• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2008
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 72
  2. Negative: 6 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2015
    9
    Siren is an original and very scary game of horror. One of the developers of this game was strongly involved in the legendary Silent Hill of PS1. And this is very notorius, specially in the narration, myths and the atmosphere. Anyways, Siren is not perfect in the character control or the graphic visuals, but there isn´t lot of games with an interesting and scary story.
  2. May 12, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Proyecto Zero, Silent Hill y...... Forbbiden Siren o Siren. Angustia, agobio, nervios, ansiedad....todo esto vais a sentir con este juegazo. No es apto para new gamers que han conseguido que Residente Evil parezca un Call of Duty. La ambientación es sublime, similar a Project Zero pero más rústica. La única pega es que técnicamente es limitado pero cumple 100%. Juego indispensable para losProyecto Zero, Silent Hill y...... Forbbiden Siren o Siren. Angustia, agobio, nervios, ansiedad....todo esto vais a sentir con este juegazo. No es apto para new gamers que han conseguido que Residente Evil parezca un Call of Duty. La ambientación es sublime, similar a Project Zero pero más rústica. La única pega es que técnicamente es limitado pero cumple 100%. Juego indispensable para los horror lovers. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Just got this game last week for 20$. I had heard of it but because of the little promotion it got I ignored it thinking it would be like SH Homecoming (example) with little horror and more action. I've never been so wrong.
    The game's story is very intriguing, though you don't understand much of it in the first chapters, and it's also got some shocking plot twists that keep you on the
    Just got this game last week for 20$. I had heard of it but because of the little promotion it got I ignored it thinking it would be like SH Homecoming (example) with little horror and more action. I've never been so wrong.
    The game's story is very intriguing, though you don't understand much of it in the first chapters, and it's also got some shocking plot twists that keep you on the edge of your seat, wondering what really happens or will happen next. I won't reveal any of it so as not to spoil anything, I'll just say it's very good. Another well done thing were the characters, they were given excellent facial expressions and unique traits and personas which gives it a more real, authentic feel.
    The gameplay is pretty simple (easy to learn, difficult to master) and effective when it's done right. The control can be a bit clunky and give you a hard time, but you get used to it. Since sight jacking is a very important part of the game you will need to learn how to use it properly because it's probably your saving grace, specially on stealth and weapon-less situations. Combat is simple enough, with only 1 button for attacks and shouldn't give you problems.
    The graphic are a minus point for the game, as it looks like it was poorly made with a low budget because of the noise filter seen throughout the in-game gameplay and cutscenes. If they took it away it would still be very dark, character models would still look a bit rough and textures washed but it would improve your view and look much better. But then again, I care more about the above so it's not a big deal.
    Overall, a great horror game (one of the few survival horrors of current gen) with very good story, character development and a real tense environment that gives you the feel like you're really there. The only downsides are the graphics, the story is separated into episodes which is weird if you buy the whole game and it also feels a bit short because you're kept interested and intrigued. Gladly there are collectibles and minigames so that you get more value for your money.
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    All graphics system changed, but still good to write down plate was impressed with the finish. I personally had more fun predecessor, but the fear of this game is really the best you can say.
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    The graphics are good. I only have a complaint about how dark everything is no matter she brightness setting the camera control is just ridicules. I try my best to enjoy it...
