gets the job done. The details in the world around helps to build an atmosphere that truly makes you feel as if you're in a Western world.
    The graphics are amazing. The world is beatiful. It's wonderful to literally ride to the sunset, or at dawn. The character models are not the best in the market. In one hand, facial animations are a bit poor, but nothing too much terrible to complain; in other, the body animations are very good and make the game look good.
    The gameplay is easy to get: point the dot and shoot. The good stuff here lies in the dead eye system. You can slow time and mark the targets you wanna shoot. When you press the trigger, everything you marked goes to the ground. It makes you look like a **** badass cowboy. The gun duels are amusing, too. But be advised: you can lose many hours in the game just playing card games, such as blackjack or poker. There are also games such liar's dice and horseshoes, In the end, all of them are pretty fun. RDR features side quests and outfits-hunting for the most adventurous players.
    Red Dead Redemption is an epic Western game that will suck you in with the roughness and glory of a rich world, fun gameplay and good story. It's just Rockstar being awesome again.
    Expand
  52. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Now this is a true masterpiece by Rockstar. This is the best game of its year, and people are gonna remember this game for decades. Where else you can relive the Wild West?

    Red Dead Redemption has everything a gamer can ask: story, graphics, gameplay, sound and it never grow old.
  53. May 18, 2012
    10
    this game was a masterpiece. from beginning to end, I loved every second of it. I loved that you actually had to hunt, the characters, the story line, side missions, everything basically. I feel this game is a must buy, because it is so diverse and entertaining. I want RDR 2!
  54. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    An awesome game, with an amazing storyline one of my favourite games, with a massive open world and brilliant scenery, the storyline of this game is enthralling and would make any player who enjoys open world games want to play the whole thing through. This is another well designed game by Rockstar, also the ending has a twist to most games.
    even if people find the controls of the game
    An awesome game, with an amazing storyline one of my favourite games, with a massive open world and brilliant scenery, the storyline of this game is enthralling and would make any player who enjoys open world games want to play the whole thing through. This is another well designed game by Rockstar, also the ending has a twist to most games.
    even if people find the controls of the game hard to use, or find other part of the game annoying it definitely makes up for this with the graphics and storyline. An important game for any gamer to play.
    Expand
  55. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Turned off by the whole western theme, I was reluctant to pick this game up. Now I admit that this is by far one of the best games I have played in decades. Solid game play, but the story and well developed characters make this one of the best. The writing and voice acting would put most highly acclaimed movies to shame. Play it through to the end and the ending will blow you away.
  56. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is Rockstar's greatest achievement. No open world game matches the epic scale, storytelling, and environments packed into the game. This is the best Western to grace a gaming system and is certainly worth your time. There is much bang for your buck here.
  57. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    I guess I expected more from the game when I read all the reviews. But sadly I was not as satisfied as I was waiting to be. Become more of me trying hard to like a game which is not as polished as I would've liked it to be. Not the biggest fan by a long shot.
  58. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I don't give it a 10 just because it's not perfect and I would never grade it above MGS but it sure is one of the best games out there, sometimes it does seems boring but it's the Old West what did you expect there weren't many things to do at the time!! but all the mini games and all the missions are so cool, every hour spend on this game it was fun. How about killing a wild beast pealingI don't give it a 10 just because it's not perfect and I would never grade it above MGS but it sure is one of the best games out there, sometimes it does seems boring but it's the Old West what did you expect there weren't many things to do at the time!! but all the mini games and all the missions are so cool, every hour spend on this game it was fun. How about killing a wild beast pealing their skin and sell it at the store!!! how cool is that!! This is A MUST on your PS3 games collection. Expand
  59. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Great game that is all i have to say with great graphics, amazing atmosphere and open world so why i only give it a 7/10 you may ask? Well, i found that the begining missions with bonnie and the late missions with johns family were realy dull and got me realy bored but the rest were all exciting and fantastic and i would have enjoyed the ending a bit more if my stupid friends didnt spoilGreat game that is all i have to say with great graphics, amazing atmosphere and open world so why i only give it a 7/10 you may ask? Well, i found that the begining missions with bonnie and the late missions with johns family were realy dull and got me realy bored but the rest were all exciting and fantastic and i would have enjoyed the ending a bit more if my stupid friends didnt spoil it for me but i still realy enjoyed the single player to the point of actually getting 100%. Now the multiplayer was realy fun even when you are playing alone. I mean there is just so much that you can do that it is realy addicting but sadly the community is realy little nowadays and there are loads of hackers that steal your fun. If it wasnt for the online comunity this game would be an easy 10/10 especially with undead nightmare but if just want to beat the campaign then WTF are you doing. Expand
  60. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Really I'd give this an 8.5. This is a large game with plenty to do: main quests, bounty hunting, outfit collecting, poker, completing challenges, you name it. You'll be quite occupied and always striving to get that game completion up to 100%. The 3rd person shooter combat is always engaging, and Dead Eye (slowing down time and pinpointing shots) makes you feel legendary. The environmentsReally I'd give this an 8.5. This is a large game with plenty to do: main quests, bounty hunting, outfit collecting, poker, completing challenges, you name it. You'll be quite occupied and always striving to get that game completion up to 100%. The 3rd person shooter combat is always engaging, and Dead Eye (slowing down time and pinpointing shots) makes you feel legendary. The environments really feel Western, which was the whole point. The story's pretty weak though. You're always after the goal of getting your family back by bringing down an old gang, but you just happen to get sidetracked a couple of times. I really wasn't engrossed in the plot at all. The weak story and the repetitive random encounters are the only gripes I have with this game. Expand
  61. Oct 18, 2013
    3
    This game is boring. It’s Grand Theft Auto in the Old West, which may sound intriguing until you actually play it for a while and discover that something as simple as moving your “vehicle” in reverse has become a tedious pain in the butt. Not to mention that riding a horse is flat out nowhere near as fun as driving a car and removes most of the things that make the GTA sandbox funThis game is boring. It’s Grand Theft Auto in the Old West, which may sound intriguing until you actually play it for a while and discover that something as simple as moving your “vehicle” in reverse has become a tedious pain in the butt. Not to mention that riding a horse is flat out nowhere near as fun as driving a car and removes most of the things that make the GTA sandbox fun (different types of vehicles, stunt jumps, etc).

