User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 129

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Red Faction Guerrilla is the typical good sandbox game, a large map, a lot to do in it, many hours of fun ahead of you, the destructibility is great (it's a shame that there is so few games that takes advantage of this engine). But it doesn't do anything to go over the genre, side-activities get repetitive, the story is only there to allow you to destroy everything. I also regret that youRed Faction Guerrilla is the typical good sandbox game, a large map, a lot to do in it, many hours of fun ahead of you, the destructibility is great (it's a shame that there is so few games that takes advantage of this engine). But it doesn't do anything to go over the genre, side-activities get repetitive, the story is only there to allow you to destroy everything. I also regret that you can't manage the guerrilla (calling them for help, send them to a location to distract the enemy etc...) and the artistic direction could be better (the architecture and vehicles are cool but Mars feels like Mojave, it's a waste of a great scenario !).
    But overall Red Faction Guerrilla is a pretty good game that does honor to the franchise.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2014
    10
    Awessssssssssssssoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Really an 8.5, but because I just love blowing stuff up, I had to give it a 9. The destructible buildings is what makes this game. This game is basically GTA on Mars, except that you're the good guys, fighting the oppressive EDF. The story could have been great, but there is poor character development, and your character has a pretty much non-existent personality. He pretty much joins theReally an 8.5, but because I just love blowing stuff up, I had to give it a 9. The destructible buildings is what makes this game. This game is basically GTA on Mars, except that you're the good guys, fighting the oppressive EDF. The story could have been great, but there is poor character development, and your character has a pretty much non-existent personality. He pretty much joins the Red Faction because of the death of his brother. How many times do we have the theme of revenge in games? But anyway, the world is very expansive, and just because it's on Mars doesn't mean you'll be seeing red sand all the time. There are urban areas, and due to terraforming, there are some plant life. Multiplayer was fun, but no one plays online anymore. This is the best Red Faction in this series, and I really want to know what the future of this series is like, especially that THQ has closed down. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Destroying whole buildings with a hammer can be fun for a long time. Any building can be destroyed. The main reason for the 8 is because the game can be frustrating because of physics, getting stuck behind something, and because the world could be more detailed.
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Red Faction: Guerilla is a really fun game, the gameplay is the best thing about this game, oh how joyful it was to destroy every building in sight. The driving missions and side missions where quite fun. The shooting mechanics where okay, but using the hammer is way more effective and fun. The Story Mode is decent, but their is one horrible dealbreaker about this game, in this game youRed Faction: Guerilla is a really fun game, the gameplay is the best thing about this game, oh how joyful it was to destroy every building in sight. The driving missions and side missions where quite fun. The shooting mechanics where okay, but using the hammer is way more effective and fun. The Story Mode is decent, but their is one horrible dealbreaker about this game, in this game you unlock story missions by completing side missions, well unfortunately when time comes to unlock the last story mission it turns out that i had to complete every side mission in the game to unlock the last story mission, so i never finished the game. Overall this is a really fun game that forces side missions on you. Overall Score= 78/100 Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    The switch form 1st person to third simply pushed the red faction series into the crowd where it gets lost. The original was my first PS2 game and its still one I play over a decade on. This was sold on ebay after about a week and ill remember the steak I bought with the money rather than any details about the game. Dissapointed
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    A very underrated game. The engine, made for you to cause total destruction, is very impressive. Story isn't great and the world is very bleak, but the challenges and quests are fun.
  8. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    If you want a pure fun game to play then buy Red Faction:Guerrilla , this game offers a very fun gameplay and destructable buildings which i think is better than battlefield's engine, good game :D
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  10. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I dont care what people say this game is awesome. Period , one of the best sandbox gamea i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  11. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    A super addictive game that makes a rubbish game (naming no names alone in the dark), look like a deadly sin, out of 10 i give this 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
  12. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Worth the admission price for the single player campaign. But the online multiplayer, while initially engaging, just didn't keep me interested for more than a couple of sessions.