  7. Dec 16, 2012
    3
    I bought this game cuz now days have very rare horror games that is happening in Japan. Horror games based in Japan always scared me and i love how the style goes. I was looking forward to play this game and see how cool the story is. But...it really disapointed me is that the story is very VERY confusing and it doesnt make sense. The graphics have good quality but the game its very hardI bought this game cuz now days have very rare horror games that is happening in Japan. Horror games based in Japan always scared me and i love how the style goes. I was looking forward to play this game and see how cool the story is. But...it really disapointed me is that the story is very VERY confusing and it doesnt make sense. The graphics have good quality but the game its very hard to play. One easy mission, (doesnt really related to the story) takes 6 to 10 times to get mission accomplished on your screen. I wounldnt suggest u buying this horror game. Expand
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    0
    this is worst game i got this game for 20 bucks i thought hey why not said zombie game so i tried it biggest mistake it took 15 hours to finish and guess what???? nothing the no reward no nothing it was pathetic worst game the zombie talking when shot them they die pop back up 10 mins later crap
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    What a truly fantastic Survival Horror, and when I say Survival Horror, I mean it. Siren: Blood Curse, also known as Siren: New Translation in Japan, is the first and honestly one of the only true Survival Horrors of the modern generation. Written by the same writer as none other than the Horror game Omega, Silent Hill, Blood Curse brings us the confusing yet constantly intriguing tale ofWhat a truly fantastic Survival Horror, and when I say Survival Horror, I mean it. Siren: Blood Curse, also known as Siren: New Translation in Japan, is the first and honestly one of the only true Survival Horrors of the modern generation. Written by the same writer as none other than the Horror game Omega, Silent Hill, Blood Curse brings us the confusing yet constantly intriguing tale of an American TV crew, a young American high school student, a little girl around age eight or nine, a disturbed cult leading woman, and a few others in a Japanese village gone ary. The first thing you will notice when jumping into this village aside from how dark things are and how dangerous things can get, is the awkward and stiff controls. I would like to focus on negatives first, well, honestly I don't have too many, and controls are barely one of them. These stiff controls are in fact a throw back to the old school era of Horror gaming. It would not be fair to rate the game lower due to difficult control because honestly they fall under preference as they are intentional to give the player the feeling of helplessness in terrifying situations. I recommend this game to original Silent Hill fans and of course players of older Siren games, so to be honest you should already be familiar with such controls. The only other issue I can really give is difficulty, once again intentional to add tension. The game on one hand spoon feeds you the answers on what to do, but on the other hand it will take strategy and possibly a frustrating amount of trial and error to conquer a task. Especially certain stages involving an aforementioned child, who cannot even defend herself. To me though, this all adds to the already nerve racking rush of fear and constant tension of survival. One other gripe I feel the need to mention briefly is that the American version of this game (only available on PSN) is actually a cut down censored version. Not much is censored, you have seen worse, but still some has been altered. My copy came from Europe on disc and I find that it was the right way to go as it also included a documentary making of. Japan imports also available in entirety. Siren is told through short episodes, much like a mini tv series. This will keep you playing and not wanting to stop. The game may seem short at first but eventually episodes become more difficult which naturally causes them to last longer. The story is a very confusing one, disjointed even, and may have you asking a hell of a lot of questions early in. Some will find it annoying, others interesting, but none can deny that it is intriguing. Your questions may or may not get answered, depending how well you pay attention or understand things first time around. The story does make sense in its own little J-Horror way, but still it will knock you around a bit if you are not prepared for it. Remember, this is a Japanese tale, and created by Keiichirà Expand
  10. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    the best survival horror of the new generation, and one of the best of history games. Its absolutely scary and so hard. i know it isn't a game for all people, but if you can, test it, won't disappoint you
  11. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    One of the best survival horror in gaming history. Check it out to convince how scary episodes can be. main flaw - navigation in the game world. Definitely.
  12. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    A flawed masterpiece, intense and subtle, this is by far one of my favourite games and I cannot wait for a follow up to this wonderful game. Please Sony, make it happen.
