• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2008
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1843 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterW.
    Feb 1, 2009
    7
    Resistance 2 is a wonderful game and will sever any gamer with hours of fun. That's all so the downfall the solo campaign is short and sweet. U do have the replay value of the harder settings but not that much. The mulitiplayer thoe is sweet with the madness of death matches to the co-op campange brilliant.
  2. Oct 16, 2011
    6
    This games single player and multiplayer are both okay, but nothing special. Pros: Epic scale in some sections of the game,good variety of weapons, variety of enemies and decent graphics. Cons: becomes repetitive quite frequently, the multiplayer modes are not very unique at all, the story is simply very weak and boring, the game is very easy and the most of the deaths are cheap whenThis games single player and multiplayer are both okay, but nothing special. Pros: Epic scale in some sections of the game,good variety of weapons, variety of enemies and decent graphics. Cons: becomes repetitive quite frequently, the multiplayer modes are not very unique at all, the story is simply very weak and boring, the game is very easy and the most of the deaths are cheap when objectives are unclear, the characters are boring etc. Overall a mediocre FPS. 6.0/10. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    It was okay, but it wasn't the first game, and just didn't grab me. I could leave it at that and given how long ago it came out I'm sure most of you know what I'm talking about. The visuals don't look good, with varying levels of texture around the environment that make certain pieces look like they are out of place or not fully loaded. The guns felt the same as the first which was a plusIt was okay, but it wasn't the first game, and just didn't grab me. I could leave it at that and given how long ago it came out I'm sure most of you know what I'm talking about. The visuals don't look good, with varying levels of texture around the environment that make certain pieces look like they are out of place or not fully loaded. The guns felt the same as the first which was a plus with some additions I believe (haven't played the first one since it came out. The gunplay was just as good as the first as well and I enjoyed how the style of combat is really defined by the guns. I know this is a stupid point but I really appreciated the option of a flashlight on the weapons as it accomplished two things: First it makes going through the dark places doable so I'm not squinting or adjusting brightness settings to get through the section, and second, it gives a horror feel to the game. The enemies felt more or less the same; the big guys were frustrating but what I would want in it. The story was really what fell short. I liked the first one and found it compelling, but Resistance 2 just did nothing for me. I flat out did not care what happened, and for those who have played to the end you can tell insomniac wanted the player to care about this character you've been through the **** with and I couldn't. Perhaps others were able to engage more with this one but for me it just didn't work and I don't foresee myself ever recommending this one. Here's to 3 being better! Expand
  4. Fred
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    Overall I am a bit disappointed after R1. R1 to me was one of the best FPS games I have very experienced - graphics, music, story, game play, it had it all. R2 does not feel the same to me. The storyline is real weak, and that was a good part of why R1 was so good IMO. It also seems like R2 is a much shorter game than R1. It sounds like everyone loves the coop and multi modes, but I play Overall I am a bit disappointed after R1. R1 to me was one of the best FPS games I have very experienced - graphics, music, story, game play, it had it all. R2 does not feel the same to me. The storyline is real weak, and that was a good part of why R1 was so good IMO. It also seems like R2 is a much shorter game than R1. It sounds like everyone loves the coop and multi modes, but I play single mode, so those benefits do not help me. I like the idea of not being able to carry 8+ weapons at one time, but only carrying 2 is a little weak, also. Too much of the game takes place in dark rooms/tunnels and it is difficuly to see (even with the weapon flashlight on). I enjoy AI help on the battfield, but I also liked the solo adventures in R1 - almost all of R2 is team, althought the AI works well. R1 was great, much better than R2, which is just so so. Expand
  5. ArronP
    Nov 5, 2009
    6
    How the hell did R2 get such high praise? The single player campaign is painfully boring. Graphically its a stinker. The PS3 can do considerably better. If you want proof - play Uncharted 2. The AI is ridiculous. Enemies will regularly ignore your team mates and go straight to you, resulting in cheap deaths time and time again. It does have some pretty cool weapons though. It's only How the hell did R2 get such high praise? The single player campaign is painfully boring. Graphically its a stinker. The PS3 can do considerably better. If you want proof - play Uncharted 2. The AI is ridiculous. Enemies will regularly ignore your team mates and go straight to you, resulting in cheap deaths time and time again. It does have some pretty cool weapons though. It's only saving grace is its multi player and co-op, which I must say is pretty decent. Apart from that - very disappointing. Expand
  6. Mrjohnny
    Jan 27, 2009
    6
    Improvement on the original.. it's all very linear.. go here.. shoot that.. there's a HUD beacon flashing to your next waypoint sometimes.. but you don't need it.. single player lasts about 12 hours... but i played it on casual.. it looks very very good.. some of the set pieces with the massive chimaera are jaw dropping.. shame it only take 2 or 3 hits with a LAARK to kill Improvement on the original.. it's all very linear.. go here.. shoot that.. there's a HUD beacon flashing to your next waypoint sometimes.. but you don't need it.. single player lasts about 12 hours... but i played it on casual.. it looks very very good.. some of the set pieces with the massive chimaera are jaw dropping.. shame it only take 2 or 3 hits with a LAARK to kill even the building sized beasty and no real skill just point and fire a rocket up it's chuff.. that said one of the end level bosses makes you work for the kill.. story is well non-existent.. you get given reasons for flying off to far flung places to kill chimaera but at the end you're still left thinking "what the hell just happened".. doesn't give any closure what-so-ever, doesn't explain the towers (oh they 'might' be this or they might be that) and the end cinematic leaves you wanting some answers dammit.. guess there must be a resistance 3 in the pipeline.. better than halo 3 though. Expand