  13. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    I have spent about 2 hours on Red Faction Guerrilla and I must say that it has been time well spent. IMO, you have to go into this gaming experience with the mindset of having a good time and not so much looking for great story writing or character development. I came into this game looking to blow s**t up, and thats what I got. The destruction is on par with DICE's Frostbite Engine.I have spent about 2 hours on Red Faction Guerrilla and I must say that it has been time well spent. IMO, you have to go into this gaming experience with the mindset of having a good time and not so much looking for great story writing or character development. I came into this game looking to blow s**t up, and thats what I got. The destruction is on par with DICE's Frostbite Engine. The overall physics are astounding. If you are looking for a good sandbox game with destruction a-plenty, this is the game for you....and at the current price point its a win-win. Expand
  14. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Red Faction Guerrilla is the newest game in THQ's series of video games, but unlike the other two fps games on the PS2 Red Faction Guerrilla is a third person shooter. Red Faction is not a story heavy game (having less the 10, 3 min cut scenes) which is a real shame because I enjoyed both the story and the beautifully made cut scenes a lot. The plot of the game is that you are Alec MasonRed Faction Guerrilla is the newest game in THQ's series of video games, but unlike the other two fps games on the PS2 Red Faction Guerrilla is a third person shooter. Red Faction is not a story heavy game (having less the 10, 3 min cut scenes) which is a real shame because I enjoyed both the story and the beautifully made cut scenes a lot. The plot of the game is that you are Alec Mason and you've come to mars to work until your brother is shot down by an "evil" government called EDF, so you join the red faction to help them rebel against EDF and kill them. The game's gameplay focuses on blowing stuff up and explosions more than anything else, but that isn't saying that there is bad gun-play. The game has many intense and fun gunfights were you use any one of the 3 guns or mines on you to kill the enemy. Like I said though the game is mainly about blowing stuff up any way possible, you can take it down with a lot of mines or you can use the power of your rocket launcher plus many other fun ways. The game only really has one problem difficulty spikes, they are very noticeable and annoying. Expand
  15. May 23, 2011
    10
    if you have stress isues get this game. you will be amazed whith the destruction in this game, i thought it was aewsome whith the start 3 hours bieng tame but then you get the good wepoons a lectric gun. a super rocket launcher and a jetpack are my faviroutes but the vichles are abotsolute rubbish. aka just trucks when you start,and the online is broken but this is a fantasic game. getif you have stress isues get this game. you will be amazed whith the destruction in this game, i thought it was aewsome whith the start 3 hours bieng tame but then you get the good wepoons a lectric gun. a super rocket launcher and a jetpack are my faviroutes but the vichles are abotsolute rubbish. aka just trucks when you start,and the online is broken but this is a fantasic game. get it,play thourgh the first 3 and a half hours and youl see what i mean. Expand
  16. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    This is a classic example of a game that has only one important idea (knocking down buildings) and gives precedence to this over story, characters and writing. The destruction physics are entertaining as are the variety of weapons you can use. This makes the game fun but fun is all it is. The story is woefully underdeveloped (your brother is never mentioned again after the first 10This is a classic example of a game that has only one important idea (knocking down buildings) and gives precedence to this over story, characters and writing. The destruction physics are entertaining as are the variety of weapons you can use. This makes the game fun but fun is all it is. The story is woefully underdeveloped (your brother is never mentioned again after the first 10 minutes) and the characters are never given the chance to become likeable. Missions feel repetitive and vehicle missions are tedious. You can have fun with Red Faction: Guerilla as long as you don't set your expectations too high. Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    i loved this game but i wish it had a longer story line and more in depth story. this game is amazing with the fact that you can destroy any buidling and a variety of different missions makes me long for it to be longer and maybe make that story line a bit better so i can feel some attachment to the charachters but that is hard to do but the story sometimes feels non existant and theyi loved this game but i wish it had a longer story line and more in depth story. this game is amazing with the fact that you can destroy any buidling and a variety of different missions makes me long for it to be longer and maybe make that story line a bit better so i can feel some attachment to the charachters but that is hard to do but the story sometimes feels non existant and they should have made cutscenes or something after every mandatory mission so you feel like the story is progressing further Expand
  18. Jan 3, 2011
    1
    Red Faction is a classic example of a horrifically designed video game masking as something more than it is. You need an awful lot of time on your hands to repeat missions over and over that are poorly explained and arbitrarily decided. I give up. Very poor game.
  19. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This is the first 10 i have given. This game is awesome, physic work every well and online play is awesome. The world is open ended (which i am a huge fan of) and you can literally blow up everything. Its a very good game worth at least a rental.
  20. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    Red Faction: Guerrilla is a really fun game. The setting for this game is Mars. The games selling point is obviously the way you can destroy buildings. You can smash them brick by brick with a sledgehammer or just bombard it with rockets. The physics in this game are astonishing. The way buildings fall down is so realistic. The Geo-Mod 2 engine is a showcase of destructability. Anyhow, theRed Faction: Guerrilla is a really fun game. The setting for this game is Mars. The games selling point is obviously the way you can destroy buildings. You can smash them brick by brick with a sledgehammer or just bombard it with rockets. The physics in this game are astonishing. The way buildings fall down is so realistic. The Geo-Mod 2 engine is a showcase of destructability. Anyhow, the game is still a fun sandbox. There is a excellent array of weapons like proximity mines and rocket launchers to show the EDF (Earth defence Force) who's boss and loads of things to do other than the main missions like hijacking an EDF vehicle, rescuing fellow Guerrilla allies and finding audio tapes scattered across the Mars Landscape. The graphics are really cool and make you feel like your on the planet Mars. Multiplayer is a blast to play too. There's the usual Capture the flag, deathmatch modes but not there are Backpacks which give you special abilities. Red Faction: Guerrilla is a brilliant game and if you don't fancy destroying buildings in real life, look no further than this game. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 100
    An in your face, balls to the wall, destroy everything in your path treat. With a ton of missions to complete, an entire planet to destroy, and online modes that will have you sitting in front of your television for hours upon hours, this game has it all. I know this has been said a ton of times before, but it holds true for this game; if Red Faction: Guerrilla doesn't get your blood pumping, check your pulse.
  2. 90
    This is explosive, balls-to-the-wall action that makes no concessions in delivering the ultimate playground in which to wreak havoc. The almost limitless potential for reckless mayhem is what makes Guerrilla such an unashamedly fun game to play, which is why this is without a doubt the biggest summer blockbuster so far this year and consequently an essential purchase. Now go on, get your ass to Mars.
  3. It may be a one trick pony but Saints Row 2 in space will give anyone an appetite for destruction.