  13. Funkymonk
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    When you think about it ther's not actually that many great, true Survival-horror games available on PS3. This, with it's creepy, tense atmosphere and well balanced stealth/action gameplay is certainly one of the better ones. I have to mention the sight jacking, where you can see through the zombies (and other humans) eyes, as one of the best gameplay innovations i've seen When you think about it ther's not actually that many great, true Survival-horror games available on PS3. This, with it's creepy, tense atmosphere and well balanced stealth/action gameplay is certainly one of the better ones. I have to mention the sight jacking, where you can see through the zombies (and other humans) eyes, as one of the best gameplay innovations i've seen for a while. It really does add a new dimention to the terror and some stratagy as you can sometimes even discover important clues... Siren isn't perfect; the graphics while excellent are almost too dark at times and the controlls are a bit clunky. However, apart from the occasional frustating death i can't say my enjoyment was affected too much. Siren is well worth a look if you like this type of game. You can even get it on CD now if you search about a bit too. Collapse
  14. JohnF
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    GRAPHICS: The visuals work great for the story they're telling. The atmosphere and mood really sucks you into the story and overall experience. While the graphics aren't technically sophisticated as a disc-based game on PS3, it simply doesn't matter. The visuals are great. GAMEPLAY: The controls are intuitive and easy to pick up. "Sight-jacking," gives you the ability to GRAPHICS: The visuals work great for the story they're telling. The atmosphere and mood really sucks you into the story and overall experience. While the graphics aren't technically sophisticated as a disc-based game on PS3, it simply doesn't matter. The visuals are great. GAMEPLAY: The controls are intuitive and easy to pick up. "Sight-jacking," gives you the ability to see things from an enemies POV and it's very nicely interlaced into the gameplay experiences. You've likely never played another game like it. PRESENTATION: The game segments are broken into 12 episodes that seldom go over 45 mins. This makes for great pacing and spots where you feel comfortable taking a break. The previews and recaps that bookend each episodes keeps you up to speed and makes it easy to pick up after taking a few days off. Playing Siren: Blood Curse is like watching a season of a TV show. It tells an entertaining story in digestable episodes and the gameplay keeps you on your toes. I hope more games are fashioned in this style. Expand
  15. MarinaM.
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game. The story is top notch, and kept me interested. The game, though, totally spoon feeds you the entire time (I guess to make up for how ridiculously hard the first game was), and tries to explain everything way too much. The atmosphere is disturbing and scary. The music is really eerie. Graphics are very dark, so it's nearly impossible to play with any light Absolutely fantastic game. The story is top notch, and kept me interested. The game, though, totally spoon feeds you the entire time (I guess to make up for how ridiculously hard the first game was), and tries to explain everything way too much. The atmosphere is disturbing and scary. The music is really eerie. Graphics are very dark, so it's nearly impossible to play with any light on in the room (which makes it even freakier). Gameplay consists more of stealth than actual fighting, but that's usually also an option (however, you play as an actual child at one point; a truly nerve-wracking experience). Combat is definitely a step up from the original. Lots of character development, with great voice acting though the dialogue seems a bit weird at times (then again it's a Japanese developed game where the main characters are mostly American). Overall, I really enjoyed this game, though if you're a FPS type of person (which isn't a bad thing) you might not like it. Expand
  16. EvelynC
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    This game is the best true horror game I've played. It recognises the fact that if put in that sort of situation, your first instinct would be survival. Not the lets get a gun and blow everything away type of survival, but the kind where most of the time you run like Hell, or you're forced to hide for your life. You are encouraged to sneak past the Shibito rather than take them This game is the best true horror game I've played. It recognises the fact that if put in that sort of situation, your first instinct would be survival. Not the lets get a gun and blow everything away type of survival, but the kind where most of the time you run like Hell, or you're forced to hide for your life. You are encouraged to sneak past the Shibito rather than take them out. If you absolutely have to use force, you must use what's available, a metal pole, a frying pan, and if you're very lucky, a gun on occasion. The shibito are genuinely scary, as no matter how much you put them down, they do get back up, in an Evil Dead sort of way. Story is good, and the fact that it is done in episodes is a nice touch. The sight jacking is an odd and original feature, heightening the fear rather than lessening it as it lets you see when something is coming for you. A different style of game to Resi, with that you have the power because of the freely available firepower, with Siren, you don't. You are the hunted and always feel that way. Expand
  17. [anonymous]
    Feb 3, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed it, despite the completely confusing story and some of the repetition. And to the guy who gave the game a 0 simply for the controls, and then compared it to a game that's completely different and wasn't even meant to be surpassed by Siren:Blood Curse... well yeah... pretty dumb.
