Saints Row IV PlayStation 3

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    73
    Just browsing the vast selection of characters other players have uploaded is at least an hour or two of good entertainment.
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    Saints Row IV continues the franchise's trend of gradually descending into insanity. This episode features the absurd and varied gameplay we've come to know and love, and adds super powers to the mix. There's definitely a lack of innovation and the visuals were not all that impressive, but none of this is truly gamebreaking. One thing is sure: you'll have a lot of fun playing this game, especially if you're a fan of the series.
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    70
    A really fun game but it’s nothing at all original. Perhaps that shouldn’t be said about something that’s one of gaming’s few examples of a parody, but it really falters at the times it tries to do something entirely original, whether that difference be within its own series, genre or gaming as a whole.
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    While Saints Row IV is far from a complete disappointment, the game wants for genuine advancements, settling for dumb fun in place of cutting-edge thrills.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    Saints Row IV doesn’t play like a sequel so much as an expansion pack, substituting huge quantities of diversions and weaponry for an engaging campaign. With Steelport recycled and the lack of challenge, it doesn’t offer much beyond short-lived thrills through wanton destruction and the occasionally humorous moment wrapped in science fiction tropes.
  6. Occasionally excellent, often mired in mediocrity, Saints Row 4 is inferior to Red Dead Redemption and even five-year-old GTA IV in almost every way. And while you’re always likely to miss when comin’ at the kings, Volition’s effort still falls short of the more cohesive Sleeping Dogs, the expansive frolicking on Just Cause 2’s Panau and the polished pantomime of Infamous 2.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    58
    If you believe that the world of Saints Row has been missing things like telekinesis, giant mechs, and cartoonish megalomaniacs, wait until this year’s Christmas sales. The discounted price will better reflect the cheap nature of this «sequel».
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 55
  2. Negative: 11 out of 55
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Saints Row the third with super powers

    whole review nothing else needed to be said i guess i'm in the minority of people who don't like
    Saints Row the third with super powers

    whole review

    nothing else needed to be said i guess i'm in the minority of people who don't like the super powers and thinks they should of been kept as DLC not the main focus of the game, and the world is almost exactly the same only updated a little to accommodate super powers

    don't get me wrong the super powers are fun but i did not want that as the whole game i might as well go play infamous which does it better and is more original
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    1
    Devs sure got lazy with this game. They basically used the same assets and added a little bit. They should have made this a DLC for third.Devs sure got lazy with this game. They basically used the same assets and added a little bit. They should have made this a DLC for third. What a disappointment Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    When I started this game, I was laughing. Laughing at the funny gags, the over the top story and the funny game play elements that have beenWhen I started this game, I was laughing. Laughing at the funny gags, the over the top story and the funny game play elements that have been introduced into this Saints Row. I was enjoying myself.
    But gradually, the laughter stopped. I managed to scrape my way through about 6 of the main campaign missions. Once I looked past the humor, I began to see the true nature of this game. It's a mess, a mess that is uncomfortable to play. And gradually becomes more uncomfortable as you go. For example, upgrading your jump ability to max makes it cumbersome to jump up small buildings because a slight tap will send you way up into the sky. This part in particular isn't a deal breaker, but little things like this coupled with an inconsistent and borderline unplayable frame rate combine to make a game that looks like fun to play, but really isn't. I recommend avoiding this game on the PS3, if you must get it, the PC version is apparently a lot better.
    Full Review »