Resident Evil 5 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 696 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 696
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil series is the reason why I bought my first PS 1,.. and i'm falling in Love with the story and characters ever since,.. Killing zombies never stop amusing me...
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Cara Sobre Resident Evil 5 Sinceramente todos sabem Era um game de Survival Horror mais eu no vou ficar aqui enchendo o saco como todo mundo fica vamos analisar uma coisa virou um game de ação
    agora é um bom jogo de ação ?
    Bom a jogabilidade é boa Os Gráficos são excelente O designer é bonito E as historia é boa
    Cara Sobre Resident Evil 5 Sinceramente todos sabem Era um game de Survival Horror mais eu no vou ficar aqui enchendo o saco como todo mundo fica vamos analisar uma coisa virou um game de ação
    agora é um bom jogo de ação ?

    Bom a jogabilidade é boa
    Os Gráficos são excelente
    O designer é bonito
    E as historia é boa
    Trilha sonora um pouco ausente
    Claro tem seu defeitos alguns bugs leitura facial da boca
    A jogabilidade poderia ser muito melhor por causa de ser muito travo
    Não poder mirar e andar ao mesmo tempo um mode esquiva e uma movimentação Mais fluida e o pios de tudo a inteligência artificial da Sheeva muito ruim No geral é um péssimo residente evil mais um bom jogo de ação e eu recomendo a todos que joguem...
    Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sou um grande fã de Resident Evil,mas me decepcionei com este jogo,ele não é ruim,pelo contrário é muito bom,mas depois de ter jogado o RE4 esperava muito mais de uma continuação,esse jogo só supera o RE4 em gráficos e no chefe final,Albert Wesker sempre será o vilão(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sou um grande fã de Resident Evil,mas me decepcionei com este jogo,ele não é ruim,pelo contrário é muito bom,mas depois de ter jogado o RE4 esperava muito mais de uma continuação,esse jogo só supera o RE4 em gráficos e no chefe final,Albert Wesker sempre será o vilão n°1,mas mesmo assim ele só aparece lá pro final do jogo,aquela transformação dele ficou muito ruim,seria muito melhor ele na forma humana,nem o final foi digno,Wesker merecia muito mais,gráficos muito bons,mas a criatividade na construção de inimigos foi muito baixa,praticamente todos os chefes do jogo tem o mesmo ponto fraco,não precisa nem pensar muito pra descobrir como derrotá-los,na verdade não há segredo nem estratégia,é só atirar nos seus pontos fracos que são bem visíveis,modo co-op nunca deveria existir em Resident Evil,Sheva mais atrapalha que ajuda,sempre que ia atirar em algum inimigo ela atirava ao mesmo tempo no mesmo,quando ele morria eu sempre dava um tiro em falso errando e diminuindo a precisão,odeio quando agarram o Chris e demora muito pra ele se soltar só pra dar tempo da Sheva chegar e livrá-lo,inventário muito pequeno,este jogo é 100% ação,"zumbis" com armas de fogo?ridículo.Repito é um bom jogo,fiz tantas críticas porque como fã esperava muito mais desse jogo,5 anos depois e recebemos o que considero o pior jogo da franquia que pertence a cronologia (os paralelos todos foram ruins) Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is a good third person shooter that is definitely a creepy and eerie experience. The graphics are sharp, dark and help capture the scary feel (without actually being too scary) of the game. The character models are nicely rendered with great facial animations. One thing I find really unsettling (in a good way) is the appearance of the Uroboros Virus that attacks people andResident Evil 5 is a good third person shooter that is definitely a creepy and eerie experience. The graphics are sharp, dark and help capture the scary feel (without actually being too scary) of the game. The character models are nicely rendered with great facial animations. One thing I find really unsettling (in a good way) is the appearance of the Uroboros Virus that attacks people and infects them. It's icky to look at and I shiver when I see it slither across the ground. It's a horrifying sight when it bursts out of infected hosts skins and takes over their bodies but at least it's not too scary and it looks right for a Resident Evil game. The level design is a tad too linear but at least there's a good variety of environments like open streets and pathways instead of boring corridors. The game play is a typical third person shooter with some puzzle solving and item collecting to do along the way like gold, ammo and artefacts that can be sold for money to use to upgrade your weapons of buy weapons. This is not an action heavy title and the game is slower paced in comparison to other third person shooters like