Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    Brings back two of the very best horror games that have ever been published. The oppressive atmosphere of the games is as terrifying as ever and sadly so are the controls. James and Heather controls are just too clumsy. The graphics are much sharper and clearer now, though Silent Hill 3 looks much better than its predecessor. The fact that there are new voice recordings is awesome, because the synchronizations of the originals were pretty impersonal and static. All in all the collection is worth every cent, though it is strange that Silent Hill and Silent Hill 4: The Room are missing.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    90
    I'm confident that Silent Hill 2 will be held up as one of the greatest games of all time in years to come, and you owe it to yourself to (re)visit those deserted streets.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    Little of what makes Silent Hill HD Collection excellent has anything to do with its enhancements. Slight improvements certainly help refresh Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 visually, and the new voice recordings sound far more human than the laughable original acting. Really, the best thing about this re-release is what hasn't changed.
  4. As an exercise in Playstation fear, it doesn't come any purer than this. [May 2012, p.104]
  5. Even when nothing happens at all, you're still on the edge of your seat. And that's what makes Silent Hill brilliant. The game pushes you towards the edge, never giving you a moment of peace. It drags you up slowly like a rollercoaster, dropping you when you're never really ready for it. [May 2012, p.82]
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    80
    Playing Silent Hill HD Collection reassured me that once it had been a fantastic series that has aged well. I can recommend this collection to all of you, especially if you haven't played Silent Hill 2 or 3 before.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    80
    Objectives are sometimes unclear and the PS3 version chugs like no one's business in the larger environments. But these are classic games that are at the apex of the survival horror genre, now playable on current-gen platforms. Great games, warts and all.
  8. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    This package is incomplete and visually isn't smooth, but includes two awesome videogames. If you haven't played Silent Hill, HD Collection offers an amazing value for your money with two amazing examples of the survival horror genre.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    It has several negatives but without any doubt this collection is a good way to play again (or for the first time) the best titles of this brand. After ten years both the games are still in good shape!
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unlike the God of War and Team Ico collections, the Silent Hill games have a more polarizing legacy, meaning the series may not be for everyone. Hardcore survival horror fans itching to return to the corrupt town of Silent Hill in the second and third games will enjoy the enhanced graphics and new and improved voice acting. Gamers unfamiliar with the era's clunky controls are better off hunting for more modern thrills.
  11. May 16, 2012
    78
    Combat is still a swingfest and puzzles can be frustrating. [June 2012, p.108]
  12. Apr 17, 2012
    76
    Technically the collection is lacking, but there's no denying the quality of the games. [Issue#217, p.72]
  13. Apr 10, 2012
    72
    These are still the same games that scared us shitless in the past, but we aren't all too happy with the changes Capcom made to the formula. Why is the screen so bright? Why does James sound like his longues are made of metal? Why is the framerate broken when this wasn't the case in the original games? The new voices are a lot better than the old ones, but this is actually the only improvement that actually improves things and that's a real shame.
  14. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection proves a good way to experience two great horror classics that embody psychic fear and buried emotional pain like no others, with gruesome settings, monstrously imaginative enemies and a thousand creepy, dark hallways.
  15. True evil never dies. It gets a decent facelift. [May 2012, p76]
  16. 70
    If you've never played Silent Hill 2, this is an excellent opportunity to do so, the collection is worth it essentially for this true masterpiece.
  17. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    The collection is also rounded out by the option provided in the collectors edition of Silent Hill 2 that allows you to play the storyline from the viewpoint of Maria, also from the game. It's a good edition and one that adds a lot more value to your purchase.
  18. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection features two very fine, albeit extremely unpleasant and not super accessible, games. It's nowhere near as polished as Konami's other recent compilation, the brilliant MGS HD collection.
  19. Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Some technical problems can be quite disturbing and the new voice-overs might sound strange to older gamers, but at the end of the day, this collection offers two of Japan's most important gaming masterpieces.
  20. Those who can overlook the aging process, though, will discover the best versions of two of the genre's greatest games. [May 2012, p.80]
  21. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    The spooky sights of Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 look better than ever in Silent Hill HD Collection.
  22. Apr 27, 2012
    63
    Too little fog, too much lag and some dodgy new voices take the sine off of two of the genre's better entries. [June 2012, p.88]