    Everything down to the gameplay structure & unnecessarily long cutscenes during missions is the same as GTA4. You unlock mission givers and have to travel to them from your save point, then to the mission objective, then back to the save point, over & over again. Except, as I mentioned, you’re on a horse instead of in a car. The graphics on PS3 are also disappointing, just like GTA4.

    There is allegedly some incredible story buried in this game, but good luck finding it. I played for about 20 hours and never encountered it (also a lot like GTA4). I completely lost interest in whatever was going on after doing my umpteenth random task for whats-her-name the cattle rancher. The sidequests are even worse. I can’t imagine how mind-numbing it would be to try and reach 100% completion on this game.

    If you have a serious hard-on for the Old West, horses, and moving slowly over mostly empty & bleak terrain, this game is your huckleberry. Otherwise, steer clear.
    Expand
  62. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Nobody makes better games than Rockstar. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Every aspect of their games is done better than anything else on the market - their control, their physics, their environments, their animations, their freedom of movement. When you play most games, there are usually 1 or 2 aspects of the game that are lacking or rushed...but Rockstar's games feel polished andNobody makes better games than Rockstar. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Every aspect of their games is done better than anything else on the market - their control, their physics, their environments, their animations, their freedom of movement. When you play most games, there are usually 1 or 2 aspects of the game that are lacking or rushed...but Rockstar's games feel polished and complete in every respect. Red Dead Redemption is no exception. They improved the character control since GTA, but horses aren't as fun to control as cars, so the traveling can get a bit dull. This world isn't quite as fun as GTA and lacks the over-the-top action from GTA (like the ability to sky dive or create 10-car pile-ups that made GTA so enjoyable)...but this is still an amazing game that puts most other games on the market to shame. It really is baffling to me how under-appreciated Rockstar's work ethic. They put so much more into their games than anyone else does, yet many other games still get scored in the 9-10 range, despite the fact that these games have half the amount of content, half the freedom, half the environment, and half the attention to detail as Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  63. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  64. Aug 20, 2010
    7
    This game is indeed very good. the production values are very high and i must say that this game looks amazing. The character models are very detailed and the games story is very well told and you are constantly meeting new characters ( who usually vary from normal to very odd) this is a plus point. the controls are also very good. the developers at Rockstar have kept the same controls asThis game is indeed very good. the production values are very high and i must say that this game looks amazing. The character models are very detailed and the games story is very well told and you are constantly meeting new characters ( who usually vary from normal to very odd) this is a plus point. the controls are also very good. the developers at Rockstar have kept the same controls as in GTA 4. but the actual missions are what let me down. in my opinion the game just gets gradually more and more repetitive. after abut an hour into the game I felt as though the game started to lack something special as the missions become a real chore and you keep having to do the same thing over and over again. go over, talk to this guy and follow him over to another place, where a gang of thieves will be waiting for you or just to meet a new character. and it stays almost the same throughout the game. it is a very good game and playing online in a party with friends is very enjoyable and is where the game stands out, but as a single player experience, it is very good but I felt that it could introduce a more varied set of missions in order to keep me interested in it. Expand
  65. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Hype Strikes again i will admit the story was fun but horses suck compared to cars and I'm from the Midwest. i didn't like GTA4 that much and was afraid RDR would be the same layout which it was ,but my main reason for giving this game a 5 is because the MP was a joke auto aim lackluster pile of steaming horse crap there is nothing to do. Don't give me that **** about how there'sHype Strikes again i will admit the story was fun but horses suck compared to cars and I'm from the Midwest. i didn't like GTA4 that much and was afraid RDR would be the same layout which it was ,but my main reason for giving this game a 5 is because the MP was a joke auto aim lackluster pile of steaming horse crap there is nothing to do. Don't give me that **** about how there's challenges i mean come on flower picking and the game mode types were stupid this game was not made to be competitive its engine just cant handle that and as a result TDM and the other modes felt like a bad ps2 third person shooter ,and all the other boring ass stuff they threw in there to try to make it work was laughable at best. i found my self just boosting my levels up on the easiest gang hideout with friends just to give me something to do and the pvp reward system is a joke 5 point for killing another person its retarded you would have to kill 200 real people which would take for ever in a game were there is only ever 4 freaking people in a lobby when i could just boost a easy gang hideout in 1:40 and get 1000 xp. overall i was done with this game in like a 5 days b/c the MP was just to damn boring OVER HYPED NUFF SAID Expand
  66. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Mafia II refuses to follow the crowd of open-world games by putting authenticity at the head of its agenda instead of sheer scale and off-the-hook action. Empire Bay is a fantastic embodiment of the 1940s/'50s; really sharp cinematography and mostly solid voice acting; well-built experience with a handful of notable moments. Most exciting moments in game are seen and not played;Mafia II refuses to follow the crowd of open-world games by putting authenticity at the head of its agenda instead of sheer scale and off-the-hook action. Empire Bay is a fantastic embodiment of the 1940s/'50s; really sharp cinematography and mostly solid voice acting; well-built experience with a handful of notable moments. Most exciting moments in game are seen and not played; superficial narrative fails to explore briefly mentioned themes; streamlined campaign lacks side missions or exploration.