Uncharted: Drakes Fortune and Gears of War. To add to the tension, there is ammo supplement is limited so you'll have to make sure that every shot counts. The infected slowly come towards you ready to attack and eat you alive and this gives you plenty of time to aim your gun and try to get a headshot. There is variation in the enemy design which keeps things feeling fresh so you don't face the same enemy's over and over again. The thing that got me annoyed at first were the controls (why do you have to aim and press X to reload rather than one simple button to reload?) and the fact that you can't move while aiming and shooting. This maybe a survival game and there maybe things trying to kill you but they'll always be someone with you to keep yourself from wetting your pants. Sheva accompanies Chris (you) during game play and this turns Resident Evil 5 into a rather nice Co-op game. When you haven't got a friend to play with, the A.I takes over the role of controlling Sheva. The A.I maybe a little bit dumb but at least it gives you a helping hand if you're in trouble. You can even swap items with one another like ammo, first aid spray or herbs. Resident Evil 5 provides you with a range of arsenal to help you deal with the infestation like the usual assault rifles, grenade launchers and pistols. Resident Evil 5 isn't that scary but there seems to be a few "What the hell is that?!"Â Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    I spent 10 hours in single player and more than 30 in mercenaries mode. This second mode definitely keep the rate higher. Single for 7 and multi for 9 give right and honest rating.
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 4 represented a departure of the series from its survival horror roots for a more dynamic action approach. Now Capcom has proved they are set in their choice, as Resident Evil 5 trades in even more scares in exchange for gunfights. Forget the tenebrous atmosphere, forget the unknown groans from the dark: in RE5 zombies come at you running in broad daylight. Graphics areResident Evil 4 represented a departure of the series from its survival horror roots for a more dynamic action approach. Now Capcom has proved they are set in their choice, as Resident Evil 5 trades in even more scares in exchange for gunfights. Forget the tenebrous atmosphere, forget the unknown groans from the dark: in RE5 zombies come at you running in broad daylight. Graphics are superb and the soundtrack and voice acting are pretty good. The story is also well written, mixing new elements with old characters for what was supposed to be the ultimate Resident Evil experience. I say ''was'' because while RE5 is undeniably a good game, it has little what the Resident Evil name used to mean in it. The camera angle is set to give you no idea of what is behind you, but that matters little because even if you are surprised from behind, there will be so much action going on in front of you all the time that you will not care. Controls are also sluggish and mechanical, and for the action game Resident Evil 5 decided to be that is very frustrating. RE5 is a good game and definitely worth your time, but if you expect to see a survival horror game you will be disappointed. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil 5 takes a lot of flak but it's an amazing game. It was one of the best games to come out back in 2009 and it still holds up. Graphics are still some of the best on the PS3. Co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy and the AI isn't terrible. There is a lot of tense moments and many memorable enemies. The story was also fantastic. The sounds in this game are definitely some ofResident Evil 5 takes a lot of flak but it's an amazing game. It was one of the best games to come out back in 2009 and it still holds up. Graphics are still some of the best on the PS3. Co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy and the AI isn't terrible. There is a lot of tense moments and many memorable enemies. The story was also fantastic. The sounds in this game are definitely some of the best in gaming. It may not stick to the typical Resident Evil formula but it stands alone as a great title regardless. Expand
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    its not bad but its still same old game they just redesign resident evil 4 with 5 same old story parasite enemy if they could of down it same way they brought out the trailer would been perfect
  9. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    Resident Evil 5 is the most overrated game I have ever played. So dull with little moments to really keep you hooked. Controls are also incredibly awkward.
  10. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    Not much of a RE fan so i decided to give RE5 a try.