  7. ChrisW
    Oct 26, 2009
    5
    Resistance 2 single-player just can't live up to what Insomniac did with R:FoM. The story in R2 lacks a story that sticks. A story that sucks you in. I was bored playing the single-player and haven't touched the game since I finished the single-player. I can't even be bothered to earn the trophies... Like said before here. There's loads of colors here. Don't Resistance 2 single-player just can't live up to what Insomniac did with R:FoM. The story in R2 lacks a story that sticks. A story that sucks you in. I was bored playing the single-player and haven't touched the game since I finished the single-player. I can't even be bothered to earn the trophies... Like said before here. There's loads of colors here. Don't understand why they did that, because it takes the atmosphere away and makes you feel more like Happy Tree Friends with aliens. Also the voice over... WHY!!! WHY IS IT MISSING!!!.... Why drop the voice-over? It was perfect with that British accent. If the colours were toned down, the guy who shot your brains out was doing the voice-over it would have felt much much better. Also the change from army guy to some special forces dude wasn't making it any better. It's a different vibe. It looks good (minus the confetti colours) and I think there's nothing wrong with the controls, it's just the atmosphere from the previous game that's just not in this sequel. Expand
  8. LouisB
    Jan 20, 2009
    6
    I have to agree with Tyler H in most of his comments. For single player, he hit the nail on the head. The only saving grace with the game so far is the coop./multiplayer which works well. The single player is simply dull and derivative. Nearly everything I have seen so far in the single player game has been done better somewhere else: AI, boss fights, hording undead/chimera. The graphical I have to agree with Tyler H in most of his comments. For single player, he hit the nail on the head. The only saving grace with the game so far is the coop./multiplayer which works well. The single player is simply dull and derivative. Nearly everything I have seen so far in the single player game has been done better somewhere else: AI, boss fights, hording undead/chimera. The graphical detail is simply poor for a second generation game; it looks average at best. No other comment needed. The irritating, linear game-play where you are overwhelmed by foes only to run out of ammo gets old. Not balanced. The fact that it is not done well just makes the experience all the more derivative. Also, what happened between R2 and R1 to make Hale weaker? It only takes a few hits on Normal, and you are near death. The use of the Gears of War/CoD4 health style is ok, if you do it well. R2 does not do it well. Why this game received the high scores from the majority of the gaming press is a wonder. Except, I only wonder if they actually played the game. Expand
  9. craigyplops
    Jan 2, 2009
    7
    as much as i enjoyed this game i was still expecting better graphics...yes the back drops are awesome and this game does look nice but this game still doesnt hold the shine of such games as gow2 on xbox360,the power of the ps3 is still very much a myth...and what happened to the vehicles in this one,lets hope killzone 2 can produce better or my ps3 will be going on ebay,in my eyes xbox isas much as i enjoyed this game i was still expecting better graphics...yes the back drops are awesome and this game does look nice but this game still doesnt hold the shine of such games as gow2 on xbox360,the power of the ps3 is still very much a myth...and what happened to the vehicles in this one,lets hope killzone 2 can produce better or my ps3 will be going on ebay,in my eyes xbox is still the daddy console Expand
  10. mikeyk
    Nov 16, 2008
    6
    This game was alright. I was kind of disappointed The coolest thing about the first one is that it was so different. It was a WWII shooter with an alien invasion. It had bizarre weapons a one of a kind theme. Now, this one was not quite as fun or thrilling as the first and Its originality has been lost. It just kind of became one of those generic modern monster shooting games. Id give the This game was alright. I was kind of disappointed The coolest thing about the first one is that it was so different. It was a WWII shooter with an alien invasion. It had bizarre weapons a one of a kind theme. Now, this one was not quite as fun or thrilling as the first and Its originality has been lost. It just kind of became one of those generic modern monster shooting games. Id give the story and the gameplay an 8 Expand
  11. AllenP
    Nov 17, 2008
    6
    The game is decent but nothing more.The single player campaign is ok but you will die alot and it can be confusing.Some sections put you there with no explanation as to what you are supposed to do,so you are running around,lost. The enemies are the best part,the bosses are amazing.Most of the game though suffers from being boring and lackluster. The multiplayer is terrible and The game is decent but nothing more.The single player campaign is ok but you will die alot and it can be confusing.Some sections put you there with no explanation as to what you are supposed to do,so you are running around,lost. The enemies are the best part,the bosses are amazing.Most of the game though suffers from being boring and lackluster. The multiplayer is terrible and forgettable.60 player is too overwhelming and you die too much. Save your money,rent it,beat the campaign and take it back to Blockbuster. Expand
  12. Adam
    Nov 28, 2008
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game because the story co-op was so much fun in the first one. So it's a major disappointment that this mode is no longer available. Perhaps the graphics may have suffered in a split screen mode, but Motorstorm managed it ! The side missions are no replacement for it.
    I like the improvements to the single player mode but the online mode is
    I was really looking forward to this game because the story co-op was so much fun in the first one. So it's a major disappointment that this mode is no longer available. Perhaps the graphics may have suffered in a split screen mode, but Motorstorm managed it ! The side missions are no replacement for it.
    I like the improvements to the single player mode but the online mode is annoying as ever for a casual player who despite the apparent matching process finds himself playing people that are evidently on it all the time.
    Expand
  13. Oct 17, 2010
    6
    Didn't liked the story. I wish they changed the story's setting. Graphics were amazing and gameplay and controls were good. Multiplayer coop was tedious and boring. Competitive multiplayer was great, big maps and lots of people. Rent it before buying.
  14. Aug 15, 2012
    6