    Game duration 8 -10 hours depending how slow/fast you play
    Expand
  67. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Red Dead Redemption is probably Rockstar's most immersive and beautiful game to date but it is by no means perfect, basically GTA4 with horses. Lets start with the good; it's big, it's beautiful, capping people in the leg and watching the physics work their magic never gets old, the guns feel solid and powerful and for once in gaming we seem to have an accurate representation of what aRed Dead Redemption is probably Rockstar's most immersive and beautiful game to date but it is by no means perfect, basically GTA4 with horses. Lets start with the good; it's big, it's beautiful, capping people in the leg and watching the physics work their magic never gets old, the guns feel solid and powerful and for once in gaming we seem to have an accurate representation of what a gunshot wound to the head would actually look like. However the game does have problems, while almost every characters motivations and personalities are interesting, John Marston's, weirdly, isn't. While Marston's cause is a worthy one, he doesn't half go on about it, repeating the same story over and over to passers-by and anyone who'll listen, conscious or not. Also the game is just plain easy; the cover button seems to toggle god-mode and dead-eye (while visceral and satisfying) is just bullet-time in a dress. Also, bears shouldn't be able to take a shell to the head without flinching, they're bears not houses. In conclusion this is a good game hampered by small niggles, like a supermodel with no teeth... And Jack can jump in a **** black hole too Expand
  68. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best environments I've ever seen in a video game. It makes you feel like you're in the wild west. Rockstar always has really great voice acting and storytelling. This game may be their best.
  69. Apr 26, 2011
    7
    A brilliant narrative that plays with the players perspective, and sheds the wild west in a new light. It is proof that videogames are indeed art. Unfortunately it's not actually fun to play, with some of the most tedious mechanics in modern gaming. The section in mexico was especially a chore, with it's frequent backtracking. At the end there is a great annoyance as well, as aA brilliant narrative that plays with the players perspective, and sheds the wild west in a new light. It is proof that videogames are indeed art. Unfortunately it's not actually fun to play, with some of the most tedious mechanics in modern gaming. The section in mexico was especially a chore, with it's frequent backtracking. At the end there is a great annoyance as well, as a completely achievable obstacle assumes and forces the player's defeat. Expand
  70. May 2, 2011
    10
    This game captures you from the start. Gameplay mechanics much the same as GTA, so no amazing fun their. The immersion of this game is priceless....from the main story to side stories to hunting Legendary Animals. The greatest Wild West game to date. They need to start on a sequel as soon as L.A. Noire hits the shelves.
  71. Aug 21, 2014
    5
    After years of hearing no end of high praise for this title I finally got around to putting some time in. Whatever those people who rated it 10/10, 100/100 are smoking, I want some. Red Dead is far more removed than just being GTA with horses, it is that, and suffers because of it, because what makes a great GTA game great does not translate into the old west. I found myself constantlyAfter years of hearing no end of high praise for this title I finally got around to putting some time in. Whatever those people who rated it 10/10, 100/100 are smoking, I want some. Red Dead is far more removed than just being GTA with horses, it is that, and suffers because of it, because what makes a great GTA game great does not translate into the old west. I found myself constantly unimpressed, bored and disappointed with almost everything the game was throwing at me. Missions and quests were dull; follow the red line, shoot the man, come back, others were mind-numbingly tedious; herding cattle, breaking steers. Overrated bollocks. Expand
  72. Sep 1, 2011
    7
    Loved the idea of being a cowboy, until I played this game, now I am happy I only had to be a cowboy for a bit. While its not bad, this game wasn't good either. Felt like most of my time was spent staring at the butt of a horse and a story that just kept on going. Even when I thought the story was done it jumped a few years forward, but it was a different character and felt really "meh".