    Story- Chris Redfield goes on a mission to investigate Africa and whats going on there. He meets his new partner Sheva Alomar to help out in the situation. Gameplay- Basically a 3rd person shooter from capcom but its not the old survival horror as it use to be. in fact it goes to action. You can fill your slots and A.I up to 9
    Not much of a RE fan so i decided to give RE5 a try.

    Story- Chris Redfield goes on a mission to investigate Africa and whats going on there. He meets his new partner Sheva Alomar to help out in the situation.

    Gameplay- Basically a 3rd person shooter from capcom but its not the old survival horror as it use to be. in fact it goes to action. You can fill your slots and A.I up to 9 items with ammo, Guns, and Healing items.
    you can upgrade your guns later in the game to be more damaging for example. Co-op can be fun sometimes but there will be times when your online partner can be a dick that will annoy you which leads to kicking him out of the game. Mercernaries is introduced where you or a partner can score a high amount on the amount of enemies you defeat and can increase the score by picking up special items to boost your score. Only problem i have is when the A.I will use up their ammo and suddenly heal themselves even if your at full health. another one is which weapon you would want to use over because if you find an awesome gun then the old gun you use will rarely be used and you'll give to your A.I partner to use for the duration of the game.

    Overall- RE5 is an okay for a Resident evil game but taking it as a action theme of it may lead to not being a survival horror series as it used to be if capcom keeps doing this as their route
    Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    This is a co-op master piece, with so much replay value and DLC modes to keep you playing for months, the environments are Amazing for a 3 year old game and the detail put in to everything little things is very noticeable..
    If your playing solo the AI player isn't a hindrance for possibly the first time in any game I've ever played and being able to customize their equip is very helpful..
    This is a co-op master piece, with so much replay value and DLC modes to keep you playing for months, the environments are Amazing for a 3 year old game and the detail put in to everything little things is very noticeable..
    If your playing solo the AI player isn't a hindrance for possibly the first time in any game I've ever played and being able to customize their equip is very helpful..
    my only real qualm with this game is the controls, slow movement and still fire and Melee will have you getting smashed by giant monsters all through out this game..

    The gold edition is now $20 AUS, definitely worth getting.
    Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is generally a good game, but some elements can be really annoying. I've played the previous parts of Capcom production and I know about the most characteristic features of RE's. But, guys, we have 2010, not 1997. Can't I shoot when I'm moving? What the hell? And the final boss... So simple, but only if you know ONE and the ONLY ONE right way to defeat him. I died aboutResident Evil 5 is generally a good game, but some elements can be really annoying. I've played the previous parts of Capcom production and I know about the most characteristic features of RE's. But, guys, we have 2010, not 1997. Can't I shoot when I'm moving? What the hell? And the final boss... So simple, but only if you know ONE and the ONLY ONE right way to defeat him. I died about fifteen times, because I tried to push the stone too early. Oh, come on - give me some freedom! I'm not a casual player, but sometimes RE 5 is quite too hard. The first boss is bulletproof, so it's better to run than shoot (of course, you have to die three or four times to know that). And the last thing: the game isn't scary. Not at all. It's survival-action, at the most, not survival-horror., But generally it's a good production, which can bring a lot of satisfaction and maybe a little of irritation too. Expand
  13. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    Okay, let me start out by saying I am a fan of the resident Evil series, but this game does it no justice.
    The game plays slowly and the story doesn't have much development, you're put straight into the action. Also, the difficulty must not have been tested or something because the first boss is nearly impossible on NORMAL. Just to beat the game I had to set it to "Easy", which even then
    Okay, let me start out by saying I am a fan of the resident Evil series, but this game does it no justice.
    The game plays slowly and the story doesn't have much development, you're put straight into the action. Also, the difficulty must not have been tested or something because the first boss is nearly impossible on NORMAL. Just to beat the game I had to set it to "Easy", which even then I had some troubles. It doesn't even deserve to be in the Resident Evil series.
    Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Even though this doesn't quite deserve to be called a Resident Evil game, due to the fact that almost nothing in this game resembles the past ones, I still found it rather enjoyable. It's so fast-paced, and will leave you on your toes. I especially enjoyed the downloadable content, particularly, "Lost In Nightmares", since it returned to the roots of the game.
  15. May 23, 2013
    5
    This game does not seem like an actual Resident Evil game. There are no puzzles or thrill to this game whatsoever. This game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil franchise. This is simply an action game and nothing else. The farther you get into the story the more boring it gets as it really does not develop. The golden package was an improvement but without it this game is simplyThis game does not seem like an actual Resident Evil game. There are no puzzles or thrill to this game whatsoever. This game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil franchise. This is simply an action game and nothing else. The farther you get into the story the more boring it gets as it really does not develop. The golden package was an improvement but without it this game is simply laughable. Expand
  16. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    EN: Lacks almost all the survival horror elements that made Resident Evil so famous, but as an action game, and that's what RE5 is about, RE5 does just great and provides some really awesome moments, like the Irving boss battle, the Licker's return and a long-waited reunion between Jill, Chris and Wesker.