    Slightly better than the first one, but at least there are some improvements. Graphic is one big improvement, and presentation of the story. Weapons are almost the same. Enemies variety has increased a little. This is only an above average game. Nothing is really great that needs compliment, nothing is really bad that needs complaint.
  15. May 28, 2012
    6
    this game is okay, more of the same.
  16. FortuneFaded
    Jul 20, 2009
    7
    If there's anything to be said the multiplayer will blow you're mind; I could probably spend twelve hours playing it striaght without getting bored. R2 was a game made for multiplayer, and is brilliantly good at that. Good as COD4? I dunno because i have never played COD4, but if it is better then it can't be that much because when it comes to multiplayer R2 is bloody If there's anything to be said the multiplayer will blow you're mind; I could probably spend twelve hours playing it striaght without getting bored. R2 was a game made for multiplayer, and is brilliantly good at that. Good as COD4? I dunno because i have never played COD4, but if it is better then it can't be that much because when it comes to multiplayer R2 is bloody brilliant. But then there's the catch. You see, the only game I had ever seen with a theme and story line presented so brilliantly was Metal Gear Solid 4. And thats saying a lot. To create such a good multiplayer game insomniac has had to lose its focus on the campaign. Its not the change in how the gameplay works. Its the complete destruction of everything that the original resistance stood for. The warm colourful graphics. The stupid, poorly thoughout story line (not the fact that Hale carks it though, that was always coming) that didn't answer to any of the great mysteries set up by the first. The lack of any sort of twist in plot to take it even deeper. I wanted to see horror unleashed. Carnage, despair. I wanted it to be a sudden, shock attack of the war and to see everything crumbling. I wanted to feel like the entire war was lost. The idea was that you'd be fighting not just chimera but hopelessness, like you did in the first game. The only thing that seemed to capture it was the first half of Iowa, about thrity perfect minutes before it sank even further. Great multiplayer, but it had to lose all that in the bargain. Expand
  17. barrym
    Jan 19, 2009
    7
    this game certainly isn't all its cracked up to be, but it isn't an absolute waste either- very linear and most of the big guns lack any ooomphh, meaning you'll more than likely use the magnum or sniper rifle, because its much more fulfilling than spraying a hundred bullets into the enemy and them still walking.
    also, the game has turned from a shooter to a survival horror game
  18. DouglasA.
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    The graphics are average but get the job done. The creation of the multiplayer co-op really bumped this game from 5 rating to a 7. The spawning system for online versus is horrible. The most enjoyable part is that the Marksman gun feels very similar to the battle rifle in the Halo series, and weaving while landing three bullet bursts is the ONLY thing I missed after switching to PS3 from The graphics are average but get the job done. The creation of the multiplayer co-op really bumped this game from 5 rating to a 7. The spawning system for online versus is horrible. The most enjoyable part is that the Marksman gun feels very similar to the battle rifle in the Halo series, and weaving while landing three bullet bursts is the ONLY thing I missed after switching to PS3 from crappy XBOX. Now I can do it again, but don't get your overall expectations too high. Collapse
  19. MikeC.
    Nov 11, 2008
    7
    I'm not commenting on the multi-player component of this game at all, since I do not have access to a broadband connection at the moment. Resistance felt alot like the original Halo to me. Big, sweeping moments outdoors, my heart beating fast in my chest as I heroically beat down wave after wave of aliens in the name of good mother earth. However, inside I was bored to tears; I'm not commenting on the multi-player component of this game at all, since I do not have access to a broadband connection at the moment. Resistance felt alot like the original Halo to me. Big, sweeping moments outdoors, my heart beating fast in my chest as I heroically beat down wave after wave of aliens in the name of good mother earth. However, inside I was bored to tears; wandering aimlessly around identical corridors while being fed a nonsensical plot about characters I didn't give a shit about. Unlike Call of Duty 4 or even Condemned 2, the houses and living spaces I entered in R2 just didn't feel right. The proportions of objects are all wrong, the lighting never looks right, and there is a lack of detail. It all looks empty and bland compared to the sweeping vistas and epic confrontations outside. Referring to boss battles, while it's a thrill to fight a monster 50 stories tall, it just never felt like I was choosing my own actions fighting it. I felt like I was being led down a pre-set path hand in hand instead of ingeniously figuring out how to put down the massive creatures. It destroyed the illusion for me to have every solution spelled out for me or have very simple solutions. And the alternate WWII setting is still old and boring, and Nathan Hale is still a dull main character. I'd never buy this game. I had about ten times the amount of fun playing LittleBigPlanet or Fallout 3. A snoozing rental at most. Expand
  20. DavidMak
    Nov 5, 2008
    5
    It's really just not what I expected. The story is captivating, but I just think the graphics are terrible, how one takes down the bosses is boring after the first time. I don't like how you now encounter the weapons on the maps. MP is just random. No one works together.
  21. eeganrac
    Dec 19, 2008
    7
    The reason i am giving resistance a 7 instead of a 5 (being average) is, well i did not play resistance 1. i guess you can say i am way late to the party. i am finding r2 really generic. i got my ps3 and purchased 2 games one of which was r2. the game is really slow at explaining what is going on (again i didn't play the first game). the visuals are good, but not great to other The reason i am giving resistance a 7 instead of a 5 (being average) is, well i did not play resistance 1. i guess you can say i am way late to the party. i am finding r2 really generic. i got my ps3 and purchased 2 games one of which was r2. the game is really slow at explaining what is going on (again i didn't play the first game). the visuals are good, but not great to other shooters i have played. i just found the combat boring. you can only carry 2 weapons, but weapons the designers feel you need are always there. you feel like you are beening spoon fed on how to play the game. the bosses are way too easy, and i got extremely sick of the water swimming creatures platform element. also, i have not played online yet. i am at the final level and i do not play online until i have beaten the campaign. oh, but iowa was fun, but the chamealians are a joke (appearing right before they strike), there was a lot of potential there too bad they dropped the ball. Expand