  73. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Better late than never.

    RDR is a fine game plagued by some annoying design decisions: the controls are absolutely dreadful, and the fast travel save system is cumbersome and annoying. The story, however, is entertaining, most of the time, if you don't take it seriously. Some of the characters, while cliché, are humorous and endearing, which helps pass the time when traveling on
    Better late than never.

    RDR is a fine game plagued by some annoying design decisions: the controls are absolutely dreadful, and the fast travel save system is cumbersome and annoying. The story, however, is entertaining, most of the time, if you don't take it seriously. Some of the characters, while cliché, are humorous and endearing, which helps pass the time when traveling on horseback from mission to mission. The latter part of the story was one of the most amazing gaming experiences I have ever had.

    Where the game really shines, however, is in the atmosphere. The graphics, sound, animations and features such as cattle-herding, horse-breaking, skinning and hunting, etc., really get you immersed in the game world. It's a shame they are not really meaningful to the development of your character, or I'd have given this game a 10.
    Expand
  74. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    The best game I have ever played on PS3. It is like Grand Theft Auto but set in the Midwest with a much better story line. I actually found myself immersed in my character. The best part is this game is entertaining for months. Its not like Uncharted (after you beat it in two-three days your done. This game I actually can play again and again.
  75. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    There have been tried and failed attempts to modernise the Western setting for video games, Hollywood had quite the hype with its over abundance of Spaghetti Westerns, yet they never truly left their mark on the gaming world. But when Rockstar announced that they would be creating a "spiritual sequel" to Red Dead Revolver, the air became ripe with anticipation at the thought of theThere have been tried and failed attempts to modernise the Western setting for video games, Hollywood had quite the hype with its over abundance of Spaghetti Westerns, yet they never truly left their mark on the gaming world. But when Rockstar announced that they would be creating a "spiritual sequel" to Red Dead Revolver, the air became ripe with anticipation at the thought of the developers of the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto series. Many began to assume that the game would be "Grand Theft Horses" yet while many of the gameplay elements of GTA come across to this Western genre, the statement couldn't be further from the truth.
    In true Western style, Red Dead Redemption captures all the glory, guts and gallantry that we have come to know from countless films and pop culture. Combining a fascinating yet heartbreaking story centred around the outlaw turned neutral cowboy John Marston, a man who wants to right his past wrongs and settle down with his family...easier said than done.
    As we are introduced to our protagonist, we also get a glimpse of the massive, sprawling and beautiful frontier we will soon get to explore at will. Every mechanic is polished to the point of near-perfection, whether you want to go out capture bounties or simply kill them, you can target various body parts or even shoot their hats off, the attention to detail is really quite mesmerising, from the vibrant wildlife to the inhabitants of the various towns, watching drunken men stagger home or watching women being chased and choosing whether to intervene or not. Much of this decision making takes place throughout the game, you could be the most villainous man to walk the prairie or be a legend and hero in the west, whatever you please and however you see fit.
    With this comes the very realistic gameplay approach that Rockstar have become accustomed to, horses move and gallop in a very realistic motion, they have stamina like the rest of us, the gunfights and shooting mechanics have come a long away since GTA IV, combining fluid and fast-paced style with enjoyable and simplistic ease. This works brilliantly with expansive world that Rockstar have created, with vast expanses of detailed deserts or snowy mountaintops filled with all sorts of wildlife that can be killed and skinned for money, or which contribute to contribute to upgrading the wardrobe of Marston. The open world and freedom comes into play in force as you can play a shoot em' up style by killing everything in site, or save damsels and men being chased by wild dogs, why not help the local sheriff clear out s gang hideout or be in it for yourself and max out your character until you see fit.
    In terms of the story, it can feel a little forced and sometimes lacking in surprise, with many objectives consisting of learning the ropes if surviving the Wild West, sometime when a mission seems over, it keeps going, and many of the decisions John Marston makes can directly oppose the personality they he has been moulded in. But this does indeed take a drastic turn in the closing moments of the story, a triumph amongst video game endings that sits among the best finales ever seen.
    The game delivers a homage and callback to pretty much everything we have come to know about the Old West, the taverns, the horseback, the beautiful horizon, the duels in the muddy street with a brave onlooker, and the beauty of the place may just sit with you, in awe and amazement and general satisfaction for another success for Rockstar.
    Whether you are veteran in the GTA universe or a fan of the Westerns of yesteryear, Red Dead Redemption brings everything to the table, giving the player ultimate freedom and endless capabilities to roam the massive frontier, it's safe to say that this could well be a masterpiece, and from a personal level a true triumph in gaming and quite possibly among the greatest.