    PT-BR: Não contem quase nenhum dos elementos de survival horror que fizeram de
    EN: Lacks almost all the survival horror elements that made Resident Evil so famous, but as an action game, and that's what RE5 is about, RE5 does just great and provides some really awesome moments, like the Irving boss battle, the Licker's return and a long-waited reunion between Jill, Chris and Wesker.

    PT-BR: Não contem quase nenhum dos elementos de survival horror que fizeram de Ressident Evil um sucesso, mas como um jogo de ação, e disso que RE5 se trata, RE5 vai muito bem e proporciona alguns momentos realmente incríveis, tais como a luta contra o boss Irving, o retorno dos Lickers e o tão esperado reencontro entre Jill, Chris e Wesker.
    Expand
  17. May 2, 2014
    8
    I want to start this review off by saying that I know this is not the traditional Resident Evil game. Up until this point in the franchise, Resident Evil was considered to be a survival horror franchise where you fight zombies. However, RE5 changes the formula, shifting from a horror centered experience to a more action based one, to the disappointment of many hardcore fans. However, thatI want to start this review off by saying that I know this is not the traditional Resident Evil game. Up until this point in the franchise, Resident Evil was considered to be a survival horror franchise where you fight zombies. However, RE5 changes the formula, shifting from a horror centered experience to a more action based one, to the disappointment of many hardcore fans. However, that doesn't make Resident Evil 5 a bad game. To the contrary, Resident Evil 5 is actually a very solid action shooter, with survival elements mixed in.

    The gameplay is similar to that of Resident Evil 4, in which case you stand still as you aim a laser to help you land critical shots on your enemies. Stun an enemy with a good shot, and you can close the distance to land a satisfying melee attack on him. This formula keeps up throughout the game, for the most part, and is very fun to play around with, but the lack of any change ups in the gameplay can really cause the game to drag in the last few chapters.

    The survival elements included in the game mainly pertain to item management. Limiting your inventory to 9 inventory slots is a good initial start, but I'm disappointed that there were no opportunities to expand it. What makes this particularly annoying is the melee vest and the bullet proof vest take up inventory slots, which doesn't make sense because they're actually just upgrades for your armor.

    One problem the game does have to a point is the lack of mobility. There's no way for you to move while aiming, and because of this, enemies can easily close the distance between you and them. However, to be fair, almost all of the zombies in the game are slow, and sprint only a few feet a time. This gives you a nice window to get away, and this is especially true with the tougher but slower enemies, so the game manages to find a balance between your lack of mobility and the zombies, even if it doesn't feel like it.

    Despite the gameplay being addictive as it is, it can get really frustrating at some points. Certain enemies you face in the story take an unnecessarily long amount of time to kill, which often drains your ammo to ridiculous levels, which is so frustrating when one of the key elements of the game is to conserve ammo. Often these enemies do not adaquetley replenish what you have lost, making boss fights, sub-boss fights, and horde encounters frustrating.

