Silent Hill: Downpour PlayStation 3

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 252
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    WARNING: THIS REVIEW IS LONG. Silent Hill games are some of the best games in the industry, but they have struggled to make a name for themselves in this generation, like they did back in the PS2 era. People hated Origins, Homecoming, and Shattered Memories, and, as far as the mainstream gaming public is concerned, the franchise's hay-day is over. I'm going to be honest with you, thisWARNING: THIS REVIEW IS LONG. Silent Hill games are some of the best games in the industry, but they have struggled to make a name for themselves in this generation, like they did back in the PS2 era. People hated Origins, Homecoming, and Shattered Memories, and, as far as the mainstream gaming public is concerned, the franchise's hay-day is over. I'm going to be honest with you, this game makes me angry, not because of its quality, but because of the apathy that most sites seemed to have for this game. From IGN's 4.5/10 review, to the overall lack of coverage of the game before release, I am convinced that the industry has lost sight of what has made it so great in the first place: creativity. The game opens with the player learning the basic combat mechanics in the game by brutally killing a man. If that isn't a departure from norms than I don't know what is. The game's graphics and technicals are, as many reviewers have pointed out, very bad. The frame rate stutters like crazy, load times are long, and the character models leave a lot to be desired. Graphics to me are like icing on a cake, you don't need it, and the cake can taste good without it, but you still wish you weren't just eating glorified bread. That's what this game is, cake without frosting. As for the story, I will say that it is good, but could have been better. There are two characters that serve no purpose (Ricks and the Mailman) and are there to pad for time. The pacing is also off, considering that so much of the game is spent actually getting to Silent Hill. Other than that the story is this game's saving grace, right next to the side missions. Speaking of side missions, the random objectives that will start cluttering your journal are all sorts of fun, if a bit random. I only wish that they had found a way to integrate them with the story a bit more, as they don't hint at the main twist or connect with any of the main themes (as far as I could tell). And now we get to this games biggest issue, the gameplay. The combat is serviceable, I certainly had no issues with it until the last part of the game (which I will **** about later). The chase sequences are over used and boring. The red orb wasn't scary and having to time traps doesn't scare me, it makes me confused (Silent Hill + traps = fail). Also, the monsters are boring and simplistic. Now for the most frustrating aspect of this game, auto-saves. All other Silent Hill games have had save points were we can save our game and work perfectly well as checkpoints, so then why the **** did you think that replacing them with an auto-save function would be better. For the sake of clarification, I don't hate auto-saves (I think they work fine for fast paced games like Uncharted), but if you're going to do so then at least give us the option to save whenever we want. I said the combat was serviceable because, so long as you engage enemies one on one, you will be fine. But this game loves to throw two or three enemies at you at once leading to some frustrating moments with the finicky lock-on system (which locks-on to the enemy you're facing, not the closest). Again this isn't to bad since the auto-save saves before all of these fights, and they never get too incredibly hard. That is until the final level, with the prisoner juggernauts. I entered a room and had to fight (I couldn't run away, there was a puzzle in that room) a prisoner juggernaut and two minions. I had one first aid kit, ten rounds for my pistol and a pipe. Every time I locked-on to an enemy, another would steam roll me from off screen. I was, on multiple occasions, backed into a corner and forced to block the enemies as the take turns using there over long combos (why can they do combos?) until my pipe broke and I ran out of first aid kits. Then I beat them, and realized that the auto-save function fell asleep. And I got stuck on the aforementioned puzzle, while enemies would pop up from out of nowhere. I eventually died, and had to restart from the prisoner juggernaut and the two minions and started the whole process over again. Then there's the final boss, which was a mess to say the least. I don't take issue with the boss or the fight, but rather the developers for using a play mechanic that we only used once and didn't make a point to tell me that that was even a ****ing option. Maybe I just suck, but to run around the boss for fifteen minutes, not knowing how to kill it really pissed me off. Despite all of the graphical issues and the uninspired gameplay, I honestly could have given this game a 9/10. But that last level left a bad taste in my mouth and made me hate what I could have tolerated. This isn't the worst Silent Hill game ever. It isn't even a bad game, but it does make me sad. Silent Hill was once a proud franchise, unafraid of being creative and taking risks. This game is a step in the right direction, but there is still a lot to be done. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    7