    Expand
  76. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Story: 9.5 out of 10 Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9 out of 10 Fun: 9 out of 10 Controls: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8.5
    Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 8.5 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: none
  77. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    Great game, standard Rockstar game-good voice acting, good characters, nothing that hasn't been done story-wise, and while it's completely cliche it still does it well. Single player is great, however other than the main story and some stranger events(which are very well done) there isn't much meat besides the various challenges. The challenges are alright, but specifically the plant onesGreat game, standard Rockstar game-good voice acting, good characters, nothing that hasn't been done story-wise, and while it's completely cliche it still does it well. Single player is great, however other than the main story and some stranger events(which are very well done) there isn't much meat besides the various challenges. The challenges are alright, but specifically the plant ones are dragged out and annoying. The game does a great job of creating the wild-west atmosphere, and has a nice variety in the map, ranging from Texas to Mexico, with an added forest area in the map to give it something other than desert. As a sandbox the game is solid, though in places the map seems dead, which can be seen as a positive or a negative. The game still adds in a decent amount of miscellaneous games to do, horseshoe, poker, liar's dice, and horse taming all of which are good, but the gambling games are really well done(though liar's dice is DLC). The game is great for a while, but eventually you will run out of things to do on the map, and multi-player freeroam eventually boils down to just riding around in the desert with nothing to do, or raiding gang hideouts ad infinitum. That being said the freeroam is still a lot of fun with friends, it just lacks something to do besides ride around on horses and shoot cougars and bears. Competitive multi is par for the course, but added in for those who find it fun. Overall a good game, the freeroam and main story will keep you occupied for a hefty amount of time, but it lacks something to really keep people playing for some serious time Expand
  78. May 10, 2014
    6
    If GTA had only a few types of (slow) vehicles and one radio station, it would still feel more content-rich than RDR. That's the point of sparse westerns I guess, but I like sandboxes because they feel unpredictable and expanding as you unlock new content. Another thing is, RDR didn't give me that 'aha' feeling of seeing the world from a different perspective. More like seeing a differentIf GTA had only a few types of (slow) vehicles and one radio station, it would still feel more content-rich than RDR. That's the point of sparse westerns I guess, but I like sandboxes because they feel unpredictable and expanding as you unlock new content. Another thing is, RDR didn't give me that 'aha' feeling of seeing the world from a different perspective. More like seeing a different world with THE SAME (GTA) perspective. They also satisfy the psychological 'wrongedness' that many non-privileged people feel. In GTA the (virtual) material world is finally within one's grasp, and in that way it temporarily satisfies an irrational hunger for material wealth and the inferiority felt from not attaining it in real life. It can also serve as a reminder that material gain is ultimately an empty and meaningless thing, while real happiness is all about the journey to get there. Not saying that such desire should be cultivated. I think it's important to sort of 'starve' the ego and remind ourselves that the world never promised to be fair, and that we don't need much anyway. But for those who have not kept their ego in check, GTA is an unparalleled playground, and RDR lacks a similar effect since it's not a mirror of the world that wronged us. RDR reuses the same action gameplay for a dozen hours, and there are no motorcycles or planes to broaden the scope. Online shootouts work well in the open sprawling landscapes, but as of spring 2014, online is marred by glitches that Rockstars have been fixing for months. I wonder if they'll ever get around to it.

    As an introduction to Rockstar Games, or to third-person action, there's a lot of exciting content in this game. But for the seasoned gamer who has played several GTAs, the repetition of the mission style becomes very apparent. I had hoped for a few innovating missions, where the setting was used to do something that would have been impossible in GTA. But the game never really shows creativity in that area, filling instead most hours with riding through terrain (GTA driving minus the traffic!) and 'shooting gallery' action (on or off the horse) which almost plays itself thanks to the automatic targeting system (like in GTA V). The characters are memorable, a few of them among my favorite Rockstar characters ever. The game world is a marvel at times, even if you've played later open world games such as Skyrim or Assassin's Creed IV. But it also doesn't give much of a reason to explore it. No stunt jumps. No meaningful looting. No silly collectibles (except the skins of wild animals). It's completely straight-faced most of the time, and you know exactly what to expect of cabins, woods, towns etc. No surprises.

    In retrospect, the game went all-in on impressive assets and characters. That focus made it impressive next to its contemporaries. However, especially the former quality will always get competition when technology improves. Good gameplay can be timeless. Red Dead Redemption plays like it could have been simply thought out in the last century, and it barely shows hints of innovations in its genre. So it feels stuck there.

    If you've never played a Rockstar game before, you might add two points to the score. If you're crazy about westerns, you can safely add at least one point. But I'd recommend GTA V or GTA Vice City instead, or Skyrim or Assassin's Creed IV for similarly exotic game worlds.
    Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is one of the few true masterpieces this gen. Single player was way more than just a GTA clone converted into a western. Even the multiplayer wasn't all that bad. I'm doing this review as the game was a few months post-release. The story was actually moving to the point that I was enraged about what occurs at some points in the game. That is a going thing though. If the narrativeThis is one of the few true masterpieces this gen. Single player was way more than just a GTA clone converted into a western. Even the multiplayer wasn't all that bad. I'm doing this review as the game was a few months post-release. The story was actually moving to the point that I was enraged about what occurs at some points in the game. That is a going thing though. If the narrative doesn't provoke any emotion then its crap...like Borderlands 1. I think this is a must have for anyone with a PS3, especially now that its super cheap. Expand
  80. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    I expected this game to be much better. When I first played the game, i didnt like it at all, but now that i am giving it a second chance its actually a good game.Multiplayer is fun when you play with groups and most DLC are free.The campaign mode feels repetitive sometimes but gets better when you go further into the story.