    The most frustrating point of this game is easily your AI controlled counterpart Sheva. Now the AI is competent when performing basic functions, but not in any advanced ones. Sheva rarely goes to melee a stunned enemy, and often she leaves you out to dry whenever you're grabbed by an enemy. Sheva constantly wastes ammo throughout the game, often attacking enemies even when they take no damage, and Sheva can actually die. In one particular sequence in the first few hours of the game, I had to start over four times because Sheva failed to out run the masked chainsaw wielding goon that was chasing us, even though I managed to put distance between me and him with no problem. If you have an online account, or better yet, a friend to play with you, I highly recommend you play that way instead of dealing with the AI, because it's just not dependable.

    The most disappointing of this game however is the story. The story is very minimal, with a limited amount of cutscenes compared to all the action. Sheva is very disappointing as a character. Without any personality development or any emotional moments between Sheva and Chris, the bond between them seems unusual, and Sheva comes off as a very boring character that you'll have no attachment to. To be fair, Chris would probably have been considered a boring character too, if it weren't for the fact that he's already a character from the franchise.

    However, the biggest blunder in the story is the way the zombies are portrayed. Throughout the game, I saw enemies wielding crossbows, dynamite, melee weapons, drive vehicles, and they even used guns and boy armor later in the game. You don't even get eaten when they kill you, you just get beaten to death. The game tries to justify by saying that these aren't zombies, but are instead another enemy all together, called the majini, but that's the problem right there. In a zombie franchise, why is it that I went through the whole game without killing a single zombie. I killed majini, giant monsters, a superhuman, and even a huge troll, but no zombies.

    Come on.