  18. DimacoDalleP
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    The game might have lost much of the innovative structure that previous releases had, yet it delievers great moments and the sightjack system remains one of the best innovations in the genre.
  19. danny
    Aug 26, 2008
    4
    very hard to control and the short episodic levels make the game very disjointed. graphics good but too much fuzzy effects. very surprised at the high scores this is getting.
  20. WowGreat
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Set's the standard for horror titles this generation, this is a genuinely unsettling game. Do yourself a favour and get this because you just know that Silent Hill: Homecoming will suck (come one? Pyramid head? Obviously the developer doesn't understand the game.)
  21. SergioP.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    Great Graphics, Great Sound. A good game for PS3
  22. wowlame
    Aug 14, 2008
    0
    Wow...the play control is utterly horrid...do yourself a favor and play RE-4 until resident evil 5 comes out....waste of time this game is.
  23. AramisG.
    Aug 11, 2008
    8
    Pretty awesome. I was a big fan of the original (except for the illogical puzzles and annoying snipers). In my books Siren is basically the true successor to the Silent Hill series. Encounters with the shibato are pretty intense. I would give it a ten, but I had to move my TV and PS3 across my house to reach an ethernet cable to download it. Too bad the PS3 doesn't have built in wifi Pretty awesome. I was a big fan of the original (except for the illogical puzzles and annoying snipers). In my books Siren is basically the true successor to the Silent Hill series. Encounters with the shibato are pretty intense. I would give it a ten, but I had to move my TV and PS3 across my house to reach an ethernet cable to download it. Too bad the PS3 doesn't have built in wifi like the Wii. It would make downloadable games a lot more accessible. Now lets see if they can make Siren 2 available stateside. Expand
  24. Alcades
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    As a fan of the original, it's nice to see a follow up/semi-remake since the original faired poorly in sales. It's too bad we never saw Siren 2 here in the states because of that. Gameplay for the most part is solid, a mixture of stealth and combat. As somebody who played the first Siren, it's a lot easier in Siren:BC to make it through the game either by stealth or force As a fan of the original, it's nice to see a follow up/semi-remake since the original faired poorly in sales. It's too bad we never saw Siren 2 here in the states because of that. Gameplay for the most part is solid, a mixture of stealth and combat. As somebody who played the first Siren, it's a lot easier in Siren:BC to make it through the game either by stealth or force than in the first one. However what really shines in Siren:BC is the story and how it's presented from the different bite-sized perspectives of each character in a TV show fashion. Shows like "Lost" or "24" come to mind and I think this game may appeal to those fans. Each end of the episode are capped by a TV show like "Coming next week" movie and had me guessing where the story would go. To sum it up, at $40 to download Siren is a fun game for people who enjoyed the original or games like Silent Hill or Fatal Frame. Expand
  25. SteveG.
    Jul 27, 2008
    7
    it has good potentialbut controls are awkward at best.cant aim gun either.i would play it just for something to do.
  26. CasF.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    Superb game! The visuals are perfect for this and the tension created throughout the entire game (via the spooky graphics and sound) is fantastic. The levels are very well designed and the way the story keeps switching between characters is great. For me this jumps ahead of the likes of RE4 & Silent Hill 2 as king of the Survival horror genre.
  27. RubenC.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    This is one of the most intense horror games of all time, though short, I can garantee that this game will satisfy the horror game fans
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. 70
    Siren is nothing new but is a short, spooky distraction.
  2. Not quite unparalleled excellence, then, but more than enough chills to keep horror adventure fans gibbering.
  3. It's genuinely unsettling. [Aug 2008, p.94]