  81. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    One of the best games off all time. Awesome history graphics gameplay and the zombie DLC on the Old West revilocionate the gaming industry! the multiplayer is a bit fuzzy but its still very good
  82. May 25, 2012
    8
    Story fades off to tedium in many parts of the game, but it's certainly worth a playthrough nevertheless (took me 3 goes to get up and running with game though)
  83. May 8, 2012
    6
    I will admit the game had its appealing moments the first time I played it.. But all it is, is Grand Theft Pony. Like all of rockstars games it's all the same as GTA with different themes.
  84. May 26, 2012
    7
    This game has an amazing soundtrack, great voice acting and an open world that feels real and alive. The story just isn't what people say it is, however. The game will do the fatal mistake of referencing things that happened "off-camera" a number of times instead of actually showing us. That is universally known in the film and book worlds as a way of cheaply avoiding to write more stuff.This game has an amazing soundtrack, great voice acting and an open world that feels real and alive. The story just isn't what people say it is, however. The game will do the fatal mistake of referencing things that happened "off-camera" a number of times instead of actually showing us. That is universally known in the film and book worlds as a way of cheaply avoiding to write more stuff. The parts with John's old crew come to mind here. The antagonists in this game (save for the two cops) aren't fleshed out at all, they game tells you why you should hate them in dialogue lines but doesn't actually show them doing anything bad on screen. I don't get why this game's story gets such high praise. Expand
  85. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    THE... GREATEST... GAME.... EFFIN EVER!!! If you didn't like this game you have zero concept of character development, plot, climax and a perfect ending to a perfect game. Go play Call of Duty if you don't enjoy this game where you just mindlessly run around and shoot people. I highly doubt a better game will ever be made. A masterpiece within gaming. Absolute perfection. Actually, I thinkTHE... GREATEST... GAME.... EFFIN EVER!!! If you didn't like this game you have zero concept of character development, plot, climax and a perfect ending to a perfect game. Go play Call of Duty if you don't enjoy this game where you just mindlessly run around and shoot people. I highly doubt a better game will ever be made. A masterpiece within gaming. Absolute perfection. Actually, I think I hate you if you don't like this game. Expand
  86. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    This game makes the Wild West become a reality. A classic masterpiece.
  87. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Must play. Must own. Must experience gem. Beautiful world and great music to reflect the atmosphere that is the wild west. Memorable protagonist and great campaign mode. GREAT game. Sega was my first game system and o how far we've come. RDR is a real treat. Bought the game for 20 bucks and worth every money and then some.
  88. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    A terrific sandbox game set in a fictional old-west. Everything you've heard about the graphics and sound are true. Good voice acting and a compelling storyline keep things moving while the side quests and mini games keep everything interesting. The game is only marred by a sloppy control scheme that takes a LOT of getting used to, and a ridiculous, cumbersome save system. I would haveA terrific sandbox game set in a fictional old-west. Everything you've heard about the graphics and sound are true. Good voice acting and a compelling storyline keep things moving while the side quests and mini games keep everything interesting. The game is only marred by a sloppy control scheme that takes a LOT of getting used to, and a ridiculous, cumbersome save system. I would have also liked it if the setting had been based on actual places in the old west instead of a fictional southwestern state. In all, though, a fun, gigantic game that very much lives up to the hype. Expand
  89. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    An amazing setting, Red Dead Redemption is one of the best games that I have played. Fantastic graphics, awesome gameplay and realistic sound effects. This game has everything and with over 30 hours of game time, this is a game which is well worth your money. Thought towards the end, riding on a horse was becoming slightly tiresome but that was only because of the huge sandbox map.
  90. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    One of the best games ever made for the PS3. Beautiful, fun, characters are great, open world, great story. So much better than GTA IV (thought GTA IV characters and stories were lacking). But in short, this is a must have for any person that owns a PS3.