    I've already reviewed this game, but I forgot to mention how as you progress futher into the game, the game starts getting buggy as hell. Also when fighting enemies sometime the game lags and then when the game stops laggin Murphy is looking up at the sky all turned around while the enemies attack. Fighting enemies in this game is awful. Everytime you see an enemy you are scared, but notI've already reviewed this game, but I forgot to mention how as you progress futher into the game, the game starts getting buggy as hell. Also when fighting enemies sometime the game lags and then when the game stops laggin Murphy is looking up at the sky all turned around while the enemies attack. Fighting enemies in this game is awful. Everytime you see an enemy you are scared, but not for the right reason. Another annoying thing about this game is the void. I don't know why they put that in this game, no one that I know likes it. The enemies are also unpredictable, which CAN be a good thing, but the fighting in this game is awful enough as it is, the enemies can do combos and sometimes they will punch 1,2 or 3 times in a row, so by the time you let your guard down to attack, the enemy can hit you, you have to guess when to attack, and even if you dont block, and instead move around to hit them that way instead, the enemies move/walk/run faster than Murphy, so if you try and invade by moving around the enemy will run up at you and attack.It's not fun. Hit detection is really bad too. I don' know if you have noticed but sometimes when you hit an enemy directly it wont register.. Shooting in this game is also horrible, the controls don't feel right, and as scarce as ammo is in this game, you'd think that it would do more damage than it does. Side quests are cool, some of the side quests really captured the silent hill feeling. HOWEVER, most of the side quests you do are pointless other than for trophy hunting. You spend 2+ hours on a side quest findind all the things you need, then back track all over the place, and then finish the puzzle at the end, you usually get garbage items fo all that hard work you do. One side quest i did took along time to finish, and the treasure is an axe......You find axes all over the place. If it's not that, then it could be items like a health. I finished all the side quests and on everyside quest I did they gave me something useless in the end. The only side quest worth it was the Homeless one. If you are a trophy hunter than it till isn't worth the time and effort. The side quests are longer than the main story. The shadow trinket sidequest was cool but B.S at the same time. I spent hours looking all over for these trinkets, and 1 or 2 of these trinkets were in weird places. The game also Froze on me 1 time, where I had to restart the console. The autosaves are crap too. Only 2 boss fights, and they weren't special. The loading screen says that the lighter isn't the best source of light, but I find the lighter to be better than the flashlight. Another thing that annoys me about this game, is that when you pick up items , you never know what you are picking up half the time, so you don't know if you are picking up a weapon or an item. This gets annoying when there are enemies attacking you, you see the word "pick up" and you broke your melee weapon so you run and pick up a brick or a stone, and by the time you pick it up you say **** and then the enemy hits you so you run around looking for something better.It's retarded.
    Picking up chairs is stupid too, i's more of a last resort. The only melee weapon that I thought was effective was the red axes. I don't hate this game, I find it t be in the right direction for the silent hill series, however these annoyincess do not do this title any justice. I give this a 7 because this time around I actually felt like it was kind of silent hilly.lol. Although still lacking the creepy Japanese horror, ths title still has some spooky times. The side quest where you have to put the crank and record on the player then turn time backwards while watching the events happen that really felt like Silent Hill. Silent Hill 1,2 and 3 are still my favorites, a lot of people didn't like Silent Hill 4, but I actually liked it.
    For the next Silent Hill ( if there is one) get rid of the void, more enemies,more bosses, better gameplay, put the inventory screen back the way it was. Make it more darker/eerie. The otherworld really needs to be changed, as it is one of the main components of SIlent Hill, All we do in this game in the otherworld is run away from the void, besides that there my as well not be an otherworld because you are hardly in it anyway. There are a lot of bad things about this game, but I still can't give it lower than a 7, you can tell that they actually DID try to bring back Silent Hill with this game, If I was to judge this game on gameplay, then the game would get a 4. The foundation is there, but a house don't sit too well on a broken one. Fix the flaws so the house wont cave into the ground..
    Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    Follow Me on Twitter for more Game Reviews and News @GameReviewGuy

    Silent Hill has always been the Pinnacle of the survival horror genre for gaming. With horrifying monsters, a weird cast of characters, and a disturbing yet unique story, there is a reason that the foggy town of Silent Hill scares people away from playing. With the newest installment, Silent Hill Downpour, you still will
    Follow Me on Twitter for more Game Reviews and News @GameReviewGuy

    Silent Hill has always been the Pinnacle of the survival horror genre for gaming. With horrifying monsters, a weird cast of characters, and a disturbing yet unique story, there is a reason that the foggy town of Silent Hill scares people away from playing. With the newest installment, Silent Hill Downpour, you still will have that uneasy feeling while roaming the empty streets. As usual, the campaign was interesting, keeping you guessing about what really was going on for the 7-8 hours of gameplay. Monsters have a tendency to be unpredictable which really helps to keep you on your toes. The graphics were good but was plagued with some framerate drop issues. This can really kill the erie mood of the game when you die and have repeat the process a couple of times. Another issue with the game I found was the combat system. I understand that the Silent Hill franchise was not known for its wonderful combat system but fighting in this game felt like a chore rather. Your weapon would not always register when striking an enemy and when facing multiple enemies, it can be frusturating. There has been a lack of survival horror games of recent. Knowing that Silent Hill is sticking with its old roots is a breath of fresh air. Keep in mind that this is not a game designed for the average gamer because this game is not flawless in any way. But all in all I think Downpour carried the Silent Hill name well and is a survival horror game that fans of the series should not overlook.
    Expand
  4. dz9
    Mar 20, 2012
    6
    The Good: Incredibly spooky and moving story, perfect atmospheres, and good challenging puzzles. The Bad: Frame rates and glitches, guidance issues, and gameplay. From a lot of mainstream reviews, I heard a lot of complaints about the fighting mechanics. Don't get me misunderstood, the gameplay is not great, but they seem to not understand that this game is not God of War, the game isThe Good: Incredibly spooky and moving story, perfect atmospheres, and good challenging puzzles. The Bad: Frame rates and glitches, guidance issues, and gameplay. From a lot of mainstream reviews, I heard a lot of complaints about the fighting mechanics. Don't get me misunderstood, the gameplay is not great, but they seem to not understand that this game is not God of War, the game is not suppose to be action oriented, and they do seem to capture the feeling of Silent Hill with it. However, not the best, you are expected to run some and fight, but when fighting comes into play, when there are more than one enemy to fight, the gameplay shows its staleness. What also brings it down, is the fact when you do have to run, the frame rate is absolutely atrocious. The fighting mechanics is rather lack luster but not as bad as some reviewers say, but the frame rate issues are an absolute deal breaker. I've never seen a mainstream high publicized game have such frame rate issues. It gets so bad that you feel like your playing in a badly connected Halo online match. However though, the perfectly fleshed out protagonist, and the overall atmosphere and story will keep you playing despite the issues the game presents. In the End: This is just a decent game that provides quite a few scares. For Silent Hill fans... it does not bring the franchise back to its former glory but it is an excellent treat, but it just won't bring any newcomers along to the series. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    I am a fan of Silent Hill and enjoyed this game. I thought the protagonist was relatable and so far is my favorite protagonist in the series. The story was pretty decent, though in my opinion did not have enough of a meaningful twist as the story in say Silent Hill 2. I don't think I was presented with anything in Downpour that really caused me to stop and think or reflect on what wasI am a fan of Silent Hill and enjoyed this game. I thought the protagonist was relatable and so far is my favorite protagonist in the series. The story was pretty decent, though in my opinion did not have enough of a meaningful twist as the story in say Silent Hill 2. I don't think I was presented with anything in Downpour that really caused me to stop and think or reflect on what was happening. I thought the graphics and music were great - I especially liked some of the songs on the radios and during the theatre puzzle. The combat was fine for a Silent Hill game. The town was fun to explore and I felt it was atmospheric. I think they could have improved upon the monster design, which I felt were a bit uninspired and had no psychological connection to the protagonist - though some theorists have gone out of their way to stretch possibilities. I also wish some of the frame rate issues were cleared up before release - I experienced slowdowns here and there that made playing less enjoyable. I don't think this is a game that I'll play over and over again, so I'd probably recommend renting this on a long weekend unless your a Silent Hill fanatic and like owning the games in the series. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    Downpour tried and failed to be a true SH game. The most frustrating thing about Silent Hill Downpour isn't the lousy combat, dull exploration, or even the technical gaffes. SH downpour's story is stupid and confusing(not in the good way. You can't make any sense in it), technical issues are every where, bugs.. The game provides few good scenes and tries to create something new(example:Downpour tried and failed to be a true SH game. The most frustrating thing about Silent Hill Downpour isn't the lousy combat, dull exploration, or even the technical gaffes. SH downpour's story is stupid and confusing(not in the good way. You can't make any sense in it), technical issues are every where, bugs.. The game provides few good scenes and tries to create something new(example: rain replaces fog). But in the end you don't want to visit this town. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2012