    Despite my complaints, the game is ultimately a very fun and addictive experience, but the negatives do bog it down. A boring new character, minimized story, flawed gameplay, annoying AI and a stupid concept hold this game back from achieving the true greatness that the Resident Evil franchise was known for. It doesn't even hold a candle to the greatness that was Resident Evil 4. All these problems ultimately make the game good but disappointing.
    Expand
  18. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    as a survival horror game, its an embarrassment, especially being a resident evil game. but the game itself is a lot of fun and very memorable. It looks great and the mechanics are pretty good for a 3rd person shooter, although res4 did it better. I don't like that the game takes place mostly in the day, Capcom has some balls to have tried that with a resident evil game. the bosses areas a survival horror game, its an embarrassment, especially being a resident evil game. but the game itself is a lot of fun and very memorable. It looks great and the mechanics are pretty good for a 3rd person shooter, although res4 did it better. I don't like that the game takes place mostly in the day, Capcom has some balls to have tried that with a resident evil game. the bosses are pretty fun and well designed. the story isn't special unless your a big resident evil fan I guess, but there is one part which I will not spoil for you that was pretty interesting. The game doesn't really feel like a resident evil game and I do hate how the zombies have guns later, I really hate that, but hey it is worth a play through Expand
  19. JohnGarcia
    Apr 20, 2009
    9
    Great game!! Addictive with plenty of replay value. Once you get past the fact that there is no run and gun you begin to like it because it gives the game a more tactical feel. You have to stop and shoot at the right place and time. It makes you work together more.
  20. benk
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    Large, engaging battle sequences, online co-op mode, solid story-telling, and an amazing atmosphere make this a through evolution of the Resident Evil franchise. The game suffers a bit in off-line AI-controlled co-op - which takes away more than it adds to the experience.
  21. KyuuDMC
    May 28, 2009
    9
    Sorry GameFocus but we're talking about the Versus patch not the whole game.
  22. YannickH
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Resident Evil 5 sure didn't brought the same feeling that came along with Resident Evil 4, but sure showed that teamwork is a must in a survivor horror action game. For those cry babies who whines about the fact that the you can' t shoot and run at the same time, leave THAT game ALONE. If you can't survive without having to move, don't play this game. All of the Resident Evil 5 sure didn't brought the same feeling that came along with Resident Evil 4, but sure showed that teamwork is a must in a survivor horror action game. For those cry babies who whines about the fact that the you can' t shoot and run at the same time, leave THAT game ALONE. If you can't survive without having to move, don't play this game. All of the previous Resident Evil games were like that. What were you expecting? Something new? How stupid can you be to think that? You're as the same people who said that Street Fighter IV was poor game. If you REALLY had played the previous titles of either Street Fighter or Resident Evil, you wouldn't have give poor rating to these games. Resident Evil 5 was packed with awesome action and a great story. The RE4 and RE5 never meant to be real horror games. Why? The angle of the camera. Now you can fully see your enemies. RE5 maybe didn't beat RE4, but still made proud its predecessor. Expand
  23. DaveC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This game rocks, I dont really understand why does everyone has to complain about the control settings and the lack of run-and-fire system, you simply dont need it, to have a great time playing. I would like to clarify that this is a CO-OP game, everyone that complains its because they dont have a good friend to play with. Great voice acting, great history, supeb enemies, well balanced This game rocks, I dont really understand why does everyone has to complain about the control settings and the lack of run-and-fire system, you simply dont need it, to have a great time playing. I would like to clarify that this is a CO-OP game, everyone that complains its because they dont have a good friend to play with. Great voice acting, great history, supeb enemies, well balanced difficulty and lots of unlockable items. Expand
  24. GinoC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    The game was good and its different set of controls from other games out there. If I wanted a FPS game then I would have bought and FPS game. Resident Evil is like Resident Evil and that what I was expecting from resident eviil. Gears of Wars2 was not that good and it got raves reviews it was boring and the story was lame. Resident Evil was fun to play and that to me is what I pay my The game was good and its different set of controls from other games out there. If I wanted a FPS game then I would have bought and FPS game. Resident Evil is like Resident Evil and that what I was expecting from resident eviil. Gears of Wars2 was not that good and it got raves reviews it was boring and the story was lame. Resident Evil was fun to play and that to me is what I pay my money for. FPS shooters are good when you are in the mood to play it. I notice all this bias towards resident evil what gives ? Expand
  25. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Resident Evil 5 não é um game de terror. Não possui aquela ambientação sombria do anterior. Contudo, a inclusão do Co-op (Splitscreen ou online) deram uma nova cara à famosa franquia. Jogar com amigos é excelente, o game possui um ótimo servidor. A história é ótima e fecha elementos de outros games da série, com direitos a algumas surpresas inclusive. A jogabilidade é uma evolução de RE4,Resident Evil 5 não é um game de terror. Não possui aquela ambientação sombria do anterior. Contudo, a inclusão do Co-op (Splitscreen ou online) deram uma nova cara à famosa franquia. Jogar com amigos é excelente, o game possui um ótimo servidor. A história é ótima e fecha elementos de outros games da série, com direitos a algumas surpresas inclusive. A jogabilidade é uma evolução de RE4, adaptada com a troca de itens em tempo real, o que foi uma grande novidade. Seus modos extras valem muito a pena e são jogados até hoje! A Capcom não fez uma revolução como no quarto game, e por mais que o jogo não esteja no mesmo nível do seu antecessor, ele continua sendo o melhor RE lançado originalmente para PS3 até agora. Expand
  26. MikeG
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    Great game, especially for 2ppl friends online coop. I don't find any videogame scary and this wasn't an issue for me. beat the game 3 times and still want to play. The AI partner is much smarter than James leads to believe,btw all of James complaints were on display during the demo, why would you buy and review a game if you dont like the demo? Unlock infinite ammo on a magnum, Great game, especially for 2ppl friends online coop. I don't find any videogame scary and this wasn't an issue for me. beat the game 3 times and still want to play. The AI partner is much smarter than James leads to believe,btw all of James complaints were on display during the demo, why would you buy and review a game if you dont like the demo? Unlock infinite ammo on a magnum, give it to AI and see how many enemies he leaves for you to shoot, or don't give AI a gun and do the work yourself.AI never dies on me, even in pro mode.Thank you capcom for not making another generic 1st/3rd person single player shooter, there's enough of them out there for James to play. Expand
  27. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    Resident Evil 5 was my most wanted game since i finished RE4 . well lets get the negative things out of the way . the game doesnt take many chances and instead keeps pretty much to the path RE4 layed out which might have been not a bad thing if RE4 didnt come out 5 years before hand . making the gameplay feel abit dated also why cant you move and shoot still? i mean dead space and silentResident Evil 5 was my most wanted game since i finished RE4 . well lets get the negative things out of the way . the game doesnt take many chances and instead keeps pretty much to the path RE4 layed out which might have been not a bad thing if RE4 didnt come out 5 years before hand . making the gameplay feel abit dated also why cant you move and shoot still? i mean dead space and silent hill let you do this , capcom cant get the message apperintly . the game doesnt inspire much horror like its prevous games its more of just action action and more action which for some may be great for others they feel what made the series so great was kinda lost. Your partner AI is just HORRABLE . i swear i screamed and yelled at my tv at all the dumb things sheva did made me wana shoot her . the story doesnt feel like it adds any thing new it feels more like its a revenge story to get wesker and thats about it . why the hell is chris so buff i swear i think he;s gona have Roid Rage at any second.