  22. PatrickP.
    Jan 15, 2009
    5
    I do not understand the 9's and 10's I'm seeing for this game on a lot of major review sites. Had I bought the game based on those reviews (instead of renting) I'd be very, very angry at the moment. If this is your first FPS, you could do a lot worse. If not, well, you've seen it done before and probably done better. A.I. is nonexistant on both sides of the I do not understand the 9's and 10's I'm seeing for this game on a lot of major review sites. Had I bought the game based on those reviews (instead of renting) I'd be very, very angry at the moment. If this is your first FPS, you could do a lot worse. If not, well, you've seen it done before and probably done better. A.I. is nonexistant on both sides of the conflict (i.e. your squad mates are useless). The game has a story, albeit a not very gripping one. The main character might as well be the one from the Doom series for all the personality he has (virtually nil for those unfamiliar with Doom). Weapon selection is decent, however, your choice of weapons is determined by the game and not your preference or proficiency. Don't get to attached to that magnum, because the ammo is going to dry up in 30 seconds. Want to try and beat the game with just the Fareye? You can try, but you'll have to melee 90% of the enemies, no matter how conservative or accurate your are with your ammunition. The game tries to create an atmosphere of fear in some areas (waves of zombie-like Chimera running at you in the dark), however, it's so telegraphed and predictable that there's no tension. Multiplayer varies. Issues aboujnd, but is quite fun when everything is working right. This game boasts 64 player matches, but good luck finding one. If you own a PS3 and you're into multiplayer FPS's, get this game, as your options are limited. If you own a PS3 and you're into great games, get something else. I would reccomend a lot of things over this one; Dead Space, COD, Fallout 3, LBP, etc., even Force Unleashed in all honesty. Expand
  23. GlennC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    The original Resistance was and is one of my favorite games on PS3. I was greatly disappointed when I began playing the sequel. The game has lost it's suspense/fear factor. Only two weapons at a time? What up with that? It's a video game. If it were meant to be more realistic, there'd be no aliens to fight in the first place. I liked the original's look much better The original Resistance was and is one of my favorite games on PS3. I was greatly disappointed when I began playing the sequel. The game has lost it's suspense/fear factor. Only two weapons at a time? What up with that? It's a video game. If it were meant to be more realistic, there'd be no aliens to fight in the first place. I liked the original's look much better than the over saturated color and cartoonish design of Resistance 2. As far as I'm concerned, you guy's missed the mark. Let's hope Dead Space 2 lives up to it's monumental original. Expand
  24. RandyW
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    Let me first say that I have played through an extensive amount of the single player and multiplayer for this game, and also the only system I play games on is my PS3. Now that's out of the way, I think Resistance 1 is better then Resistance 2 by far. I also think that this game is too far up it's own ass to be taken seriously, and what I mean by that is the story for this game Let me first say that I have played through an extensive amount of the single player and multiplayer for this game, and also the only system I play games on is my PS3. Now that's out of the way, I think Resistance 1 is better then Resistance 2 by far. I also think that this game is too far up it's own ass to be taken seriously, and what I mean by that is the story for this game has taken a great idea and some how made it... generic Hollywood movie gone bad. When you played Resistance 1 you felt more of a connection to the character because he was not an action hero per say, he was a guy at the wrong place at the wrong time, Kind of someone that was not a super solider that you see used constantly now a days. Now granted this game does have the eye candy for those who want great graphics, but at what cost? the single player pays so much attention to looking good instead of a game that is fun. Resistance 2 single player is not fun because the developers took everything from the first game that was great, like the mix between regenerative health/having to use health packs and less linear approach, and went for a Halo type of system where it seems every FPS since then has stolen from. Also I am knocking the single player for forcing you to play the way the developers want you to, by forcing you to only have two guns at one time and having the right gun for the right part just laying around, I think that is what really killed the game for me. No longer can you have a "go to" gun because it is useless the second you run out of ammo. I am also disappointing in how often you are left with not knowing where to go, getting lost in an area that takes you 10 minutes to get out of ruins the game and takes me out of the moment. So why am I giving this a 7 then you might ask, well the co-op is what saved this game. with games like left 4 dead and team fortress 2 I'm happy to see that this game has a co-op that mixes those said games with a resistance feel to it. the competitive on the other hand is just as resistance 1 was except it looks horrible and has unoriginal game play modes that you have seen a million times before. I will give credit to them for sticking 60 players in the game without many hiccups. My thoughts on this game are if you really liked Resistance 1 rent Resistance 2 because what it does right will keep you playing for a sort while but if you want the next system selling game look else where. Expand
  25. KeithP.
    Nov 23, 2008
    6
    What a disappointment. R2 does away with the best elements of of the first game (muted tone/colors, a freaky enemy all the more scary because don't know where the hell they came from or what their goals are, a protagonist who was at least potentially a 3-dimensional human being) and replaces them with focus-group must-haves from 6-year olds. Add in the awful graphics (play R2 online What a disappointment. R2 does away with the best elements of of the first game (muted tone/colors, a freaky enemy all the more scary because don't know where the hell they came from or what their goals are, a protagonist who was at least potentially a 3-dimensional human being) and replaces them with focus-group must-haves from 6-year olds. Add in the awful graphics (play R2 online for 10 minutes, then jump over to COD4 online and see for yourself) and utterly derivative, pathetic explanation for it all, and we have a serious crash of expectations. Oh well...waiting for COD6 and BIOSHOCK 2. Expand