    6
    Silent hill:downpour is a decent return to the harrowing evil franchise, unfortunately what is decent should have been a far greater achievement, especially coming from Konami. The story is good and interesting, yet equally underwhelming, providing a consistency of wanting to uncover the truth behind our characters past. It's a sizeable quest if you include the many side quests, andSilent hill:downpour is a decent return to the harrowing evil franchise, unfortunately what is decent should have been a far greater achievement, especially coming from Konami. The story is good and interesting, yet equally underwhelming, providing a consistency of wanting to uncover the truth behind our characters past. It's a sizeable quest if you include the many side quests, and opportunity to unearth alternate endings also returns. But it's not all gracefully entertaining, although the graphics are somewhat decent, the stuttering, and lagging that can be annoying plaques many parts of the game, the atmosphere is good, but nowhere near as satisfiying as previous encounters, from time to time I was grudging forward with boredom waiting for something to jump out, not in the slightest did I get the feeling of creepiness, just a town with snippets of ok the box just dropped if a wall, or the ball just moved on its own, or the lack of design in the monsters made me yawn, not to mention the combat element is also shoddy, but not game breaking. So yes a decent game, nothing spectacular, silent hills fans will love, general videogamers may wish they,d have waited for a price drop, or rented first. After completing once, their is litte incentive to return unless your wanting to experience each ending. Expand
  8. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    Technically, this game is a failure. Very poor performance with framerate dropping, hickups, freezes and stuttering - the latter PERMANENTLY, not only when there's much going on on screen. There are also a few known bugs. Considering that the game also has only average graphics, one must wonder why it runs so badly.

    Story: Actually a really good story, but I hated how almost everything is
    Technically, this game is a failure. Very poor performance with framerate dropping, hickups, freezes and stuttering - the latter PERMANENTLY, not only when there's much going on on screen. There are also a few known bugs. Considering that the game also has only average graphics, one must wonder why it runs so badly.

    Story: Actually a really good story, but I hated how almost everything is told in flashbacks when you reach certain parts of the game. That's extremely lazy storytelling. And I also hate how the ending of the game influences what has happened before the game starts. (To keep it spoilerfree, there are various possibilities to what was going on before and then the final flashback will reveal one of them to be true according to how you played the game.) The characters are a mixed bag â
    Expand
  9. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    Started this game with the sour taste of Homecoming in my mouth still. That said, I have to say of the recent iterations of this amazing series, it almost meets the bar of the first of the series, but certainly falls short with some poorly played out (although good) sequences. The acting is definitely a lame point, but then again its always been pretty surreal and sultry. The soundtrack isStarted this game with the sour taste of Homecoming in my mouth still. That said, I have to say of the recent iterations of this amazing series, it almost meets the bar of the first of the series, but certainly falls short with some poorly played out (although good) sequences. The acting is definitely a lame point, but then again its always been pretty surreal and sultry. The soundtrack is what killed me. Definitely a huge part of the series that just fell way too short to make the cut in my humble opinion. After playing through downpour ( and suffering through a very misplaced and crappy country song in the credits ), I tried the original Silent Hill for a hot minute and was instantly swept into it by the CREEPY soundtrack. Not once did I feel that in Downpour. The combat is about what its always been to the series, slow and painful at times. All that having been said, the graphics are certainly to date and nice most of the time if the game is not clipping or reloading the fog when you pan around. Kinda lame but when none of the technical issues are happening, its quite the atmosphere to take in (once again, minus the soundtrack). Although it is an open world, it does feel kinda linear in that your always on a road, in an alley, or in a apartment, besides the main areas in the game. Then again, I did not take the time to delve into the side quests too thoroughly and certainly do plan to.