    now for the good . CO-OP that doesnt suck like outbreaks . the co-op feature is the best reason to buy this game playing with a friend is just a blast . boss fights are still fun and exciting , LOTS and LOTS of guns ., the graphics are amazing . the controls felt ok to me i didnt have much of a issue like some did. fast paced action that rarely lets up . Now for a game that took 5 years to make i expected more out of capcom but its still a fun game if you have a buddy to play with if not then the game just isnt gona be as fun . Sheva shoulda been left out and clair or Leon shoulda been brought in .All in Alll RE5 isnt a bad game but it sure isnt a great game eather.
    Expand
  28. binamram
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    this the best resident evil game by far. the graphics and gameplay are utterly brilliant and so is the online co-op. I bought this game for £20 and now I think to myself, what a bargain!
  29. AshleyR
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 was great! I played the full game in 3 days, on co-op mode and it was seriously addictive and just as i expected. I'm a huge fan of the series, and thought it would be hard to top RE4, but the co-op for RE5 really did it. I totally disagree with any other reviewers who said it was 'tired'. It's anything but.
  30. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 10 - Perfect. RE5 is the best example of 3rd-person shooting in recent memory. The stop-and-pop mechanics may annoy some, but in reality it makes the shooter more accurate (real cops/soldiers don't run-and-gun!). The melee is fun, and the Co-op is some of the best ever. Add in the excellent bonus Mercenaries mode, and RE5 has great replayability.
    Story: 9 - Amazing. RE5 makes
    Gameplay: 10 - Perfect. RE5 is the best example of 3rd-person shooting in recent memory. The stop-and-pop mechanics may annoy some, but in reality it makes the shooter more accurate (real cops/soldiers don't run-and-gun!). The melee is fun, and the Co-op is some of the best ever. Add in the excellent bonus Mercenaries mode, and RE5 has great replayability.
    Story: 9 - Amazing. RE5 makes you care about Chris's quest. Though it starts slightly slow, it quickly gains momentum, resulting in an action-packed and twist-filled ending.
    Graphics: 10 - Perfect. RE5 has some of the most beautiful graphics on any system.
    Sound - 10 - Perfect. When the tone requires, the music can be moody, creepy, thrilling, or sad. The sounds of Majini (non-zombies/infected) chill the blood when heard in the dark when you have few shots left...
    Overall: 10 - Perfect. Need a co-op game? Resident Evil 5 is perfect for you.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    Perhaps Resident Evil 5's most remarkable achievement is how it deftly straddles the line between the franchise's sometimes endearing, sometimes frustrating, legacy gameplay mechanics while incorporating more contemporary action adventure elements like enhanced interaction and exploration of environments and a decidedly more shooter-like control scheme. [Mar 2009, p.38]
  2. GamePro
    90
    Hardcore fans may be disappointed by the departure from the traditional survival-horror roots but trust me, the game delivers enough thrills that you probably won't care. [Apr 2009, p.68]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    In too many ways this is identical to the last game. That's not necessarily a bad thing - "RE4" is one of the greatest games ever made because it rewrote the rules for action games, setting a template for everything from "Dead Space" to "Dark Sector." Because of that this is still a damn near essential purchase. It's just a shame that the lack of evolution means it occasionally feels like it's lagging behind the very competitors it inspired. [Mar 2009, p.80]