Red Faction: Guerrilla PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 137
  2. Negative: 6 out of 137
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    This is a classic example of a game that has only one important idea (knocking down buildings) and gives precedence to this over story, characters and writing. The destruction physics are entertaining as are the variety of weapons you can use. This makes the game fun but fun is all it is. The story is woefully underdeveloped (your brother is never mentioned again after the first 10This is a classic example of a game that has only one important idea (knocking down buildings) and gives precedence to this over story, characters and writing. The destruction physics are entertaining as are the variety of weapons you can use. This makes the game fun but fun is all it is. The story is woefully underdeveloped (your brother is never mentioned again after the first 10 minutes) and the characters are never given the chance to become likeable. Missions feel repetitive and vehicle missions are tedious. You can have fun with Red Faction: Guerilla as long as you don't set your expectations too high. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Worth the admission price for the single player campaign. But the online multiplayer, while initially engaging, just didn't keep me interested for more than a couple of sessions.
  3. Z9000
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    This game is horrible from a gameplay design standpoint. I have put it down many times to play other things because it's just soooo bad! I see all these people rating it 9 and 10 based on the fun factor and explosions alone. They are in the honeymoon period where the game can do no wrong. You guys will get to EOS and beyond and then the HATE will begin and you will wish you This game is horrible from a gameplay design standpoint. I have put it down many times to play other things because it's just soooo bad! I see all these people rating it 9 and 10 based on the fun factor and explosions alone. They are in the honeymoon period where the game can do no wrong. You guys will get to EOS and beyond and then the HATE will begin and you will wish you didn't score this game so high. This game is full of retarded development, invisible walls, braindead NPCs, AI that tries to run you over at all times, cheap shot endless instaspawn foes, and no joy of feeling like you are getting better at the game because the AI is heavily weighted to whoop your arse and never stops spawning. 10 for techinical, -4 for the lacklustre story (or lack thereof), boring missions, and endless bad guys versus your limited ammo. Get this for the explosions. If you want a real game, buy inFAMOUS. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Red Faction: Guerilla is a really fun game, the gameplay is the best thing about this game, oh how joyful it was to destroy every building in sight. The driving missions and side missions where quite fun. The shooting mechanics where okay, but using the hammer is way more effective and fun. The Story Mode is decent, but their is one horrible dealbreaker about this game, in this game youRed Faction: Guerilla is a really fun game, the gameplay is the best thing about this game, oh how joyful it was to destroy every building in sight. The driving missions and side missions where quite fun. The shooting mechanics where okay, but using the hammer is way more effective and fun. The Story Mode is decent, but their is one horrible dealbreaker about this game, in this game you unlock story missions by completing side missions, well unfortunately when time comes to unlock the last story mission it turns out that i had to complete every side mission in the game to unlock the last story mission, so i never finished the game. Overall this is a really fun game that forces side missions on you. Overall Score= 78/100 Expand
  5. StianB.
    Jun 15, 2009
    5
    I give it a 5 for Average, neither bad nor good. Map/Sandbox
  6. SamIr
    Jul 26, 2009
    7
    My opinion is a bit divided for this game. On hand it's a fun sandbox game with some great story missions but on the other hand it is a game with bad AI for the NPCs(bad AI for NPCs isn't a bad thing in most games but it's bad for this game because of the morale system) and uninteresting story. I'm giving this a 7/10 because I've been able to enjoy many of the My opinion is a bit divided for this game. On hand it's a fun sandbox game with some great story missions but on the other hand it is a game with bad AI for the NPCs(bad AI for NPCs isn't a bad thing in most games but it's bad for this game because of the morale system) and uninteresting story. I'm giving this a 7/10 because I've been able to enjoy many of the story missions, such as the rallying of the civilians in the Dust sector against the EDF and the amount of detail to every structure and vehicles by the developers. Being able to destroy every building in is a great feature. Very realistic. Expand
  7. EI
    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    I expected Red Faction 3, but got GTA on Mars. In RF you could drive ground vehicles, submarines and flyers. You had destructible terrain. In RF:Guerilla you only can drive various ground vehicles and there is no destructible terrain. It feels like there is no real geomod in this game! What about destructible buildings, you ask? The are not terrain. Many games even 15 years ago had I expected Red Faction 3, but got GTA on Mars. In RF you could drive ground vehicles, submarines and flyers. You had destructible terrain. In RF:Guerilla you only can drive various ground vehicles and there is no destructible terrain. It feels like there is no real geomod in this game! What about destructible buildings, you ask? The are not terrain. Many games even 15 years ago had objects you could damage and destroy. CPUs got faster, and in this game we have whole buildings made of foot-sized chunks linked together in quire unrealistic way. I could frequently see whole building or bridge supported by a single inch thick beam. This is step back from first game in series. And we had several shooter games more than ten years old where you could permanently dig holes in heightmap landscape, similar to one we can see in RF:Guerrilla. You can only destroy buildings but, if necessary, they reappear, and there is nothing else you can really do in the game. Generally I agree with another 5-point review, this game isn't in fact too big and its length is created artificially, forcing you to take very similar side missions over and over again. Story progression is strictly linear. First and last few hours are really fun, but everything between is just a boring and frustrating waste of time. Expand
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    A very underrated game. The engine, made for you to cause total destruction, is very impressive. Story isn't great and the world is very bleak, but the challenges and quests are fun.
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    The switch form 1st person to third simply pushed the red faction series into the crowd where it gets lost. The original was my first PS2 game and its still one I play over a decade on. This was sold on ebay after about a week and ill remember the steak I bought with the money rather than any details about the game. Dissapointed
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 100
    An in your face, balls to the wall, destroy everything in your path treat. With a ton of missions to complete, an entire planet to destroy, and online modes that will have you sitting in front of your television for hours upon hours, this game has it all. I know this has been said a ton of times before, but it holds true for this game; if Red Faction: Guerrilla doesn't get your blood pumping, check your pulse.
  2. 90
    This is explosive, balls-to-the-wall action that makes no concessions in delivering the ultimate playground in which to wreak havoc. The almost limitless potential for reckless mayhem is what makes Guerrilla such an unashamedly fun game to play, which is why this is without a doubt the biggest summer blockbuster so far this year and consequently an essential purchase. Now go on, get your ass to Mars.
  3. It may be a one trick pony but Saints Row 2 in space will give anyone an appetite for destruction.