    All in all, if your a fan of the series and you were as disappointed by Homecoming as I was, this should offer a small respite while we wait for someone to take the helm who understands that Silent Hill is about the oppressing, depressing, and all around unsettling atmosphere. Love to take a crack at it myself :p. Its worth a play through or 3 and I certainly feel i didn't waste my $60 on it. Also, the original Silent Hill is still the best of the series.
    Expand
  10. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    Silent hill games are touch and go, some are great, some are poor. Downpour, in my opinion has some very good, and some very bad points. I played the game on hard, which really tests your puzzle skills and searching in the dark for a small key that you need, but you don't want to go in to the dark is a great tense feeling, which did actually improve the experience for me. There is also noSilent hill games are touch and go, some are great, some are poor. Downpour, in my opinion has some very good, and some very bad points. I played the game on hard, which really tests your puzzle skills and searching in the dark for a small key that you need, but you don't want to go in to the dark is a great tense feeling, which did actually improve the experience for me. There is also no hand holding on hard mode. Pros: great classic SH style puzzles, several disturbing environments and scenery, great SH town structure and travelling between locations. Cons: technical glitches (screen would literally freeze and jump at some points), texture popping, story is not fluent (the game starts with a good story set up, then nothing until the end of the game...), monsters are not scary and are repetitive, stand out/freaky moments are quite limited. Overall: I loved the town of SH and the open world set up works really well, you can go to any location and start any side quest as you see fit, or don't do any, it is up to you how far you delve in to the town of SH and its residents. Enemies are boring, and fight patterns are repetitive, and the story is near enough none existent until the end, which is a shame. Graphical glitches hold it back a lot too, but i've heard that its better on the xbox. Does this game have the Silent Hill feel though? yes it does for me, and for that fact, i found it enjoyable to play! If your looking for the next Silent Hill, then pick this up, but be aware, its not as polished as you would hope and some key elements are missing, but still a great, enjoyable play! Expand
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    5
    Its official. The days of Silent Hill are numbered. What was once brilliant, and I truly stress the word brilliant, is now in the hands of a developer that just doesn't know what to do with the slice of genius it was handed. Too much focus on the combat and not enough emphasis on what the genre was built on; fear. Fear of everything, not just your enemies. If you give us control of someoneIts official. The days of Silent Hill are numbered. What was once brilliant, and I truly stress the word brilliant, is now in the hands of a developer that just doesn't know what to do with the slice of genius it was handed. Too much focus on the combat and not enough emphasis on what the genre was built on; fear. Fear of everything, not just your enemies. If you give us control of someone more fearsome than those we should be cowering from then how do you expect us to fear them? Homecoming showed the potential for learning, an indication that with practice there would be greatness. Downpour tarnishes the moniker on its title, and is not fit to sit alongside its brethren. Fans of the series will be disappointed, and I hope the audience for which this intended for, the Americans, are pleased in knowing they played a part in the destruction of what was once one of the most prominent and brilliant videogame series ever created. Collapse
  12. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must say at 40 years of age. Every time I hear a fresh 25 (or so) year old come up and tell me how Silent Hill has lost its luster. I seriously have to laugh my *** off. I say young son. What could you possibly know about gaming. You spent your whole youth playing paintball online while praising one of the wost built gaming machine in history like it was a God (Xbox products.)