  26. MichaelH
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    Story is very linear, can stray to much off the set path. The graphics are so so, was expecting some major improvements over the first one. The enemies A.I. is non existent it seems. Most will just stand there and wait for you to shoot at them, and once you start shooting them they still stand there. The impressive part of the game is the amount of enemies on the screen at once while your Story is very linear, can stray to much off the set path. The graphics are so so, was expecting some major improvements over the first one. The enemies A.I. is non existent it seems. Most will just stand there and wait for you to shoot at them, and once you start shooting them they still stand there. The impressive part of the game is the amount of enemies on the screen at once while your playing. Also the dead bodies don't disappear right away which is good. Online is pretty hectic, servers seem under control. The only grip i have with the online is that it doesn't take to much skill to get a lot of kills. Most players are just franticly running around. The controls for this game are so so. I did not like how they placed the Ducking ability and the running ability on the same button. Causes to much frustration when your trying to run but you end up crouching instead. The game has some excellent weapons and level designs, just the story is what holds it back really. I would not purchase this game for its campaign, but maybe its online if you like frantic and hectic online playing with so many players you wouldn't know who you team is. Not for the Tactical player. Expand
  27. MitchS
    Nov 18, 2008
    5
    Resistance: Fall of Man is better then Resistance 2. Simply because in co-op mode in the 1st one you could play a spilt screen campaign story mode. I would have licked to have been able to do the same in #2. But oh well, it is still entertaining, I guess???
  28. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    resistance 2 has a good gameplay and the online is really good and its better than the first
    but is still not as good as COD or fallout or maybe even gears of war but still a good game
  29. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Not much has changed and was has changed is not for the better. It feels like a lesser game then the first one. If you can't get enough of Resistance you could buy this though.
  30. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    A good game, not a great game. Campaign was very interesting and kept me engaged for the ages. However, multiplayer was a different story. And that is where I will rant about. The multiplayer is a stepdown from its predecessor in virtually every aspect. I was experiencing a gaming high until I played my first match. I didn't believe that it sucked that bad so I played for the whole night.A good game, not a great game. Campaign was very interesting and kept me engaged for the ages. However, multiplayer was a different story. And that is where I will rant about. The multiplayer is a stepdown from its predecessor in virtually every aspect. I was experiencing a gaming high until I played my first match. I didn't believe that it sucked that bad so I played for the whole night. Damn, that blew my night, what a dissapointment from the guys at Insomniac. I expected much more for my money. However, I can't say that this game wasn't a blast from an objective standpoint. Ups to Insomniac for a great and even more engaging plot. Expand
  31. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    7.5 - It's big, loud, exciting, and epic, but the story doesn't really go anywhere exciting. There are glorious moments of terror and intensity peppered throughout certain levels, but overall the campaign misses it's marks. The biggest moments of the campaign are either frustrating, glitchy, or incredibly underdeveloped, with certain sound elements and design flaws rearing their ugly7.5 - It's big, loud, exciting, and epic, but the story doesn't really go anywhere exciting. There are glorious moments of terror and intensity peppered throughout certain levels, but overall the campaign misses it's marks. The biggest moments of the campaign are either frustrating, glitchy, or incredibly underdeveloped, with certain sound elements and design flaws rearing their ugly heads. This is Insomniac's most unpolished game. The fact that Insomniac also dumbed down your ability to hold all of your weapons to only two at a time is a shame, because the guns of resistance are the best weapons of any current gen shooter. Multiplayer is aces with gigantic matches and fun modes. There are more negatives than positives for R2, but the campaign is much improved over its predecessor, and the entertainment value, while lacking substance, is incredible. It is overall a decent sequel, but in the end it is an empty husk of a shooter, with no characters to care for, a story that is scatterbrained, and a main character that is empty and emotionless. Expand
  32. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I loved resistance 1 and still think it is one of the top games on the ps3. This however feels totally backwards in game play and design. I liked having a variety of weapons, and I agree that 8 seemed a bit too much, but having only 2 weapons while in combat feels very lacking at times especially when ammo is at a premium. The AI is atrocious, companions are absolutely useless, since theyI loved resistance 1 and still think it is one of the top games on the ps3. This however feels totally backwards in game play and design. I liked having a variety of weapons, and I agree that 8 seemed a bit too much, but having only 2 weapons while in combat feels very lacking at times especially when ammo is at a premium. The AI is atrocious, companions are absolutely useless, since they cannot kill an enemy without assistance. The enemies directly go to you, passing through them (I mean this quite literally). Some mechanics were horrible, for example; getting stuck in odd places, falling though small holes, and having to do too much at the same time. Overall I felt like this could have been a much better game had developers not wanted to compete with Craptivision and the Call of Duty franchise. The story is much shorter than its predecessor and feels quite lacking at times. As much as it pains me to say this, it feels like Call of Duty sometimes. Online was better but I mainly bought it for the campaign mode. I recommend renting or borrowing only Expand
  33. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Worth playing for the cooperative multiplayer, but that's all.