  91. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    To keep it short, it is 2012 and I still imagine myself playing this game, the story is engaging, the people feel alive, the maim character is someone I for once cared about, and the gameplay never gets old. A game about vengeance, family and redemption is perfectly displayed through both comical yet serious dialogue keeps the game alive. Main story aside, side quests, or random eventsTo keep it short, it is 2012 and I still imagine myself playing this game, the story is engaging, the people feel alive, the maim character is someone I for once cared about, and the gameplay never gets old. A game about vengeance, family and redemption is perfectly displayed through both comical yet serious dialogue keeps the game alive. Main story aside, side quests, or random events such as a man chased by wolves in need of your help continue to spring up continuously as the realism of this game mixed into mind where I believed I was a cowboy saving a women from bandits while hunting in the huge open world for bears while herding cows. Everything honestly recieves a 10. Expand
  92. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Most reviews of this game fail to mention that the multiplayer offering is the most varied set of gametypes on the market and with such a large community, you never have to wait for a game even in the less popular modes. at my last count there were around 30 different ways to play the online mode and they are definitely not just minor variations. the variety could not be overstated.Most reviews of this game fail to mention that the multiplayer offering is the most varied set of gametypes on the market and with such a large community, you never have to wait for a game even in the less popular modes. at my last count there were around 30 different ways to play the online mode and they are definitely not just minor variations. the variety could not be overstated. there are your basic assortment of one-sided (two round) and two-sided (one round) team games plus the obligatory free-for-all, but of these classics which amount to about 7 playlists, there are wildly divergent modes, starting with the 16 player free-roam, where the entire map is available and filled with enemies, marshals, animals, civilians, and other players with whom you can form officially recognized alliances or hostilities. It's also worth mentioning that there is a distinct difference between the structured gametypes where every player starts with the same weaponry and has access to the same weapons placed on the map, and the free-roam where every player levels up their character unlocking and equiping things along the way, leading to the excitement of "earning your spurs" so to speak. there are online gambling lobies, (Excellent) racing lobies, and a great co-op mode with multiple difficulties where up to four players advance through a story-driven mission with a narrator and are able to revive one another in order to keep the action going (once the mission is completed or everyone is dead the mission is over). The game of the year edition contains all the DLC which mostly effects the online adding things like king of the hill to free-roam, but most notably the Zombies expansion, including an online co-op zombie hoard mode to kill for. And since i didn't mention it anywhere else. the games single player would still be stand alone game of the year by itself. Collapse
  93. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    After playing through the main storyline as well as taking my precious time between side missions and challenges, I can gladly say that this game is the best "Grand Theft Auto"-esque game produced by Rockstar. Environments are unique, interesting and consistently enjoyable to play around in, characters that you come across and encounter are well-rounded and interesting in their own way,After playing through the main storyline as well as taking my precious time between side missions and challenges, I can gladly say that this game is the best "Grand Theft Auto"-esque game produced by Rockstar. Environments are unique, interesting and consistently enjoyable to play around in, characters that you come across and encounter are well-rounded and interesting in their own way, and the whole traditional feel of a western game really does shine through this fine example of one. You can hunt for animals that are sprinkled all across the three areas that you can traverse through, there will be countless amounts of dynamic encounters like saving a treasure hunter from pilfering bandits or engaging in a good old-fashioned duel to test the agility and grit of our lone ranging. The Dead Eye Meter as well as regenerative health, while making the game seem like an easy ride the way through, actually distribute a lot of the difficulties from other Grand Theft Auto-inspired games and allow the player to play the game challenged but not completely overwhelmed. There are also tons of other minigames as well, such as arm wrestling, poker, horseshoes, and even little propaganda movies. The lore and the history shown through this game is also captivating as well, and you can feel quite nostalgic from reading old-timey newspapers that are unapologetically misogynistic and retro in their own feel. I was worried that the diversity of the weapons in this game would be few and far in between, but in actuality, there is an arsenal of weapons to find, choose from, and use in the game, if several guns are categorized in the same field, such as sniper rifles, repeaters, shotguns, miscellary, and pistols. the only few gripes I have with this game is that Horse controls can be a little shoddy, and I still haven't quite found a way to stop a horse from moving at all (unless I kill it), and the fact that the main storyline kind of ended on a disappointing note. It wasn't as dramatic as I hoped it would be. Still, this game will definitely be worth your money if you want to engage yourself in a top-notch competitor for other western-themed games to come. Expand
  94. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    I have never played a better western game. How they got all the elements right is beyond me. The horse riding, gunplay, environment and game mechanics deliver a truly western gaming legend. Absolute proof that Rockstar has what it takes to make the next GTA and RDR as good as we want it to be and much more.
  95. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    This fantastic game with deep storyline played more with my emotions that any other game I remember. It's masterpiece with great graphics, very good control mechanics and absolutely brilliant game-play and story. It's not just GTA in Wild West. It's living world you will be sucked into.