    Its because of this less then lackluster machine that the new Silent Hill does suffer some on the PS3. It seems it was developed vary restricted, and to 1920 Pentium one standards. But If you ask any real Silent Hill gamer. The whole 3 or 4 of us that are still alive. If you ask us which was the best. The answer will be a resounding!!!! PAR TWO!!! Now I know some of you young-ins may have slight memory's of 3 with the ugly girl in short hair. Heck some of you dimwitted 20some programmers and video game journalist may have even and praise that as a true Silent Hill lol, what a joke. But in reality out of the first trilogy of SH games,,, three kinda stunk. Whats more it was the worst of the first 3! Actually the room was OK. And the first one was good and the start of it all. But TWO! Two was the one that made most real Silent Hill fans, fans now. It was the staple of the series,and sat on its own as a masterpiece. If 2 never explodes like it did. Theirs no Silenthill now. You dont have 20some dumb movie makers making a SH movie. A movie in which they think the move had to be made around 1 and 3? Because the were told by other 20 some dumb gamers that 1 and 3 were it. Stupid kids. And the odd part about Downpour is. If you had to say which passed SH does Downpour resemble most? It would be 2. Yes the amazing SH2. And this alone make it a decent game. more story more feeling, no robot play? Robot play you ask? Well (I hit a head I hit a foot, I hit a leg I hit a footI hit a head I hit a foot, I hit a leg I hit a foot!!!!!) Give me some story some hero some something! And stop playing paintball on a TV set. And this game does. But let remember this was made for a 1902 Pentium one processor. So it could be played on the 360. Remember Microsoft has the dumb down laws in place. (For real they actually have this stuff in writing.) So it runs not vary well at all. As with about 99.9999% of game this gen it runs with many probs. And for some reason is either over detailed or something. If it would of ran at half the detail and 4 times the smoothness this game would of been one of the SH top 3 maybe. But its still does a OK job. The story and stuff is good enough to get you buy the Microsoft gaming clause hiccups. Want to know about the clause just e mail me lol. serious. So Downpour although fun with a goo story and spooky (not really scary) but none of us get scared anymore we just love the feel of horror. And this has that. But even though ot models after 2 the most. Its not 2. And is the lamest of 20someprogramers team leaders, game magazine writers and really bad game machine fans. We may never ever see another 2. But their is always hope that someone will hang and shoot this 20some crowed, and the next gen after will get it. But it has nothing to do with old vs new. Becuae downpour is on the right track, with the wrong (far to often this gen) coding. Which makes it a ok game.
    Expand
  13. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    Where is the survival horror game called Silent Hill? because this has the name but not the essence, the game has many many bugs, glitches and frame rate problems, I play them all, from the first, but between 3 and 4 of this begin to die, with the series, happened the same as with Resident Evil, they just want money and entertain people, or in this case scared when playing this gameWhere is the survival horror game called Silent Hill? because this has the name but not the essence, the game has many many bugs, glitches and frame rate problems, I play them all, from the first, but between 3 and 4 of this begin to die, with the series, happened the same as with Resident Evil, they just want money and entertain people, or in this case scared when playing this game unfortunately died long ago, when SH4 become a puzzle game of idiots pruba they do not like to think and want everything easy, a no scares or suspense, thats all my opinion Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    This is my first Silent Hill game, I typically avoid survival-horror games like this because I am a huge chicken, but I've decided that I'm going to toughen up and play some scary games darn it! Downpour proved to be a great place to start because it was just scary enough for me to get into without having to sleep with a light on and preparing me for what the scarier games can do. I wasThis is my first Silent Hill game, I typically avoid survival-horror games like this because I am a huge chicken, but I've decided that I'm going to toughen up and play some scary games darn it! Downpour proved to be a great place to start because it was just scary enough for me to get into without having to sleep with a light on and preparing me for what the scarier games can do. I was sucked in by the awesome story and incredible setting, learning about why Murphy (the main character) was sent to prison and why he is now in Silent Hill kept me hooked until the end dying to know what is going on, and the town of Silent Hill is so interesting and creepy has me wanting to through all the other games just to find out more about it's dark secrets. I have to praise Vatra for making this a treat to the ears, every little sound spooked me, and some would stop me dead in my tracks. While I enjoyed my time is Silent Hill I have to admit it wasn't perfect do to the clunky gameplay. The games puzzles are fine, but it stumbles with it's combat, exploration, and side-quests. Combat works it's just not interesting and I literally only came across 5 different kinds of enemies, 6 if you count the wall spitters (which I don't).The exploration is interesting but there's not many places to go and barriers seem to be everywhere making it feel restrictive. The side-quests are where I believe the game falters most, several of them are scattered across the town but for most of them your never given the whole picture, you wander around town stumble up on something only to find out you can't progress the quest because you haven't found all the clues which can be in a whole other section of the town, it's like buying a puzzle only to find out most of the pieces to it are hidden in other stores, and do to this I was only able to complete a few of them. So Downpour isn't perfect, but I still did enjoy it. It's a frightening game backed by some truly enjoyable content. If your thinking about playing through this i recommend it even with it's flaws, and I can't wait to make a return to Silent Hill in the future. Expand
  15. May 9, 2012
    7
    I must say I'm not a connoisseur of the series. I've played a couple of games and know, at least, what this franchise is supposed to be regarding gameplay, story, sound effects and overall atmosphere. With this in mind, I'm pretty sure SH Downpour delivers it. It's a solid game, with occasional mistakes, and totally worth playing.