    The campaign is a large disappointment from Resistance: Fall of Man. As you probably already know, the weapon wheel and cooperative campaign have both been removed. These were defining features of the original, and a couple of its largest attractions. The style has degraded from Resistance 1. The sepia look has been
    Worth playing for the cooperative multiplayer, but that's all.

    The campaign is a large disappointment from Resistance: Fall of Man. As you probably already know, the weapon wheel and cooperative campaign have both been removed. These were defining features of the original, and a couple of its largest attractions.

    The style has degraded from Resistance 1. The sepia look has been abandoned in favor of neon grass and oversaturated colors. I understand that people are trying to move away from dull gray shooters. I understand that, I really do. But if there was one series in the world that should keep a dull color palette, it should have been Resistance. Furthermore, the colors in Resistance 2 are not balanced or realistic at all. The flora practically glows it's such a bright shade of neon green.

    The campaign has become worse as well. There's no longer any mystique to the chimera. They're aliens, that's all. Just aliens. As if we need another generic shooter with invading aliens. The chimera are no longer an aggressive hive mind ruled by the Angels. Instead, they now have military ranks like humans, and the Angels have been replaced by a partially human mutation named Daedalus. The chimera have lost their ferocity. In Resistance 1, it was common to see chimera biting and ripping at human soldiers. It was clear they were enraged and bestial, and the style worked perfectly to reinvigorate the stagnant shooter market. In Resistance 2, the chimera act so human they even listen to orders from overseers. It's simply a terrible way to portray the chimera.