  23. Apr 20, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill: HD Collection is a very lazy product. The only thing that really has been upgraded is the resolution of backgrounds and characters, which means that the effects and other things remain the same. The two games that are included are fantastic, but the lack of the original is a disappointment.
  24. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    A remake that's actually worse then the originals in many ways. Only two of the eight original games are present and sound effects, original voice acting and the infamous fog has somehow gone missing.
  25. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill HD Collection is a good deal only for the new gaming generation that had no chance to play both games in the past. Few extras and frame rates issues make it a bad deal for veteran players.
  26. Apr 12, 2012
    60
    This collection is better suited for newcomers who have no previous experience with (or attachment to) Konami's survival horror classic.
  27. Apr 2, 2012
    60
    A disappointment. Not for the specific titles included, mind you, but rather for the sloppy handling and questionable changes associated with the conversions. The inconsistent presentation, compromises to the original developer's vision, and lack of any interesting bonus features make this compilation's $40 price even more unnerving than its games.
  28. Mar 29, 2012
    58
    A disappointing release, partially in terms of content, but primarily in how the ports were handled. Altered and missing content plus major technical woes are highly critical mistakes to make. I hope Konami revisits the idea of a true Silent Hill HD Collection in the coming years.
  29. Apr 20, 2012
    50
    The Silent Hill HD Collection is a disgrace to the series. Fans won't recognize anything from the good old games and should only get this because of the low price.
  30. Apr 10, 2012
    40
    This is the worst HD remastered collection published until now. It's a shame, as a great franchise like Silent Hill deserved much better than this poor effort.
  31. Mar 27, 2012
    40
    The laziest HD collection yet, with just two titles from an eight game franchise, neither of which have been recreated with anything like the effort and care they deserve.
  32. Mar 27, 2012
    40
    This HD Collection is far from perfect. Even though the two episodes it boasts are still cult games, the remastering suffers from frame rate drops, some shocking sequences have been tuned down, and the voice-over have been replaced with a new, but lesser version. If you have access to the originals, it's better that way, but if you have no choice, it's still two major titles for horror fans.
  33. Apr 5, 2012
    30
    After the excellent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection, Silent Hill fans definitely deserved a much better adaptation of some of their favorite games. With embarrassing glitches, problems that should have never made their way into the games, and a disappointing lack of content, it's hard for me to recommend this release.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 20 out of 33
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    I've been thrilled to get my hands of Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3. These atmospheric, creepy, disturbing, and well told games are ones that show what survival horror can be at its best. Unfortunately, these versions of SH2 and SH3 are very broken. Both games are full of bugs. Audio cuts in and cut randomly, cutscenes have delayed lip syncing and sound effects, and the frame rate is disgustingly unstable. SH3 is far worse than 2. You'll find it hard to find an area that doesn't look like everything is in slow motion due to things like running water, dense fog, monsters, or any slightly large environment causes massive slow down. I was hopeful when the 1.1 patch was released, but it didn't fix anything. These are PS2 games for crying out loud! And censoring a scene is SH2 is ridiculous. These games are about all the horrible, dark things inside of people. Censoring it is an insult. Two of the greatest survival horror games ever deserved much better than this. The developers should be ashamed of themselves. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    The game has far too many bugs to recommend to first-timers or veterans alike. This is NOT the way to experience the games for the first time or for the thousandth time. It will destroy your sense of wonder or nostalgia. I will not list the game-breaking bugs (it's far too easy to look them up on the internet) but I will say that I've experienced all of the ones mentioned and a few MORE, including some that crashed my PS3 or spoiled the ending of one of the games! This is ridiculous, and we as gamers should not stand for this sort of misuse and abuse of OUR money or their source material. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    I'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HD ports. They are still great games, and these are better than nothing if you have no other way to play them, but the PS2 versions are very much preferable - and I'm not referring to the new voice cast. Nostalgia aside, the new voice casts are in all unbiased ways better actors, but I understand why players of the original release would want the old voice cast.

    *Constant audio and visual bugs that the 297mb patch has not fixed

    *Worst of all - for me: I don't know who's idea it was to put the draw distance of the fog farther away, but I'm definitely not a fan of that.

    I would not complain much if this was just a matter of stylistic and aesthetic choices I didn't like, but the fact that a couple of PS2 games simple do not work properly on a succeeding platform is pretty bad, and I have a hard time believing it could be explained away except for lack of effort.

    Konami was under no obligation to give its consumer base a re-release of these two great games, this must be acknowledged. However, if they didn't want to do it right, they should not have committed to it.
    Full Review »