  16. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    One of the more under rated games out there, adding an exploration aspect as well as different side quests to go along with the main story is a welcome sight to the Silent Hill series. Would definitely like to see more survival horror games created with this aspect.
  17. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    Okay, SIlent hill is recognized worldwide to be a complete survival horror franchise, but this game is out of place, this game don't deserve to be called Silent Hill. I found this game kind of interesting at first, and i know that this release retains at least some of the "true horror", but it's only a very small portion. I found this game bad designed, you don't have a decent weapon inOkay, SIlent hill is recognized worldwide to be a complete survival horror franchise, but this game is out of place, this game don't deserve to be called Silent Hill. I found this game kind of interesting at first, and i know that this release retains at least some of the "true horror", but it's only a very small portion. I found this game bad designed, you don't have a decent weapon in all the **** game! The bullets you can find are only few and are not even enough to kill the half of the enemies that appears. The original silent hill have twice or three times the ammount of ammo and weapons. Imagine this situation, shooting enemies is very cool, but you are obligated to use melee weapons over and over again, like the axe, the combat is very repetitive and lame. Sometimes there's no horror at all, the open world just sucks. This game should be linear like the first silent hill. What the hell happened with the inventory design? looks like the design is too generic. This "game" dissapoints me in almost every way, and i think the Silent Hill franchise is almost dead, PLEASE SOMEONE BRING BACK THE SURVIVAL HORROR TO SILENT HILL. Expand
  18. Jan 26, 2015
    6
    I played this in 3D and not new to the series. The pace of the game lends itself very well to 3D (few opportunities to blur) and there were times where this really engrossed me. Gameplay, use of the open world, side quests and ending were all very disappointing elements.

    Positives: I got lost in th the 3D moment and the atmosphere, this was the greatest positive of this title. Story
    I played this in 3D and not new to the series. The pace of the game lends itself very well to 3D (few opportunities to blur) and there were times where this really engrossed me. Gameplay, use of the open world, side quests and ending were all very disappointing elements.

    Positives:
    I got lost in th the 3D moment and the atmosphere, this was the greatest positive of this title. Story was quite good. I liked the idea of perishable weapons as a major element of gameplay.

    Negatives:
    Combat was exceptionally clunky, I was yelling at the game regarding collision detection when trying to get around enemies a lot. Once you put your 'psx era collision detection hat' on its not really a problem.

    Side quests were fully optional, I would have liked To see some integration into story better.
    Expand
  19. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Its official. The days of Silent Hill are numbered. What was once brilliant, and I truly stress the word brilliant, is now in the hands of a developer that just doesn't know what to do with the slice of genius it was handed. Too much focus on the combat and not enough emphasis on what the genre was built on; fear. Fear of everything, not just your enemies. If you give us control of someoneIts official. The days of Silent Hill are numbered. What was once brilliant, and I truly stress the word brilliant, is now in the hands of a developer that just doesn't know what to do with the slice of genius it was handed. Too much focus on the combat and not enough emphasis on what the genre was built on; fear. Fear of everything, not just your enemies. If you give us control of someone more fearsome than those we should be cowering from then how do you expect us to fear them? Homecoming showed the potential for learning, an indication that with practice there would be greatness. Downpour tarnishes the moniker on its title, and is not fit to sit alongside its brethren. Fans of the series will be disappointed, and I hope the audience for which this intended for, the Americans, are pleased in knowing they played a part in the destruction of what was once one of the most prominent and brilliant videogame series ever created. Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    60
    A remarkably ugly game. [June 2012, p.60]
  2. 60
    Silent Hill Downpourit's a good game, despite all of its flaws, but desperately needs new mechanics.
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    60
    It may be a visually sound package that throws a few unique spins on the Silent Hill template, though the sometimes awkward puzzles and irredeemably abysmal combat are enough to drag Downpour down the gutter and towards mediocrity.