    Graphics have only arguably improved from Resistance 1. Water is now dynamic, and that's the best thing I have to say about it. It resembles blue jello at this point, and while it's amusing to watch, it can't be taken seriously. The rest of the graphics have seemingly just been painted in brighter colors.

    There's less of a selection of guns in Resistance 2, and there are fewer enemy types.

    In general, the single player is just bad.
    Multiplayer, however is much better. The 8 player cooperative multiplayer is immeasurably fun to play. Each of the 3 classes supports the others, and it creates a real sense of companionship with your team. In a good team, it's possible to overwhelm even full battalions of chimera (of which there are several dozen on screen at once). Ravagers and the hybrids that follow them add back much of the sense of ferocity that the chimera lost in the single player, and the 60 player competitive matches are chaotic and fun. The traditionally insane weapons of Resistance are fully featured in both competitive and cooperative multiplayer, and they create dynamic gameplay you just don't see in other shooters.

    I paid $60 for Resistance 2, and I've never regretted it simply because the multiplayer is so fully developed and so much fun. If you want to focus on the single player campaign, prepare to be disappointed.
    Expand
  34. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    This game is fun it has awesome online multiplayer with a bunch of different game modes that are actually fun to play the control set up is alittle weird but once you get the hang of it its really fun where this game fails is its story the story is decent at first horribly boring in the middle and very good at the end the levels are so long its rediculious its one of those games where youThis game is fun it has awesome online multiplayer with a bunch of different game modes that are actually fun to play the control set up is alittle weird but once you get the hang of it its really fun where this game fails is its story the story is decent at first horribly boring in the middle and very good at the end the levels are so long its rediculious its one of those games where you are like "omg how many more levels do i have to beat to get done with this game ugh" the story gets very tedious after awhile but the ending is good ill give it that all in all this game is a pretty decent shooter Expand
  35. Jun 30, 2014
    6
    The game it's ok, but it doesn't have the same force to attract the typical FPS players, i tried with the first levels and it's doesn't catch my attention, the history in this moment is not attractive, i feel that the options to play (weapons, etc) are too basic, but the scenes and the places are very good worked.
  36. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    A pretty good single player game which i play little by little whenever im bored .The multiplayer is much better than the campaign with so many modes .Overall an good game
  37. Feb 13, 2013
    6
    Resistance 2 is a good game with solid gameplay but with a forgetable story. Not that different from the average shooter. Fun while playing but easily forgeted as you end it.
  38. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    I bought this videogame for 22
  39. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    Short version: not nearly as good as the first game.