  96. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Working as if it were the great-grandfather of Grand Theft Auto IV, Grand Theft Horse is based in the scenic dirtplot of Las Venturas right after the Spanish colonials got kicked out in favour of hicks with revolvers. Unlike Red Dead Revolver, the assumable precursor to this title by the Rockstar franchise, Red Dead Redemption places you in the shoes (or boots) of John Marston, criminalWorking as if it were the great-grandfather of Grand Theft Auto IV, Grand Theft Horse is based in the scenic dirtplot of Las Venturas right after the Spanish colonials got kicked out in favour of hicks with revolvers. Unlike Red Dead Revolver, the assumable precursor to this title by the Rockstar franchise, Red Dead Redemption places you in the shoes (or boots) of John Marston, criminal turned rancher who is forced by the puritanical US Government to go to the wild wild west to kill his ex-gang partners-in-crime, lest the government will kill John's family should he not comply. The sandbox world you're given is broad and bold, though a bit drab, considering it's cactus, rocks, and dirt almost as far as the eye can see. The sheer scope of the world, however, makes up for its lack of diversity; while the world feels big, it's not impossible to traverse it, and there are enough hunting side-quests and different minigames that allow you to explore the land at your leisure; furthermore, the desert atmosphere does carry a unique charm. The plot and characters all carry themselves with that cowboy swagger you'd expect to see in any Western, and deliver with clichés firmly lassoed and corralled in all the expected places with well acted and written dialogue. As for the gameplay, it handles excellently, with heated gun battles and horse race chases, though given this is the entire basis of the game, it at times gets a bit old and boring. While other quests such as collecting wild herbs and hunting wild animals exist, they never seem to balance the main missions, and nobody in their right mind could have thought that missions involving you herding cows could have been a good idea when the cows have the frequent habit of impaling themselves on trees, getting lost on railroad tracks in front of oncoming trains, or diving headfirst off cliffs. While Red Dead Redemption offers much exploration and a very well written plot, the substance seems a bit sparse. Many of the missions seem to exist simply for the sake of doing something, and it takes 10 minutes just to listen to the characters drone on about their lives before the mission even starts, before spending the next 10 minutes trotting alongside them as they whine about their woes to you until you reach your destination. The game is excellently written and a barrel of fun, but it all seems almost forced and meaningless in the end, leaving you with a feeling emptiness and expectations unfulfilled. Regardless, the game is definitely worth a play through, and won't leave you regretting your time. Except the time you spend herding cows. Expand
  97. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Everything is just right: look, content, dialogue, music, humor, action - everywhere is only very, very little room for improvement. With every step on the dusty ground it seems as if Eastwood or Bronson felt his side. Never before has the flair of hard spaghetti western was so perfect in a game over
  98. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    The best game i've ever played. The best story ever told in a video game, the environment of the wild west portrayed to perfection, an open world experience like no other and John Marston is one of the best characters ever made in a video game. The multiplayer is good but the controls could be better in my opinion, but who cares! The rest is absolutely perfect. 100%.
  99. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    I might get myself into a storm of hate, but I really didn't appreciate this game as much as everyone else seems to do. Some aspects are really cozy, and I can remember hours of hunting game in tall grass in the evening sun, but other than that, its just a long transportation to a big finale. The game is as best in the very beginning of the game and in the end, leaving a huge gap in theI might get myself into a storm of hate, but I really didn't appreciate this game as much as everyone else seems to do. Some aspects are really cozy, and I can remember hours of hunting game in tall grass in the evening sun, but other than that, its just a long transportation to a big finale. The game is as best in the very beginning of the game and in the end, leaving a huge gap in the middle where things just turns boring for me. Expand
  100. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is actually the first Rockstar game that i have even finished ! And i have finished it at 100%... twice ! If you ever dream to be a cowboy, this game will let you do everything a cowboy can do ! You can play poker, start a fight in a bar, catch someone with a lasso and drag him with your horse and much more. The story is great, the ending epic and there is a lot of things to do !This is actually the first Rockstar game that i have even finished ! And i have finished it at 100%... twice ! If you ever dream to be a cowboy, this game will let you do everything a cowboy can do ! You can play poker, start a fight in a bar, catch someone with a lasso and drag him with your horse and much more. The story is great, the ending epic and there is a lot of things to do ! Really a great game ! Expand
  101. Aug 9, 2012
    0
    Most reviews of this game fail to mention that the multiplayer offering is the most varied set of gametypes on the market and with such a large community, you never have to wait for a game even in the less popular modes. at my last count there were around 30 different ways to play the online mode and they are definitely not just minor variations. the variety could not be overstated.Most reviews of this game fail to mention that the multiplayer offering is the most varied set of gametypes on the market and with such a large community, you never have to wait for a game even in the less popular modes. at my last count there were around 30 different ways to play the online mode and they are definitely not just minor variations. the variety could not be overstated. there are your basic assortment of one-sided (two round) and two-sided (one round) team games plus the obligatory free-for-all, but of these classics which amount to about 7 playlists, there are wildly divergent modes, starting with the 16 player free-roam, where the entire map is available and filled with enemies, marshals, animals, civilians, and other players with whom you can form officially recognized alliances or hostilities. It's also worth mentioning that there is a distinct difference between the structured gametypes where every player starts with the same weaponry and has access to the same weapons placed on the map, and the free-roam where every player levels up their character unlocking and equiping things along the way, leading to the excitement of "earning your spurs" so to speak. there are online gambling lobies, (Excellent) racing lobies, and a great co-op mode with multiple difficulties where up to four players advance through a story-driven mission with a narrator and are able to revive one another in order to keep the action going (once the mission is completed or everyone is dead the mission is over). The game of the year edition contains all the DLC which mostly effects the online adding things like king of the hill to free-roam, but most notably the Zombies expansion, including an online co-op zombie hoard mode to kill for. And since i didn't mention it anywhere else. the games single player would still be stand alone game of the year by itself. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!