    Long version: What does a game company do when a game is successful? Make a sequel and change everything about it that made the first game great! The story introduces some unnecessary plot points, and stretches credulity to do so (the relationship between the protagonist and antagonist for example). Unlimited weapons are gone, as are
    Short version: not nearly as good as the first game.

    Long version:
    What does a game company do when a game is successful? Make a sequel and change everything about it that made the first game great! The story introduces some unnecessary plot points, and stretches credulity to do so (the relationship between the protagonist and antagonist for example). Unlimited weapons are gone, as are vehicles, split-screen campaign co-op and split-screen multiplayer. Some enemies can instantly kill you with one touch. Some boss battles are ridiculously hard, others are ridiculously easy. The ending boss fight is simply stupid. That said, I did actually like the additional characters, and I found the color palette interesting. As always, killing Chimera was fun, and a few of the boss battles were really enjoyable. Grims were a painful, but ultimately appreciated, addition to the enemy pantheon. All in all, I did enjoy the game, but not nearly as much as the first. It's more like a a wannabe sci-fi COD clone, except with COD you would at least get split-screen multiplayer. The brightest spot is probably the soundtrack also not quite as good as the first, but still great nonetheless.
    Expand
  40. May 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resistance 2 is a good sequel and are seriously underrated. Yes they made some mistakes like taking away coop. But they still made a lot of things right. They now putted some boss fights in the game and they are awesome and extremely fun. They removed some of the enemies but they also putted even more new good ones in. They have now removed the old multiplayer mode and made a new one (you can play split screen in the multiplayer mode) where you and your alliaces have to fight your way through aliens and complete the missions. There is 3 different classes that you can choose between. It is really cool. But i didn't like that there is even less scary moments in this one then the first one. Of course there where a bit of them but not enough. The first one didn't have that much of scary moments neither. But it at least kept the creepy atmosphere (which was amazing). They made this one more of an action shooter. But i can't complain to much because they did the action part pretty well. And it does fit the game. Expand
  41. Feb 25, 2015
    7
    The game was fun to play, with cool enemies to fight, and many guns to experiment with. The graphics were quite good, with sometimes the framerate taking huge hits when many things are happening on the screen at once. The sound was good at most parts, but overall it was forgettable. Overall the single player experience was enjoyable.

    I did run into several glitches and bugs, and also
    The game was fun to play, with cool enemies to fight, and many guns to experiment with. The graphics were quite good, with sometimes the framerate taking huge hits when many things are happening on the screen at once. The sound was good at most parts, but overall it was forgettable. Overall the single player experience was enjoyable.

    I did run into several glitches and bugs, and also the character and screen would lock up during key important battles.

    Now I never had a chance to play multiplayer or coop, as the online community was pretty dead when I got the game several months after release. So my experience with multiplayer was not pleasant.

    Overall it’s a fun game to play, with challenging bits when played on the highest difficulty setting.

    I give it a 7.25/10
    Expand
  42. Aug 30, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. decent title, nice boss fights, great graphics, great weapons, some really well done dark places with a lot of tension , like a dark tunnel full of human cocoons waiting to hatch anytime :)
    one thing however really made this game average for me, and its the story. There isnt any. Go in, kick ass, go home kind of campaign, and even with the great looking bosses, the story lacks of memorable moments, other than ...................................(SPOILER!!!!!!!!!) ................................the headshot in the end.
    if you like great shooters, with some average story, and sharp looks, try thisone.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. 95
    The single player is epic in scope and in story, which is practically worth the price of admission by itself. Then you throw in the extremely engaging co-op and competitive play, which expands on replayability in just about every way possible. Toss in a generous number of unlockables, trophies and community support, and you've got a phenomenal experience.
  2. It succeeds because it doesn’t just try to throw more humans into the same old environments and gameplay. It offers a smart three class system that encourages savvy team-work, an experience meter that builds to enable special attacks and uses levels designed specifically for the mode to maximise the resulting gameplay. It also dynamically shifts the action to take into account the number and skill of players in each game, making for near endless replayability. It’s a hit, pure and simple.
  3. 92
    Resistance 2 is gutsier, it’s gorier, and it’s much, much bigger.